Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Renewal of FireArm

• 16-05-2013 8:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭

Hi All,

I went to my Local Garda Station ato hand in my Renewal Form,

The Garda that was on looking at it would not for the life of me Sign off.Telling me that i have no proof of land or club permission or details

I told the Garda that i didnt need them as it was written already on the Sheet, i though it was up to the Ltd. To contact the Land Owner.Plus it Says on the Form "Provide Written permission from the land occupier(you only need provide this written permission if you details have changed since your last application) i showed this to the Garda and he wouldnt sign off even though all he has to do is take the Form off me and The Ltd on duty Signs off on the Form.

Any one else have issues with the Forms,?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

Yeah on a renewal they were looking for the Member to get a Doctors letter which is not needed also looking for Pulse numbers also not needed if in a Hunting Club.

But that happens as sometimes it my not be the FO checking he or she may be on leave and someone filling in while their away, but just keep presenting the form till you get a letter telling you it is not fill out properly, keep it going as you got it before no reason why you should not get it again,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Cavan duck buster

No not me, i went into the local station around christmas to trade in my u/o for a semi, i saked the FO how long dose he think it would take as i wanted to get in a couple of day of duck before the season is over, i handed in the foarms on a thursday evening and recived my licence payment foarm on a wednesday and got my licene in the post ob Firday after school.
    Now i know what all of you are thinking how did i receve it soo fast, well the FO used to be a shooting man himself and knows the business of lads wanting things done without any hassel, sadly he has retired now so i dout i will ever recive a licence that quick again fingers crossed :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

Just send in the form and try get a different guard to sign it. That shouldn't be the case at all that's why it's prepopulated form to save all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭bravestar

Cork24 wrote: »
    Hi All,

The Garda that was on looking at it would not for the life of me Sign off.Telling me that i have no proof of land or club permission or details

I told the Garda that i didnt need them as it was written already on the Sheet, i though it was up to the Ltd. To contact the Land Owner.Plus it Says on the Form "Provide Written permission from the land occupier(you only need provide this written permission if you details have changed since your last application) i showed this to the Garda and he wouldnt sign off even though all he has to do is take the Form off me and The Ltd on duty Signs off on the Form.

Find out who your FO is and bring it in to them. Any Garda who is not the FO has zero training in relation to processing applications/renewal and unless they are a shooter themselves have no idea about it. Only deal with your FO unless you want to to be frustrated and disappointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭rsole1

Cork24 wrote: »
    Hi All,

Two friends and myself recently received the pre-populated renewal forms. We just filled any changes, signed the renewal and posted it back to Roscommon Garda Station care of FO Officer. In all cases a week or so later came back the letter to take to the Post Office, pay the €80 and three days later licences duly arrived.

Should we three people have taken the pre-populated renewal notice into the Garda Station in person and get it signed for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭vapour_trail

Yous all seem to be talking about this FO :confused: Ive never in all my years shooting and guns subbed and new licenses applied for come across a FO !! Its always been a clueless Guard that passes it on to the Super after a few weeks :rolleyes: Is there a FO in every station or is it a 1 per district thing or what? Be nice to deal with this person directly and have the paperwork handled professionally and not "lost" or "misplaced" like other times Ive been dealing with them. The licensing of firearms is a very important matter and it amazes me that Guards can be so clueless about it....oh wait , no it doesnt ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭LB6

In Limerick, there's a FO in each of the 3 main city stations. Each of them a pleasure to deal with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Yous all seem to be talking about this FO :confused: Ive never in all my years shooting and guns subbed and new licenses applied for come across a FO !! Its always been a clueless Guard that passes it on to the Super after a few weeks :rolleyes: Is there a FO in every station or is it a 1 per district thing or what? Be nice to deal with this person directly and have the paperwork handled professionally and not "lost" or "misplaced" like other times Ive been dealing with them. The licensing of firearms is a very important matter and it amazes me that Guards can be so clueless about it....oh wait , no it doesnt ..

Do you ask to speak to the FO when you hand it in or just give it to the guard at the desk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Yous all seem to be talking about this FO :confused: Ive never in all my years shooting and guns subbed and new licenses applied for come across a FO !
    Technically, neither have any of us - FO isn't an actual Garda job title, it's just the name we've come to give to the poor schmuck who didn't step sharply backwards with everyone else when the Super asked for volunteers to do a mountain of paperwork around August every year.

(Seriously, what Garda would create a job title with those initials? :D )

But we use the term because we need to call them something and <expletive deleted> isn't going to help your application process smoothly along :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭Cork24

Just to update you all,

I rang the Station today told the person who pick up the, question do i need a permission Letter from the Farmer or what is the story, he seem clueless as well about it, i told me that he didn't know that the Super looks after all them that its not like the old days. Luckily the Super was on the same time i rang so he passed me over to him,

Told the Super that i called in last night at 9pm handed the form to the person on the desk he told me that he was not taken the form off me as i didn't have proof of gun Club or Land ownership, i told the Super that it says on the form that you don't need this if no details where change

he ask me to describe the man, when i told did he didn't seem to pleased, so he told me to go back down and hand it over if any one has a problem with anything tell him you were speaking to me and i told you to hand it in and come speak to me.

The guy seem nice enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Cavan duck buster

garv123 wrote: »
    Do you ask to speak to the FO when you hand it in or just give it to the guard at the desk?

I justed asked if hes in can he come and process the foarms and if not i ask the gard at the desk when the FO is in during the week and go in during the times given.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

That is a good result, Happy days. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Everytime I went up to the FO it seems he was out or just left or is out sick or on holidays so I rang in advance to ask when he'd be there and then went up when he was expecting me