Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any finall suggestion. Decision made

• 12-05-2013 10:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35

Work has the B2W scheme via biketowork.ie. All advice is that I should spend the max as it is a one shot. Been to a few LBS and they say their ability to do deals is lessened due to the 3rd party as they take 10% as their "fee". Bike is primarily for commute (17km each way). In my head I think I *may* do some weekend cycling and I think I would like to try something like a sportive. I am not couch potato and am pretty fit. Wife does say she doubts I will do weekend cycling. I have previously commuted so I know what I want on the bike (full mud guards/panniers/lights). I am willing to do the full €1k (inclusive of accessories). My thoughts are Giant Defy 3 with Cruds and rack + panniers.
    Any thoughts or suggestions to change that decision?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

go for it get the very best you can afford.;) dont get straight handle bars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

Spend the €1K on the bike. Buy a road bike. Buy good lights and other accessories online. Invest in good padded shorts and tights. Your rear end will thank you for it.

Do you really need a rack and panniers? They add weight and destroy the look of any bike imho. If you are cycling to work on a regular basis you will learn to organise yourself and pack lightly. A small purpose built rucksack is better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Pigeon Reaper

I use a rack and panniers as I don't like sweaty back syndrome. Also since I'm cycling the bike I'm not looking at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Good quality rack and panniers is a far superior for carrying stuff on your bike and better for your back. They don't take long to put on and take off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 diabhail

..commuted before. Hated a rucksack on my back. Rack and panniers absolutely must have. As well as bringing change of clothes I will occasionally be bringing my gear for playing sport straight after work.
    Current plan is to try for: Defy 3/Crud Mudguards/Rack/Paniers/Lights/Locks - for €1000.
    Any idea where I can get a best price on the bike (online not an option due to B2W scheme)

diabhail wrote: »
    ..commuted before. Hated a rucksack on my back. Rack and panniers absolutely must have. As well as bringing change of clothes I will occasionally be bringing my gear for playing sport straight after work.
    Current plan is to try for: Defy 3/Crud Mudguards/Rack/Paniers/Lights/Locks - for €1000.
    Any idea where I can get a best price on the bike (online not an option due to B2W scheme)
    Just ring around all the shops you can and ask them to quote you.
    Here is a list of shops:
    http://www.biketowork.ie/bike-shops/
    http://www.awaycity.com/wiki/Dublin/Cycle_Shops

I would go for proper full mudguards rather than any 'race' type crud mudguards. Less fiddly and less likely to rub on the tyres.

Oh noes........tried a Claude Butler Regent (touring bike) and a road bike (costing €1000) in my LBS. Liked the various riding positions and the commute friendly spec of the tourer. May be changing my mind.

That price seems a tad high for a claud butler.

If it is the same as this..... The groupset is Shimano 2300. Which is a tad out of date.

http://www.evanscycles.com/products/claud-butler/regent-2013-touring-bike-ec049021

Probably a solid enough bike, but you could probably do better or talk alot of money off the retail price.

OK....my gut was that for the frame and gset it was on the high side. For e800 I would be hoping for a Sora. May be paying for the rarity of the type (tourer)?