Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

alcohol in school

• 21-05-2013 11:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭

Where you one of these students that would bring drink into school from time to time.

I had never done it, but my old class mates did it very often. They would hide in the woods on the school grounds and drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 934 ✭✭✭LowKeyReturn

We just used to nick it out of the teachers cupboards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

If you went to the Christian Brothers you didnt need to bring it in with you.

You just nicked theirs.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 934 ✭✭✭LowKeyReturn

Smidge wrote: »
    If you went to the Christian Brothers you got plied with it...

Fixed your post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

No I didnt but in 5th year the girl that tried set fire to the school cracked open a can of harp after one class on her way to another and drank it as she sauntered down the corridor.

She's since been locked up, and had both kids put in care. Bad things happen when you drink in school

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

No, luckily I wasn't a functioning alcoholic at 15.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

I never drank in school nor seen anyone else do it, went to a few classes stoned though (as did plenty of others).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Went on a geography field trip when I was repeating the leaving, two of the lads were drinking on the train, absolutely smashed by the time we got to Howth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭JD DABA

No. I used to cringe for the smokers and drinkers.
    Lame acts of rebellion. The teachers likely didn't care.

Look at me 'Im smoking'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Jezek

We used to bring bottles of cheap whisky to school, drink it during recess and then be out of it during class..not everyday but once in a while . It was grand, never did us any harm - it was an experience!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

Half my class got wasted one friday at 11 am and went to class at 12 pm and the teacher did cope why everyone isnt 100%. She is beyond thick.

• Site Banned Posts: 124 ✭✭The Queen of England

Mostly smoked hash if there was any going about, but we'd have the odd sneaky tipple on a Friday lunch break.

Some of the students were just as bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭Kinder Bueno

No but we did smoke.

10 times worse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

When we were in Leaving Cert the teacher sent one of the Lads who looked 18 down the town to buy a six pack, this was back in 1992, wouldn't get away with doing that now.

The guy is long since retired but I see him around town and he is still fond of the beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Closest we ever got was drinking before a school céilí. What short of borstal did ye folk go to??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Nabber

Had a naggin of vodka smash in my locker once. The 2 lockers below were destroyed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

mitched school and went drinking with a few others, teachers got tipped off, caught us and we got suspended for a week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Never touched the stuff but some of the bold lads would bring it on school trips and drink it on thee back of the bus. Our school would use the big Bus Eireann buses and teachers would sit up the front and not pay much attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Not alcohol. But we'd get really stoned every lunchtime and them go to the canteen for munchies. Ah good times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Only drink people like drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Go home OP, you're drunk:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Never brought it to school, but 3 of my best friends slept over at my house the night before we started 6th year, we ended up staying up all night drinking wine and went into school in a drunken state..Fun times :)

Never saw the appeal of bringing it into school, surely a waste of alcohol when all your allowed to do is sit there quietly?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

I brought beer with me on a retreat one time. The others said they were going to bring some but they chickened out so I drank it on my own. I was a young alcoholic learning my trade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭SicklySweet

Been in the same class as people who would snort before class, drink a shoulder before class and someone who would bring a large pepsi bottle with vodka to sip during hours. Used to always wonder why they'd come out with the most random stuff. Yeah i went to a shíte school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

We just used to nick it out of the teachers cupboards.

Sure ya did

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

Just the once when a lad brought in a bottle of ouzo. i had some down back of class, 3rd yr I think.. certainly can't have been after that

How no-one smelt it I don't know. but last time i encountered him was as I passing the Vincent de Paul; big red nose on him... actually he recognised me. Even still, it took me a while to gauge who it was behind that big fcucking bulbous thing? those situations are never easy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Wattle wrote: »
    I brought beer with me on a retreat one time. The others said they were going to bring some but they chickened out so I drank it on my own. I was a young alcoholic learning my trade.

Ya can rely on nobody these days :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Nope, I grew up in a nice area. No-one even considered bringing drink to school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

A few joints were smoked alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

Jesus Christ, what kind of kips did you all go to? Never even heard of anyone drinking at school til this thread.

No-one got pregnant the whole time I was at school either. Maybe the two are related...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

My friend once brought in 4 bottles of smirnoff ice.
    halfway throught the second one each, we realised we're not going to get drunk and these taste like piss.

good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

never drank in school,just got stoned.i left school very young and attended a youthreach program.piss up most days in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

our maths teach was a raging alco, he'd be stinking of booze and often just told us amuse ourselves and he'd head off for the entire class. was great at the time but I know fcuk all maths now so we shoulda said something at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Vicar in a tutu

There was always one fool that drank in school whilst the rest of us cringed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Very rarely. A few times in my AS and A-Level year. Not even sure why I did. It wasn't a rebellious thing, I just fuckin hated the school I was in and couldnt care less if I was booted out.
    Far more often than drinking in school I'd go mitching, meet up with this girl from one of the girls schools and we'd change out of our uniforms and find a nice quiet bar for drinking and fingering and playing pool.
    Ah, those were the days. I was thin, energetic, had a positive out look, a pint in one hand and a beure on my knuckles. How the fuck did i end up like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Actually come to think of it, probably because I was in a bar when I should have been in school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

We used the physics and chemistry labs to create Ireland's largest poitín distillery.

• Site Banned Posts: 253 ✭✭theidiots

Only really when I hit fifth or sixth year, used to go dossing and hit the pub or fields for a few cans the whole time. Some craic. It was mostly hash people smoked around the school before they went in. Whats the point of having drinkin in school? If I wasn't dossing I'd be drinkin after school

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I went to school to learn. I went to the pub to drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I remember a fella bringing a bottle of Cointreau in with him. About 6 people ended up pissed and being sent home / suspended. You wouldn't guess that stuff was 40% alcohol just by taking a swig of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I had a mate when we were fifteen and he'd have a can of Guinness on the way home every Thursday, soon as he stepped out the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Problem123456

krudler wrote: »
    our maths teach was a raging alco, he'd be stinking of booze and often just told us amuse ourselves and he'd head off for the entire class. was great at the time but I know fcuk all maths now so we shoulda said something at the time.
    I see that your English teacher was just as bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭juicyduckie

I never drank in school, no one did, and I went to a ****e school where there were pregnant girls in every year...

I was 18 in sixth year and we were banned from smoking in school uniform, but we were so cool we used to go round the back of one of the housing estates and smoke.. :pac:

the craic was great, I'd do it all again if i could.