Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

To all the fathers, how do yo feel about this?

• 24-05-2013 10:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭

So I came across the following on Imgur.

The number of celebrities being arrested is only the latest pedo scare. Newspapers thrive on the pedo stories, Brasseye looks more like an authentic news programme now than when it was made. Men being driven away from positions that put them in contact with children is nothing new, but is it really getting to the stage where a parent feels they can't be left alone with their child in public?

I don't have children, so I can't really express much of an opinion on this.
    My question for fathers: are you nervous about or do you fear other people's reactions towards you when seen alone with your own children?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭andy125

OP comes across very pedo like....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

kowloon wrote: »
    My question for fathers: are you nervous about or do you fear other people's reactions towards you when seen alone with your own children?

Nope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Dicky Pride

WTF? This is ridiculous. I have never seen or heard of anything like this ever happening. If a father is playing with his son in the park, that's exactly what he's doing.

I'm thinking this is another made up Facebook story designed to get as many likes and shares as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

I've no plans of breeding, myself, but I think the way or society is going when it comes to men being seen as predators is crazy. Soon kids won't have any male role models because men won't want that heat and suspicion on them. Could you blame them for not wanting to be put in that uncomfortable situation either?

I remember reading at Christmas how some women were afraid of letting their kids sit on santy's knee. Fecking ridiculous how that sort of prejudice is thrown around like it's nothing and is justified these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Don't believe the story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

andy125 wrote: »
    OP comes across very pedo like....

Poster comes across as a thanks whore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

So I came across the following on Imgur.

The number of celebrities being arrested is only the latest pedo scare. Newspapers thrive on the pedo stories, Brasseye looks more like an authentic news programme now than when it was made. Men being driven away from positions that put them in contact with children is nothing new, but is it really getting to the stage where a parent feels they can't be left alone with their child in public?

I don't have children, so I can't really express much of an opinion on this.

Am i living in the 1600's ? why in the name of common sense would a father be nervous of other people or their thoughts while he is with his own child ?.

If citizens of a modern country look strangely at a father with his child then the people looking and thinking strange s*it need to see a psychiatrist immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I don't think things are that extreme by any means. The only odd thing I have ever come across in a father son relationship was at a kids birthday party I attended. The father of one boy(the boy was eight at the time) kept kissing him on the lips and rubbing his back. It was not smooching but a strange type of affection as it was his only child. Other than that I do not look at fathers as pedos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

There's almost an assumption that a man can't be trusted with a child. Like that airline with the policy that a child flying alone can't be sat beside a male adult.
    It'd gotten sort of hysterical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Fiery mutant

To be honest, if someone called me a paedo in front of my children, I would batter the living sh1t out of them.

We should defend our way of life to an extent that any attempt on it is crushed, so that any adversary will never make such an attempt in the future.

WTF? This is ridiculous. I have never seen or heard of anything like this ever happening. If a father is playing with his son in the park, that's exactly what he's doing.

I'm thinking this is another made up Facebook story designed to get as many likes and shares as possible.
    Don't believe the story.

Well, it's on imgur, so upvoting is something to take into account. I do take it with a fairly large grain of salt, hence the curiosity over whether this is a real phenomenon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

To be honest, if someone called me a paedo in front of my children, I would batter the living sh1t out of them.
    I'm not sure that getting locked up for assault is the best way to demonstrate your dedication to your children.
    Oh wait, what am I saying, you're making things up. Carry on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

That Imgur thing is a crock of sh1t imo.

Problem is if a man sees a distressed kid wandering about lost for example, he may well think twice about doing the right thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭googled eyes

I think thats some fake facebook crap.

Look around Ireland today. There's a hell of alot of unemployed fathers who look after their kids.

Why would anyone be afraid to go to the park with their own kids??

Well, it's on imgur, so upvoting is something to take into account. I do take it with a fairly large grain of salt, hence the curiosity over whether this is a real phenomenon.

I did a mental experiment and put myself in the Father's shoes and rather than breaking down crying a few weeks later the child's Mother was crying as she collected me from jail for assaulting the prick who called me a peado.

I really think I'd go ****ing nuts. Really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

1ZRed wrote: »
    I remember reading at Christmas how some women were afraid of letting their kids sit on santy's knee.

True story: I once sat on the knee of a man dressed as Santa (many years ago) who was (many years later) revealed to be a paedophile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭andy125

I think thats some fake facebook crap.

Look around Ireland today. There's a hell of alot of unemployed fathers who look after their kids.

Why would anyone be afraid to go to the park with their own kids??

Ofcourse it is, what father would give a flying **** what some scumbag said to them and thus would let that effect his relationship with his son, cmon!

Unfortunately there are whacko people out there or brain-dead neighbours that think twisted thoughts and assume a man with his child looks suspicious and therefore would call the gardai.

The society we live in now is so brainwashed and frightened of the news stories that are put out on a daily basis their little pea-brain neurons can't gather together to form a common sense logic...as in...well that is his kid and the father loves them to bits and will so hug them out of love for their child.

This society in Ireland is twisted and it needs fixing, but how can you fix a society of idiot thinkers that have the brain capacity of a snail ?.

Yamanoto wrote: »
    That Imgur thing is a crock of sh1t imo.

Problem is if a man sees a distressed kid wandering about lost for example, he may well think twice about doing the right thing.

And that is a very valid point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

The real issue is why the jackass would refuse to go to the park with his son because a few strangers made jokes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭ppshay

In Watford, UK all parents are banned from two city playgrounds:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/law-and-order/6453268/Council-bans-parents-from-play-areas.html

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/henryporter/2009/oct/28/parents-playground-children

I also remember reading (but can't find a link now) of another UK city banning all unaccompanied males from their town park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

You mean you didn't share it? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭peckerhead

They say that one in twenty of us is living next door to a paedophile.

Not me though. I live next door to two stunning seven-year-olds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Gee_G

I cannot believe that people even entertain this sort Of ****e!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭titchy

lyk if u cryd evry time xxxoooxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

8 year olds, dude.

Gee_G wrote: »

Not everyone is a Dad, that's why I posed the question. I don't use facebook and only look at imgur for pictures that amuse me, I have no exposure to the issue, if it actually exists. Report my post if it pisses you off so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Are there many new male primary school teachers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

peckerhead wrote: »
    They say that one in twenty of us is living next door to a paedophile.

Not me though. I live next door to two stunning seven-year-olds.

I laughed but something tells me you're in for a ban !

I think the premise on which the story is based is nonsense, i have a baby son and it would never cross my mind to be self conscious. If it was not my child though now thats a different story, i would probably would feel slightly paranoid about the situation and be careful I was being PC with everything especially after today.....

I was in the petrol station earlier and there was a kid in front of me buying sweets and when they were added up he was 30c short, the kid asked the girl to take one of the items back and I said don't worry about it, I would pay the 30c. In the end the cash girl said don't worry about it and the kid skipped off.

It was only afterwards that I thought that these days you just can't do that type of thing, I was stupid and should not have said anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Gee_G

Not everyone is a Dad, that's why I posed the question. I don't use facebook and only look at imgur for pictures that amuse me, I have no exposure to the issue, if it actually exists. Report my post if it pisses you off so much.

I didn't actually mean your post!(I would have quoted it if I did) Probably should have written a bit more :) I just mean the fact that fathers would even be afraid that people are thinking that is crazy! No parent should have to think like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Ohhhh! handbags at dawn ladies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Absolute crock of **** of a link. It's designed for the attention whores on Facebook.

If I brought my son to the park and someone made a pedo joke, I'd either laugh it off or confront the idiot. It would never interfere with my relationship with my son.

I didn't actually mean your post!(I would have quoted it if I did) Probably should have written a bit more :) I just mean the fact that fathers would even be afraid that people are thinking that is crazy! No parent should have to think like that!

Sorry! I've been on Boards so long I expect to get abuse for starting a thread. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Oh god - I'm still cringing 2 minutes after seeing that imgur pic.
    That was just the most saccharine, cringiest trite I've ever seen.
    Puke.

I'm not a father. I am a mother though. Never come across, or even heard of anything like this.
    Why would people be making paedo jokes at men anyway if they thought he were actually a paedophile?! Surely they would, you know, call the police or something constructive like that. Unless they were just idiot 12 year old boys - who call everyone a paedo or a homo or whatever, all the time.

• Site Banned Posts: 14 Yellow Lobster

Joe10000 wrote: »
    I laughed but something tells me you're in for a ban !

I think the premise on which the story is based is nonsense, i have a baby son and it would never cross my mind to be self conscious. If it was not my child though now thats a different story, i would probably would feel slightly paranoid about the situation and be careful I was being PC with everything especially after today.....

I was in the petrol station earlier and there was a kid in front of me buying sweets and when they were added up he was 30c short, the kid asked the girl to take one of the items back and I said don't worry about it, I would pay the 30c. In the end the cash girl said don't worry about it and the kid skipped off.

It was only afterwards that I thought that these days you just can't do that type of thing, I was stupid and should not have said anything.

Boll1x, if you want to give the 30 cent give the 30 cent. If any accuses you of anything tell them to cop the fukc on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭CarPark2

The original link was BS, but there is a general issue there.
    I was in Brussels a year ago, sitting in the main square on my own, just looking around. There was a child walking around, looking lost, no sign of any parents near it. Brussels is a very international city, and if someone grabs a child and puts them into a car, they could be at the russian border in hours. It is not a place to have a 5-6 year old wandering on their own.
    Anyway, because i was a male on my own i felt powerless to do anything. I looked around and saw a group of girls (late teens to early twenties). I made eye contact with one and asked if she thought the child was OK. She wasn't sure, so i asked her to do something about it. I'm sure she thought it was odd, but i really felt that if i tried to do something directly people would immediately suspect me.

On the flip side, in the estate where i grew up, there was a paedophile (not known at the time) who gave sweets to children if they just called to his door and asked. Looking back, it was textbook stuff, but our parents were so naive, and just thought that he was a lovely friendly old bachelor. They could have done with a bit of awareness/paranoia back then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

zenno wrote: »
    Unfortunately there are whacko people out there or brain-dead neighbours that think twisted thoughts and assume a man with his child looks suspicious and therefore would call the gardai.

The society we live in now is so brainwashed and frightened of the news stories that are put out on a daily basis their little pea-brain neurons can't gather together to form a common sense logic...as in...well that is his kid and the father loves them to bits and will so hug them out of love for their child.

This society in Ireland is twisted and it needs fixing, but how can you fix a society of idiot thinkers that have the brain capacity of a snail ?.

Can you not see the irony in this bit of your post?

As a father myself.I've had all the looks, from both sexes!. None at all nice.
    WTF? The more I think of your post, the more derogatory it becomes:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

Well, this is a tough one I think. Society needs to be more aware around protecting children for sure. But then again, I think that we need to not assume the worse of everyone who talks to a child. I mean, I have great time for kids, because I lost a child. I'd hate to be branded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Load of **** tbh

Never felt weird with my own kids, never will. Dont feel like people look at me strange, if they ever do thats their problem, **** them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

kryogen wrote: »
    Load of **** tbh

Never felt weird with my own kids, never will. Dont feel like people look at me strange, if they ever do thats their problem, **** them

Oh they do, rest assured.you've surely seen it? irksome no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Ilik Urgee wrote: »
    Oh they do, rest assured.you've surely seen it? irksome no?

Is it supposed to be pronounced lick or like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Bollocks!! Anyone said anything like that to me when I' with my son they'd get a serious slap! Mines 9, up to my shoulder and I still make him hold my hand crossing the road! I'd also still bring him to a public bathroom and same little dressing room when we go to our local swimming pool. One time he did shout "you've a hairy willy" when we were swimming. Could of sounded bad to others there but I didn't care because I was to busy breaking my hole laughing.

All that crap on reddit/imger or what ever the fock its called is for karma. The shit people put up on that site for upvotes and karma is pathetic. The new one seems to be posing with dead relatives while looking upset. Bollocks once again. Fock off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

More power to you for being like that. Fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

I'm not sure that getting locked up for assault is the best way to demonstrate your dedication to your children.
    Oh wait, what am I saying, you're making things up. Carry on.

What's the weather like up on your high horse?

Ilik Urgee wrote: »
    Can you not see the irony in this bit of your post?

As a father myself.I've had all the looks, from both sexes!. None at all nice.
    WTF? The more I think of your post, the more derogatory it becomes:mad:

Maybe you are not understanding it correctly. I'm not your tutor.

Sometimes getting tough is the only option. Be sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Sometimes getting tough is the only option. Be sure.

Assault and battery can come back to haunt you if you're not sure of the circumstances. Aggressive and course language can quell the incident without violence, most of these mullies back down when their spoken to by a male.

Assault and battery can come back to haunt you if you're not sure of the circumstances.

You can never be absolutely sure of the consequences because even if you lose your own life you leave behind people who will be affected by your actions or lack thereof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

I think every father should be safe to take their kids to the park.

Father Duffy took me to the park every week and bought me lots of sweets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

So, some fathers are afraid to take their kids to the park because they're afraid a stranger might call them a name?