Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DOE Test Fail- Engine light

• 15-05-2013 5:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭

I have a 08 Transit van that just failed it's test on the orange engine MIL light being lit . Diagnostics has shown that the fault is with the EGR valve. The van runs perfectly and emissions / smoke test is fine . ( valve seized shut , tried freeing it off , didn't work )
    Ford want €500 for a new one fitted:eek:
    Apparently there is no way of clearing the fault without putting in a new valve.
    Anyway out of this one? van is roadworthy and with clean emissions , why can't it be given a pass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Unfortunately a lit MIL is a Fail straightaway, regardless of the technicalities. It does mean that the NOx emissions aren't being dealt with properly, mind. She'll drive away fine with that thing stuck shut, as you probably know. You might be able to clear the MIL with a cheap-and-cheerful OBD-II scanner. They'll usually take a few "drive cycles" before coming on again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

jimgoose wrote: »
    Unfortunately a lit MIL is a Fail straightaway, regardless of the technicalities. It does mean that the NOx emissions aren't being dealt with properly, mind. She'll drive away fine with that thing stuck shut, as you probably know. You might be able to clear the MIL with a cheap-and-cheerful OBD-II scanner. They'll usually take a few "drive cycles" before coming on again.

If the EGR has a permanent fault with its signal to the ECU then the light will return straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

have an EGR delete done on the van, will come out cheaper than 500 id imagine and the light should go.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭derry

Whats to stop you lifting the dash board replacing the led or bulb with old broken bulb or led that doesn't light up and go back and do test again how would they know .
    Just wondering thats all

Derry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

I clean the EGR on my car, just routine. It's a simple job.

Even if you need a new EGR valve, then it shouldn't cost that much. Not sure what model transit you have, but they're about £110 new. Just find the right one for that model and do it yourself. Take about an hour. http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Ford-Transit-tdci-EGR-Valve-1480560-/121107886791?pt=UK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM&fits=Model%3ATransit&hash=item1c3297b2c7

derry wrote: »
    Whats to stop you lifting the dash board replacing the led or bulb with old broken bulb or led that doesn't light up and go back and do test again how would they know .
    Just wondering thats all

Derry

Because they will also fail if the light doesn't come on and go off on start up as it should.

If the EGR has a permanent fault with its signal to the ECU then the light will return straight away.

Mmm. Maybe - the I/M modules, including EGR, usually take a while to get their act together, though.

They need to complete drive cycles to register if the signal from the various modules are within expected ranges or not.

However if a module is giving no signal at all, it will register an immediate fault.

They need to complete drive cycles to register if the signal from the various modules are within expected ranges or not.

However if a module is giving no signal at all, it will register an immediate fault.

Oh I know, but it's worth a go! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Rippy

have an EGR delete done on the van, will come out cheaper than 500 id imagine and the light should go.

Unfortunately after a lot of googling and ringing a few re-mappers, they all say its not possible to delete it from this model of transit . ( 2008 , 2.2 110)
    Via the transit forum,
    http://fordtransit.org/forum/
    I found a van tuner who can do it
    http://vantuner.co.uk/transit-egr-delete/#comment-120
    Unfortunately they are in London , so not worth the cost of ferry, diesel and time ..

Oh I know, but it's worth a go! ;)

Exactly . Will give it a bash

I clean the EGR on my car, just routine. It's a simple job.

Even if you need a new EGR valve, then it shouldn't cost that much. Not sure what model transit you have, but they're about £110 new. Just find the right one for that model and do it yourself. Take about an hour. http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Ford-Transit-tdci-EGR-Valve-1480560-/121107886791?pt=UK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM&fits=Model%3ATransit&hash=item1c3297b2c7
    Thanks for that . Motorcrafty rip off again :eek:
    As the van runs better without the bloody thing sooting up the intake I would rather do without it if I can though .
    Seems the best option if I can't clear the light ( temporary) via OCR.

Rippy wrote: »
    Thanks for that . Motorcrafty rip off again :eek:
    Lament ye not Motorcraft! The DCCV (this yoke: Amazon - Five-way motorised valve) packed up in my oul' Jag last year. Jag UK wanted €300 for one, which is the same one in the Amazon link with "Jaguar" written on it in crayon.
    Seems the best option if I can't clear the light ( temporary) via OCR.
    You never know your luck in a small town. Talkcha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭sanbrafyffe

ring your nearest ford dealer,,,,ask them for a price,,you might get a good one for a new egr aslong as you bring the old egr back,,,,egr valves are common anyway on all diesel egines,,sometimes you get away with cleaning/lubricating them,,sometimes you dont

Well it it worked .a very nice fella cleared the fault codes with a cheap little scanner :D

I wouldn't be expecting it to stay off though.

It only has to stay off for long enough. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

Is this only a fail for DOE? Pretty sure I've had cars pass the NCT when the 'check engine' light is on.

Redsoxfan wrote: »
    Is this only a fail for DOE? Pretty sure I've had cars pass the NCT when the 'check engine' light is on.

IIRC since June 2011 any dash warning lamps not behaving as they should constitutes a fail for the NCT as well.

It only has to stay off for long enough. ;)

But isn't there still a problem with the EGR valve. Why not just fix it?

Get one on ebay and fit yourself. €130, not that bad.

Maybe a good clean will suffice? I'd prefer it the light stayed on until the problem was fixed. That's why the warning light is there, to warn of a problem! :)

An EGR valve stuck shut is an enhancement, not a problem.

As far as I can ascertain , the DoE test was revised last year . It was hopelessly outdated , (for example reversing lights were not part of it ) and warning lights became part of it .
    Really don't know about NCT

An EGR valve stuck shut is an enhancement, not a problem.

Its a problem unless the ECU is mapped to suit it.

If not, then on moderns diesels, the fuel control will be off, the AFM readings will be running at or close to limits constantly, and, for vehicles with DPF's, there will be excess soot building up very rapidly.

Modern Euro 4/5/6 Diesels cannot just have the EGR blocked like early vacuum or electronic controlled EGR's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

IIRC since June 2011 any dash warning lamps not behaving as they should constitutes a fail for the NCT as well.

Airbags etc, yes, I knew that. But one of my cars has the engine light one pretty much all the time, and it has passed two NCTs in since 2011.

EML on is not an NCT fail.

Doe is different though.

I actually don't want an egr valve sooting up my inlet and reducing performance . Drives fine without it and still passed emissions test .

Its a problem unless the ECU is mapped to suit it.

If not, then on moderns diesels, the fuel control will be off, the AFM readings will be running at or close to limits constantly, and, for vehicles with DPF's, there will be excess soot building up very rapidly.

Modern Euro 4/5/6 Diesels cannot just have the EGR blocked like early vacuum or electronic controlled EGR's

Plenty nice hot exhaust for better boost and less lag, and the DPF will just have to HTFU, Bevan! :D

I actually don't want an egr valve sooting up my inlet and reducing performance . Drives fine without it and still passed emissions test .

I'd be inclined to go with Nissan Doctor's advice, a very well respected mechanic here. See post above.

I can't advice any further, but to stay away from Ford dealers in the future. €500 is a pure rip-off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

EML on is not an NCT fail.

Doe is different though.

EML is an NCT fail for diesels, isn't it? Not for petrols.

Plenty nice hot exhaust for better boost and less lag, and the DPF will just have to HTFU, Bevan! :D

The amount of exhaust reaching the turbo is the same with or without an EGR valve.

Excess combustion and exhaust gas temperature will lead to issues down the line with excess engine wear, premature ring wear, Excess carbon build up and issues with oil sludge/carbonisation which will shorten the life of your turbo among other things.

You should stop getting your info on EGR's from the lads down the pub.:P

The amount of exhaust reaching the turbo is the same with or without an EGR valve.

Excess combustion and exhaust gas temperature will lead to issues down the line with excess engine wear, premature ring wear, Excess carbon build up and issues with oil sludge/carbonisation which will shorten the life of your turbo among other things.

You should stop getting your info on EGR's from the lads down the pub.:P

Modern diesels have The Ghey. They should use proper engines that work. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭beam99

I got a van doe last week engine light on, passed no problem, I was told before its same as Nct, they will not fail for engine light only srs or air bag lights

beam99 wrote: »
    I got a van doe last week engine light on, passed no problem, I was told before its same as Nct, they will not fail for engine light only srs or air bag lights

You were lucky tester wasn't strictly applying new regs.