Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

98 Polo worth fixing?

• 16-05-2013 12:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭

Hey,

I'm trying to figure out if it's worth putting any more money into the car or just running it into the ground. It's a 98 Polo with only 59k miles on it.

It just passed its nct last month but when I got it serviced I was told it will need 3 new tyres (10% left), new pads and discs (10% left on both), new tie rods and according to the mileage a new timing belt. I was quoted about €800 for everything or €400 for everything bar the timing belt and to be honest I doubt the car is even worth that much.

I'm debating about just running it as is and scrapping it before the next nct. I only put up about 2000km on it a year so I could probably get at least 6 months out of the tyres and brakes before they're worn and I was told that while there's a fair bit of play in the tie rods it's not reached dangerous levels.

Just wondering if anyone can give any advice on whether it's worth investing any more money into the car or if scrapping it is the best way to go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

If it was me:

Id get a few part-worns for it, surely 13" wheels on it? you'd get part worns very cheap for that size if you asked a few places. (maybe 25 a tyre?)

Depending on whats wrong with the disks.. cant imagine theyre worn thin with less than 60k on them? Id change the pads only, maybe 25 quid for a set of pads, very easy to change if you're handy yourself. (can't imagine discs to be terribly dear from the internet either if they are required)

If the tie rods are ok, leave them.

And feck the timing belt, if it goes it goes, if it doesn't, happy days.

So its possible to keep it going for way less than 150e...

Thats my thoughts anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

Sounds like it's in relatively good order - spending a few bob on it will have it flying....

Spend €800 and have a reliable car under your backside? OR spend a lot more and not know exactly what you're getting. I know what i'd do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Wicklowandy

This is a 1l 98 polo?

Keep the car, and find someone new to quote you for the work. A main dealer would do the timing belt on that for less than the €400 you've been quoted.

It's passed the nct, so if it's driving safely and well, why change the tie-rods? Even if they have to be changed, and you buy four new reasonable quality 13" tyres, new discs and pads and change the timing belt, and spend a few pound, you'll have a car you know.

If you sold your car for the 7-800 it's worth, and put 800 to it, it's quite possible what you'd buy for 1500-1600 would need tyres, breaks and maybe more down the road.

If it's doing everything you need out of a car, then money put into it is a good investment:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I'd hold on to it and get a few more mechanics quotes unless you're thinking it's time to change car altogether.
    Some of the work can be done diy so would save you a bundle on costs.

"The devil you know" like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭zil

Yea it's a 1L polo, apart from it taking two or three key turns to get started when it cold, or if it hasn't been used for a few days, it's 100% reliable. Only problem is a fair bit of wheel shudder at low speeds which is supposedly due to the wear in the tie rods.

Supposedly the discs are gone as well as the pads, just wear and tear. Diy job on them could certainly be a goer and then shop around see if I can get a deal on tyres and just leave the timing belt and the tie rods. Hmm, certainly something to consider, cheers for the advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

I would keep it too. Cheap parts and easy to DIY if your any way usefull :P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭wrmwit

Al Capwned wrote: »
    Sounds like it's in relatively good order - spending a few bob on it will have it flying....

Spend €800 and have a reliable car under your backside? OR spend a lot more and not know exactly what you're getting. I know what i'd do.

I agree with Al. Very low millage for it's age. I'm in a similar position. I own a 96 reg Peugeot but with 320,000 miles on the clock. It's costing me a bit of money between road tax and fuel but it's reliable and it has never let me down. When I bought it a few years back, I had planned on running it into the ground but I didn't think I'd still be driving it today.

If it's reliable hang onto it cos you could be buying someone else's nightmare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭blackbird99

it's just passed it's nct a month ago, i'ed seriously doubt it would have passed with the three items you mention bar the timing belt'
    i'd be getting a second opinion. brake pads may need changing but i doubt the disks do with only 59000 miles,
    these were all checked a month ago, i don't think your car went downhill that fast with the small milage your doing.

it's just passed it's nct a month ago, i'ed seriously doubt it would have passed with the three items you mention bar the timing belt'
    i'd be getting a second opinion. brake pads may need changing but i doubt the disks do with only 59000 miles,
    these were all checked a month ago, i don't think your car went downhill that fast with the small milage your doing.

Yea the tyres thing is a bit weird alright. They're not even close to their wear markers but I was told they were "all twisted" on the wheel because of the vibration of the worn tie rod.

As for the breaks and pads - I thought the nct only checks the braking force not pad/disc life?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Do it up, keep it on the road. Grand little car they are :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,362 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

OP, without naming names, was it a well known branch of a tyre centre that quoted you all that work? If so then I would get a second opinion on prices and most of that stuff. I'd shop around for the likes of tyres, brake pads and discs, etc as prices can vary greatly depending on where you go.

Hey bazz, it was a reasonably well known franchise. I was quoted €400 for 3 tyres, pads and discs and a new inner and outer tie rod on one side. (I asked about part worn but they don't do them)

They didn't quote me on the timing belt as I didn't mention it, however I had been doing some brief calling around before that and the lowest quote I got was €400.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,362 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

zil wrote: »
    Hey bazz, it was a reasonably well known franchise. I was quoted €400 for 3 tyres, pads and discs and a new inner and outer tie rod on one side. (I asked about part worn but they don't do them)

They didn't quote me on the timing belt as I didn't mention it, however I had been doing some brief calling around before that and the lowest quote I got was €400.

Well I'd get a second opinion on some of that stuff from a proper garage. You could still end up spending €800 on it but €800 is a lot less than it will cost you to replace it with another car and that car will need money spent on maintenance at some stage too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭davo2001

The wheel shudder could just be down to the bald(ish) tyres, had this exact problem on my old 1L polo and replacing the tyres fixed the issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

From reading this, it sounds like there's very little wrong with your car.
    Obviously haven't seen it, but i'd be very surprised if you'd have to spend €800.... Get a few references from your mates for a local mechanic maybe? Someone that others have used and trust....

Also as regards DIY, i put new pads and discs (as well as new handbrake cable, and a service pack) on my brothers 99 Corsa a few weeks back - cant remember the exact cost of the parts, but if it's something you can do yourself, i'd do it. Save yourself a small fortune.

Oh, and the more i read this thread, the more i think you'd be mad to get rid of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

4 part worn tyres for that car should come to 100 euro. Tie rod ends are a easy job, DIY if your handy with the spanners. Same with the discs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

I reckon that you need to spend ZERO on the car and the place you went to are chancers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 573 ✭✭✭Syllabus

Cheensbo wrote: »
    If it was me:

Id get a few part-worns for it, surely 13" wheels on it? you'd get part worns very cheap for that size if you asked a few places. (maybe 25 a tyre?)

Depending on whats wrong with the disks.. cant imagine theyre worn thin with less than 60k on them? Id change the pads only, maybe 25 quid for a set of pads, very easy to change if you're handy yourself. (can't imagine discs to be terribly dear from the internet either if they are required)

If the tie rods are ok, leave them.

And feck the timing belt, if it goes it goes, if it doesn't, happy days.

So its possible to keep it going for way less than 150e...

Thats my thoughts anyway...

Please dont listen to this^

I personally wouldnt put a penny into it but to say without even seeing it 'dont bother with discs and get sh1tty tyres' is ridiculous

Imo

Hey bazz, it was a reasonably well known franchise. I was quoted €400 for 3 tyres, pads and discs and a new inner and outer tie rod on one side. (I asked about part worn but they don't do them)..........

Thats a pretty good price for all that i fairness

Imo

Syllabus wrote: »

I personally wouldnt put a penny into it but to say without even seeing it 'dont bother with discs and get sh1tty tyres' is ridiculous

Imo

You can get decent part worns. Part worn (with at least 3/4 of the thread) Michelins on the front of my Clio. They're grand and far better than paying twice that for chineese muck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

If it passed the test, Id say the track rods are fine til next test. Get a friend in the know to have a look at tyres for wear so that you have an idea where they are at.
    Take car to garage re steering shake. Could be anything from balancing, wheel or tyre buckle or suspension issue to warped discs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Imo

Yeah it would be ridiculous, if I said any of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭Stoolbend

I wouldn't worry about inner tie rods. But if there is play in outer tie rods (track rod ends) I wouldn't chance them.

€400 for timing belt is a joke though. Kit is only €50. Its only a couple of hours labour + water pump + coolant.

http://www.micksgarage.com/engine-parts/timing-belt-kits/volkswagen/polo/polo/1994-1999/50-1.0/5712/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Yea the tyres thing is a bit weird alright. They're not even close to their wear markers but I was told they were "all twisted" on the wheel because of the vibration of the worn tie rod.

As for the breaks and pads - I thought the nct only checks the braking force not pad/disc life?

Yeah, one thing to say about that garage:
    Run! RUUUUNNN!!!!!
    And never go back to them. That sounds so dodgy I can't even say.
    Go to a good independent garage and keep away from large franchise places or main dealers.
    There's a good reason those have big, big windows at the front, so they can see 'em coming a mile off...

BX 19 wrote: »
    You can get decent part worns. Part worn (with at least 3/4 of the thread) Michelins on the front of my Clio. They're grand and far better than paying twice that for chineese muck.

Would you put 2nd hand brakes on your car? Or wipers? Or 2nd hand oil?

The things ive seen in regards to 2nd hand tyres would make your eyes water

The sooner the better they sort the legislation in regards to them

The things ive seen in regards to 2nd hand tyres would make your eyes water

Every used car in the country has second hand brakes/tyres/wipers

Do go on? Tell us what you've seen....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭maringo

I have a 98 polo. Its very reliable and just passed its nct again. They're not expensive to repair compared to the more modern cars at least that's what I've been told. But I'd never put part worn tyres on any car - your tyres are your life - well that's how I feel and I think sales of these should be banned. People have no idea what they're buying and its false economy. I'd say get a good mechanic who won't rip you off to do the jobs. As the OP said you know what you have but you could sell your Polo and wind up with a worse one.

Yes, don't buy part-worn Dunlops, you are much better off with brand-new Wanlis and Triangles!
    Because in Ireland new and shiny is ALWAYS better than 2nd hand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭woody33

I have a 97 Polo, there is not much difference in price around here between 13" part-worn and a new Uniroyal rain-expert. They are great cars, lots of them still on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Hey,

I'm trying to figure out if it's worth putting any more money into the car or just running it into the ground. It's a 98 Polo with only 59k miles on it.

It just passed its nct last month but when I got it serviced I was told it will need 3 new tyres (10% left), new pads and discs (10% left on both), new tie rods and according to the mileage a new timing belt. I was quoted about €800 for everything or €400 for everything bar the timing belt and to be honest I doubt the car is even worth that much.

I'm debating about just running it as is and scrapping it before the next nct. I only put up about 2000km on it a year so I could probably get at least 6 months out of the tyres and brakes before they're worn and I was told that while there's a fair bit of play in the tie rods it's not reached dangerous levels.

Just wondering if anyone can give any advice on whether it's worth investing any more money into the car or if scrapping it is the best way to go?

They're all NCT failures, bar the timing belt. How in god's name did it pass?

I'd be questioning the garage the quoted you this. I'd drive away to fúck if it were me. Wait for the timing belt to snap and then spend the €800 you were quoted on a 'new' 98 Polo.

Just drive away for 12 months, the NCT already gave you the safe pass!

Yes, don't buy part-worn Dunlops, you are much better off with brand-new Wanlis and Triangles!
    Because in Ireland new and shiny is ALWAYS better than 2nd hand!

Never mind the reason as to why the super duper dunlop with 3mm thread remaining was scrapped in the first place. But sure you go ahead and pay the nice man €25 for a scrap tyre with a plug in the sidewall and 3mm thread remaining that you might get 3 months out of versys a brand new tyre for between 60-90 that youll get 2-6 yrs out of.

your the type of one that comes to me saying 'will ya track and balanc that yoke pal. I got new tyres last week but its not right since'

I look at the tyres and theres 3mm left and the tyres are 4 yrs older than the car, feathered and sidewall cracked te fcuk. They'r not new i say - 'yeh there are' he would say 'new part worns' - cue facepalm

Anyway, you all can buy all the scrap tyres ya want and ill buy the best new tyre i can afford and we'll all be happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Buy brand new matadors or similar, you don't have to buy chinese crap to get a decent cheap tyre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Wheres My ForkandKnife

I find it hard to believe that tie rods that passed the NCT three weeks are now at the stage that they have made the tyres "all twisted".Tyres generally wear with knackered tie rods,not twist. Shudder could be down to warped discs. Ask around and find a decent mechanic who doesn't want to rip you off.The quote for the t-belt seems expensive.These are normally changed after 60k miles or x no. of years.Has the belt been changed before?

Never mind the reason as to why the super duper dunlop with 3mm thread remaining was scrapped in the first place. But sure you go ahead and pay the nice man €25 for a scrap tyre with a plug in the sidewall and 3mm thread remaining that you might get 3 months out of versys a brand new tyre for between 60-90 that youll get 2-6 yrs out of.

your the type of one that comes to me saying 'will ya track and balanc that yoke pal. I got new tyres last week but its not right since'

I look at the tyres and theres 3mm left and the tyres are 4 yrs older than the car, feathered and sidewall cracked te fcuk. They'r not new i say - 'yeh there are' he would say 'new part worns' - cue facepalm

Anyway, you all can buy all the scrap tyres ya want and ill buy the best new tyre i can afford and we'll all be happy

Well, there is your first problem, buying from a scrappie.

The place I buy them off imports them from germany and they all have at least 6mm of thread. That is, about a mm of tread wear. Practically new Michelins and Pirellis for 28.50 each. Can't go wrong. They're not perished or cracked either. Pays to shop around for them.

Last set I got a years driving and 24,000 miles out of the front two and 26 out of the rear two. Good value.

Granted, never as good as new michelins but for less than half the price. Nothing wrong with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

+1.

Never buy them from a scrappie.

Part worns offer excellent value for premium brands and its all about € per mm.

Buying part-worns gives you the chance to inspect the tyre internally to show any internal damage before they are mounted too

Couple of points there.
    I currently run INF040 on my car, bought new, it was the cheapest new tire I could afford. As soon as I get a payrise I'll buy something better.:cool: I can't afford to run part-worn because I do 100km+ a day on my commute.
    Also, if I would buy part-worn, I certainly wouldn't buy them in the condition you described.
    If someone buys part-worn, they would be able to inspect the tire for cracks, plugs, age and so on. If they only potter about town or do little mileage, I don't see anything wrong with it.
    And why would they be scrapped?
    Because some people might buy a brand-new car and sell it on after three years. Does the car need to be scrapped? No, plenty of mileage left in that. And some people buy tires and only run them for a few months and get rid of them again.
    I wouldn't buy second hand brake pads, but by your argument I would also not be allowed to buy second hand anything.
    It's not all so horrible as you might fear...

They're all NCT failures, bar the timing belt. How in god's name did it pass?

I'd be questioning the garage the quoted you this. I'd drive away to fúck if it were me. Wait for the timing belt to snap and then spend the €800 you were quoted on a 'new' 98 Polo.

Just drive away for 12 months, the NCT already gave you the safe pass!

NCT doesn't check your pads or discs, only brake force, so you could pass with 1mm of pad left as long as there's enough brake force and the balance is within tolerance.