Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Junior Cert 2013 Study Blog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Cr4pSnip3r

Are the mocks always marked strictly, or can the Junior Cert be marked just as hard? I'm regretting choosing HL Irish....

The JC is marked the same, but it still depends on the examiner, but they try to get a certain amount of each grade. They don't have a limit on D's though, I don't think, and I know they go back and try bring 38/39% up to a pass. I could be wrong.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,374 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

They try to give you the most possible marks in the JC - it's the reason people do better than they expect.

As regards choosing HL or OL for Junior, always choose HL if you can manage it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭positivealf

Yeh after seeing ol irish paper I'm not surprised that most of the students at OL irish got a B or an A for their mocks. To me it looks like foundation Irish so I will stick on to HL Irish. Does anyone know what may come up for the ceapadoreacht?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Cr4pSnip3r

The jump between OL Irish and HL Irish is huge, it should probably have another level in between or just close the gap between the two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭DublinArnie

Cr4pSnip3r wrote: »
    The jump between OL Irish and HL Irish is huge, it should probably have another level in between or just close the gap between the two.
    Nicely said! Every Irish teacher I know agrees, the gap between the two levels is too great, even they admit that it's complete bull**** the Higher Level Papers for Irish. If the SEC are reading this, MAKE ORD HARDER OR HIGHER EASIER! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Jack_OLantern

Nicely said! Every Irish teacher I know agrees, the gap between the two levels is too great, even they admit that it's complete bull**** the Higher Level Papers for Irish. If the SEC are reading this, MAKE ORD HARDER OR HIGHER EASIER! :pac:

Preferably HL easier!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 88 ✭✭Dodo Bird

So far I have done
    English- 2012 Comprehension,Debate,Functional writting
    Maths-2012-2005-P1 and 13-sample E-P2, thereoms and construction
    Science-Biology+all biology exam papers
    Geog-1st year+all 1st year exam questions
    History-1st year+ all 1st year exam questions
    Business-1st year+ all 1st year exam questions
    I am still in a panic as I have to do the 2nd year and 3rd year course within a week !!!!

Science - Full course (All biology. physics and chemistry chapters)

Gaeilge - Learnt studied poetry sample answer

History - Revised over key dates on entire course

I'm suprised by how fast I've learnt that sample answer, motivated me to learn more :p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭yoyojc

Are the mocks always marked strictly, or can the Junior Cert be marked just as hard? I'm regretting choosing HL Irish....

I did my Junior Cert last year, I went up a grade in every single subject bar Geography and English (My 2 B's). The Pres are marked ridiculously some very easily , some very poorly. I had to get like three of mine remarked by my teacher. Take no notice. best of luck lads!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 91 ✭✭iHappyPanda

Science - Full course (All biology. physics and chemistry chapters)

Gaeilge - Learnt studied poetry sample answer

History - Revised over key dates on entire course

I'm suprised by how fast I've learnt that sample answer, motivated me to learn more :p.

Did you get all of this done just today !!!

English-2006 P1
    Maths-Theroems and construction,2012 P1,2013 P2
    Science-Biology+All Biology E.Qs.
    Geog-1st year+All 1st year E.Qs.
    So far I have done this eeekkk :o

Did you get all of this done just today !!!
    Yes. I had a science block class today so we covered a lot in it, including all experiments and equations on the course :p.

English-2006 P1
    Maths-Theroems and construction,2012 P1,2013 P2
    Science-Biology+All Biology E.Qs.
    Geog-1st year+All 1st year E.Qs.
    So far I have done this eeekkk :o
    Better than nothing. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭SomberClaws

Ive been surprisingly relaxed this week o.o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭MmmPancakes

Yes. I had a science block class today so we covered a lot in it, including all experiments and equations on the course :p.

What is the chemical equation for limewater? - Pop Quiz :P

You trying to catch me?! ;)

Limewater = Calcium Hydroxide
    Calcium Hydroxide = Ca(OH)2

You got burned? :pac:

What is monosaccharide ??

Is limewater not calcium carbonate?

Ive been surprisingly relaxed this week o.o

Haha, Calm before the storm!

Is limewater not calcium carbonate?
    no
    your getting confused with geography
    When rainwater falling from the sky collects with small amounts of carbon dioxide, to form sulfric acid
    This sulfric acid, when hits off against the limestone rock, it react with calcium carbonate, causing the rock to dissolve slowly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 618 ✭✭✭greenpyjamas

Wow haha I was just looking through all the study ye have done and realised how unmotivated I am :rolleyes:
    At this stage, I just want to get it all over with... anyone else feel like this?

Wow haha I was just looking through all the study ye have done and realised how unmotivated I am :rolleyes:
    At this stage, I just want to get it all over with... anyone else feel like this?

Oh god I just want to have it tomorrow! Give me 1 night to study and it'll be grand!

Trust me, we all feel you :D
    I am not really afraid of the 1st week of exam but rather the 2nd week
    Maths P2, Business P1 and P2, History, Science,German
    That is a load, but then the week after that, is the last week:D and I can relax knowing I have easy subjects Italian,Wood,Metal

Oh god I just want to have it tomorrow! Give me 1 night to study and it'll be grand!
    That is a load of sarcasm ;)

no
    your getting confused with geography
    When rainwater falling from the sky collects with small amounts of carbon dioxide, to form sulfric acid
    This sulfric acid, when hits off against the limestone rock, it react with calcium carbonate, causing the rock to dissolve slowly

:O Oops... Back to the science book then!

That is a load of sarcasm ;)

OK I won't be grand but I do want it out of the way. Sick of all the study that I haven't been doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭cfc.forever

You're sick of the study you haven't been doing, oh what? xD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 618 ✭✭✭greenpyjamas

OK I won't be grand but I do want it out of the way. Sick of all the study that I haven't been doing.

Exactly. I'll probably just cram the night before each exam...

You're sick of the study you haven't been doing, oh what? xD

XD I have been studying, but everybody is annoying me about like "How much study have you been doin and stuff". I really don't care too much about the JC, just want a few A's and no fails (Irish).

Exactly. I'll probably just cram the night before each exam...

I've been studying all the subjects I'm bad at, but thats it.