Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joe Brolly

• 26-05-2013 2:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭

Anyone else sick of this smug know-it-all?

No doubt he is quite smart, be everyone has a right to an opinion without being shot down. Wheelo seems terrified of voicing an opinion contrary to Joe.

Prefer a bit more modesty in people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

PAULWATSON wrote: »
    Anyone else sick of this smug know-it-all?

No doubt he is quite smart, be everyone has a right to an opinion without being shot down. Wheelo seems terrified of voicing an opinion contrary to Joe.

Prefer a bit more modesty in people.

He should have been taken off TV after his endless rant against Grimley last week. He shouldn't be allowed vent vendettas like that.

I wouldn't mind but, after the live offering, RTE brought him back for the Sunday Game and allowed him another go at Grimley again. He gets far too personal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭PAULWATSON

Lemlin wrote: »
    He should have been taken off TV after his endless rant against Grimley last week. He shouldn't be allowed vent vendettas like that.

You can take the man out of derry....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭munster87

It's hard to listen to so many comments out of him about Ulster teams and the Ulster championship when watching the 1st round of Munster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

He's the most entertaining pundit out there. The bat signal joke was brilliant. I'd rather eat my own arm than watch a panel of Tohills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭vforvictory

Like him or loathe him he is the most accurate pundit on GAA. Nails his colours to the mast unlike O'Rourke and Spillane who are great at give you their opinion after the event.

What was with O'Rourke's dig there about him building a house in Glenswilly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

What was with O'Rourke's dig there about him building a house in Glenswilly?
    I thought it was a needlessly personal swipe by O'Rourke.

Its nobody's business how many houses Brolly is building.

padd b1975 wrote: »
    I thought it was a needlessly personal swipe by O'Rourke.

Its nobody's business how many houses Brolly is building.

Lyster told them to keep it on the football alright. I only turned off before that so had wondered had I missed Brolly swiping at O'Rourke before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭Justin10

The sooner they get rid of the older lads the better.

Lyster told them to keep it on the football alright. I only turned off before that so had wondered had I missed Brolly swiping at O'Rourke before.

He made a comment saying Donegal where cynical fowling last year against Tyrone because they had not got a free taker.

O'Rourke then brought up that Brolly said Mayo had been cynically fouling and never mentioned Donegal during the analysis of the All Ireland last year. With which James Horan had a problem with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Just looking at him now.. Slumped down in the chair... Does he think he's on CSI or something, what's with the amateur dramatic monologue..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

It's not so much what Brolly says that annoys me, as how he says it. He is a miserable, negative so and so, and his attitude generally stinks. Even when he speaks about something good or positive, he sounds like he is whining.

Just after the ad break at half-time just now, there was a good example of him sitting slouched in his chair looking miserable.

zM8KPTHl.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,214 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

Just looking at him now.. Slumped down in the chair... Does he think he's on CSI or something, what's with the amateur dramatic monologue..

Is there something up with him??demeanour changed from usual..or is it coz Spillane isn't there to rile him up??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

I like the man..........and he'll be around for a long time, RTE love the internet chatter and newspaper inches he gets with his comments, and how cutting they are.

He calls a spade a spade, we need more like him.

jojofizzio wrote: »
    Is there something up with him??demeanour changed from usual..or is it coz Spillane isn't there to rile him up??

Im sure O'Rourke bringing up the Mayo tackling stuff didnt help his mood :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭swiftman

what did brolly say there when lyster was talking about aidan o rourke as manager.

they then spoke about meath beating louth in leinster final, brolly said, 'ya dirty cheats'' :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

MidlandsM wrote: »
    I like the man..........and he'll be around for a long time, RTE love the internet chatter and newspaper inches he gets with his comments, and how cutting they are.
    ^^^^ Botton line right there people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

Last week when The Sunday Game started you could clearly see Brolly eating a biscuit and looking all around him as if were sitting in his kitchen. I'm all for a guy expressing his personality but a bit of professionalism wouldn't go a miss.

My Gran summed him up perfectly last week. "Jaysus, he's an awful slimey bollocks"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

BNMC wrote: »
    Last week when The Sunday Game started you could clearly see Brolly eating a biscuit and looking all around him as if were sitting in his kitchen. I'm all for a guy expressing his personality but a bit of professionalism wouldn't go a miss.

My Gran summed him up perfectly last week. "Jaysus, he's an awful slimey bollocks"

Your Grand ma ma has an awful tongue on her :rolleyes:

yer Grans the disgrace to be fair....

..and what wrong with eating biscuit on the telly and taking it casually.....it's not newsnight ....its just sports punditry.......:rolleyes:

i detect a lot of jealousy here towards Brolly from the closet armchair GAA expert wannabe brigade......

*i now await a barage of abuse from the closet armchair experts*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

MidlandsM wrote: »
    the closet armchair GAA expert wannabe brigade

Not the CAGEWB? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

Your Grand ma ma has an awful tongue on her :rolleyes:
    Does she?

She is 77 but whatever you're into..

Does she?

She is 77 but whatever you're into..

I suspect from your answer she's up for it anyway ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭RGM

There are reasons to appreciate him and reasons to turn him off. Both sides have valid points. He certainly does blur the line between being accurate and being arrogant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

I can never understand why people take TV punditry so seriously, especially RTE TV punditry.

Joe, like Dunphy and Hook, is perfect for RTE. Says something provocative to generate interest. The validity of the statements just don't matter. Get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I think
    • A lot of what he has to say is accurate
    • He favors northern football
    • He does "disagree" in the middle of other peoples point a lot
    • He does interject before he has thought about how to structure his point, we could pack more analysis in if he worked out what he was going to say before decided to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

I watched the BBC NI coverage instead of listening to the RTE panel of "experts".
    Even the RTE commentary teams annoy me.

Marty Morrissey is such a head wrecker in general, I can't listen to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

I watched the BBC NI coverage instead of listening to the RTE panel of "experts".
    Even the RTE commentary teams annoy me.

God. Yer man commentating on bbc would put you to sleep. The lad who used to play for Armagh was it? The fella that had the gambling problem. His name escapes me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

I'm not even saying the Beeb's version was any better, it just didnt get me annoyed listening to it.

Neeson wrote: »
    God. Yer man commentating on bbc would put you to sleep. The lad who used to play for Armagh was it? The fella that had the gambling problem. His name escapes me.

Your man with the gambling problem, instead of your man who was one the best forwards to play the game in last 10 years :rolleyes:

Oisin McConville

Rochey18 wrote: »
    Your man with the gambling problem, instead of your man who was one the best forwards to play the game in last 10 years :rolleyes:

Oisin McConville

Haha. I suppose you always remember the bad stuff. But jaysus he had a terrible drone on him. No excitement at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Stoner wrote: »
    I think
    • A lot of what he has to say is accurate
    • He favors northern football
    • He does "disagree" in the middle of other peoples point a lot
    • He does interject before he has thought about how to structure his point, we could pack more analysis in if he worked out what he was going to say before decided to speak.
    I agree with you- about three-quarters of what he says is accurate and very insightful.
    The rest is mischief-making which infuriates people- myself included.

It's his smugness that I find more grating than his football knowledge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,345 ✭✭✭buyer95

As a Kerryman whose team has been the subject of much vitriol and jealousy from Brolly over the years, memorably his assertion that the Gooch, one of the greatest forwards to ever wear the Kerry jersey was a " choker ", and " The problem with this Kerry team is that they have always failed when it has really been put up to them, " as recently as the 17th of February he wrote " The future for Kerry football is dimmer now than at any time in living memory." But if you can get pas his inferiority complex towards Kerry and his obvious Northern team bias, he can often be a fascinating listen. He fires from the hip, and can be very insightful, and I would rather listen to Brolly all day then Tohill, Rourke and whoever RTE had on last weekend as the new pundit. Brolly infairness obviously loves the limelight, and is very found of making controversial, and often plain stupid pronouncements, often directed towards the Kingdom and our Rebel friends, but the RTE studio would be a much lesser place without him on Championship Sundays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

I think that he is bitter, but at the same time fascinating really. He's got great insight and while he can be very harsh and possibly too harsh at times, he does offer constructive criticism's of teams.

I think Loughnane is meant to be the hurling equivalent and while I prefer Loughnane to the other boring clones they seem to put on, Brolly is still far better as an analyst, whether you like him or not.

buyer95 wrote: »
    as recently as the 17th of February he wrote " The future for Kerry football is dimmer now than at any time in living memory." .

Well that is somewhat true isn't it? I mean they are in their worst period of the last 10 or so years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Mr Tibbs

MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    It's not so much what Brolly says that annoys me, as how he says it. He is a miserable, negative so and so, and his attitude generally stinks. Even when he speaks about something good or positive, he sounds like he is whining.

Just after the ad break at half-time just now, there was a good example of him sitting slouched in his chair looking miserable.

zM8KPTHl.jpg

Yeah and get this he is getting well paid for it.

Oisin McConville

Didn't he have a drinking problem as well? :rolleyes:

or look at him ......... :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,509 ✭✭✭robbiezero

I think he is decent enough.
    Has called the last two games correctly. A Mayo and Donegal win and both wins to be emphatic.
    O'Rourke went for Galway and Tyrone and got it very wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,129 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

The funniest thing I noticed about the RTE panel was Whelo given his 2 cents on the sendings off last weekend. One of the biggest thugs to ever take the field giving out about players throwing a slap. They could give a lovely montage of his efforts in this department

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

He always or nearly always gets it right.

The funniest thing I noticed about the RTE panel was Whelo given his 2 cents on the sendings off last weekend. One of the biggest thugs to ever take the field giving out about players throwing a slap. They could give a lovely montage of his efforts in this department

He's some bellend alright. Wonder what spoofing he'll be at tonight. Himself and eamon Ohara were sure Tyrone would win while brolly called it right...again!

Could you care you explain why he is a "bellend"?
    Spoofing compared to what? Your massive knowledge bank.

So who ever predicts who is going to win a game is the best analyst?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Aineoil

Buyer95

As a Kerry woman..... Cork as our "rebel friends"?? That must be an oxymoron!

Could you care you explain why he is a "bellend"?
    Spoofing compared to what? Your massive knowledge bank.

So who ever predicts who is going to win a game is the best analyst?

Nah. I mean I'm no expert but he is a bit of a hypocrite to be talking about dirty play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

Joe Brolly went up very high in my estimations when he called Conor Mortimer "the white Balotelli".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

He didnt give out about them. He said they got what they deserved. And they did.....

Nah. I mean I'm no expert but he is a bit of a hypocrite to be talking about dirty play.

So he played on the edge, was along with Darragh O'Se one of the best midfielders during his time, and because he analyses a play is a "bellend"

He is actually very good at what he does, along with Darragh O'Se who I think is excellent. RTE need to get rid of the older lads and bring in new lads, both in the hurling and football, but more so football.

So he played on the edge, was along with Darragh O'Se one of the best midfielders during his time, and because he analyses a play is a "bellend"

He is actually very good at what he does, along with Darragh O'Se who I think is excellent. RTE need to get rid of the older lads and bring in new lads, both in the hurling and football, but more so football.

I would like to say sorry to ciaran.

Sorry ciaran.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,345 ✭✭✭buyer95

Well that is somewhat true isn't it? I mean they are in their worst period of the last 10 or so years.

A spate of misfortune in the last 2 years, if you consider that to make " the future dimmer than at any time in living memory:confused:

The 2011 All Ireland was left behind, up 4 points with less than 10 minutes to go. Dublin didn't so much win it as Kerry lost it. I don't mean to take away from what was a great victory for Dublin but that was the majority feeling in the Kerry camp. I don't begrudge the Dubs one bit in the world and the atmosphere that day was unrivalled, the colour and passion, I'll never forget the sound I heard erupt in the stadioum when McMannaman burried that goal, it was the best All-Ireland in years despite the result. But the fact is Dublin had some big calls go there way. Brennan should have got the line for a reckless tackle which resulted in Declan O Sullivan getting concussed, obviously he was not fit to continue and that proved our undoing , and the free that Cluxton kicked at the end was never a free, BJK stood his ground and McManamon ran into him. Kevin McManamon’s goal and Kevin Nolan’s point came directly from unforced errors by Declan and Tom O’Sullivan. Brosnan was whistled for touching the ball on the ground, which he didn't another decision which was got wrong. The irony there was that, according to the rules, if a player touches the ball on the ground in the square it's a penalty, there is no interpretation or ambiguity there, it's in the rule book.

Donegal were worthy winners last year, and I wouldn't argue that. But who played them to the closest match last year? Kerry rattled Donegal, scoring 1-2 without reply in 7 minutes to bring it to a point. Lacy stood up and kicked a great point, fair play to him, but Kerry would have won that All Ireland too, if they had gotten past Donegal. So no, I don't think Kerry football has been in decline, and I fully expect us to be there or there abouts in late August/September.