Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pope says non believers can go to heaven. Is this fair?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Aced_Up

Lolololol

I love it. Some bloke in a funny hat says its ok... Where is the burning bush or updated tablet? I want to see proof that god changed his/her mind!

Religion is so funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

I don't want to go to a Catholic heaven. I don't want to go to a Muslim heaven.

I only want to go to an atheist heaven.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

Still don't believe, but I like this Pope.

Aced_Up wrote: »
    Lolololol

I love it. Some bloke in a funny hat says its ok... Where is the burning bush or updated tablet? I want to see proof that god changed his/her mind!

Religion is so funny
    Not as funny as some of the predictable responses. He's probably trying to be gracious and non-belligerent... wouldn't hurt others to try it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

This is discrimination. That's it, I'm suing god.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

People can achieve salvation through good deeds alone?

Since that was one of the major ideas of Luther that caused the Protestant reformation, and the catholic church has held for a long time that salvation can only be reached through them, this could get pretty interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

This is one cool Pope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

It doesn't exist and who gives a toss what he says anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

Amateur carry on from the pope there. He needs to discriminate more to keep in with the crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Well done Francisco sez I !

A definite sign that this lad is capable of Jesuitical thought and no doubt about it...:D

It sure puts it up to the Crazier Clerical inhabitants of Mount Islam though....Anjam Chaudry,Abu Hamza & Co must be laughing their tolerant and peaceful socks off at the very notion of an unbeliever retaining their bodily integrity,never mind gettin into heaven !!!!

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

Still don't believe, but I like this Pope.

Not as funny as some of the predictable responses. He's probably trying to be gracious and non-belligerent... wouldn't hurt others to try it.

It's a desperate lunge to sort out the Vatican finances. ;)

I've no interest what these hierarchical subjects have to say, like every one of them... Politicians included (bar a few good ones)... Is just hypocritical rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

The Pope is a secret Atheist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

Aced_Up wrote: »
    It's a desperate lunge to sort out the Vatican finances. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭DublinArnie

I don't want to go to heaven or hell, I want to be re-born as a different person or animal :p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

Zebra3 wrote: »

Agreed. Wouldnt mind if I could brainwash meself into believing there was a heaven. Nice thought. Yee believers are so lucky (just on the heaven bit).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

I want to go to the Heaven which has Hunter S. Thompson, Bill Hicks and Stevie Ray Vaughan. Guinness is water there and everyday is June 12th, 1994.

Zebra3 wrote: »

Even if you don't believe in it stuff like this it can have a major effect on world affairs and the way millions of people live their lives. Stuff like this was enough to start major international wars not so long ago, it's an idea being put forward by the new leader of an international institution that is contrary to the established position held by them for a very long time, so it's still pretty interesting stuff.

I've never understood why some athiests think that just because they don't believe in religion that religion is therefore completely disregarded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

The whole "non-believers don't go to heaven" thing was always bullshit if you thought about it. So someone deep in the middle of the Congo who hadn't a clue about some god on the otherside of the world doesn't get into heaven just out his own innocent ignorance of not knowing any better, or worse?

Right....

Augmerson wrote: »
    I want to go to the Heaven which has Hunter S. Thompson, Bill Hicks and Stevie Ray Vaughan. Guinness is water there and everyday is June 12th, 1994.

Was that when you tried MDMA? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

lol

1ZRed wrote: »
    The whole "non-believers don't do to heaven" thing was always bullshit if you thought about it. So someone deep in the middle of the Congo who hadn't a clue about some god on the otherside of the world doesn't get into heaven just out his own innocent ignorance of not knowing any better, or worse?

Right....

This person wasn't conforming... So no. Religion is about conforming. But society have new ways to make people conform... Money, jobs and police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭duckworth

orestes wrote: »
    People can achieve salvation through good deeds alone?

Since that was one of the major ideas of Luther that caused the Protestant reformation, and the catholic church has held for a long time that salvation can only be reached through them, this could get pretty interesting.

Actually Luther said the exact opposite - that it was faith alone and not good deeds. Catholicism says it is a combination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Well, if Genghis Khan, Adolf Hitler, and Joseph Stalin can get into heaven, I don't see why not?

duckworth wrote: »
    Actually Luther said the exact opposite - that it was faith alone and not good deeds. Catholicism says it is a combination.

Bugger, I meant that the church meant you could only get in through "them" as in the church, and one of Luthers major ideas was about this and caused the reformation. Reading it back after you pointed it out, my first post is very vague and terribly worded, sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,037 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

The whole "non-believers don't go to heaven" thing was always bullshit if you thought about it. So someone deep in the middle of the Congo who hadn't a clue about some god on the otherside of the world doesn't get into heaven just out his own innocent ignorance of not knowing any better, or worse?

Right....

Anyone who hasn't heard about Jesus Christ gets a free pass from God.

God is still a whiny cunt though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭fear corcaigh

Religion has inflicted more death than comfort to people through the centuries.
    Whether it be the Romans, the Crusades, World War 2, Northern Ireland, Palestine or the so called Islamic extremists.

If there was no religion there wouldn't be half the suffering that there is in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭bazza1

Non believers can get to heaven.....cool story bro!:D

Anyone who hasn't heard about Jesus Christ gets a free pass from God.

God is still a whiny cunt though.

Lol, suspiciously like our immigration policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,037 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Personally I prefer reincarnation to an eternal afterlife. Eventually Heaven would just get boring, and try imagining being a famous person in Heaven - you'd just get fed up! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Right....

God is geographically biased dontcha know? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭bazza1

How do I cash in my plenary indulgences, built up through sodalities and retreats?

Also,was Limbo sold on donedeal? :D

Religion has inflicted more death than comfort to people through the centuries.
    Whether it be the Romans, the Crusades, World War 2, Northern Ireland, Palestine or the so called Islamic extremists.

If there was no religion there wouldn't be half the suffering that there is in the world.

What does any of that have to do with this statement by this Pope? It's like comparing a single statement by the head of a gun club to the total of people killed by gunpowder throughout history.

• Site Banned Posts: 45 shes_crazy

Atheists can go to heaven.

However, I'd say it's only if:

- they're mentally ill
    - were brainwashed as a child
    - dug a hole so deep and were too proud to say they were wrong

You should remember that the more you read up on Catholic dogma, the more you are aware of the criteria for getting into heaven. Therefore, you will be unable to plead ignorance at the pearly gates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Oh good, maybe this will stop my granny from believing that my poor unbaptised bastard children will burn in hell - Well, she didn't say that, but she said they wouldn't be accepted into heaven, and she was tempted to baptise them on the sly, and she is always praying for me and my kids.

Even though this is incredibly patronising, I do think it is better than believing we'll all burn in hell! So I guess it's a good thing? :/

Oh good, maybe this will stop my granny from believing that my poor unbaptised bastard children will burn in hell - Well, she didn't say that, but she said they wouldn't be accepted into heaven, and she was tempted to baptise them on the sly, and she is always praying for me and my kids.

Even though this is incredibly patronising, I do think it is better than believing we'll all burn in hell! So I guess it's a good thing? :/

Why do you think it's up to you to just discard generations of hard-graft and rearing just so you can follow your ideology and be "free from the catholic church"? I feel sorry for your poor granny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

shes_crazy wrote: »
    Why do you think it's up to you to just discard generations of hard-graft and rearing just so you can follow your ideology and be "free from the catholic church"? I feel sorry for your poor granny.

Ohhhhh, it's on!

kowloon wrote: »
    God is geographically biased dontcha know? :pac:

Which is why I've decided to start worshiping Thor. At least he's easy on the eye and isn't such a whiny little bitch as the other god we seem to have now :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 351 ✭✭matTNT

Atheists can go to heaven.

However, I'd say it's only if:

- they're mentally ill
    - were brainwashed as a child
    - dug a hole so deep and were too proud to say they were wrong

lol, you heard it first folks...from some random internet user.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Ha! Okay! Good for you :P

Traitors of the faith (those that have reaped the full benefits of a catholic upbringing) certainly won't be going to heaven.

You sound like that evil wizard from the lord of the rings! :D Doubt there's much difference between the two either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

You know what this means?

We're all going to heaven lads! Waaaahhheeyyy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

They're her children ffs! To raise them any other way than what she thinks is best would be a real example of following ideology. Tradition for the sake of tradition is moronic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I feel sorry for your granny's granny's granny's granny's granny's granny's granny's granny's granny's granny's granny's granny's granny's granny's granny's granny's granny's granny.

She'll be spinning in her burial mound at the thoughts of what the Druids would say if they heard her great great great great great great great great great great great great great great granddaughter had abandoned her traditional faith in favour of some new fangled foreign cult.

Cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭m.j.w

If God created the world including animals and we are all gods creatures do animals goto hell as they don't believe in God?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

That's not what he is saying at all, redemption is not the same as saved:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056954899

Will you be in heaven? Sounds crap. An eternity with you sniping at people. I don't want to go there.

Which is why I've decided to start worshiping Thor. At least he's easy on the eye and isn't such a whiny little bitch as the other god we seem to have now :pac:

And thanks to Nordic metal he has some fecking awesome music these days too :)

m.j.w wrote: »
    If God created the world including animals and we are all gods creatures do animals goto hell as they don't believe in God?

If we're all gods children, what's so special about Jesus?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

endacl wrote: »
    If we're all gods children, what's so special about Jesus?!?

He's taller than the most of us so God gets him to help reaching things on high shelves.