Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donal Og Cusack gets abuse on twitter

• 28-05-2013 2:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭

There are some pure idiots in this world and this one is right up there

https://twitter.com/DonalOgC

Screen-Shot-2013-05-28-at-14.32.22.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Some people are idiots, some of these idiots love to use the internet to be idiotic, its hardly surprising.

Probably best off not even giving this guy the attention he craves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Hopefully a nice Section 8 request and prosecution for discrimination, incitement, whatever, is in the offing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

KevIRL wrote: »
    Some people are idiots, some of these idiots love to use the internet to be idiotic, its hardly surprising.

Probably best off not even giving this guy the attention he craves.

Well tbh i think a visit from the guards is in order. Seemingly he has a previous court appearance for phoning fire stations.

Is he a loon are just some moron who likes attention ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

The lad is completely unhinged, did you read the rest of his posts? There's about forty tweets SINCE he trolled Cusack, including a whole raft of scumbaggery directed towards Rafael Nadal. He must be a complete fruitcake, I'm sure Cusack is a bigger man than to be worried about freaks the like of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

What a total utter gob****e. Unfortunately, you will find these fools in all walks of life.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

He will be getting a visit unless he has himself well hidden. If he isn't that clued in then he will be getting a right going over from bubba.

yop wrote: »
    He will be getting a visit unless he has himself well hidden. If he isn't that clued in then he will be getting a right going over from bubba.

He is not well hidden. Lads think they can say whatever they want on the internet and don't seem to realise how easy it is to find out all about them in a matter of seconds. He's using his real name and where he lives on that account. He might regret it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Donal Og is a sound bloke, I'm sure Donal won't be worried about that shíte as its the bloke posting it that has the issues not Donal. Bet he wouldn't say it to his face..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭80s Child

He's from mayo, great.. another one doing us proud..

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

He is not well hidden. Lads think they can say whatever they want on the internet and don't seem to realise how easy it is to find out all about them in a matter of seconds. He's using his real name and where he lives on that account. He might regret it.

Who says its his real name? Quite easy to setup accounts and profiles and rob pics of other profiles, hide behind proxies and not get caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

The worst part for me is that it doesn't seem to be just some tool throwing abuse for the sake of it, this moron seems to believe in what he is saying regarding homosexuality. I'm not saying that it would be okay if he was just throwing abuse for 'the laugh', it's still bad, but if he really feels that way about homosexuality in sport, then that's sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

he is just trolling him trying to get a reaction.

lahalane wrote: »
    The worst part for me is that it doesn't seem to be just some tool throwing abuse for the sake of it, this moron seems to believe in what he is saying regarding homosexuality. I'm not saying that it would be okay if he was just throwing abuse for 'the laugh', it's still bad, but if he really feels that way about homosexuality in sport, then that's sad.

And he even has people following him!! A total troll, time twitter got a hold of him and closed him down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

What a dooshbag - a tweet from 9hrs ago suggests he's in Australia, but who knows.

I have to confess though, I found myself chuckling at his tweets to Eamonn O'Hara.

Who says its his real name? Quite easy to setup accounts and profiles and rob pics of other profiles, hide behind proxies and not get caught.

I think you're giving him too much credit.

Have a look down through his tweets, I can't access twitter from here, but 21h ago he tweeted Betfairhelpdesk looking for assistance with the name seanHynes87.
    So he could very well be.

Have a look down through his tweets, I can't access twitter from here, but 21h ago he tweeted Betfairhelpdesk looking for assistance with the name seanHynes87.

Fair point. I also noticed he was trying to troll Paul McGrath and Nigel Owens the last couple of days. So...probably not the busiest of lads anyway.

of which there is one from ballina, and working in queensland. mask slips ?

either way twitter should shut it down and pass on details to authorities

Fair point. I also noticed he was trying to troll Paul McGrath and Nigel Owens the last couple of days. So...probably not the busiest of lads anyway.

He could easily be posing as that Lavelle lad and actually cause (more) hassle for him in the long run. Seen a local case where a man did this to a young lad and made his life hell using a mobile phone and posing as him.

Either way unless he is hiding behind a proxy he will hopefully be caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Seems like a bloody nutter!!

Ah no, he is quite normal. Ye Leinster boys are just soft :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Sticks and stones etc.

I don't know why people give idiots online the time of day. No need for Donal Óg to respond, the guy is obviously a cretin regardless of whether he truly believes what he is saying or not. Bigots gonna bigot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Corrimbla

Ya people I actually know the lad...its not the real Peter Lavelle but a guy called Sean Hynes who set up a fake twitter account...poor Sean is over in Oz and has too much time on his hands i'm afraid!! false alert...just goes to show anybody can set up an account with anybodys name

Corrimbla wrote: »
    Ya people I actually know the lad...its not the real Peter Lavelle but a guy called Sean Hynes who set up a fake twitter account...poor Sean is over in Oz and has too much time on his hands i'm afraid!! false alert...just goes to show anybody can set up an account with anybodys name

Obviously not the brightest homophobic on the planet using the same username to query a betting company with his own name as a username.

Nomination for darwin awards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

Its amazing how quickly the world became politically correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

What does political correctness have to do with any thing?

There is nothing at all politically correct in finding it repulsive when someone hides behind a computer to abuse a total stranger on the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

Account nuked. Either pulled after complaints, or couldn't stand the heat. His activities were on several sites today. Spreading quickly..

peterlavellered.gif

corny wrote: »

What are you talking about?

I know usually they say to discuss someone's point rationally rather than just resorting to abusive language. But seriously, would you ever **** off? Did you read what was written at all? If someone spoke like that to my friends or team mates they'd be waking up in a pool of their own blood and teeth. Politically correct me arse.

Get a grip, there is a difference between been a neanderthal, homophobic, ignorant and wrong.
    If you can't see whats wrong then your near as bad as him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Fair dues to Donal Óg, he kept his cool, though it is clear he is comfortable enough in himself to not rise to idiots like that! No one should have to listen to that bigoted BS in the 21st century.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭TheBully

I would like to clear this up, im Peter Lavelle @Heinekenhead on twitter! the @Peterlavellered was set up by sean Hynes! a ****ing idiot with too much time on his hands.

What are you talking about?

Well a generation or two ago it was illegal to be homosexual. Alan Turing was chemically castrated and committed suicide for being homosexual. 20 years ago no one would bat an eyelid at this. Now, the mere mention of the word '******' or 'queer' sends unconnected strangers into a frenzy. Just commenting on how quickly that happened, nothing more.

Before another friendly moderator labels me a homophobe I don't condone what the man says either, frankly i couldn't give a **** what he says; just found it interesting reading the indignant consensus.

Anyway GAA forum....

Well a generation or two ago it was illegal to be homosexual. Alan Turing was chemically castrated and committed suicide for being homosexual. 20 years ago no one would bat an eyelid at this. Now, the mere mention of the word '******' or 'queer' sends unconnected strangers into a frenzy. Just commenting on how quickly that happened, nothing more.

Before another friendly moderator labels me a homophobe I don't condone what the man says either, frankly i couldn't give a **** what he says; just found it interesting reading the indignant consensus.

Anyway GAA forum....

TheBully wrote: »
    I would like to clear this up, im Peter Lavelle @Heinekenhead on twitter! the @Peterlavellered was set up by sean Hynes! a ****ing idiot with too much time on his hands.

Are you the lad from Ballina who was in the article in the paper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭randd1

I wonder would the individual who sent the tweets prove his tough talking is genuine if he was placed in a locked room with just Cusack in it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

Corrimbla wrote: »
    You make him sound like a misunderstood loveable rogue when in fact he's publically abusing someone based on their sexuality, while sneakily doing so under someone else's name.

I think he/she was being sarcastic with the "poor Sean" bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

What a sad and pathetic little man.:rolleyes:

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Corrimbla

Apologies if it reads that way. I know of the guy actually as hes from the same town as me, unfortunately he's just a fool of a young fella thinking its funny trolling with a false facade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Anyway GAA forum....

Shovel upwards fella not downwards.:rolleyes:

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

Now, the mere mention of the word '******' or 'queer' sends unconnected strangers into a frenzy. Just commenting on how quickly that happened, nothing more.

I beg your pardon, but there is nothing frenzied about the vast majority of the posts here. Finding the online ravings of this idiot from Ballina repulsive, does not mean that one has gone into "a frenzy" as you put it. Far from it. The last time I looked in the mirror, I was perfectly calm and was not foaming at the mouth. At least I wasn't the last time I checked anyway. :P

Anyway GAA forum....

Why yes it is. What is your point? We are we discussing social media and how it is currently affecting a former GAA player, an All Ireland medal winner, a panelist on the Sunday GAA show, and the President of the GPA. Where else would you suggest we discuss it? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

I think he/she was being sarcastic with the "poor Sean" bit

Not the way I read it but open to correction by the poster in question.

ProudDUB wrote: »
    I beg your pardon, but there is nothing frenzied about the vast majority of the posts here. Finding the online ravings of this idiot from Ballina repulsive, does not mean that one has gone into "a frenzy" as you put it. Far from it. The last time I looked in the mirror, I was perfectly calm and was not foaming at the mouth. At least I wasn't the last time I checked anyway.

If you prefer self serving indignation i'll offer that instead.

And i said this is a GAA forum because since posting i've been told to **** off and called a sad and pathetic little man. Thought it might get out of hand alright. I'll drop it now thanks.

You were told to **** off because you came here trolling. Any chip you have on your shoulder about the GAA is entirely incidental to that. You'd be told the same thing on the rugby forum, or any other sports forum I'm sure.

I've more posts in the GAA forum than you have in total.:confused:

I'll post what i like, where i like and i certainly won't be held accountable by an upstart with an attitude.

I've more posts in the GAA forum than you have in total.:confused:

I'll post what i like, where i like and i certainly won't be held accountable by an upstart with an attitude.
    Congratulations on the achievement of posting more than me, I feel very inadequate for not having spent as much time here as you. What has that got to do with your sneering about this being a GAA forum? Can you not just clarify what you mean?

Congratulations on the achievement of posting more than me, I feel very inadequate for not having spent as much time here as you.

Blah blah blah I wasn't trolling.
    What has that got to do with your sneering about this being a GAA forum? Can you not just clarify what you mean?

Sneering? You misunderstood obviously. Read my comment to ProudDUB and then **** off and leave me alone.

There are nearly 50 posts in this thread. I have only seen two of them cross over the line into rudeness. That is a whopping 4% of all posts. If you choose to think that that is things getting out of hand, I'd love to see what you consider to be a full scale riot.

So far, you have accused people here of getting into a frenzy, being politically correct, getting out of hand and being self self serving upstarts. You have been insulting towards others, far more than they have been insulting towards you. I don't condone all of the comments that were sent your way, but if you are trying to portray yourself as some sort of victim for simply speaking the truth, you are sorely mistaken imo.