Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland Leading the way in .......

• 29-05-2013 3:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭

So with all the negative things we like to say about our country I thought maybe we could try and come up with a few things that we did that were progressive at the time.

In recent memory we either lead the way or were early adopters of banning smoking in the restaurants, pubs, clubs and public buildings, the plastic bag tax and now plain packaging on cigarette packs.

Can anyone think of anything else progressive we have done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

Taytos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭TheYardStick

Bono.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭Weevil

Apathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,691 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

We definitely lead the way in electing and re-electing incompetent governments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

VRT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭DipStick McSwindler

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

Hurling

Closing offlicences at 22:00. Makes a big difference in under age drinking habbits.....................

HUGE! :D

http://www.thejournal.ie/alcohol-use-cancer-ireland-929011-May2013/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭diarmo06

lahalane wrote: »
    Hurling

.. Thats about it, close thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

Wasn't duty free an Irish thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭GastroBoy

10 packs of cigarettes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭BGozIE

Taxing people (highly) for random things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Sweating the small stuff.

I know, I know, some people have it really tough, and there's a hell of a lot more we could be doing to improve society as a whole, and half the world hasn't a pot to piss in.

But Jesus Christ, there's never, in the whole history of the planet, been a better time to be alive. We don't what the future will be like, it might be better than now, it might be worse, but constant whinging and moaning about things that mean absolutely fcuk all in the grand scheme of things doesn't help.:mad:

So yeah, we lead the way in forgetting how lucky we are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭IK09

Dole cheats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Child Safety

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

lahalane wrote: »
    Hurling

Or that ball game where one can handle the ball, and that's why a Hooker or flanker in rugby can kick/catch the ball so well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Snorting coke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

electing snakes.

BGozIE wrote: »
    Taxing people (highly) for random things

Totally. And making up random taxes for the craic like.

I wonder what's next.....Maybe garden plants tax or schoolchild tax. :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 monster_mouse

I hate the term " progressive "

I immedietly think of smug wan*er whenever I hear it uttered

Rainy day tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭GastroBoy

Free cheese at Christmas (or is that a European thing??)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Emmigration. When the irish start we swarm everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Child Safety

Apart from in creches.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Information Technology, IT roles, anything to do with computers really. I'm a Computer Science student myself, Jobs are very easy to come by in this sector and its always evolving

Like hell they are, Ireland was once the largest exporter of Software in the world but not anymore and the few companies that are here are only here for our low corporation tax. We have a 3rd world teleco infrastructure and anyone who thinks the IT Sector is somehow booming here is clearly deluded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Justice!

Optimism

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Information Technology, IT roles, anything to do with computers really. I'm a Computer Science student myself, Jobs are very easy to come by in this sector and its always evolving

evolving too bloody quick,the minute you receive a certificate its already outdated.

We've been left behind in terms of IT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

Stinicker wrote: »
    Like hell they are, Ireland was once the largest exporter of Software in the world but not anymore and the few companies that are here are only here for our low corporation tax. We have a 3rd world teleco infrastructure and anyone who thinks the IT Sector is somehow booming here is clearly deluded.

If you can't find a job in the IT sector then you aren't looking very hard. Most places I know of have to hire from outside Ireland because there aren't enough qualified people here to fill the jobs.

The office I work in only 4 our of the 30 staff are from Ireland. The rest had to be hired in from elsewhere.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

If you can't find a job in the IT sector then you aren't looking very hard. Most places I know of have to hire from outside Ireland because there aren't enough qualified people here to fill the jobs.

The office I work in only 4 our of the 30 staff are from Ireland. The rest had to be hired in from elsewhere.

I did an IT course last Autumn and I gave it up after 3 weeks because it will give me no opportunities where I live. There maybe a few jobs in IT within the M50 or maybe Cork City, but that is not representative of the whole country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,317 ✭✭✭gavmcg92

Criminal Assets Bureau.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Oscars Well.

Racehorses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

Justice! wrote: »
    Optimism

Thats the only thing we are good at? Now I'm sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭EdCastle

Taking traditional dance and moving it into a contemporary environment.......Riverdance.

Loads of countries have done the same since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Begrudgery.

Only country that is able to take the p1ss out of themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

We have the best trained Gardai, Nurses, Army and Teachers in the world.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Boombastic wrote: »

that's a big case you're putting forward there.We do however have a very good fire service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 finishgus

We are major contributor to the arts. We produce some of the finest authors, comedians, musicians and dancers in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Marsden

Hmmm...I'm racking me brains trying to think of something I really like about Ireland...hmmm. We do have a big park in the Dublin.

Hmmm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Emigration

Eammon Dunphy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I did an IT course last Autumn and I gave it up after 3 weeks because it will give me no opportunities where I live. There maybe a few jobs in IT within the M50 or maybe Cork City, but that is not representative of the whole country.

So after giving up the course what did you do then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Arnold Layne

Boombastic wrote: »

Should that not be best PAID for the job they actually do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Launderin' Daysul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,476 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Our IT sector is still doing well. Many of my friends have gotten jobs in the sector in the last few years, namely with IBM. I myself am studying IT too, and there are plenty of opportunities for me when I leave college.

It all depends, but I guess some people aren't going to be as fortunate as others when it comes to getting jobs in that sector. Either way, we still have an IT sector that does pretty well by international standards, and it is at least one industry in Ireland that hasn't been effected too badly by the recession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

Wasn't Ireland one of the few countries in the world to humanise red heads.

Ireland now actually treats them as 'normal' members of society.

If that isn't progressive I don't know what is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Urban Guerrilla Warfare.

Sorry for all the trouble we caused large nations with that. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭AndyMc

Being way to generous. The amount of donations we give out of pocket is huge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

If your qualified and not **** then there are plenty of jobs outs there.

I get roughly 5-8 calls a day about jobs available + countless emails.