Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Roger Yate giving Animal Rights presentations to Schools

• 15-05-2013 9:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭

Right, I highlighted this in the ICABS watch thread, but as its not a discussion thread, and I think this warrants a discussion, thought I would post up a thread on it. I have also created one in the farming and agriculture forum, as I think its very very relevent to them, hope that does not cause issue with site guidelines

Anyway, here goes

There is an organisation called Animal Education Outreach ANIMAL EDUCATION OUTREACH - Home They from what i can see, "Animal Rights Advocates" with a number of well known (in the AR circles) individuals invovled or leading the group. The aim of the project is to give school talks to pre, primary, and secondary school kids, about animal rights. They are not in anyway secretive about it, and the site looks quite professional from the perspective of content etc.

As mentioned, they have given talks to schools, at varying different levels, and some of them have been published on line. The links to some of the material are enclosed below, which include a powerpoint presentation, and an audio recording of the session. Kudos to the organisation for at least being open about both of these.

The links to the sessions are Dublin's Vegan Animal Rights Bulletin: Dublin Animal Rights School Talk, Jan 2013

I would encourage people to have a look and a listen (although the audio recording is quite long at 1 hr 16 minutes), to get their own opinion.

The presentation was created and given by Roger Yates, whom we all know, and in addition to Roger, the group presenting the talk also included Bernie Wright , and a guy from Vegan Ireland by the name of Rob (didnt catch his second name).

The presentation I understand was intially requested to be around fur farming, I am not sure where it originated from, but fur farming ended up being a relatively small part of the session, which mostly concentrated on animal rights. A signifcant amount of time was given on the benefits of veganism, including the benefits of a vegan diet, and the dangers/risk of a non vegan diet. As far as I am aware, none of the grouping giving the presentation were dieticians etc,.

I will give some quotes and references from the audio session, for information. I have tried not to take anything out of context, and the audio session is abvoe for anyone interested to make sure they can see for themselves, but I have highlighted a number of issues that I thibnk are worrying that were said or discussed.

They are not word for word, some are just references, and some are actual quotes:-

Roger Yates:- Every sec 3,000 animals are slaughtered for meat! (conservative estimate)
    Roger Yates :-Big industrial enterprise where we kill animals in great numbers
    Roger Yates discusses the "Animal Holocost", and references a number of individuals, youtibe clips and books, such as "Holocost on your plate,"avid Sztybel, the "Holocost comparison project (tells people to google it and provides youtube link),

Roger Yates quotes Isac Singer, victim of holocost who escaped, who said all people to aninmals are Nazis.
    Roger Yates quotes Theodore odono (not sure if spelling is correct), and exiled german Jew, who said "Auswitch begins whenever someone looks at a slaughter house, and thinks they are only animals."
    As long as their are slaughterhouses, there will be battlefields

The final holocaust reference, which I beleive is Rogers own comparison, is where he says the comparison is innacurate because “Animal holocaust, not very accurate, because Nazis were trying to eradicate jews and other groups, such as jews, gypsies, homosexuals, AND THOSE THEY REGARDED AS INFERIOR.. With animals we do not want to eradicate them, we breed them to exploit them, so thats where the animal holocaust comparison falls down a little bit”

Roger Yates:- Some people have a problem emphasising with people, and with animals. US police dept link between people who abuse animals, and graduate to other things.

Roger YatesProblem for veganism is not nutrition, and not health. Veganism is one of the most healthy diets you can have

Lot of vegans involved in extreme sports, vegans tend to win. A lot of triathletes are vegan, carl lewis was on vegan diet when training.

B12 SUPPLEMENT ISSUE. Most people say b12 is derived from meat, but it is from bacteria it comes from, and the reason B12 is in meat, is because meat is rotting flesh, bull of bacteria!

Youtube home project, watch it, it is about the environment and our impact on the world.
    In the home project they say that our planet has got 10 years left, that means that your not going to get to be parents probably

It means the children now being born are not going to get the chance to be parents unless we do something about it.

Stealing milk from baby cows, Kill them at birth or put them into veal units.

Some other quotes, not from Roger, but I think from Bernie, its difficult to tell at times, so apologies if I am wrong on this

Most people that care about animals are vegan or vegetarian.
    People feel strongly about abortion, and not about animals

I went vegetarian first because I didn’t know about the dairy industry and the cruelty involved in that.

I think these words were from the guy called Rod:-

cheap leather is cat and dog leather from china!!
    Plants don’t feel pain!! If you chase a cauliflower will it run away ?
    Soya milk, tastes better than the milk that causes problems, and diseases.
    Most athletes now turning to a plant based diet.
    Milk is the cause of a lot of diseases in modern society, diabetes, heart disease, asthma, exzema, I drank a lot of milk when I was young and suffer from exzema.

I will not colour the thread by outlining my own concerns just yet, I would rather people place their own views down first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭wexfordman2

Just to add, the students were transition year students, and the project they are invovled with includes a FB page. I said this on other forums, but it would seem roger and the others have had some success with this venture, as the FB page set up by the kids has a familiar animal rights tone to it including stuff like "only assholes eat lambs" overlaid onto picture of a you lamb etc. The kids FB page also has roger as a friend etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

Im strugling to understand how a teacher could stand by and listen to some of that unless the teacher is themselves involved in some way with vegan ireland or the likes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭wexfordman2

aaakev wrote: »
    Im strugling to understand how a teacher could stand by and listen to some of that unless the teacher is themselves involved in some way with vegan ireland or the likes.

Not sure if you listened to the audio or not, I know it's long, but my impression is that he tends to talk about what others say, rather than make it put to be something he says himself. For example, along the lines of 'some animal rights people say......'

Now on the Holocaust thing, he does say that it is controversial, and then goes on tons a that the comparison is a little off, because the nazis aim was to eradicate, whereas the object with animals is not to eradicate, or something along those lines anyway.

I should have time stamped some of the quotes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

The following question could be an interesting one to ask the Minister for Justice in the Dail if there's a friendlyopposition TD lurking here:

"Please explain how Mr Roger Yates, date of birth 07/08/57, lecturer at UCD has obtained the necessary Garda vetting to lecture in University College Dublin and to teach guest classes in secondary school given his proven involvement in politically or ideologically motivated violence also commonly known as terrorism ?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭vapour_trail

Its like other things in life...when you cant get the result you want with adults, target the younger people who have not made up their own mind on the matter and drill it into them.

If I found out my kids were subject to that kind of sh1t at school I would be down there in the blink of an eye, and I wouldnt be happy !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

I tried to listen twice bit it wouldnt work on my phone, ill try get onto some wifi and listen.

Id imagine this would get a fairly negative reception outside of cities where alot of kids would know more about how things like agriculture work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

carl lewis was on vegan diet when training.

Note to Roger Yates, Carl Lewis was on FAR more than a Vagan Diet while "in training", he is a self confessed DRUG CHEAT, if that is someone you wish to use as an example to the youth of this country maybe you should be vetted for what other hidden agenda you have.

"The second of Carl Lewis' four consecutive Olympic long jump victories, in 1988 didn't become controversial for another fifteen years. In 2003, the U.S. Olympic Committee's former director for drug control, Dr. Wade Exum, revealed that Lewis had tested positive for small amounts of three banned stimulants at the 1988 Olympic Trials. The U.S. Olympic Committee neither banned Lewis nor released the test results publicly.

Lewis didn’t deny the test results after they became public in 2003, but noted that he was treated the same as other U.S. athletes in similar positions."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

The Aussie wrote: »
    Note to Roger Yates, Carl Lewis was on FAR more than a Vagan Diet while "in training", he is a self confessed DRUG CHEAT, if that is someone you wish to use as an example to the youth of this country maybe you should be vetted for what other hidden agenda you have.

"The second of Carl Lewis' four consecutive Olympic long jump victories, in 1988 didn't become controversial for another fifteen years. In 2003, the U.S. Olympic Committee's former director for drug control, Dr. Wade Exum, revealed that Lewis had tested positive for small amounts of three banned stimulants at the 1988 Olympic Trials. The U.S. Olympic Committee neither banned Lewis nor released the test results publicly.

Lewis didn’t deny the test results after they became public in 2003, but noted that he was treated the same as other U.S. athletes in similar positions."

I'd love to have been sitting in that class and point out to that buffoon that Usain Bolts favourite food is chicken nuggets!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Someone might like to point out to Mr Yates that comparisons between the Holocaust and slaughter houses are mostly illegal in Europe under EU law and has been ever since PETA got their vegan arses kicked on this in the German Federal court and in the EU court of human rights.Goes to show too how much money this bunch of nutters has if they can afford to go to Strassbourg on a whim as well.
    Unfortuneatly,we dont have any holocaust denial laws here in Ireland,but we do have a incitement to hatred act.
    final holocaust reference, which I beleive is Rogers own comparison, is where he says the comparison is innacurate because “Animal holocaust, not very accurate, because Nazis were trying to eradicate jews and other groups, such as jews, gypsies, homosexuals, AND THOSE THEY REGARDED AS INFERIOR.. With animals we do not want to eradicate them, we breed them to exploit them, so thats where the animal holocaust comparison falls down a little bit”

NO SHT Rodger!!Falls down a lot actually!!In the fact that we dont want to exterminate them because of their belifs or ideals or sexual preferance or eat them because we hate them or hunt them because we hate them or expriment on them because we hate them.Those were the motives behind the Holocaust. Humans have no ideological or theological conflict with animals.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Cavan duck buster

I tell yas now hay, i nearly would love them to come down to my school just so i could challenge them at every single topic they could trow at me :))
    Theres about 12-13 lads including my self that are very active in feild sports, farming ect in my class that would put them to shame :D should i/not get them down ta make fools of them but then funning the chance of brain washing the 1st years :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 infohound

Right, I highlighted this in the ICABS watch thread, but as its not a discussion thread, and I think this warrants a discussion, thought I would post up a thread on it. I have also created one in the farming and agriculture forum, as I think its very very relevent to them, hope that does not cause issue with site guidelines

Anyway, here goes

There is an organisation called Animal Education Outreach ANIMAL EDUCATION OUTREACH - Home They from what i can see, "Animal Rights Advocates" with a number of well known (in the AR circles) individuals invovled or leading the group. The aim of the project is to give school talks to pre, primary, and secondary school kids, about animal rights. They are not in anyway secretive about it, and the site looks quite professional from the perspective of content etc.

As mentioned, they have given talks to schools, at varying different levels, and some of them have been published on line. The links to some of the material are enclosed below, which include a powerpoint presentation, and an audio recording of the session. Kudos to the organisation for at least being open about both of these.

The links to the sessions are Dublin's Vegan Animal Rights Bulletin: Dublin Animal Rights School Talk, Jan 2013

I would encourage people to have a look and a listen (although the audio recording is quite long at 1 hr 16 minutes), to get their own opinion.

The presentation was created and given by Roger Yates, whom we all know, and in addition to Roger, the group presenting the talk also included Bernie Wright , and a guy from Vegan Ireland by the name of Rob (didnt catch his second name).

The presentation I understand was intially requested to be around fur farming, I am not sure where it originated from, but fur farming ended up being a relatively small part of the session, which mostly concentrated on animal rights. A signifcant amount of time was given on the benefits of veganism, including the benefits of a vegan diet, and the dangers/risk of a non vegan diet. As far as I am aware, none of the grouping giving the presentation were dieticians etc,.

I will give some quotes and references from the audio session, for information. I have tried not to take anything out of context, and the audio session is abvoe for anyone interested to make sure they can see for themselves, but I have highlighted a number of issues that I thibnk are worrying that were said or discussed.

They are not word for word, some are just references, and some are actual quotes:-

Roger Yates:- Every sec 3,000 animals are slaughtered for meat! (conservative estimate)
    Roger Yates :-Big industrial enterprise where we kill animals in great numbers
    Roger Yates discusses the "Animal Holocost", and references a number of individuals, youtibe clips and books, such as "Holocost on your plate,"avid Sztybel, the "Holocost comparison project (tells people to google it and provides youtube link),

Roger Yates quotes Isac Singer, victim of holocost who escaped, who said all people to aninmals are Nazis.
    Roger Yates quotes Theodore odono (not sure if spelling is correct), and exiled german Jew, who said "Auswitch begins whenever someone looks at a slaughter house, and thinks they are only animals."
    As long as their are slaughterhouses, there will be battlefields

The final holocaust reference, which I beleive is Rogers own comparison, is where he says the comparison is innacurate because “Animal holocaust, not very accurate, because Nazis were trying to eradicate jews and other groups, such as jews, gypsies, homosexuals, AND THOSE THEY REGARDED AS INFERIOR.. With animals we do not want to eradicate them, we breed them to exploit them, so thats where the animal holocaust comparison falls down a little bit”

Roger Yates:- Some people have a problem emphasising with people, and with animals. US police dept link between people who abuse animals, and graduate to other things.

Roger YatesProblem for veganism is not nutrition, and not health. Veganism is one of the most healthy diets you can have

Lot of vegans involved in extreme sports, vegans tend to win. A lot of triathletes are vegan, carl lewis was on vegan diet when training.

B12 SUPPLEMENT ISSUE. Most people say b12 is derived from meat, but it is from bacteria it comes from, and the reason B12 is in meat, is because meat is rotting flesh, bull of bacteria!

Youtube home project, watch it, it is about the environment and our impact on the world.
    In the home project they say that our planet has got 10 years left, that means that your not going to get to be parents probably

It means the children now being born are not going to get the chance to be parents unless we do something about it.

Stealing milk from baby cows, Kill them at birth or put them into veal units.

Some other quotes, not from Roger, but I think from Bernie, its difficult to tell at times, so apologies if I am wrong on this

Most people that care about animals are vegan or vegetarian.
    People feel strongly about abortion, and not about animals

I went vegetarian first because I didn’t know about the dairy industry and the cruelty involved in that.

I think these words were from the guy called Rod:-

cheap leather is cat and dog leather from china!!
    Plants don’t feel pain!! If you chase a cauliflower will it run away ?
    Soya milk, tastes better than the milk that causes problems, and diseases.
    Most athletes now turning to a plant based diet.
    Milk is the cause of a lot of diseases in modern society, diabetes, heart disease, asthma, exzema, I drank a lot of milk when I was young and suffer from exzema.

I will not colour the thread by outlining my own concerns just yet, I would rather people place their own views down first.

Teachers in schools need to be challenged on these things,they may have views on things and seek to use their position to influence these views on others,using an outsider coming in to "have a talk with the kids" is a means of distancing themselves from any fallout later, where they must have been predisposed to the advances of these pepole in the first place to allow them in the classroom. My child came home looking for the shoebox, a scheme where you fill a shoebox with gifts for children in the 3rd world at Christmas, byt when I read the fine print I discovered when the child recieved these "gifts" they may be offered" religeous advice and matieral" by, to me an obscure evangelical sect, not any mainstream religeon and later I discovered the principal of the school was a member of this sect and when she retired the activity ceased. so parents be very wary of "talks to your children" outside the Dept of Education curriculum