Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wednesday 29th May

• 29-05-2013 5:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭

4.40 Nottingham

Chocala 17/2

This really looks like a case of the bookies pricing this one up wrong in my eyes as I think Alan King's 3 year old Chocala has an absolutely tremendous chance of landing this after running a really nice seasonal reappearance in a better race than this in the Dante meeting at York 12 days ago and if stripping fitter and improving for the step up in trip I think he'll take a bit of beating. After two virtual no shows on decent ground in August/September last year, Chocala ran an absolute blinder which seemed out of the blue at the time when bumping into a rather useful mark Johnston horse at Nottingham over a mile last October when finishing a 6L beaten 2nd to Mister Impatience on what was a massive improvement on what he had shown. Racing wide for much of the contest, Chocala sat in the mid division but made some good progress following through the eventual winner about 2f out but it soon became apparent that the Mister Impatience wasn't for catching and Adam Kirby eased off his mount in the final furlong before he was pushed out to hold on for 2nd late on. I'm not sure if it was the switch to a soft surface that brought about the improvement but it was a league apart from what he had shown in his first two starts. Given the way Mister Impatience won, its hardly surprising he absolutely bolted up in a handicap off a mark of 82 and he has since run really nice races including when chasing home Aidan O'Brien's Derby hopeful Ruler Of The World at Chester in a Group 3 recently and Chocala lost very little in defeat to that rival which is definitely demonstrated by his 70 handicap rating. Chocala was comfortably 2nd best that day and the form of those in behind is quite strong as well. The 4th home Elidor has franked the form strongly as a 3 year old when beaten 1L by subsequent Dante winner Libertarian before going down by a neck to Mad Moose who went on to be placed in a Group 3 and his final race came when 2nd to Nevis in a Derby Trial. That form is very strong and Chocala proved that run was no fluke when running a blinder on his handicap debut over 12f at York's Dante meeting in a better race than this.

On the back 6 month absence, Chocala ran a highly encouraging race at York on soft ground 12 days ago when beaten less than 5L into 5th in 0-80 contest against a lot of in form rivals. Under Jimmy Fortune, Chocala was held up towards the rear of the field and again a little wide before he started to make steady progress to chase the leaders swinging into the home straight. At the 2f pole, it looked as if he had every chance but it looked as if he was found slightly wanting for fitness in approaching the furlong pole but he did run all the way to the line not to beaten that far in a really promising effort. All that form has yet to be tested, I am sure its a race thats going to work out really well with many of those who played a leading role in the race coming into the contest with strong form and I suspect Chocala to improve quite a bit for the run. In addition, barring the runner up, every horse in the field came into the contest race fit and I think it was a tremendous effort by Chocala as he seemed to relish the step up in trip. In addition to stepping up to 1m6f which should definitely suit, Chocala drops in class to this 0-70 contest and although this looks a competitive race for the grade with several unexposed and progressive sorts Chocala fits into that category as well and he'll definitely find this easier than his latest assignment. Alan King's regular flat jockey Fergus Sweeney and Chocala is the only action for both at Nottingham today. Although I'm not sure if Chocala needs soft ground, rain is forecast at the track today so I am sure there will be suitable ease in the ground and hopefully not many of Chocala's rivals are pulled. Proven at the track, if appreciating the step up in trip and stripping fitter for the run I expect a really strong showing from Alan King's 3 year old and now eased in Class I expect him to take a lot of beating and will be very disappointed if he doesn't go very close to landing this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

Anyone fancy echo bob in the first at punchestown . Looks like this could be his race?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭rockycelt

I think 3/1 is good about Stonemaster today at Punchestown (6.45)
    Expecting a good run from Town Mouse in the 4.40 at Notts, and 15/2 available each way is a backable price.
    Spifer should go close at Kempton (7.55), and is the value horse in the race at 7/2.

don't fancy Echo Bob myself ste, but in saying that won't be backing anything else either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭boysinblack

Raise the Beat today at Punchestown...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

Chocala 5/2 now with PP.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 786 ✭✭✭fangee

Owryan wrote: »
    Chocola 5/2 now with PP.

3 non runners may have affected that. I'm not sure what price they were when pulled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

I couldnt have Seabass on that ground today and im really surprised they're running him.
    Jetson to win this.

In the first i fancy Moon Dice. I think he'll love the ground and was beaten by a good sort in Cork recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭BQQ

Slattsy wrote: »
    I couldnt have Seabass on that ground today and im really surprised they're running him.
    Jetson to win this.

I expect he'll be pulled later.
    Over hurdles I'd be all-in on Jetson, but not sure he's a chaser.
    Supreme Doc will love the ground and looks a banker for a place

Fancy healys bar at 28-1 at punchestown6.45 still improvement to be found over fences. One of these days. Nice each way bet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

that's one big gamble in the last at Punchy, Frontline gambled from 33/1 (albeit a 20c r4) all the way into 3/1 :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

ste2010 wrote: »
    Fancy healys bar at 28-1 at punchestown6.45 still improvement to be found over fences. One of these days. Nice each way bet

One I've been keeping an eye on getting very well handicapped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

Slattsy wrote: »
    Jetson to win this.

In the first i fancy Moon Dice. I think he'll love the ground and was beaten by a good sort in Cork recently.

I'm a big fan of both Burn And Turn & Moon Dice and I'd strongly fancy Burn And Turn as its back over fences and I still amn't convinced by Moon Dice over the bigger obstacles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Some lad on Twitter is tipping Moon Dice saying he got word from the trainer. Now I know the trainer basically gives word every time he runs as I've backed him a few times (when losing) because of it in the past.

I thought he was too big over his hurdles LTO though and it wasn't a bad run to be fair. I'll give him one final chance on his good ground. Small bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭Luap

Well done Rossom! Pity I only got on before the race!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Yourwellcum

rossom wrote: »
    4.40 Nottingham

Chocala 17/2

This really looks like a case of the bookies pricing this one up wrong in my eyes as I think Alan King's 3 year old Chocala has an absolutely tremendous chance of landing this after running a really nice seasonal reappearance in a better race than this in the Dante meeting at York 12 days ago and if stripping fitter and improving for the step up in trip I think he'll take a bit of beating. After two virtual no shows on decent ground in August/September last year, Chocala ran an absolute blinder which seemed out of the blue at the time when bumping into a rather useful mark Johnston horse at Nottingham over a mile last October when finishing a 6L beaten 2nd to Mister Impatience on what was a massive improvement on what he had shown. Racing wide for much of the contest, Chocala sat in the mid division but made some good progress following through the eventual winner about 2f out but it soon became apparent that the Mister Impatience wasn't for catching and Adam Kirby eased off his mount in the final furlong before he was pushed out to hold on for 2nd late on. I'm not sure if it was the switch to a soft surface that brought about the improvement but it was a league apart from what he had shown in his first two starts. Given the way Mister Impatience won, its hardly surprising he absolutely bolted up in a handicap off a mark of 82 and he has since run really nice races including when chasing home Aidan O'Brien's Derby hopeful Ruler Of The World at Chester in a Group 3 recently and Chocala lost very little in defeat to that rival which is definitely demonstrated by his 70 handicap rating. Chocala was comfortably 2nd best that day and the form of those in behind is quite strong as well. The 4th home Elidor has franked the form strongly as a 3 year old when beaten 1L by subsequent Dante winner Libertarian before going down by a neck to Mad Moose who went on to be placed in a Group 3 and his final race came when 2nd to Nevis in a Derby Trial. That form is very strong and Chocala proved that run was no fluke when running a blinder on his handicap debut over 12f at York's Dante meeting in a better race than this.

On the back 6 month absence, Chocala ran a highly encouraging race at York on soft ground 12 days ago when beaten less than 5L into 5th in 0-80 contest against a lot of in form rivals. Under Jimmy Fortune, Chocala was held up towards the rear of the field and again a little wide before he started to make steady progress to chase the leaders swinging into the home straight. At the 2f pole, it looked as if he had every chance but it looked as if he was found slightly wanting for fitness in approaching the furlong pole but he did run all the way to the line not to beaten that far in a really promising effort. All that form has yet to be tested, I am sure its a race thats going to work out really well with many of those who played a leading role in the race coming into the contest with strong form and I suspect Chocala to improve quite a bit for the run. In addition, barring the runner up, every horse in the field came into the contest race fit and I think it was a tremendous effort by Chocala as he seemed to relish the step up in trip. In addition to stepping up to 1m6f which should definitely suit, Chocala drops in class to this 0-70 contest and although this looks a competitive race for the grade with several unexposed and progressive sorts Chocala fits into that category as well and he'll definitely find this easier than his latest assignment. Alan King's regular flat jockey Fergus Sweeney and Chocala is the only action for both at Nottingham today. Although I'm not sure if Chocala needs soft ground, rain is forecast at the track today so I am sure there will be suitable ease in the ground and hopefully not many of Chocala's rivals are pulled. Proven at the track, if appreciating the step up in trip and stripping fitter for the run I expect a really strong showing from Alan King's 3 year old and now eased in Class I expect him to take a lot of beating and will be very disappointed if he doesn't go very close to landing this.

Great shout. Cheers

4.40 Nottingham

Chocala 17/2

Still can't get over 17/2 was available last night. 25p Rule 4 but won that very well.

Well done Rossom!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭rockycelt

well done Rossom, didn't back him but got my ew on Town Mouse, so pleased enough

Cheers lads. That York race at the Dante meeting which Esteaming won will definitely turn out to be very useful. I'm amazed Esteaming has only gone up 5lb considering the way he travelled the last day and I'll definitely be putting him up again at the weekend

UrbanSea wrote: »
    One I've been keeping an eye on getting very well handicapped

Very well and nearly 20lbs below his best run over hurdles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Treacle for the win. ;) Trips too short though. :(

That was a nice debut by Father Edward there for John Ferguson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

I'm a big fan of both Burn And Turn & Moon Dice and I'd strongly fancy Burn And Turn as its back over fences and I still amn't convinced by Moon Dice over the bigger obstacles.

The betting is all over the place in that race, bar one horse, BURN AND TURN must be a good thing at this stage, MOON DICE drifting big time.

How did Jetson get backed like he did and run like that? :confused:

His stint over fences will be a brief one by the looks of it!

Treacle ran a blinder over too short a trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

Kicking myself that I allowed the gamble on Jetson to put me off backing Rathlin.

For the followers of Ismail Mohammed and Terry Norman's thoughts he seems extremely confident about 8.50 Sandown Shamaal Nibras 10/1 tomorrow.

Normally when I look at a race, a bit like when you turn over your exam paper, you scan the field and panic over whom you don't think you can beat. It's not the case here.

I think Shamaal Nibras will win. The fact he is 10-1 is the only surprise. The horse hasn't been in the yard for long but there is much in his favour. A drop of 2lbs, from a promising run at Goodwood (fro an awful draw), enables him to run in a 0-95 for the first time in a while, he acts on the ground and the step up again to a 1m is definitely in his favour.

Shamaal Nibras is a lovely big horse so his stride will be used more tonight than has often been the case with him in the past. There will be plenty of pace in the race with Spa's Dancer, the market leader, the worst drawn in 13, unless they come across to the stands rails.

Plenty of horses in this contest want further and the same number wouldn't want any more rain. I love this horse and his attitude. He really needs to win to cement his place in the Hunt Cup (he is probably too well handicapped now), a race that he would have a chance in.

Health bar vanish into thin air? Didn't see it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

cheers for the tip rossom, nice little earner!

Health bar vanish into thin air? Didn't see it

Fell at the first or second I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

Well, the punters are getting it badly wrong at Punchestown this evening. I didn't lay it but (in hindsight) Stonemaster was very short for a horse, in a 14-runner handicap, that hadn't won in 21 runs over the past 2 years and never on ground better than yielding!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

If ever there was a RF to be done it was in this race, god and his fickle ways.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

byronbay2 wrote: »
    Well, the punters are getting it badly wrong at Punchestown this evening. I didn't lay it but (in hindsight) Stonemaster was very short for a horse, in a 14-runner handicap, that hadn't won in 21 runs over the past 2 years and never on ground better than yielding!!

Good Lord I just saw that there, evens was absolutely criminal. You'd wonder who backs those kind of horses

Norah's star you better get in there you little Dixie! Dennis hogan is like Teflon...his trickery in handicaps would have to be admired by Nicky h!

Cry For The Moon in next for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

Norah's star you better get in there you little Dixie! Dennis hogan is like Teflon...his trickery in handicaps would have to be admired by Nicky h!

I'll drink to that, having a terrible evening.

Not tonight!

For the followers of Ismail Mohammed and Terry Norman's thoughts he seems extremely confident about 8.50 Sandown Shamaal Nibras 10/1 tomorrow.

Normally when I look at a race, a bit like when you turn over your exam paper, you scan the field and panic over whom you don't think you can beat. It's not the case here.

I think Shamaal Nibras will win. The fact he is 10-1 is the only surprise. The horse hasn't been in the yard for long but there is much in his favour. A drop of 2lbs, from a promising run at Goodwood (fro an awful draw), enables him to run in a 0-95 for the first time in a while, he acts on the ground and the step up again to a 1m is definitely in his favour.

Shamaal Nibras is a lovely big horse so his stride will be used more tonight than has often been the case with him in the past. There will be plenty of pace in the race with Spa's Dancer, the market leader, the worst drawn in 13, unless they come across to the stands rails.

Plenty of horses in this contest want further and the same number wouldn't want any more rain. I love this horse and his attitude. He really needs to win to cement his place in the Hunt Cup (he is probably too well handicapped now), a race that he would have a chance in.
    Will you be going all out rossom!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭votecounts

4-1 ON PADDYS ATM, being well backed

votecounts wrote: »
    4-1 ON PADDYS ATM, being well backed

Didn't see the prices last night but there are a couple of non runners that I think would have been near the top of the market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

Good call pity i only got him at 3-1 but hey it didn't lose cheers op