Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

National Fish & Chips Day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭GastroBoy

Is it just me or does your wans legs look abnormally massive in the second picture???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

Can't do anything nowadays without random feckin' dolly birds in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

For the aid of dyslexics, it's national Chish and Fips day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Trappatonni and the boys look like they're waving oversized rubber jonnies in that picture

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

One one place in Cork doing it and they are in Youghal. Typical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

It's worth going in to your local chipper and asking anyway. Most places will do it afaik. There's quite a few not on there in Dublin who I know will do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,608 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Utterly nuts to put this on a day they'll likely be rammed anyway with the England Ireland game on TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

MYOB wrote: »
    Utterly nuts to put this on a day they'll likely be rammed anyway with the England Ireland game on TV.
    Send the missus (or non-football watching friends) out for chips while the match is on, and there will be no queue!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭phonypony

GastroBoy wrote: »
    Is it just me or does your wans legs look abnormally massive in the second picture???

Don't think about it, just get the head down for a mouthful of fish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

We'll probably have mayhem that'll match the London riots after the match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

"National"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

How are fish and chips 'Italian' cuisine?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Lucena wrote: »
    Can't do anything nowadays with random feckin' dolly birds in it.

Who probably barfed up the calorie laden foodstuffs promptly afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

Oranage2 wrote: »
    We'll probably have mayhem that'll match the London riots after the match.
    I bet you €100,000 that we won't, and that there won't even be a repeat of the last debacle.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,380 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Half price fish & chips today:

http://www.itica.ie/news/view/cappagh_trust_cookies

http://www.itica.ie/news/view/itica_national_fish_chip_day_is_coming

Hope Burdocks is taking part - I'll be heading there for lunch!

They'd have to be signed up to ITICA, and I doubt they're Italian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

How are fish and chips 'Italian' cuisine?
    there was a documentary on a while ago on tv, if you are genuinely interested
    http://directory.irishfilmboard.ie/films/691-chippers

Lots of nonmembers do it. I am not sure you have to be Italian to sign up either, one near me does it and is listed and I reckon the owner is Irish. Old bargain alerts threads might show who is likely to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

phonypony wrote: »
    Don't think about it, just get the head down for a mouthful of fish

I laughed exactly like Kermit in your avatar :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I bet you €100,000 that we won't, and that there won't even be a repeat of the last debacle.

Sorry bud haven't got that type of money- and it was Just a figure of speech, you know a lot of drunk people and half price fish and chips, but its not a weekend so it won't be that bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,608 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Send the missus (or non-football watching friends) out for chips while the match is on, and there will be no queue!

Hadn't thought of that. Usually send them out to get more beer, and the chipper is literally joined on to the off-licence...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

What gob****e decided that it would be a good idea to have both National Fish and Chip Day and National Biscuit Day on the same day? Ridiculous. Too much food in one day to celebrate.

Tomorrow is going to be National Bloated Belly Day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

c_man wrote: »
    "National"

That's what I wrote....

N'ah - Burdocks were doin it alright... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭pabloh999

That's what you get for living in Cork

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Large amounts of frozen fish farmed in South East Asia are being removed from their containers and battered as we speak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

As it happens I'm having breaded fish and homemade chips for the dinner....sooouund.

Just got back from the local chipper.
    There was a crazy fight...........................

2 fish got battered !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,835 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

TheComeUp wrote: »
    As it happens I'm having breaded fish and homemade chips for the dinner....sooouund.

ah here.....the whole point of fish and chip day is that you go a chipper....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    ah here.....the whole point of fish and chip day is that you go a chipper....

Before the match I can have it at mine, and then the chipper after if needs be...plus I'll get double the helpings at home :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Baneblade

Pighead wrote: »
    What gob****e decided that it would be a good idea to have both National Fish and Chip Day and National Biscuit Day on the same day? Ridiculous. Too much food in one day to celebrate.

Tomorrow is going to be National Bloated Belly Day.

i have the toilet plunger ready as National Bloated Belly Day also shares the day with National Unblock the Jacks Day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

just had my order of 'half price' cod and chips delivered cost €4.20,all very well.however on opening it up i discovered that the portion matched the price,sneaky feckers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

just had my order of 'half price' cod and chips delivered cost €4.20,all very well.however on opening it up i discovered that the portion matched the price,sneaky feckers!

Name and shame.