Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Changing your Darts..?

• 24-05-2013 9:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35

I for one have always used the same Darts that i throw pretty well with.
    A couple of weeks ago I was throwing at my local before a night out. I had not my own Darts and got a lend of a fellows darts.They where the same weight as mine although a completely different barrel.I was throwing great stuff with them and even beat the guy who owned them "with his own darts"He was decent enough to let me use them.I was scoring heavy and taking out some nice 3 dart finishes.I am know seriously considering buy a set. Anyone on here Change there darts after using them for years and did the change improve your game..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭wilddarts

I've changed my darts about 5 times over 12 or so years. (Small changes in weight, shape and shaft each time). And Ive finally settled on 28g Harrows Assassins.

To be honest I wouldnt read too much into throwing well with someone elses darts for just one night. Ive heard so often about players throwing brilliantly with completely different darts for a night then having to change back. Ive done it myself.

But in your case, the fact they're the same weight is good, the grip must suit you a lot better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Jake The Fat Ma

One word Don't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Tonplus

Thanks for the replies Gentlemen.
    Seems Its best that I stick to my own.
    Just missed a 10 darter while practicing the other evening' took it out in 11.Ive had a few 11 darters in practice.Anyone on here ever hit a 9 darter in practice or in pub Game..?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

The answer to that is a fairly resounding NO! 15 is my best and that was only once. The closest you could say I got to a 9 darter was 180 in the first 3 darts, then T20 but covered the triple so I hit T19 but then I melted. Fair play to any of ye finishing in 4 visits. They are some serious darts at home or in the pub.

As for changing darts, I seen a lot of fellas play very well with darts they've borrowed but doesn't necessarily mean this will always be the case if they switch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭celt262

gramar wrote: »

As for changing darts, I seen a lot of fellas play very well with darts they've borrowed but doesn't necessarily mean this will always be the case if they switch.

I forgot my darts one night and got a lend of a set and threw unreal darts beating a really good player who i never beat before.

That was it for me i was going to have to buy a set of these darts and become a name to be feared. A couple of days later i was back to my usual darts.

In my case anyway, I know I concentrate more with a different dart because its unusual in shape and weight and therefore I think a lot more about getting it to the treble/double or wherever.

Never threw a nine darter, best ive done was 13 in practice in the pub before a match, and 17 in a tournament. I once started a pub league game wit 180, then 140 and then fell apart, lost 2-0. I was about 16 at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭elevendarter

Maybe you could say what exact darts you´re talking about :-) I personally change darts a lot. I have a few sets which are different with weight but similar in balance and I can throw with them easier than with others. I mean for example Taylor Purists 24g, Taylor Phase 5 26g, Jenkins 19g and Jennings 21g are pretty good for me, while Wade 20g, Taylor Hero 21g, Harrows Savage 21g and Foxfire 22g are not that good for my throwing style. What is more I play electronic darts with Taylor Purists soft tips 20g which are in fact just 17,6g barrels.

I play that long that I am ashamed to have only two 11 darters. I am going to have at least one more this year!!!

Anyway, if you can play like you said - a few 11 darters then I think you should stick with the ones you have. But you can give the others a go and you will see if they work for you. One evening is not enough to judge.

Having always threw Darts as a youngster my first proper set of Darts "Which i got at around 21yrs of age where john lowes 27grm Darts.I played most nights in the pub for around 2yrs and was asked to join the pub A team.i used to throw great stuff with them until my car was stolen and the darts where in the glove department. I then bought John lowes 25grms which I could throw not to bad with but eventually sold them and bought another 27grm pair.The darts i throw with now..!! I fell away from the game for a good many years but over this past 3yrs i have got my interest back. I dont throw for anyone and only enter one local memorial Cup this past three years. I took two games off a county thrower last year and got to the 2nd round this year only to be hammered 4 -0 by one off the favourites. The annoying thing is that I know I can throw as good as the top names at home but I cant seem to turn it on in the competition. After the Competition I usually go around to another local where there is the sat night comp and throw great stuff.I usually start practicing 3 to 4 hours a day after Christmas as the cup is in March.I put a lot of time in this year and was happy with my preparation ' but I just couldnt turn it on' on the day. I dont know if reason is that I try to hard and cant throw my natural game or if the reason is the format of the Cup with 7 boards lined up and games going on beside you.It seems a Strange throw to me.But then the others dont seem to have a problem.i think i need to start getting out and entering more Comps.I am also joining a pub team later this year so will be upping my practice.

I played about with some lighter Darts that my nephew owns after talking with some of the big names who all seem to throw with 22grm darts but I coulnt get on with them.The darts i used in the pub that night where 27grm scalloped darts which if you look on tommies/pure darts you will notice the thick ring grip around the barrel.It is possible the grip suited my hand.I use small gripper stems with pear and oversize pear flights on my John lowes.

I hit 60 bulls in 35 mins while practicing this year' Dont how that averages out..? I know I can throw but really need to take my game out of the house.i watched D.gurney take out 132 with two bulls double 16 at the comp and thats the standard it seems you have to have to compete.I hit three bulls a good few times while throwing for the Bull' .Darts seems to becoming very popular again "which is great" but the talent of some of the young lads is scary.I aim to put a lot of time into my darts this coming year' and was seriously thinking about changing my darts.The scalloped are only 12quid so i might buy a set and see how it Goes.if they dont work out I can always go back to the old faithfuls. Any imput into why i cant seem to take my home darts to the comps would be greatly recieved. Thanks for the replys.

I'm no expert but I reckon its not getting enough competitive playing in an environment with noise and other matches going on around you. I can only speak from my experience but I reckon joining a pub team is a good place to start. You should quickly stop noticing distractions around you and find the rythim you develop at home. This should definitely help your game in tournaments but getting used to playing beside other boards means one thing and that's more tournament play.

wilddarts wrote: »
    I'm no expert but I reckon its not getting enough competitive playing in an environment with noise and other matches going on around you. I can only speak from my experience but I reckon joining a pub team is a good place to start. You should quickly stop noticing distractions around you and find the rythim you develop at home. This should definitely help your game in tournaments but getting used to playing beside other boards means one thing and that's more tournament play.

Cheers' for that Wilddarts'. I reckon you are right. :)