Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How good are you at talking on the phone

• 12-05-2013 1:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭

Put me face to face, text or e-mail a person and I am quite articulate and free-flowing :cool:

Put me in a phone conversation and I just can't think of much to say, my mind goes completely blank. I even write out what I have to say beforehand when the conversation is formal :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,345 ✭✭✭buyer95

Godot. wrote: »
    Put me face to face, text or e-mail a person and I am quite articulate and free-flowing :cool:

Put me in a phone conversation and I just can't think of much to say, my mind goes completely blank. I even write out what I have to say beforehand when the conversation is formal :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Neadine

Godot. wrote: »

Who are you talking to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Maybe, as a child, you walked in on your father who was naked, wearing only high heels, spanking himself while talking dirty to a man on the phone.

Just a theory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Most of my phonecalls are either really long and pointless, or short and to the point, talking to other people though? nah don't do that in person much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I'm the same. Rarely answer my phone...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

"Hello? ....... yep.......yep.........ok............cool.............ok..........bye."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭hju6

Just say what you have to say, confirm nothing then hang up, open bottle and drink,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

I had to do that when I was a teenager [write out what I had to say. I even had alternative things written down for different responses]. I was often awkward speaking in person too though. Written communication was fine. It would have suited me if email and text messaging became popular about five years earlier really. I was one of the last people I knew to get a mobile because of my dislike of phone conversation.

These days I'm comfortable speaking to friends and family on the phone. With everyone else I'm good at faking being a normal person, though I find it tiring and usually dislike it. The last thing I learned was to remember that nodding my head doesn't translate well over the wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

orestes wrote: »
    "Hello? ....... yep.......yep.........ok............cool.............ok..........bye."

vodafone trying to get you to change plan again?!

More like 'hello? ...yeah...ok....bye bye...bye bye bye'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Hello 0498512345? I trail off with the byes until it is down to a whisper.

I'm old school. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Lima Golf

I'm grand if there is someone on the other end of the phone but if they don't answer and I have to leave a voicemail I usually say something stupid or awkward sounding :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

I love messing with my phone operator, they tried to get me to basically pay more for what I was already using, €20 free any network texts, 500mb internet, the only free bit they were adding was the internet, which already came out of the 20, leaving me 15 quid for calls, they ring up being all oh if you get a 25 top up you'l have everything for free, my argument was I already have all that and you're just making me spend more on something i already have, poor girl couldn't answer me, so i was just like, well I guess this is goodbye......-hangs up-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

Ruubot2 wrote: »

I'm old school. ;)
    Do you do the "phone voice"?

Possibly more of an aged 50+ woman phenomenon. The more nasal the better.

Do you do the "phone voice"?

Possibly more of an aged 50+ woman phenomenon. The more nasal the better.

I have a phone voice. My friends always slag me over it. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Only realised when I'm on phone the last 10 seconds of the call is like this
    Yeah , alri , no worries , alri talk t ya later , ok , bye , bye , bye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

Im with ya op. calls are just horrible. Cant even ring at work . "i keep forgetting the numbers" i'll just have to keep walking over to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

It's usually work or family letting me know something needs to be done or someone has died or something, not much small talk to be had.
    Ruubot2 wrote: »

I'm old school. ;)

Old school is having to pick up the second phone and yelling "I'VE GOT IT!" at the top of your lungs so that you can have a phone call in privacy.

Ah the joys of teenage phonecalls in the days before mobiles. Frigging youngsters don't know how good they have it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

bye bye bye bye g'luck bye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Username relevant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

Im terrible on the phone. Im known for it now because im so awkward.
    Basically when im talking to someone i never know when to come in and say something so i always start talking over them and then have to say sorry, go on.
    Also i cant seem to listen to what the other person is saying because im trying to think about what il say and then i just dont know whats happening.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 64 ✭✭dartup

I could talk the knickers off a nun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

My OH is a great chatterbox on the phone.
    Even when she gets through to a message minder its a 5 minute conservation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

My OH is a great chatterbox on the phone.
    Even when she gets through to a message minder its a 5 minute conservation.
    Message minders cut out after one or two minutes usually.
    You are either exaggerating or your OH continues talking for some time after the line is dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Do it for a living so am grand, hate talking on the phone outside work though, texts and facebook for me. Get sick of hearing my own voice after 8 hrs so last thing I want to be doing is ringing people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

I'm very good at getting stuff done over the phone, given that it was part of my job for many years. However, I'm not really good at using it for social reasons or chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

I have to be in order to be good at my job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 miss_flamingo

I'm a good listener and chatter, no exception on the phone. Got told that I always have a bit of a flirty thing going on tho which can be a bit odd at times :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I worked in a call centre for a huge multinational. I had the best stats in the world in the company. So I know I'm good on a phone.

Unfortunately it means that I've found something I'm really good at and it's working in a call centre. It couldn't be painting, or economics or cooking. It's working in a fecking call centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 miss_flamingo

Grayson wrote: »
    I worked in a call centre for a huge multinational. I had the best stats in the world in the company. So I know I'm good on a phone.

Unfortunately it means that I've found something I'm really good at and it's working in a call centre. It couldn't be painting, or economics or cooking. It's working in a fecking call centre.

Could have been worse, if you were good at painting you'd might just produce money after you're dead, so the call centre doesn't seem so bad eh :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,074 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I'm OK at talking on the phone. Listening ... not so good. My mind tends to have better things to do. :o

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

I'm absolutely awful with phone conversations (apart from speaking to my family). I'm really awkward and can't wait to hang up. I particularly hate initiating calls though and prefer for people to ring me. It has lead people to believe I don't care etc. Can't help it that I prefer texting or emailing to phoning.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,102 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I prefer phone calls to be short and to the point - I'd rather have a long yarn with someone face to face rather than over the phone.

When I'm feeling very anxious I tend to avoid answering the phone or calling anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Mysteriouschic

I hate speaking on the phone unless I'm really comfortable with the person and don't always want to talk on the phone anyway. I always give really one worded answers or don't say too much anyway and it's only really family that rings me.
    I'm much better texting or emails or instant messaging etc..
    AlthoughtI don't really like texting people all the time either I just rather face to face contact really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 The Caped Commando

I was in the FCA for a year and learned radio voice procedure. Since then I've had no problem articulating myself on the phone. Maybe you could try that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

I was in the FCA for a year and learned radio voice procedure. Since then I've had no problem articulating myself on the phone. Maybe you could try that?

Yeah let's join the army for a year so we can learn to talk on the phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 The Caped Commando

baraca wrote: »
    Yeah let's join the army for a year so we can learn to talk on the phone.

Yes, well, I meant it in general. It's benefited me in many ways in my current volunteerism / activism! No need to be rude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I prefer talking on the phone, even in work, someone will email this huge block of text and rather than me writing another long reply, I'll just phone them. The email could take me 10 minutes to write, the call instead will be 1-2 minutes and at the end of it at-least I'll know if they have understood everything or not.
    The amount of back and forth emails that could be covered in one call is astounding.
    Dont get me wrong, I love email, its how I deal with a huge amount of work. But some people rely on email too much, they're almost afraid of a conversation and when it something "very" important, I just don't see email as a viable medium.