Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What .22 ammo for rabbits.

• 22-05-2013 9:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭

Well lads just wondering what .22 ammo ye use for shooting rabbits out to 100 yards.

Just after been given permission on shoot bunnies on 1800 acres of barley and when I walked it tonight it is teaming with them but they are very very spooky in daylight. (All shooting has to be daylight no lamping). I could only get to within 100 yards or so of them.

38 grain agila sub sonics I'm using at the moment are doing the job 50 to 60 yards but the power goes out of them before 100 and its just not a humane death for the bunnies. Also getting touching groups at 50 yards with them. Gun loves them.

My cz452 dosent like stingers or mini mags for some strange reason. Every 3 or 4 one just flies and that's not good either.

Anyone any suggestions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭deano2882

nice permission wish i cud get few more permissions like that.....ive .22 magnum myself but have u tried cci 40 grain
    velocitor's friend of mine finds them and remington yellow jackets good in his .22lr...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭marcp

deano2882 wrote: »
    nice permission wish i cud get few more permissions like that.....ive .22 magnum myself but have u tried cci 40 grain
    velocitor's friend of mine finds them and remington yellow jackets good in his .22lr...

They were next on the list the velocitiors. They are the most powerful cci's in .22 so I have heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

Never tryed the velocitiers there suppose to be good I try the yellow jackets before but me or the cz 452 didn't like them. I would of suggested stingers but give the velocitiers ago and see what sort of money are they.

any1 ive asked bout ammo in past in .22lr says the stingers seem to group bad and get more flyers....i only use fedral and cci ammo in magnum as it likes both (but wat evers on recieving end dosent)lol....best thing is trail and error every gun is diff and so is person firing it imo..there is a value pack in corrib tackle for .22lr 525 rounds for 35e..dont no how they group ect but wud be grand for bunnys and plinking id imagine..safe shooting....

To be fair its not going to cost a fortune to try a couple of different boxs of ammo what about the cci standard ammo are they any good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

Back in the day when the da and myself had a great rabbit permission that was so diverse in land scape and various crops we would often come across large numbers grazing along open fields with no cover to approach. We would make our way along the edge of the field and if we put em down would just wait a while and shoot them as the appeared. LV Hollowponit points with supressor and a little time to spare will equal bunny burgers.

To be fair its not going to cost a fortune to try a couple of different boxs of ammo what about the cci standard ammo are they any good.

true about price for .22lr ammo wat r dey nly lik 7e a box of 50...

I remember I use to be able to get the stingers for €6 a box. I got a price yesterday for €11 needless to say I started laughing. I think there in or around €8 a box now give or take.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭vapour_trail

Im using cci subs, theyre very accurate Im getting sub MOA at 60 yds but on rabbits and crows they dont seem to expand at all which is incredibly annoying. Ive heard great things about winchester subs they have a bigger HP cavity and expand rapidly on impact but theyre never available in my local shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭mixerbarcoe

i use Winchester subs in my .22.. good round for the rabbits and dropped a few close range foxes with them last year all head shots on the foxes tho...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭extremetaz

marcp wrote: »
    the power goes out of them before 100 and its just not a humane death for the bunnies.

Plenty of power in any .22LR round to do the job at 100m - it's shot placement that causing you problems.

Either the round isn't consistent enough (and it's a cheap round to be fair) or you don't have your ballistics calculated well enough - and when you're that far out with .22LR, you'd have to know the range to the meter to have any hope of placing it correctly.

The bottom line is that any .22LR round will drop any rabbit at any range that you can group better than 1" at consistently - it's switching between ranges and knowing your ballistics for the round that will make the difference.

If it were you on that sort of terrain then I'd either switch to a match grade round(or as close as you can get - I just got a load of Lapua SK HP's myself), get to know it and use it in conjuction with a rangefinder; or upgrade to a faster caliber that's actually designed to reach out past 100m.

The latter option will be the easier one and given the size of that permission, probably the more realistic one, but I'd find the former far more satisfying myself.

(for the record I regularly take rabbits out to 40m with a 24ft.lb air rifle - and on a flat calm day you'll get out even farther so there's absolutely no question that the .22LR has enough punch left at 100m)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭alsace royal

my 452 hates cci's grouping was all over the place at 100 yrds was nearly a 4" spread changed over to the remington yellow jacket, getting a 1.5" group at 100 yrds (hope to get that to 1", dont have rifle to long) the only thing i find with the yellows are there is always 1 mabey 2 that dosent fire out of the 50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

any1 ive asked bout ammo in past in .22lr says the stingers seem to group bad and get more flyers....i only use fedral and cci ammo in magnum as it likes both (but wat evers on recieving end dosent)lol....best thing is trail and error every gun is diff and so is person firing it imo..there is a value pack in corrib tackle for .22lr 525 rounds for 35e..dont no how they group ect but wud be grand for bunnys and plinking id imagine..safe shooting....

used these before when i first got the 22lr.tbh, i found them useless for anything but plinking cans.a well placed shot at 60-70 yards couldnt kill a rabbit for me.at 50 yards they were barely capable of killing charlie
    Best ive used are eley subsonics or cci minimags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

Eley or Winchester LV HP are absolute bunnie killers. I zero for 50yrds which covers me for closer shots or out to 70 yards. After that your looking at a bullet drop starting at approximately of 21/2 inches up to 71/2 inches by the time you step out to 100 yrds .
    But I do like to head shoot closer in and target vitals further out either way if you do the job right they don't walk away.
    By the way I use the bulk .22 HV for targets and do notice they have very little by way of a hollow point, this may be a problem with expansion etc. When I shot a semi-auto I had to use HV to cycle and found RWS and Remington excellent.

I think Eley hollow points are next on the list to try. 1800 acres sounds brilliant lads but when there is hundreds of rabbits on it and the farmer is crying to you to get rid of them and the wife is crying at ya when your shooting 24/7 ha ha it's not much fun.

But sure I would be giving out if I had no shooting as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭sniperman

eley subs deadly in my cz 22:)

I think Eley hollow points are next on the list to try. 1800 acres sounds brilliant lads but when there is hundreds of rabbits on it and the farmer is crying to you to get rid of them and the wife is crying at ya when your shooting 24/7 ha ha it's not much fun.

happy to help out have lurcher and rifle if within reason of travelling....

Cheers for the offer lad but that's the trouble I can't get anyone else in on this permission. I have a couple of good friends that these farmer know well and can't even get them in.

Some old farmers they strange people.

Cheers for the offer lad but that's the trouble I can't get anyone else in on this permission. I have a couple of good friends that these farmer know well and can't even get them in.

Some old farmers they strange people.

Keep the farmer happy anyway. Do as he wishes just to keep the permission once its worth it.