Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good auld public transport

• 26-05-2013 7:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭

Was just down at citywest shopping center with me girlfriend and hopped on the luas back to her house in Tallaght.

So i am watching these two fellas while where waiting at the stop both your average looking shifty teens but it's mainly annoying me how one them kept coming up close behind me and then me girlfriend. I was half waiting for one them go for her bag.

So anyways we get on luas they get on one walks round other sits down across from us. The luas is fairly empty as usual as is normally is at these stops.

So the luas stops the stop just before the one in Fettercairn they both jump up and one jumps off other runs up grabs phone right out fellas hand while he's in middle of conversation! Both the **** s run off into field the poor fecker who's just lost his phone shouts at them and has no idea what to do.

This ain't first time I've seen or heard of similar happening on the luas especially around the Tallaght stops.

Just glad Me girlfriend wasn't on her own ffs.

Can't go anywhere these days lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Was the luas delayed or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Was the luas delayed or something?

The driver stopped for few minutes after it happened and was talking to fella it happened to he then got off walked in direction they ran.

If anyone knows the field behind where halting site is in Brook field I think it's called that's where they ran.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Good Honest Folk Should Carry A Knife On The Luas.

Stab, Stab, Stab....

Problem Solved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Don't they have cctv on the luas ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Fettercairns a total kip ,its pretty much a daily experience up there I remember people didn't want the luas stopping there at all ,
    It shows you need situational awareness where ever your out and about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

The driver stopped for few minutes after it happened and was talking to fella it happened to he then got off walked in direction they ran.

If anyone knows the field behind where halting site is in Brook field I think it's called that's where they ran.

Shouldn't be to hard to track these guys down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Was just down at citywest shopping center with me girlfriend and hopped on the luas back to her house in Tallaght.

So i am watching these two fellas while where waiting at the stop both your average looking shifty teens but it's mainly annoying me how one them kept coming up close behind me and then me girlfriend. I was half waiting for one them go for her bag.

So anyways we get on luas they get on one walks round other sits down across from us. The luas is fairly empty as usual as is normally is at these stops.

So the luas stops the stop just before the one in Fettercairn they both jump up and one jumps off other runs up grabs phone right out fellas hand while he's in middle of conversation! Both the **** s run off into field the poor fecker who's just lost his phone shouts at them and has no idea what to do.

This ain't first time I've seen or heard of similar happening on the luas especially around the Tallaght stops.

Just glad Me girlfriend wasn't on her own ffs.

Can't go anywhere these days lol.

Oh dear oh dear,this post would REALLY be welcomed over on C&T....;)

But,I've bolded the most important part of this post,as the knee bone is connected to the thigh bone,is connected to the hip bone and so on and so forth,all the way to the Brain....EXCEPT,when it's anything to do with "Good auld Irish Public Transport".

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

Festy wrote: »

Something wrong with your eyes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭iMac_Hunt

Ah, it was travellers, you should have said that in the OP, can't beat a good traveller bashing thread.

Oh Oh....We may have a problem here.....:(
    Gatling: It shows you need situational awareness where ever your out and about

But the need varies significantly,depending upon your location....;)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

iMac_Hunt wrote: »
    Ah, it was travellers, you should have said that in the OP, can't beat a good traveller bashing thread.

It never even came into my head they might be travellers other the fact they ran in there they just look like average yokes who hang around there.

iMac_Hunt wrote: »

Ah c'mon iMac_Hunt,you're the one that read "Field behind the halting site in Brookfield" and managed to turn it into "Can't beat a good Traveller bashing thread".

Would it be at all possible that the reason the OP did'nt specifically mention Travellers,was that they were'nt involved in this instance ?

Mind you,if they were,then they deserve just as good a bashing thread as the next man !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Only luasers take the Luas!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

The local lads would be as rough as travellers up there. So no reason to assume they were travellers.

scopper wrote: »
    The local lads would be as rough as travellers up there. So no reason to assume they were travellers.

Like I said I don't even think they where ha. I used to work in shop up there beside Bradys I know them to see them by now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭iMac_Hunt

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Ah c'mon iMac_Hunt,you're the one that read "Field behind the halting site in Brookfield" and managed to turn it into "Can't beat a good Traveller bashing thread".

Would it be at all possible that the reason the OP did'nt specifically mention Travellers,was that they were'nt involved in this instance ?

Mind you,if they were,then they deserve just as good a bashing thread as the next man !

I was only taking the piss :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

scopper wrote: »

;) Or the travellers as rough as the local lads :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭lc180

I work in Citywest, saw some poor fella get his laptop stolen on way to work one morning. Happened at the Fettercairn stop also and your description of the young fellas behaviour is exactly the same what I saw. Prob the same wee f#ckers.

I called up Luas HQ to tell them what I witnessed and got the impression they couldn't give a crap.

There should be security on that luas at all times its a free for all normally sure ones sitting behind me where drinking cans lol.

Most people don't even pay to ride the fecking thing.

At some future date,perhaps sooner than they might think,when the Fare Paying Punters have all scarpered back to alternative transport,they will be told that services will need to be reduced / cut with jobs to go too.....Then they'll give a crap right enuff...:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

That's a disgusting thing to do, I'v no doubt they have done it before too, Seriously need longer sentences for these types of crime. I wouldn't be familiar with Fettercairn but when I looked it up on Google Earth recently It struck me as very dreary.

The only time you normally see security or the people who check fares on red line is nearer to town.

Couple of weeks ago there was a fella again who had his phone robbed at the belgard stop his mate got off and couple lads threatened him held knife to his throat.

Beyond a joke.

charlemont wrote: »
    That's a disgusting thing to do, I'v no doubt they have done it before too, Seriously need longer sentences for these types of crime. I wouldn't be familiar with Fettercairn but when I looked it up on Google Earth recently It struck me as very dreary.

You could tell they done it before sure me girlfriend was telling me she seen them pointing up to your man who's phone they took a stop or two before it happened.

charlemont wrote: »

Whatever Fettercairn can be described as.....Dreary is not the correct term at all.....:eek:

realies wrote: »
    Don't they have cctv on the luas ?

Plenty of it,high quality too,but they may as well have Vincent Van Gogh sittin on a three-legged stool painting portraits for all the use the authorities make of it.

The Local Gardai,Veolia and STT,will be able to give you an accurate description without prompting,and you'd say.."Yeah,Your'e right,how'd you know dah ?"....

Untouchable,and they know it.....Solicitor on speed-dial,should the need arise,but it won't cos the amount of paperwork for a Garda when one of these poor deprived yoof's is detained is beyond unreal.....

Lunatics running the asylum,and Veolia management are not regulars on the Saggart Extension.....

Thank God Jim Mansfield never got his Saudi Arabian College off the ground at CityWest...it could have resulted in a fatwah on his head.......although come to think of it,a bit of sharia law might be just whats required up around the 'den.....:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Thank God Jim Mansfield never got his Saudi Arabian College off the ground at CityWest...it could have resulted in a fatwah on his head.......although come to think of it,a bit of sharia law might be just whats required up around the 'den.....:eek:

Doubt a load of rich Saudi kids would be getting the Luas to be honest, not without armed security. But THAT could have been interesting!

The red line is scary though, but the really scary scrotes are mostly all gone by Goldenbridge (one of those places along by the canal anyway). I'd hate to be getting it every day though, I would live in fear.

On a more uplifting note, a friend of mine got it into town a while ago. This girl sat down opposite her and on the WHOLE WAY INTO TOWN my friend didn't tell her that she still had her mustache bleach on!!! The poor woman!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

yeah saw this happen on the dart about a month ago. this kid was standing next to the door playing on his phone. just as the doors were closing, some parasitic waste of skin scumbag grabs the phone and slips through the doors just as they close.
    poor kid was in shock, a girl called the Gardai for him and i told the attendant at the station i disembarked to get the cctv off that carriage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Only luasers take the Luas!

And have it as part of their username : )