Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Skoda Octavia VRS

• 19-05-2013 7:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭

Hey everyone,

Looking to get a diesel VRS and was wondering if anyone can give me a bit of advise regarding reliability etc.

I have one lined up with a full service history/t.belt and pump done by a dealer and looks clean in the pics.

Only thing is it's an English import not sure if that's a good or bad thing though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

What year? There are two engines, up to mid 2008 was the PD and after that had the slightly more refined common rail version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

English ones were lower spec than the Irish ones as standard. Check the service history to see if the injectors have been replaced

English ones missed out on MFD, front armrest and climate control. Later models had them but there is a load of the lower spec ones on dd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Obsolete01

sean1141 wrote: »
    English ones were lower spec than the Irish ones as standard. Check the service history to see if the injectors have been replaced

Here are the 3 I am thinking about:

http://cars.donedeal.co.uk/for-sale/cars/4663486

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4980313

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/5047616

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭Vico1612

I've got a 08 Vrs with the common rail engine.
    All good , a few bits needed attention over the years ..
    > Exhaust pressure sensor replaced at 98000 km
    > EGR valve replaced at 82000 km

English ones missed out on MFD, front armrest and climate control. Later models had them but there is a load of the lower spec ones on dd.

Here are the 3 I am thinking about:

http://cars.donedeal.co.uk/for-sale/cars/4663486

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4980313

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/5047616

Vico1612 wrote: »
    I've got a 08 Vrs with the common rail engine.
    All good , a few bits needed attention over the years ..
    > Exhaust pressure sensor replaced at 98000 km
    > EGR valve replaced at 82000 km

So is the common rail engine the best one to go for. How do I tell which engine has the common rail one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭Vico1612

Obsolete01 wrote: »
    So is the common rail engine the best one to go for. How do I tell which engine has the common rail one.

The CR engine is smoother than the PD engine :-)
    From my experience, as I did a test drive in a PD before getting mine, Acceleration is progressive with the CR [ from lower revs ] whereas the PD is more of ' quick in the .... :D' from 2000 rpm

If I remember correctly, the CR engine came out in June 08 ..

Vico1612 wrote: »
    The CR engine is smoother than the PD engine :-)
    From my experience, as I did a test drive in a PD before getting mine, Acceleration is progressive with the CR [ from lower revs ] whereas the PD is more of ' quick in the .... :D' from 2000 rpm

If I remember correctly, the CR engine came out in June 08 ..

Nd do you have a CR or PD engine?

Seems like a few of them had injector recall but not all. Should I be worried if it wasn't recalled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Afaik the CR ones got the face lifted interior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

Nd do you have a CR or PD engine?

Seems like a few of them had injector recall but not all. Should I be worried if it wasn't recalled

All of the PDs should have had the injector recall. If it hasn't had it yet then you can get it done FOC so not a big deal really.

The CR is the nicer engine of the two by a long way so go for one of those if you can. They are smoother, quieter, generally more refined with a much more linear power delivery and are also more economical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

No Idea where you are living but I do know of a spotless and well cared for PD vRS for sale as the owner is upgrading to a '12 model.
    Might be bought right as well.

PD Vrs CR are basically the same off the line even though the PD does feel much quicker because of the sudden surge of torque, But that is short lived whereas the CR will rev on higher and smoother.

PD engines are more prone to DPF issues.

How to spot the difference between PD and CR
    PDvsCR.jpg

bazz26 wrote: »
    Afaik the CR ones got the face lifted interior.

Some did, but not all. Just to confuse things:)

vectra wrote: »
    No Idea where you are living but I do know of a spotless and well cared for PD vRS for sale as the owner is upgrading to a '12 model.
    Might be bought right as well.

PD Vrs CR are basically the same off the line even though the PD does feel much quicker because of the sudden surge of torque, But that is short lived whereas the CR will rev on higher and smoother.

PD engines are more prone to DPF issues.

How to spot the difference between PD and CR
    PDvsCR.jpg

Sent you a pm

Replied ;)

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Wouldn't touch them, AWFUL yokes. You must be off your Vectra to buy one ;)

estimated price will be around €32,450 for the diesel one. :(

That's a 4k jump! Sorry but for that money if you wanted a warm ish diesel I'd be looking to find a nearly new 120d M Sport...or a GTC SRI with all the extras:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

You can get a 170 Superb Ambition for about 2k cheaper! Totally different market I know, but so much motor for the cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭fletch

How much for the petrol?

fletch wrote: »
    How much for the petrol?

Last time it was about 4k more, surely it will be more alighted like the new GTI and GTD now with lower emissions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Shurre why would you want the petrol nothing is faster than a diesel VRS laaaad

That's an overplayed stereotype when the fact of the matter is the petrol equivalents simply aren't a runner in this country anymore.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

That's an overplayed stereotype when the fact of the matter is the petrol equivalents simply aren't a runner in this country anymore.

Why is this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

When it gets the 7'r GTI engine i think that will change tbh.

It's a superior car, it's just our little country is stuck in the dark ages

yop wrote: »
    Why is this?

The mental attitude that exists to low tax meaning the majority of people will ignore it secondhand no matter what, even if it is the better option for them.

When it gets the 7'r GTI engine i think that will change tbh.

It's a superior car, it's just our little country is stuck in the dark ages

No doubt it will be the better car, and even the motor tax is cheap. But unlike the GTI, the VRS brand isn't as well developed or supported in this country meaning they will be unwanted in favour of the diesel whereas the GTI has the image to make it a wanted car secondhand.

Even going back in the years before the tax changes look at the prices of older petrol ones compared to a GTI. There was a low mileage 06 petrol vrs on dd not so long back for 5k...try finding a gti for that money!

Ok, makes sense. Attitude is weird

Well at that price they can count me out to replace my current one with another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

No doubt it will be the better car, and even the motor tax is cheap. But unlike the GTI, the VRS brand isn't as well developed or supported in this country meaning they will be unwanted in favour of the diesel whereas the GTI has the image to make it a wanted car secondhand.

Even going back in the years before the tax changes look at the prices of older petrol ones compared to a GTI. There was a low mileage 06 petrol vrs on dd not so long back for 5k...try finding a gti for that money!
    It's true. You tell people that you have a VRS and they'd reply with "Cool, she's some animal... must be easy on diesel too..." and you'd reply with "mine's the petrol one" to which you'd get responded with "Petrol? What the f**k did you buy that for?"

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    It's true. You tell people that you have a VRS and they'd reply with "Cool, she's some animal... must be easy on diesel too..." and you'd reply with "mine's the petrol one" to which you'd get responded with "Petrol? What the f**k did you buy that for?"

In a nutshell. !

Well, Here you go lads :cool:

€ 27,970
    in Slovenia

1.jpg

2.jpg

Nice Seats :P

3.jpg

Definitely looks more leg room in the rear.

4.jpg

5.jpg

Canton upgrade sound system in the one

6.jpg

7.jpg

And of course the free stilts as standard :(

8.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭MrFrisp

Well, Here you go lads :cool:

€ 27,970
    in Slovenia

1.jpg

2.jpg

Nice Seats :P

3.jpg

Definitely looks more leg room in the rear.

4.jpg

5.jpg

Canton upgrade sound system in the one

6.jpg

7.jpg

And of course the free stilts as standard :(

8.jpg

Stunning Stunning Car..

Is it just me or is it riding a bit high? Maybe the wheels dont fill the arches enough. If it was silver or some other less striking colour I dont think you'd give it another look.

I do like the seats though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Very nice car.... kinda makes me want a VRS estate. But yeah, it does need to come down a bit and/or go up a wheel size.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Just doesn't do anything visually for me.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

MrFrisp wrote: »
    Stunning Stunning Car..

It's a go faster taxi! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

WOW red calipers :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

But...... Its a Skoda!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭MrFrisp

It's a go faster taxi! :D

And I'd still have it.

I'd flog the mother-in-law into some sort of home just to get one. :D

Few more pics there to keep ye going lads :P

Rallye Green,

I was going to go for this color with black alloys, black grill, black mirrors, when ordering my current one but just could not get myself to tick that box.

638669713.jpg

Corrida Red,

645191253.jpg

636862314.jpg

637160442.jpg

644893125.jpg

Looks a lot better with the bigger wheels. Ralleye Green would be my choice too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

Looks a bit kak to be fair. Interior is a much needed improvement though.
    Do you still get green calipers for the petrol and red for the diesel? The petrol is the only one I'd bother with if it were dirt cheap second hand.

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    Looks a bit kak to be fair. Interior is a much needed improvement though.
    Do you still get green calipers for the petrol and red for the diesel? The petrol is the only one I'd bother with if it were dirt cheap second hand.

Red calipers on all models.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

:D636862314.jpg

Do they sell Octys in Lidl over there? :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Any of you guys driven a VRS? How quick are they? I believe the motorway traffic cops in the UK use them so they must be fairly nippy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

I think that new model is a fine looking car. When are you collecting your new one Vectra?

The mental attitude that exists to low tax meaning the majority of people will ignore it secondhand no matter what, even if it is the better option for them.
    yop wrote: »
    Ok, makes sense. Attitude is weird

The attitude in Ireland towards road tax is very strange indeed. Don't get me wrong, I think we're absolutely raped here when it comes to taxes on motoring but paying an extra couple of hundred a year seems to put the absolute fear of God into Irish people.

Instead of buying a model a year or two older, most people would buy a newer car yet get one with an underpowered engine which, in my opinion, totally negates the point of getting a half decent car in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Jesus. wrote: »
    Any of you guys driven a VRS? How quick are they? I believe the motorway traffic cops in the UK use them so they must be fairly nippy.

Afaik they dont use them as Motorway ("Traffic Car" in the Road Policing unit) cars as they already have far more powerful 530D's and Volvo V70's in that role. They do use the Octavia as an "Metro Area Response" car though looking at the ex-Police car website, only the FSI (not TDI) version.

Matt Simis wrote: »
    Afaik they dont use them as Motorway ("Traffic Car" in the Road Policing unit) cars

I'm nearly certain I saw one being used in a Motorway pursuit on that show "Road Wars". Maybe they were chasing a car in a residential area and the pursuit just ended up on the Motorway.

Clarkson and his chums seem pretty impressed with them:

The 2.0-litre FSI petrol uses a turbo and delivers 200bhp, 207lb ft of torque and 0-62mph in 7.3 with a top end of a fraction under 150mph. Stick that in yer pipe and smoke it - suddenly the Police pursuit cars don’t look so silly now do they? The diesel version is a little bit slower; at 8.4 seconds to 62mph and 140mph top end, but beware it on the motorway - it may only have 168bhp, but that’s backed up by 258lb ft of torque - so in-gear acceleration is brisk.