Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I drive after one tin of Heineken

• 24-05-2013 10:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭

I need some munchies . Big time. Some nice cold meats and maybe some cheese .

But I have just finished a full tin.

Would I be over? God dam it.

Its horrible being so responsible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Broken arms and one tin of Heineken, I wouldn't risk it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

Go home, you're drunk

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

You sound nervous. Better have another can or two before you leave to settle the nerves a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

Drive over to your friendly, neighbourhood garda and ask them to check.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

brokenarms wrote: »
    I need some munchies
    On anything else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭KeithM89

Its a can. Not a tin. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

It's ok, if you get stopped by a garda, just tell him you're asthmatic :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭lycan238

Not the best place to be asking as a number of factors determine your blood alcohol level including but not limited to when last drink was taken, any food taken in last few hours. The best advice is not to risk it. would it not be better to order a take away and get it delivered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

You WOULD . Don't risk it. Order a big pizza -pepperoni, extra ham, cheese, chili flakes -& a tub of Haagen dash.or a quattro fromaggi pizzicato with meat oa an extra -& some wedges/garlic dips.

Don't risk it. They're out breathalysing every weekend. And you are 50% over.

Criminal conviction etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Can I drive after one tin of Heineken

You can and indeed should. Tins of Heineken should not be allowed to escape under any circumstances.
    Hope you catch it OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭shanered

Its a tin can

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭Just Like Heaven

Scylla wrote: »
    Its a can. Not a tin. :mad:

Eh eh nothin wrong with a few tins.

If you have asthma you're grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Yes, you could also drive after 20 if you wanted. Its still not a good idea though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭KeithM89

Eh eh nothin wrong with a few tins.

Tins are for beans, not for urine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭andy125

Quick, go to the toliet and stick your fingers down ur throat and should be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

Dam it. I remember back in the day when my Da used to drive us home from mass Via the pub. Car full of kids. No one knew any better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

how much do you weigh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭wazzer1

Just say your coming from the Dail, boxed off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭bonzos

If your stopped tell the garda your a GAA star....if you plan to drink drive alot you should invest in an O'Neill's football and have in beside you in the car if your stopped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Are you a new driver? You'll be subject to the 20mg limit and your definitely over then. Other than that you're on a 50mg limit and your still in a possibly over/not over area.

Best course of action. Wait 2 hours and then go home....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Are you a new driver? You'll be subject to the 20mg limit and your definitely over then. Other than that you're on a 50mg limit and your still in a possibly over/not over area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

Just wait another 45 mins or so. You should be good to go then. (Don't have another drink while you're waiting!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

By tin, you mean keg..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

Just wait another 45 mins or so. You should be good to go then. (Don't have another drink while you're waiting!)

Wise words from a wise man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Seanafitz

rarnes1 wrote: »
    If you have asthma you're grand

Explain that one ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭deandean

Yea you'll be grand.
    Unless it was a big can of heineken with tbe tap on top. 5 litres. They're great gas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Seanafitz wrote: »
    Explain that one ??

William Shatner joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭lycan238

Explain that one ??

if you have asthma it may impear your ability to take the breath test in these curcumstances the garda may ask you to provide a urine sample or a blood sample to verify that you were or were not over the limit*

* this applies if you were involved in an accident where a mandatory breath test is required

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

GreeBo wrote: »
    You can and indeed should. Tins of Heineken should not be allowed to escape under any circumstances.
    Hope you catch it OP.

Post of the year

/thread

/boards.ie

Explain that one ??

think firelighters and curtain rails

William Shatner joke

That didn't explain anything ??

lycan238 wrote: »
    if you have asthma it may impear your ability to take the breath test in these curcumstances the garda may ask you to provide a urine sample or a blood sample to verify that you were or were not over the limit*

* this applies if you were involved in an accident where a mandatory breath test is required

Thank you :)

rarnes1 wrote: »
    think firelighters and curtain rails

Huh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

Just think of it as one big tin of Dr pepper ..... What's the worst that could happen ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

http://www.rupissed.com/

4.9% = Heavy beer? My balls. Anyway, use that calculator.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 64 ✭✭Peter The Pedo

Just use your skateboard instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭soggy biscuit

This reminds of the time I was in Sri Lanka, formerly Ceylon, at three o' clock in the morning, looking for one thousand brown M&M's to fill a brandy glass, or Ozzy wouldn't go on stage that night. So, Jeff Beck pops his head 'round the door and mentions there's a little sweetshop on the edge of town. So, we go, and - it's closed. So there's me, and Keith Moon, and David Crosby breaking into this little sweetshop right? Well, instead of a guard dog, they've got this bloody great big Bengal tiger. Well I managed to take out the tiger with a can of mace, but the shopowner and his son, that's a different story altogether... I had to beat them to death with their own shoes... Nasty business really... But sure enough, I got the M&M's and Ozzy went on stage and did a GREAT show

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 64 ✭✭Peter The Pedo

This reminds of the time I was in Sri Lanka, formerly Ceylon, at three o' clock in the morning, looking for one thousand brown M&M's to fill a brandy glass, or Ozzy wouldn't go on stage that night. So, Jeff Beck pops his head 'round the door and mentions there's a little sweetshop on the edge of town. So, we go, and - it's closed. So there's me, and Keith Moon, and David Crosby breaking into this little sweetshop right? Well, instead of a guard dog, they've got this bloody great big Bengal tiger. Well I managed to take out the tiger with a can of mace, but the shopowner and his son, that's a different story altogether... I had to beat them to death with their own shoes... Nasty business really... But sure enough, I got the M&M's and Ozzy went on stage and did a GREAT show

Obviously not true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

So, this is Picalilly Circus? What a Sh1tty Circus... :D

Seriously OP, treat yourself to a takeaway. Have it delivered. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

BX 19 wrote: »

I'd say that he'd be alright, I'm basing this on the TD Clare Daly drinking one whiskey and the test coming back as her 33% below the limit. She's quite a skinny woman, most blokes could tolerate more.

Best wait 30 mins OP, drink a pint of water and away with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

It's not tin, it's aluminium.

And Heineken will turn you into a pumpkin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

A feck it. I found a tin of mackerel in the cupboard. The classy stuff with tomato sauce added.

On my 3rd tinny of beer now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭lost in cork

Go out and get some decent grub ,now your on your third can ,chance your arm and roll the dice ,g,luck

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Go out and get some decent grub ,now your on your third can ,chance your arm and roll the dice ,g,luck
    Three doubles and you Go To Jail.
    http://monopoly.wikia.com/wiki/Jail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 666 ✭✭✭A0

No, you can't.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

A0 wrote: »
    No, you can't.

It's been three days, I'd say he's sobered up a bit since then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 666 ✭✭✭A0

It's been three days, I'd say he's sobered up a bit since then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭Meritocracy Wins

Did he get some old meat and cheese or arrested and some hot meat and cheese?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Slightly less than two drinks should be fine OP. In fact it will probably improve your driving.

BUT REMEMBER....Slightly LESS than two drinks....never more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭spitfireIRL

what is this from again?! I googled it, and it brought me to this thread. :p