Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This woman is 'too attractive to work'

• 20-05-2013 10:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/business/worklife/london-woman-laura-fernee-says-shes-too-attractive-to-work/story-fni0d8zi-1226647294922

"A LONDON woman says she has been unemployed for two years because her good looks caused "massive problems" in the workplace.

Laura Fernee, who has a science PhD, says her last job was at a medical research lab where she earned £30,000 a year ($47,000) from 2008 until 2011.

But Ms Fernee, 33, says she was left with no choice but to quit when comments from co-workers about her attractive physical appearance became too much.

"I'm not lazy and I'm no bimbo," Ms Fernee told The Daily Mail.

"The truth is my good looks have caused massive problems for me when it comes to employment, so I’ve made the decision that employment just isn’t for me at the moment. It's not my fault...I can’t help the way I look."

She was "constantly asked out" and felt traumatised when men left "romantic gifts" on her desk.

"Male colleagues were only interested in me for how I looked. I wanted them to recognise my achievements and my professionalism but all they saw was my face and body," she said.

"Even when I was in a laboratory in scrubs with no make-up they still came on to me because of my natural attractiveness. There was nothing I could do to stop it."

God, I know the feeling..:pac:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,470 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I'd give her one!

A job...pervs!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

I expected this to be about Samantha Brick quitting her job....

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Don't see the fuss tbh??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,969 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I used to think the same about my missus but it turns out I was wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

Shes got nothing on Samantha Brick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Looks like a transvestite to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

I was fully expecting a picture of Samantha Brick, even after reading the different name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Looks like a slightly melted version of Michael Jackson..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

The accent.... sheesh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,220 ✭✭✭jiltloop

She looks like Michael Jackson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭str|ct9

She looks a bit like Jacko.

Blonde beside her is better looking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,929 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Since she has a PhD in Science, and judging by the stereotypical demograph drawn to science as a career, I can easily see how her looks could have been an issue.

Although, I'm basing that conclusion on the Big Bang Theory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

she looks a bit like michael jackson. . .towards the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

She's only 33 ? Looks closer to 50. Not ageist tho, so yea, I would. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

TPD wrote: »
    I was fully expecting a picture of Samantha Brick, even after reading the different name.

I know. Her force is so powerful it could nearly become the new Rickroll...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Wurly wrote: »
    God, I know the feeling..:pac:

Mod:

Could you add a little more about the article please, as per the charter?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

She's not too attractive for a day in the hill footing turf, no one is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭JD DABA

I think her Phd may not have been in science.......

..... but rather in marketing ...guffaw guffaw.

Expect a book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

she is nothing special

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

I work with a load of women who are too ugly to work how come they never quit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Too fat for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

a career in prostitution or the adult film industry might suit,can never be too good looking for that gig:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,788 ✭✭✭tritium

Apparently her parents pay all her bills, including £1500 a month for designer clothes (from the daily mail- the paper that keeps on giving )

Clearly she's not using the thesaurus propenly!

Good looking is not an alternative expression for lazy, bone idle or spoilt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Can't stop staring at her horribly tweezed eyebrows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

I think she's rather beautiful. There is a stereotype that women in science tend to not be attractive, and this lady falls outside of that. And, as much as we hate to admit it, we tend to breath fire into these stereotypes. We buy into them. I can imagine that there were some co-workers who believed that she got that far because of her looks, and that there were some who openly questioned her intellect. I believe media reinforces the perspective that a woman is either pretty or she is smart. She should not be both. If it appears that she does hold both, then we look for the first opportunity to knock her off her place.

Ha! Eh...what??!
    Well in fairness, it's hard to tell what she looks like when you can't take your eyes away from her horrid eyebrows!

My sister in law is a scientist and she is very attractive (don't tell her I said that though), and I actually know, and know of a great many moderately to highly attractive girls/women in science.

I've never been aware that there were such a stereotype - Vast majority of girls I am friends with now, and have been friends with in the past would be both attractive and intelligent.
    Really seems quite strange to me that there be a stereotype that suggests otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithi1970

God love her! either she's got serious delusions, or her erstwhile colleagues have low standards...maybe herself and Samantha Brick should form a support group

daithi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

She has a really posh accent and shes releasing a book, parents are paying 3110 for rent and utilities and another $2330 on clothes. Not in the least bit sorry for her to be honest, probably just a publicity thing to get her book noticed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

Ha! Eh...what??!
    Well in fairness, it's hard to tell what she looks like when you can't take your eyes away from her horrid eyebrows!

My sister in law is a scientist and she is very attractive (don't tell her I said that though), and I actually know, and know of a great many moderately to highly attractive girls/women in science.

I've never been aware that there were such a stereotype - Vast majority of girls I am friends with now, and have been friends with in the past would be both attractive and intelligent.
    Really seems quite strange to me that there be a stereotype that suggests otherwise.

I hear about it in Science, Engineering, and Technology.

http://people.mills.edu/spertus/Gender/pap/node7.html

http://www.insidehighered.com/news/2012/10/19/furor-over-male-scientists-facebook-post-about-female-scientists

It could be an American stereotype because these fields are predominately male here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

That's close enough to what I pay in rent for a year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

She's no Claire Tully anyway..

I hear about it in Science, Engineering, and Technology.

http://people.mills.edu/spertus/Gender/pap/node7.html

http://www.insidehighered.com/news/2012/10/19/furor-over-male-scientists-facebook-post-about-female-scientists

It could be an American stereotype because these fields are predominately male here.

Oh btw, I wasn't suggesting you were incorrect about such a stereotype, I was just saying that I find it very strange because all my own personal experiences would suggest otherwise. There very well could be such a stereotype, in the U.S./here/wherever - I just never heard of it before.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 240 ✭✭The Barefoot Pizza Thief

I see loads of women working everyday who are far more beautiful than her, and naturally so too.

Who the fcuk is indulging this bint in her self obsessed victimhood? She needs a kick in the arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

theteal wrote: »
    she looks a bit like michael jackson. . .towards the end

Or just after the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

I see loads of women working everyday who are far more beautiful than her, and naturally so too.

Who the fcuk is indulging this bint in her self obsessed victimhood? She needs a kick in the arse.
    +1. There are many worse off people in the world than her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Wouldn't touch yer wan in the article with your barge pole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Wonder if she'd still talk like that wit my **** jammed up her ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

So...

The Herald Sun swiped the story from The Daily Mail? No doubt, posted to Boards after it was seen on Reddit.

INCEPTION!

She looks reasonably pretty, permashock eyebrows don't help though.

Like someone else here, I've a sister in law working in a scientific field, and, while not just as pretty (in my eyes), she wouldn't be far off (in my eyes). And I've met some of the wans she works with. There's some bleedin' crackers working there.

Sounds to me like someone has decided they want to be a socialite. Isn't this just the rich girl version of the "Peta, 23 from Essex" school of publicity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

She's the spitting image of Michael Jackson, sounds like a right narcissistic tard.:rolleyes: She should just do us all a favour and wear a mask everybody happy happy happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Since she has a PhD in Science, and judging by the stereotypical demograph drawn to science as a career, I can easily see how her looks could have been an issue.

Although, I'm basing that conclusion on the Big Bang Theory.
    Nah, I'm guessing it was in a biological related area which tends to attract more female graduates than physics, chemistry, computing, etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

This girl is one deluded cookie. Or some other self centered mental disorder. She's homely looking but cannot be overly intelligent. Otherwise she would be able to make friends at work. Obviously suffers from Narcissistic Personality Disorder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Agreed.
    While she is not ugly, there is nothing special too. Plenty of women walking down the road much much better ... and without the attitude. But as soon as you hear her in the video - "extremely stuck up" comes to mind :p

Comes off as daddy's little rich girl. Sure she's getting a few grand accordingly of the parents each week - i tell ya, there's some crazy people in this world :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭northernpower

Science PhD eh?

She just gave me a polymerase chain erection

(Sorry, just trying to get in to the mind of her 'abusers' :confused:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,871 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Jeeeaysus that woman is deluded....I think her colleagues just wanted a ride...

here is Julia Dietze
    http://www.imdb.com/media/rm3078663936/nm1087430

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

She not unattractive, but she's certainly nothing special. As someone said above, I've met many many more attractive women who not only manage to hold down a job, but do it well and are highly respected by their male and female colleagues.

Usual rule applies here - if you find yourself losing or having to quit jobs on a regular basis, then it's not them, it's you. She's 33 and her parents bankroll her. I'd say she's bone idle at work and uses her colleagues to do her work for her.
    She possibly even flirts with colleagues to convince them to do things and then convinces herself that she's being constantly "wooed".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,036 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I've a phd and am too attractive to work too :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

She can work on my staff any time.

oooh Matron! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Ficheall wrote: »
    I've a phd and am too attractive to work too :(

She sounds like she'd be better off working with a GHD instead, and for all the smartarses who say she looks like Michael Jackson......well, thats ignorant,you're being ignorant:pac:

I didn't watch the video - only saw the screen shot.

She's quite beautiful in fairness. Still though, noone is too beautiful to hold down a job. Samantha Brick is a successful troll - this woman is most likely just a copycat.