Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dog Transport Box

• 27-05-2013 11:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭

Well lads i'm thinking of buying a dog box from this website http://centuriondogruns.ie/index.php?id=3 it's the double one that fits in the boot(2nd picture down). Just waiting on an e-mail back bout the price. Just want to know has anyone bought from this site and if so how would you rate the product or products similar, also if anyone selling a one handy similar to this one let me know also. Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭carav10

I've seen these ones and unless they've changed their supplier which he mentioned he was doing, they charge way too much for the quality I saw. There's someone in Blessington who charges less for pretty much the same flatpack product. Think you'd find him on donedeal.

To be honest, a foldable crate is as strong as those ones. I eventually found a metalwork teacher friend to make up a custom, heavier but way stronger. I would definitely recommend seeing before purchasing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Brazzill

carav10 wrote: »
    I've seen these ones and unless they've changed their supplier which he mentioned he was doing, they charge way too much for the quality I saw. There's someone in Blessington who charges less for pretty much the same flatpack product. Think you'd find him on donedeal.

To be honest, a foldable crate is as strong as those ones. I eventually found a metalwork teacher friend to make up a custom, heavier but way stronger. I would definitely recommend seeing before purchasing.

Ya I will drive up to cork altogether as it is only up the road. Another lad I was shooting with last year had a serious one in his boot was made out of a hard plastic but extremely strong and water proof but the prices of them new are scandalous, I wouldnt be the wealthiest man in the world :( thanks for the info anyway lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Robotack

I called that centurion crowd before and the lad that answered was the most ignorant man I ever came across. BEWARE.

I got a mate who's a cabinet maker to make me one. Turned out perfect. I'll post a pic in a bit.

The bones were done unbeknown to me....

There's air holes across the top and sides too. It's 6mm ply on a frame so it's light enough to lift alone. I'm very happy with it for afraction of the cost of the plastic ones.

Robotack wrote: »
    The bones were done unbeknown to me....

There's air holes across the top and sides too. It's 6mm ply on a frame so it's light enough to lift alone. I'm very happy with it for afraction of the cost of the plastic ones.

Nice job that is lad! What price did the ignorant lad give you on the box? Ya I have a mate that is a chippy and could sort something I suppose.

He didn't give me any price. When I rang he just barked at me 3 times, "look on the web site".

The plastic ones are lovely there's no doubt but IMO not worth the price tag. I couldn't justify €400+ for a box to maybe be stuck with it if I change the jeep.

If you're stuck my mate said he'd measure up your car and custom make one like mine. In Dublin though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭carav10

He didn't give me any price. When I rang he just barked at me 3 times, "look on the web site".

The plastic ones are lovely there's no doubt but IMO not worth the price tag. I couldn't justify €400+ for a box to maybe be stuck with it if I change the jeep.

If you're stuck my mate said he'd measure up your car and custom make one like mine. In Dublin though.

They are definitely NOT worth €400. You will get similar online for under €150. They're chancing their arm trying to charge those prices.

Well if he barks at me on the phone he will be told to rightly **** off haha. Ya lad sound for that but one the lads here a chippy and will sort one out but would rather the ready made ones.

They are definitely NOT worth €400. You will get similar online for under €150. They're chancing their arm trying to charge those prices.

I would say he is on bout the plastic ones lad they savage but I wouldn't be paying 400 plus for one.

Ya I seen them ones on eBay but don't they come flat pack. Probably be rattling like mad after few trips down a passage. Well if all comes to all I could just drive up to that fella above and look at a ready made one before purchase.

Jaysus lad your right he just emailed me back there......400 snots!!! Is he mad? think the plastic ones cheaper then that and they way better. id nearly buy the flat pack one on ebay for cheap and weld it up myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

tell him where to get off:mad:

There's a company up north that do nice ones. Dogtransportbox.co.uk I think is the site. They are very friendly lads on the phone and the products look nice but again your talking 3-400 notes.
    Like if you spent that on a dog trailer I'd say ok, it has wheels, lights, hitch etc., I can see how you arrived at that price..... but ITS A PLASTIC BOX! They must be havin a laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭Vizzy

Something like this maybe ?

"http://imageshack.us/a/img196/5462/dscn0130e.jpg

Cage is ultralight and I put a piece of tarpaulin around it to stop any "spray"

ya well that would be the smart idea been cheap but have young kids and if you open the window in the car theres hair been blown around but you know yourself with a solid back it will stay inside and easier to clean. Thanks anyway

There's a company up north that do nice ones. Dogtransportbox.co.uk I think is the site. They are very friendly lads on the phone and the products look nice but again your talking 3-400 notes.
    Like if you spent that on a dog trailer I'd say ok, it has wheels, lights, hitch etc., I can see how you arrived at that price..... but ITS A PLASTIC BOX! They must be havin a laugh.

Ya they a savage box but bit pricey. I will keep looking around might find a 2nd hand one or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Bit shabby but few new rivets, wire brush etc be a cheap box
    http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/petaccessories/5033456

Plastic box you like at virtually half price
    http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/dogs/4854122

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/dogs/4854122[/QUOTE]

Thanks lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭transit260

the mans an arse hole,dont waste yer time.i live right close to him and bought my stuff from slaney side kennells,cheaper and more polite by far.i went to see the boxes a while back and he didnt have any,told me he was waiting to get them in.bluffer of the highest order.

transit260 wrote: »
    the mans an arse hole,dont waste yer time.i live right close to him and bought my stuff from slaney side kennells,cheaper and more polite by far.i went to see the boxes a while back and he didnt have any,told me he was waiting to get them in.bluffer of the highest order.

Ya the email that I receive back was "400e" no hi or hello, just 400e. A well he can take a long walk off a short pier! Going to order the double box from up the north 403 euro delivered and all.

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/dogs/4854122

I'm going for the double version of the donedeal add in Meath. The way I see it for the extra 160 I will have a divided box with 2 doors lad. Charlie10 has the exact one and its perfect for what I want it for. 403 for a brand new one but will last for along time I think.

Brazzill wrote: »
    Ya the email that I receive back was "400e" no hi or hello, just 400e. A well he can take a long walk off a short pier! Going to order the double box from up the north 403 euro delivered and all.

You should email that flute a link to this thread. And there's others on here about him too. He may then realise how he's flushing his business down the toilet.

brazzil theres a bloke down here that does top quality dog boxes for terriers,he charged my mate 90 euros for a treble if thats what you looking for.he'll make any type you want and very reasonable.
    http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/petaccessories/4385720
    are these the type you need?i saw my mates set and they are sturdy and very well made.

brazzil theres a bloke down here that does top quality dog boxes for terriers,he charged my mate 90 euros for a treble if thats what you looking for.he'll make any type you want and very reasonable.
    http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/petaccessories/4385720
    are these the type you need?i saw my mates set and they are sturdy and very well made.

Bang on lad just off the phone to him there he making me up one the size of the one I was going to order up the country for way cheaper! Looks the business as well. Sound for that lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

The plastic box is the only job, i sold that one to Charlie10 as i needed a bigger one.The plastic ones are superbly made and are worth every penny , they can be easily washed out and disinfected after use and have drain holes to let the water out , they also have stainless steel doors ,hinges and latches.
    Your dog is going through ditches and fields that have ****e and slurry spread all over them so any bacteria or germs will breed in the box if it is not properly disinfected, you can fully scrub and disinfect the plastic box and it will stay like new for the rest of your shooting days ,if you scrub and wash a wooden box like that you will not get as long out of it and it will stink like **** as all the ****e soaks into the timber.
    Think about it 400 euro and you have a box for the next 30 years..thats 13 euro a year.

lb1981 wrote: »
    The plastic box is the only job, i sold that one to Charlie10 as i needed a bigger one.The plastic ones are superbly made and are worth every penny , they can be easily washed out and disinfected after use and have drain holes to let the water out , they also have stainless steel doors ,hinges and latches.
    Your dog is going through ditches and fields that have ****e and slurry spread all over them so any bacteria or germs will breed in the box if it is not properly disinfected, you can fully scrub and disinfect the plastic box and it will stay like new for the rest of your shooting days ,if you scrub and wash a wooden box like that you will not get as long out of it and it will stink like **** as all the ****e soaks into the timber.
    Think about it 400 euro and you have a box for the next 30 years..thats 13 euro a year.

Well feck it anyway lb :) that speech just there has me thinking again. I know they are a serious job alright. Year feck it I will let your man know I won't order the timber one, I had to ring him with measurements anyway so will cancel it and order the plastic one. My mrs. Won't be happy with you lb boy.

Just tell her it cost half of what it is, thats what they do with the shoes and handbags:D.
    If mine ever found out how much i spend i would be hung drawn and quatered, i still get stuff delivered to the ma's house:D

jaysus lb you must be runing them dogs of yours in a slurry pit,lol.the lad i know hunts bogs and woodland,open field and has no bother at all with the smell from them.theres a big difference from 90 euros to 400,you got too much money kid lol

You could buy 4 boxes. Use one let it air for 3 weeks & rotate. :)
    I have the plastic one & it's a fine job. I built a wooden one similiar to those ones & varnished it inside & out. Still fine & fits under cover in back of pick up.
    Plastic 1 is just an investment & I customized it with shelves etc for gear

Just tell her it cost half of what it is, thats what they do with the shoes and handbags:D.
    If mine ever found out how much i spend i would be hung drawn and quatered, i still get stuff delivered to the ma's house:D

Haha brilliant, why not sure spoil myself.

You could buy 4 boxes. Use one let it air for 3 weeks & rotate. :)
    I have the plastic one & it's a fine job. I built a wooden one similiar to those ones & varnished it inside & out. Still fine & fits under cover in back of pick up.
    Plastic 1 is just an investment & I customized it with shelves etc for gear

well I think I will go for the quality as lb said it will out last any other box really, I see charlie10's and its mint in fairness easily take two dogs in each side and easy to keep clean! I wont be getting that box for a couple of weeks but lb has won lads!!!

No favouritism here boys ye all nice fellas like :D:D:D:D just had my heart set on that box since last season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭Alchemist2

I bought one last October from the dogtransporter up the north 350 plus delivery and its a very big box twin compartment goes in the back of a disco2 the only job imo... buy right and buy once

bang on for putting me on to the lad in cork but I will buy the one up the north lad if not for longevity. thanks

I'd agree with this if you're box is going to be a basic cube shape and you own a van or pickup truck. However when I enquired they were gonna have to supply me a box that was custom made for my make / model jeep. As I don't intend keeping that jeep for 30 years I'd only end up changing the box with the jeep so unfortunately it wouldn't be a lifetime investment for me.

id buy a car to cater for these box's lad. i like them because they fit in any boot(well charlie10's he got off lb) that seats go down or car/van like corolla, golf, punto. i wouldn't have a jeep or anything ike that. basically i buy a car for the hunting season.

Na i just do a lot of overtime:Djust before my baby was born i averaged 68 hrs a week,thats day and night shifts as soon as my wife is back in action and all these visitors stop calling il be back up to that again,if you want nice toys you have to work hard to pay for them. , in fairness that lads timber boxes are very well made and they look really good and they are a credit to him, i always appreciate good workmanship like that.Any spa can go down to chadwicks and get a few 2 by 4 and a few sheets of ply and make up a box but that that lad puts a bit of effort in.
    If you take the butchers even now as an example most have gone away from the old timber blocks and now use the plastic ones as they are more hygienic and you dont have to spend a half hour at the end of the day scrubbing them clean.
    Most of the boxes that that lad up the north supplies are 1meter wide.that will fit into most hatch back cars and between every jeeps wheel arches on the market, i used it in a pajero and a landcruiser..i delivered it to charlie in my wife's Vw fox and he took it home in a Fiat punto, 2 of the smallest hatchbacks on the market,most of heights are standard it is just the depth that you have to worry about.

Na i just do a lot of overtime:Djust before my baby was born i averaged 68 hrs a week,thats day and night shifts as soon as my wife is back in action and all these visitors stop calling il be back up to that again,if you want nice toys you have to work hard to pay for them. , in fairness that lads timber boxes are very well made and they look really good and they are a credit to him, i always appreciate good workmanship like that.Any spa can go down to chadwicks and get a few 2 by 4 and a few sheets of ply and make up a box but that that lad puts a bit of effort in.
    If you take the butchers even now as an example most have gone away from the old timber blocks and now use the plastic ones as they are more hygienic and you dont have to spend a half hour at the end of the day scrubbing them clean.
    Most of the boxes that that lad up the north supplies are 1meter wide.that will fit into most hatch back cars and between every jeeps wheel arches on the market, i used it in a pajero and a landcruiser..i delivered it to charlie in my wife's Vw fox and he took it home in a Fiat punto, 2 of the smallest hatchbacks on the market,most of heights are standard it is just the depth that you have to worry about.

which one did you order then on the website i'm thinking the one in the land cruiser is the one you sold charlie10 ya? or am i wrong.....size seems the same.

Yeah that the one, they are nearly all the same it is just the depth that that mainly changes except if you want drawers on them ,then the height changes.
    i sold him the dt1.

http://www.dogtransportbox.com/Estate-Cars-Jeeps.asp

Yeah that the one, they are nearly all the same it is just the depth that that mainly changes except if you want drawers on them ,then the height changes.
    i sold him the dt1.

http://www.dogtransportbox.com/Estate-Cars-Jeeps.asp[/QUOTE]

ya that's the one i was going to order anyway cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

without the best quality shooting item i have bar none ,its seen alot of dogs it saw snipe02s bitch ,lb1981s dogs,brazzills dog,charlie10s dogs and many many more and its still like new, i bought two beds at the birr game fair and they are still like new,i love taking it out the back there and giving it the once over with boilding water and lemon bleach,just throw it up on decking then after an hour its ready to go .its so versatile to in that u can put all shot quarry on the top during the season and balls,chains and boots in the off season. i remember one night i brought home two ferrets in it and forgot about the holes for the handles i was half way home when one the ferrets ran across the dash nearly **** my pants! i had rabbits in it too when i was ferreting,phesants when the club got them ,and when snipe02 came to stay for the weekend i was able to put it outside the back in the pen as an extra dog house.

Here's my custom one. Great job.
    Big compartment, shelves to rear & top opening compartment for game & gear.

BA3509CE-0559-4761-B8CC-5C894995971C-590-000000E8197B0AB8_zpscd19c7ac.jpg

8C5A340C-F197-4162-8312-0BC71936D391-590-000000E838B49F19_zpsf3d83479.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

Well lads i'm thinking of buying a dog box from this website http://centuriondogruns.ie/index.php?id=3 it's the double one that fits in the boot(2nd picture down). Just waiting on an e-mail back bout the price. Just want to know has anyone bought from this site and if so how would you rate the product or products similar, also if anyone selling a one handy similar to this one let me know also. Cheers

350 euro for the double one you are looking at

Pm