Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wrongly accused fare jumper wants video removed from the internet

• 16-05-2013 2:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭

Today, Mr Justice Peart ordered that experts for Mr McKeogh meet with experts for the internet companies on how to go about taking down the material permanently on a worldwide basis.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0516/450685-court-rules-video-must-be-removed-from-websites/

Here's the original thread on this:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056527267

The fella is a fool. I had almost forgotten about it (it was 16 months !!) and then it gets dragged up again.

What shocks me more is that a judge hands out this ruling without doing a bit of research himself on how the internet works.

To quote Joe Rogan, "you can't take something off the internet, that's like trying to take pee out of a swimming pool. Once it's in there, it's in there."

Now, does anyone have a link to the video so I can watch it before it's removed from the internet FOREVER!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

pfff, that was forgotten about until now, eejit dragging it up again. It's like when celebrities whinge about something and try to tell the internet what to do ala Beyonce, so they just do the opposite, ignore stuff and it'll die out on its own.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Apparently some other lad came out and said he did it, and this McKeogh was in Japan at the time of the incident so I dunno.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭SB2013

It's not even him in the video though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

The likes of Google and Facebook make billionsof Dollars from the net, they have a responsibility to ensure that in making that money they do not defame anyone or allow anyone to be to be defamed through their operations online.
    Fair play to the guy for pursuing this.

The likes of Google and Facebook make billionsof Dollars from the net, they have a responsibility to ensure that in making that money they do not defame anyone or allow anyone to be to be defamed through their operations online.
    Fair play to the guy for pursuing this.

Pursuing what? The video is not defamatory. The comments made by someone identifying Keogh as the fare dodger were defamatory. So why exactly is he trying to remove the video?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

SB2013 wrote: »
    It's not even him in the video though.

That's what I don't get either.

Shouldn't the comments containing personal info etc. be removed instead of the video.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

i'd say he's no fool and I'd think twice before calling him a fool or an eejit on the Internet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

I didn't give a shit 16 months ago and i don't give a shit today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Yeah, this is entirely backward. The guy who shot the video owns the video, and they have a right to publish it if they want. Unless he is named in the video then it's pretty untenable for a judge to order it be taken down.

Also, the internet does not work that way. However, I can't seem to find it online right now, though I'm unsure what keywords might help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Had completely forgotten about it as I'm sure everybody else had.

Thanks, for the reminder though :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭SouthTippBass

Caliden wrote: »
    The fella is a fool. I had almost forgotten about it (it was 16 months !!) and then it gets dragged up again.

You forgot about it, but he could be getting abusive e-mails and facebook messages from idiots on a daily basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Streisand effect! The lad's an absolute gob****e. Rather than keeping his head down and ignoring the whole thing, he's now ensured that when anyone googles his name - a potential employer or whatever - this fare-jumping stuff will come up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I remember this. 16 months ago? What? My life is going too fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

You forgot about it, but he could be getting abusive e-mails and facebook messages from idiots on a daily basis.

gee i wonder how someone could stop this, it must be so difficult to block messages on facebook, start an alt account (i know several teachers who have to do this), create a new email address or set up your filters right.

If you make a big song and dance about this online and demand it to be removed you are poking the internet with a stick and while the majority of us could not give a f*ck there is a small percentage that although don't give a f*ck either will happily troll and laugh as he "fights" back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

The High Court has ordered internet companies to permanently remove on a worldwide basis a video clip falsely accusing an Irish student of taxi fare evasion.

Global internet companies quaked in their boots.

Do they seriously not understand how laughable an 'order' like this is?

o1s1n wrote: »
    The High Court has ordered internet companies to permanently remove on a worldwide basis a video clip falsely accusing an Irish student of taxi fare evasion.

Global internet companies quaked in their boots.

Do they seriously not understand how laughable an 'order' like this is?

When the internet freedom folks get a hold of this story the mans face will be everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Still waiting on a new source for said video.
    I need to view it now before it becomes illegal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Mod

I have deleted a few posts. While I know they are only having the craic, this isn't funny to the guy taking the complaint.

Can you please be aware of what you post as it would appear his legal team are willing to take this all the way as proven by the story above.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Close the internets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

We've all seen this: "this video no longer exists"
    Or words to that effect. It can be done! Or is that something else entirely? Same difference though as we cannot see the videos in question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

shedweller wrote: »
    We've all seen this: "this video no longer exists"
    Or words to that effect. It can be done! Or is that something else entirely? Same difference though as we cannot see the videos in question.

Youtube isn't the whole internet you know :p

Just because a video is taken down from there doesn't mean it's not on hundreds of other sites.

For example, if you go to Liveleak and search for the name of a certain well known global auditing company - that video is still there but it's gone from Youtube.

Edit - wait, it's gone. :( /eats hat

Second edit - I found it on another site. So it's still available. My point stands :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Problem123456

I don't think he understands how the internet works

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Ach, its like the whole Imogen whatshername and Ryan Giggs super injunction.

Didn't his legal team try to get twitter to handover the identity of those who had named him on twitter?
    The online community quickly turned it in to an impossibility for them when thousands then re-tweeted and continued naming him. A MP then named Giggs.

You cant beat t'internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

You cant beat t'internet.

No, but you can scramble it lightly and put it on toast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Why always me ,

He must have deep pockets to take on the whole internet if he's getting free legal aid there should be an uproar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭WhatNowForUs?

krudler wrote: »
    pfff, that was forgotten about until now, eejit dragging it up again. It's like when celebrities whinge about something and try to tell the internet what to do ala Beyonce, so they just do the opposite, ignore stuff and it'll die out on its own.

The problem is the stuff doesn't just die out. When he goes for a job interview and the company does a search on him it comes up that jes a fare evader

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭WhatNowForUs?

Having said that I dont know what he can do about it but he was wronged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

The problem is the stuff doesn't just die out. When he goes for a job interview and the company does a search on him it comes up that jes a fare evader

People are just going to have to learn to not believe everything the internet tells them.
    Or on the occasions where people actually are caught doing stupid ****, the sheer volume of people doing stupid **** on the internet will cause people to take it less seriously. Otherwise we'll get to a stage where nearly everyone is unemployable because of the stupid **** they were caught doing on camera.

Society will get there in the end. Just bad luck for anyone who gets screwed in the mean time.

If you google his name, it is loads of hits from national papers saying he didn't do it and his court proceedings. Personally I can't see what is to be achieved by trying to remove the video.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

o1s1n wrote: »
    Youtube isn't the whole internet you know :p

Just because a video is taken down from there doesn't mean it's not on hundreds of other sites
    Ah jaysus i know that! But YT is the most popular site. Once a video is off that it will disappear from peoples memories.
    Still, he's going to have a hard time getting everyone to stop talking about him if he keeps "poking the beehive" as someone pointed out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Streisand effect! The lad's an absolute gob****e. Rather than keeping his head down and ignoring the whole thing, he's now ensured that when anyone googles his name - a potential employer or whatever - this fare-jumping stuff will come up.

Actually if anything the fact he fought this originally means that someone will see he was innocent and not at fault.
    If he hadn't, all an employer or anyone else, would have ever found was the initial video.
    So he was right to make a stink of it originally, but now he is clutching at straws and wasting money.

Also I would be careful what you call him as he seems rather litigious if he is willing to go to these lengths.

I think the one that looks really bad out of this is the High Court who it apepars thinks they have jurisdiction over the internet.

Do they have any idea of the concept of the WORLD WIDE WEB ?
    The words should be enough of a hint. :rolleyes:

I am not allowed discuss …

Mod

I have deleted a few posts. While I know they are only having the craic, this isn't funny to the guy taking the complaint.

Can you please be aware of what you post as it would appear his legal team are willing to take this all the way as proven by the story above.

Thanks.

I have had to delete more posts.

It is my job to protect this site and you the poster, so it's best if we just leave this here.