Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Swords Golf Club

• 12-05-2013 7:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭

Staying in Dublin for a couple of days in Swords tomorrow and Tuesday. Is Swords GC worth playing? If not, are there any other courses close to Swords worth a trip? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

There are 10/12 courses in the area and Swords open is ok but near the bottom of the pile. Roganstown is next door good course and have an open on Tuesday . The Island is 10 mins away and the best of the bunch.
    Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Swords Open is the golf course equivalent of a holiday in Torremolinos during the school summer holidays.

Although, admittedly, you'd likely see fewer knackers in vests in Torremolinos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭sydneybound

Swords Open is the golf course equivalent of a holiday in Torremolinos during the school summer holidays.

Pretty accurate assessment to be fair, apart from a few nice (2) holes on the back nine.

It's open in all conditions snow/heavy frost when other courses are closed and they pack the place out.

Just go play Roganstown next door, better on so many levels.

Pretty accurate assessment to be fair, apart from a few nice (2) holes on the back nine.

It's open in all conditions snow/heavy frost when other courses are closed and they pack the place out.

Just go play Roganstown next door, better on so many levels.

The only thing roganstown is good for is catching up on sleep, as its so ****ing dull you'll be zonked out by the time you hit the turn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

Portmarnock hotel links is about 15 mins away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭sydneybound

Again another honest assessment. Swords GC patrons are keen vest wearers while out for a swift 9. Each to there own I suppose, once seen a horse in the car park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Have you a car ?

The Island. If loads of money.
    portmarnock Links
    Corballis.

But wind would break your heart there Monday,

So to get a bit away from wind.

St Margarets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Slight bit of snobbery about Swords Open here tbh.

it's a grand course, some of the holes are a bit repetitive mind. Luckily the area around Swords is littered with courses.

Off the top of my head there is
    Swords Open
    Roganstown
    St Margaret's
    Forest Little
    Corrstown
    Donabate
    Beaverstown
    Corbalis
    The Island
    Hollywood Lakes
    Skerries
    Balbriggan
    Malahide

P_1 wrote: »
    Slight bit of snobbery about Swords Open here tbh.

it's a grand course, some of the holes are a bit repetitive mind. Luckily the area around Swords is littered with courses.

Off the top of my head there is
    Swords Open
    Roganstown
    St Margaret's
    Forest Little
    Corrstown
    Donabate
    Beaverstown
    Corbalis
    The Island
    Hollywood Lakes
    Skerries
    Balbriggan
    Malahide

yes but how many would you tell a once off visitor to play. About 5 is my answer.

Add Balbriigan to mine. That, St Margarets

then Tuesday . If wind weaker.
    Corballis / Portmarnock Links.

Great 2 days of golf.

The rest are found everywhere in the country. The Island is the best but too expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

yes but how many would you tell a once off visitor to play. About 5 is my answer.

Great 2 days of golf.

The rest are found everywhere in the country. The Island is the best but too expensive.

Good point, I've never played any of the links courses so my recommendations would probably be Balbriggan and Hollywood on day one and then St Margret's and Donabate on day 2

Great 2 days of golf.

Im only pulling the piss here ,but if you have not played the links in the area , you have not played at least 4 of the best courses in the area. The only reason i drive out there is for them. For all the courses in the area the parkland standard is not great. (imo).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭John Divney

Swords is fine, I certainly don't look down on it. It is definitely not a poor course, or a holiday in Torremolinos equivalent. That would be Bellewstown. Play up there and then moan about Swords, I dare you.

Roganstown is hardly that much better, for far more dough I'd play Swords thank you very much.

Hollywood lakes is just up the road in Ballyboughal, a good unpretentious club with greens that are very testing. I'd play the Lakes over both.

Forrest Little right by the airport, you'll get out there in the day time no problem for 20 euro.

But if you want to play a top course for around 45 quid (look up Golfnow.ie), play Portmarnock Links, this is a gem, and should be much lower in the rankings of top courses in the country. IMO it's top 20.

Donabate is about the worst course of the lot swords open would be a better course IMO. Hollywood Lakes is good. St Margarets can be a bit hit and miss on the maintence of the course but a good course. Roganstown is always in super condition with the best greens in the area. Corballis is for a clam day unless u want to loose a lot of balls playing on your own.
    The Island and Portmarnock links would be no 1&2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭C.O.Y.B.I.B

Im a member of Swords Golf Club who use Swords Open as their home course .
    Is it me as a member of Swords Golf Club whos a vest wearing knacker or the other pay and play users of Swords Open ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Is it me as a member of Swords Golf Club whos a vest wearing knacker or the other pay and play users of Swords Open ?

You'll have to forgive our friend, he has a bluntness thats perhaps only bested by a spoon used by Andy Dufresne...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭WacoKid

Portmarnock Links is €30 every Tuesday until end of Aug. Best course around + great value = book now!

I think the most suitable collective term is 'peasants'.

P_1 wrote: »
    Good point, I've never played any of the links courses so my recommendations would probably be Balbriggan and Hollywood on day one and then St Margret's and Donabate on day 2

I think the OP wants his buddies to have a good time. The only way that will work at Donabate or Hollywood Lakes is if they are farmers and rock up with a few ploughs. Both bottom rung 'golf courses'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭C.O.Y.B.I.B

As a member of the club I cant think of any other member or myself who I would describe as a 'peasant' . I do agree that as courses go , it certainly isnt or ever will be in the Top 100 courses of Ireland , neither would I be reccomending it to a visitor to the region who wanted to play a few rounds of golf , primarily as rightly said there are better courses in the area.
    Im thinking however that there is something lacking when someone has to resort to sweeping generalisations about a group of people he/she doesnt know.
    Maybe im as guilty for feeding the Troll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Sure you're in no position to be feeding anyone... stale bread and water for you ;):D

I'd rather be with a peasant in a football jersey than a pumped up prick in NAMA.

/snip

So tell us what Super course are you a member of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Leave it now please lads...
    Ignore the Troll or also get infracted/banned.

If you have a problem with a post, report it please, do not react on thread.

OP - maybe give Turvey a shot. I've heard the greens are a little hairy at the minute but probably still a better option than most of the other parklands mentioned here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

If you really want to play parkland you're only about 20 mins or so from castleknock or luttrelstown,should be able to get either for pretty reasonable prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭golfwallah

They do an early bird in Hermitage on weekdays for €25 - fabulous course - played it recently - one of the best parkland courses in Dublin!

See: http://www.hermitagegolf.ie/visitors/green_fees/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

OP - maybe give Turvey a shot. I've heard the greens are a little hairy at the minute but probably still a better option than most of the other parklands mentioned here.

While obviously another top quality posts, just to ensure the OP doesn't get shafted, Turvey is closed literally years and does not exist anymore.

TheDoc wrote: »
    While obviously another top quality posts, just to ensure the OP doesn't get shafted, Turvey is closed literally years and does not exist anymore.

Literally.