Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coachford road race

• 20-05-2013 2:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭

Lads,has anyone some info on this or know anyone in the club that can supply distances (maybe route map) entry cost etc........

Tried getting some answers on their FB page,but all I got in reply was look at events and when I did,I noticed it gives you shag all info.

The only info you get is that they will decide the number of laps each cat will do on the day,which is poor if you ask me.

Thanks Pawlie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭crashoveroid

Here is what i found on the FB page.

"CCC is delighted to announce that we will be holding our first Race on Sunday May 26th… All are welcome!

Route 15km circuits lap. Coachford-Carrigadrohid-Killardish-larch hill cross-Roovesbridge-Coachford

Map to route: http://ridewithgps.com/routes/2366997

Race Licences: A2/3/4 U12/14/16 (no one day licence)

A2/3 90k
    A4 60k

Cycling Ireland distances will be confirmed by the commissaire on the day.

Parking and changing facilities will be provided at Coachford GAA complex.

We’re looking forward to welcoming you to what promises to be a great day!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Pawlie

Here is what i found on the FB page.

"CCC is delighted to announce that we will be holding our first Race on Sunday May 26th… All are welcome!

Route 15km circuits lap. Coachford-Carrigadrohid-Killardish-larch hill cross-Roovesbridge-Coachford

Map to route: http://ridewithgps.com/routes/2366997

Race Licences: A2/3/4 U12/14/16 (no one day licence)

A2/3 90k
    A4 60k

Cycling Ireland distances will be confirmed by the commissaire on the day.

Parking and changing facilities will be provided at Coachford GAA complex.

We’re looking forward to welcoming you to what promises to be a great day!"

Mmmmm must have only updated it,last update they had on it they said the coms of the day will decide distances,

Thanks anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Strava link for route.
    Do we have start times ?!

Strava link for route.
    Do we have start times ?!
    they saying that they hope to have race off at 12 lad,what the course ride like,start that climb looks interesting

I only know the start & end bit, no idea of the middle bit and that little steep climb/ramp. I know the bridge is as rough as fook and then you have a short blast up a ramp and then downhill to a fast finish but I don't know where exactly the finish is!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭crashoveroid

Pawlie wrote: »
    they saying that they hope to have race off at 12 lad,what the course ride like,start that climb looks interesting

Its hard to know when the start is as the i asked on the Facebook page and they said all off 12:30. Its seems to be a bit of guess work.

everything seems to be guess work,no mention on entry cost either, if this the way its being promoted compared to how other clubs promote their races I might give it a miss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭cantalach

Details are on their FB page. Sign-on from 10:00AM. Juvenile races start at 11:00AM and the A2/A3 will be at 12:30PM. A4 will presumably be five mins after that.

255384.jpg

Savage race, really enjoyed the..............suffering :o:pac:
    It lashed rain at the very start, my visability was down to practically zero, my left eye was so sore I couldn't open or shut it, I plugged on tho as I had good legs, ya can't waste good legs LOL.
    We were setting a good pace, the A4 bunch was whittled down to 15 or so on the last lap where we passed a large A3 group !! Just as we approached the bridge with 2km to go I made a 'mad' burst for glory..............win or bust I told myself............and bust it was :rolleyes:, I stood up to power up the last climb and the cramp kicked in and then the bunch passed me........, ah well, maybe another day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭vistafinder

Great race today good and hard A4 race. Fair play Coachford CC. Only problem today was lads fuc-ing empty gels around the place. If you can take it out of your pocket why cant you put it back in? I dont understand it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭fondriest

Great race today good and hard A4 race. Fair play Coachford CC. Only problem today was lads fuc-ing empty gels around the place. If you can take it out of your pocket why cant you put it back in? I dont understand it!

Happens every race , don't know why lads can't put them back in their pocket . Maybe cause they're pro's .

fondriest wrote: »
    Happens every race , don't know why lads can't put them back in their pocket . Maybe cause they're pro's .
    Does not take much to tuck your rubbish under your jersey,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 GoodForNothing

Great race today, Coachford CC. Thanks! Loved the route. Well marshalled. And the best post-race spread I've enjoyed yet this summer. There was pavlova!! ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 mjpmclean

Great race & course, thanks for a good safe day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭cantalach

Yes, well organised and tough too. It got a bit messy when the lead A4 group had to get past a very large A2/A3 grupetto on the narrow climb in the 4th lap. A bigger gap would have avoided that. But overall a great event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭bwalsh1983

Its unbelievable. Even stranger when you see riders from the host club doing it.
    The lads reckon they are in the Tour not an A4 race in North Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭sheepfield

cantalach wrote: »
    Yes, well organised and tough too. It got a bit messy when the lead A4 group had to get past a very large A2/A3 grupetto on the narrow climb in the 4th lap. A bigger gap would have avoided that. But overall a great event.

It might be something to do with this chap called Eddie Dunbar; am I right in saying that he rode away from a combined A3/A2 group, attacked them repeatedly and won by something like 3 minutes? And the chap is only 16 years old or something? Sounds might impressive once again.

Eddie Dundar - future champ...

Discuss.

And fair play to the chap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Craig06

sheepfield wrote: »
    It might be something to do with this chap called Eddie Dunbar; am I right in saying that he rode away from a combined A3/A2 group, attacked them repeatedly and won by something like 3 minutes? And the chap is only 16 years old or something? Sounds might impressive once again.

Eddie Dundar - future champ...

Discuss.

And fair play to the chap.

How much training does he do? He's actually unbelievable. Mental gap to put into what should be a strong enough bunch.

Craig06 wrote: »
    How much training does he do? He's actually unbelievable. Mental gap to put into what should be a strong enough bunch.
    not the quantity,its the quality type training them lads put in,such as power training,interval training,vo2max training etc,they have the head and talent for it and want to succed in the sport,they are driven too and I would presume they have the support family wise too which is prop more important at that age than anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭fixie fox

How much training does he do? He's actually unbelievable.
    'Eddie Rocket' (as he is know locally) actually didn't have much of a 'winter' due to illness and other stuff - only really began in Feb. What is really unbelievable is what came out in Minnane early in the year - for a 16-year-old to have the audacity to attack the elite A1s and 2s. But, then again, he has a coach and mentor who believes in the 'attack' approach and can give him that confidence!
    At the start of the year the A3 were complaining that the good juniors were fecking up the racing - Eddie Rocket is now doing it all on his own.

fixie fox wrote: »
    At the start of the year the A3 were complaining that the good juniors were fecking up the racing - Eddie Rocket is now doing it all on his own.
    I for one and I know they are many lads love racing with him and foley etc,they bring the best out of lads,cause if you are going to win a race or get podium finish well you will have flaming deserved it and it wont be handed to you.

I dont think lads where complaining juniors where wrecking races I think the gripe some lads had was the way the points system works and they they where saying they should have been separate points for A3 riders.

It's hardly the volume of training - I reckon I have done as much as anybody but rather this lad seems to be a very rare talent. And that is something that lads in A4/A3 might not have in the same abundance as these juniors and the lads who can upgrade more easily. I am just delighted to see so many decent, even gifted, young riders. I enjoy riding with/against them in open competition. As somebody passionate about the sport, I just hope they enjoy every ounce of the glory days at the moment and maybe some make the step up in time to the world elite level - of course, it s a whole different ball game then, for a whole number of reasons

I believe he is in good hands down there so with time, we could be looking at a real star in the making.

not the quantity,its the quality type training them lads put in,such as power training,interval training,vo2max training etc,they have the head and talent for it and want to succed in the sport,they are driven too and I would presume they have the support family wise too which is prop more important at that age than anything else.

All the above and the biggest requirement of all...he knows how to suffer and go that bit more again and again.

Vital few years coming what with all the distractions about to arrive on the horizon at that age!

Seemingly Jamie Blanchfield who won the A4 for the second week in a row is in a similar situation to the Juniors in A3, can't upgrade as he is only 15 and so will go on winning A4 races for the rest of the season!

bwalsh1983 wrote: »
    All the above and the biggest requirement of all...he knows how to suffer and go that bit more again and again.

Vital few years coming what with all the distractions about to arrive on the horizon at that age!

Seemingly Jamie Blanchfield who won the A4 for the second week in a row is in a similar situation to the Juniors in A3, can't upgrade as he is only 15 and so will go on winning A4 races for the rest of the season!

And what about the rule that U16s cant ride with seniors in open races? Am I missing something or is the fact that he is (allegedly) this age makes him ineligible for senior racing - never mind the fact that he is well able to win, Im sure Sean Kelly at 15 years of age would have beaten the pants off an "A4" selection in the 70s....?

sheepfield wrote: »
    And what about the rule that U16s cant ride with seniors in open races? Am I missing something or is the fact that he is (allegedly) this age makes him ineligible for senior racing - never mind the fact that he is well able to win, Im sure Sean Kelly at 15 years of age would have beaten the pants off an "A4" selection in the 70s....?

I'm none the wiser to be honest, work colleague who was racing yesterday told me that. Raced against him last week in Dungarvan and he looks older than that to be honest and had a great kick up the finish to win it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭Plastik

He's not U16, he is 16. A first year Junior. The Juniors race with the A3 bunch.

*scrap that, Blanchfield, no idea.

A quick google suggests that Blanchfield is, at the very least, 18/19. There is an article that he has now been upgraded to A3 following this race on his club website.

Plastik wrote: »
    He's not U16, he is 16. A first year Junior. The Juniors race with the A3 bunch.

There are some juniors in the A4 bunch this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭ericzeking

bwalsh1983 wrote: »
    There are some juniors in the A4 bunch this year.

If they are first time racers, they are allowed ride few races in A4 before moving to A3 with or without the points as far as I'm aware

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭MichealD

A first year junior who didn't have an U16 or other underage licence starts in A4. If the junior raced at U16 level they go straight to A3.

Plastik wrote: »

A quick google suggests that Blanchfield is, at the very least, 18/19. There is an article that he has now been upgraded to A3 following this race on his club website.

I was going on second hand info! Good rider, another for the A3 top junior ranks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭dedocdude

was anyone here riding the A2/A3 race? Was there a decent, consistant chase organized behind E. Dunbar? I know hes a little motorbike, but i also know from experience that outside of A1 racing, proper organized chases are rare enough.

dedocdude wrote: »
    was anyone here riding the A2/A3 race? Was there a decent, consistant chase organized behind E. Dunbar? I know hes a little motorbike, but i also know from experience that outside of A1 racing, proper organized chases are rare enough.

Since I got upgraded to A3 I've noticed that's its nearly same guys doing the chasing all the time and the rest bunch just sit in,and when that happens lads just get fed up doing it,more or less the same as A4,another thing you notice is the very few A2 riders that come thru and work while chasing a breakaway,maybe they rest are keeping their powder dry till the finish and letting the A3/junior's at the front,I reckon they can only answer that.

I'm sure they going to be a backlash especially as these are my thoughts :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 mjpmclean

Organized chase, not really, it did slow down a bit when after lap two, hm, just trying to hang on was bad enough! That hill was a killer, not the first bit, it was the bit after, the speed just went up and you had to keep going down the block. Good race though, was glad to be there for the five laps of the seven I could manage, pretty sure the bunch was an awful lot smaller by then, so I'm taking heart in that (you have to take some positives home).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Huff n Puff

dedocdude wrote: »

I rode this race. No there was no real consistent chase after Eddie left. A few people took some strong pulls at the front but they were usually left out there too long with nobody coming through. There was never any hard rolling over as a group. There was plenty of jumping going on as usual as you still had a few strong juniors left in the race - who never seem to want to work as a group. This would have disrupted any bunch chase. It is hard to work as a group when you have people breaking over the top of you all the time.

The gap to Eddie increased quickly so after a while the chasing seemed to stop and it was a battle for second. The pace slowed and it was break after break (cat and mouse stuff) from then on. Plenty of people in the bunch were still full of energy so nothing was getting away for long. A sprint finish for 2nd looked on the cards from lap 3 on.

However, in saying all that, the pace wasn't slow either and I don't want to take anything away from Eddie Dunbar's performance. If we had all worked hard together we would still have found it hard to bring him back. Different class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭ericzeking

Since I got upgraded to A3 I've noticed that's its nearly same guys doing the chasing all the time and the rest bunch just sit in,and when that happens lads just get fed up doing it,more or less the same as A4,another thing you notice is the very few A2 riders that come thru and work while chasing a breakaway,maybe they rest are keeping their powder dry till the finish and letting the A3/junior's at the front,I reckon they can only answer that.

I'm sure they going to be a backlash especially as these are my thoughts :-)

You know it would be fine if the people who don't want to contribute just stayed back out of the way but what seems to happen is they will come so far up and end up in the line of lads rolling through with no notion of rolling through themselves and mess up the whole thing, the rolling through stops and the lad at front sits up. I was in the 'grupetto' of the A2/A3 race and while we weren't chasing as such we could have moved along at a much better pace if the lads who had no intention of contributing stayed out of the way completely. In that grupetto there were 8 or 9 fellas willing to do a turn, that would have been plenty to get a good roll going but the wheel kept getting left go and as you say lads get fed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭vistafinder

Here are a few pictures of the race Sunday.Richard will be adding to them during the week. That shower at the start was unreal and it shows on the faces.:cool:

http://www.windyheightsphotography.com/BICYCLES/Coachford-Cycling/29644535_3wjHrh#!i=2538122004&k=VVdHqg4