Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All the go safe vans in the world aren't going to stop this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭superb choice of username

Is this new or the old video? They need to have the horse taken off them, poor things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Remember those idiot kids posted a video of themselves driving dangerously on YouTube and they were prosecuted? Will that happen here?
    I think we know the answer to that

This is what happens when you have a select group of people do what they want and who know they can get away with it.

If the Guards/Government try to do anything then all hell will break loose and they will cry racist, It goes on down my way on windy back roads they are insane. And they way they treat these poor horses is despicable.

These are among the biggest offenders (not the only) in rubbish tipping in out ditches along the roads and the Councils do nothing and the rubbish sits for months if not forever and it is epidemic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Marked as 2013.

Should be removed from society and punished

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

1 car going 20-30 km/h more on a 100/12-km/h road - MURDERER

20 cars and 2 horses blocking whole road, going in to upcoming traffic, cruelty to animals, dangerously getting out of the car while it is driving - Ah sure lads, its their culture. let them be!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭.Henry Sellers.

The part when he says "stop beeping boys" is laughable, as if the animals weren't in enough stress with what was going already he seems to think beeping will make it too dangerous, Fcukin thick cnut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

Is this new or the old video? They need to have the horse taken off them, poor things.

New, its marked 2013 and was posted 5th of May. Could mean the racing season is starting up again.

I think it was last year that Garda traffic core tried to stop a race by pulling in front and blocking them. That's what needs to happen all the time to be honest.

One solution could be to put a form of cattle grid on the roads they frequent.
    Just an idea anyway, it can't be allowed to continue like that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭derry

Looks to me this isn't the crazy type of race where normal traffic is involved such as other videos have exposed in the past

Looks to me the travelling people are learning a few different solutions

Well it looks to me they had the entire show under control
    I didn't see any oncoming traffic so they must have blocked off the road at the other end
    The racing rally cars do the same they block off the road while they race their cars and your not against them.
    Probably did this on Sunday early morning as generally looked very quite .

Their doing their sports and have the rights to do their sports much as we in the city like to play tennis ,rugby ,soccer ,knitting, swimming ,sailing and getting blind drunk

It really the failure of the state to supply the traveling people a suitable place to do these sports as the state tends to help the D4 lot get their sporting facilities made in D4

THOSE WHO LIVE IN GLASS HOUSES ......

However from a practical point of view the road surface is very hard and breaks the bones of horses if they run too often on hard roads .The result is the horse is knackered way before it should be .
    For that reason alone they would be better to find a suitable beach or suitable field and do a circular race .

There is plenty of suitable bog regions which are hard enough to race on in summer time which would suit the horses better it just needs the council to arrange to mark out the sections of course on plan and then let them race in that place

In Nass Curragh there acres of space the state who control that space via the Irish defence forces IDF could allow one circular course to be marked for them as they allow many other sports to be done there

Might even become a tourist attraction the Naas wild horse weekend races

Derry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

If this had happened in England, they would have had every Traffic car down on top of them like a ton of bricks, no tolerance for that sort of shíte there. We just don't have the resources to do that here.
    derry wrote: »

Their doing their sports and have the rights to do their sports much as we in the city like to play tennis ,rugby ,soccer ,knitting, swimming ,sailing and getting blind drunk

I don't play Soccer in the middle of a dual carrigeway :rolleyes:

I didn't see any oncoming traffic so they must have blocked off the road at the other end
    They forced a Mondeo to stop at one stage at around 1:52 and it can be seen pulling away at 2.01.

Probably best to watch the video before telling us we all have it so good in our glass houses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

A bunch of wreckless toerags the whole lot of them in this video.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Gosub

Looks to me this isn't the crazy type of race where normal traffic is involved such as other videos have exposed in the past

The racing rally cars do the same they block off the road while they race their cars and your not against them.

It really the failure of the state to supply the traveling people a suitable place to do these sports as the state tends to help the D4 lot get their sporting facilities made in D4

However from a practical point of view the road surface is very hard and breaks the bones of horses if they run too often on hard roads .The result is the horse is knackered way before it should be .
    For that reason alone they would be better to find a suitable beach or suitable field and do a circular race .

Derry
    I don't even know where to start pointing out how wrong you are.

Official road closures happen for all kinds of reasons. They must be applied for and proper notice given and passed on to other road users. You don't just get to park your Transit across the road and declare it closed.

Am I wrong in thinking there are trotting tracks up and down the country?

These people are just the worst kind of the 'entitled' classes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭Schnitzel Muncher

These lads are outside of the laws of the land, and will remain so regardless of what we say or think.

It's a fact of life, there is no demand to change that, because anyone who comments is shot down as racist by the vested interests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭Corkbah

There is plenty of suable bog regions which suit the horses better

In Nass Curragh there acres of space the state who control that space via the Irish defence forces IDF could allow one circular course to be marked for them as they allow many other sports to be done there

Derry

Who let the PC brigade in ... just because its their culture doesn't mean they should be facilitated .....its the culture of Roma gypsies to beg/steal should our government facilitate that too ??

if your answer is yes then I will change my religion/culture to one that doesn't pay taxes to the state ...its my culture !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Derry

If a bunch of lads, would block up a road for small drag race, then all of them would be put to jail, raped in prison showers, ban of road.

Not these lads.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

Derry

This couldn't be part of their historic culture, there was no roads like this in this country up until a few years ago. Its all bull****e just like their ethnic minority status

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Nothing like a bit of casual incitement to genocide on a Saturday morning, is there? You people make me ashamed to be Irish.

Gosub wrote: »
    I don't even know where to start pointing out how wrong you are.

There is so much wrong in the post I could only pick one part.

It's a post by someone who hasn't watched the video and who has no idea how a sulky race works.

The only issue I have with it is the road not being closed and possible animal cruelty.

I've no problem with a closed road sulky race.

Rally organisers have to apply to have roads closed for specific times and the locals can object if they want. Sealing off a national route in the way you describe is not something that should be tolerated.

It was probably just luck this time that there was no oncoming traffic. And if there was an accident involving an innocent party do you think they would hang around and offer assistance. No way! They would be gone in a shot and deny all knowledge.

Anan1 wrote: »
    Nothing like a bit of casual incitement to genocide on a Saturday morning, is there?
    Nothing like a bit of casual law breaking to give the two fingers to the rest of society though is there.

And to be fair if it was two young lads having a race against traffic in cars I'd say the same thing.

Nothing like a bit of casual incitement to genocide on a Saturday morning, is there? You people make me ashamed to be Irish.

So we'll keep the status quo.

Let these lads do what they want when they want, regardless of the impact on the rest of society. But the rest of society deserves to suffer for oppressing these guys, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Nothing like a bit of casual law breaking to give the two fingers to the rest of society though is there.

And to be fair if it was two young lads having a race against traffic in cars I'd say the same thing.
    You're blaming an entire group for the actions of some of its members, and you're advocating killing them all.
    Gas the cnuts
    That's what the Nazis did. Your attitude makes me sick.

You're blaming an entire group for the actions of some of its members, and you're advocating killing them all. That's what the Nazis did. Your attitude makes me sick.

No I didn't.

Where did I?

I said Gas the cnuts.

I was referring to the people driving against traffic beating horses. I never identified any group, nor would I as I've feck all issue with the group you are referring to.

I never said kill them all. I said Gas them.

If it needs clarification I'm referring to that need gassing are the ones in the video.

So Anan stop jumping to conclusions

That's what the Nazis did. Your attitude makes me sick.

They also made Beetles. Do people who like to drive and resto them make you sick too?

Do you have any siemens products or Mercs. Do they make you sick too?

These references to Nazism when people point out issues with travellers are becoming tedious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

I wouldn't like to see the aftermath if one of those horses broke down mid race.

baraca wrote: »
    I wouldn't like to see the aftermath if one of those horses broke down mid race.

It's not unheard of for them to suffer a heart attack or to stumble over the cats eyes during a race.

The drivers get pretty bad road rash if they are lucky. A friend has treated them for injuries a few times in A&E

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭derry

No I didn't.

Where did I?

I said Gas the cnuts.

I was referring to the people driving against traffic beating horses. I never identified any group, nor would I as I've feck all issue with the group you are referring to.

I never said kill them all. I said Gas them.

If it needs clarification I'm referring to that need gassing are the ones in the video.

So Anan stop jumping to conclusions

The splitting hairs and there is splitting the already split hairs :D LOL

Derry

The drivers get pretty bad road rash if they are lucky. A friend has treated them for injuries a few times in A&E

No doubt we pick up the bill for all of the above. They probably even sue the council...

The splitting hairs and there is splitting the already split hairs

No. there is no splitting hairs. I said something and a user jumped the gun about what was said.

have you any reply to the rubbishing your post got earlier or are you just trying to deflect the attention.

I know how father Ted felt now

tumblr_m87t92AMQX1r7l16so1_500.jpg

No doubt we pick up the bill for all of the above.
    To be fair nobody goes out to injure themselves so that someone else can pick up the tab.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

Wow Derry, I had to read that message 3 times to make sense of what you were saying. So this thread seems to be getting out of hand. If people have a problem, get out there and act!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

It's not unheard of for them to suffer a heart attack or to stumble over the cats eyes during a race.

It's the cars right behind them that would have no time to stop that worries me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Systemic Risk

Derry

And do you know how they would get these facilities? They go through proper channels, start a committee, obtain permits, get gardai to close roads for them for a specific oeriod of time. They could have ispca inspections of animals to ensure the horses are not being abused. Im pretty sure they would be successful and there would be plenty of settled people also who would come out to watch a well organised event.

In cases like this its not a problem with the culture, is a problem with the way its carried out.

It's a problem of individuals doing what they want not because of their race, but because they can and for no other reason.

It's not about the race it's about doing what they want because they can, and they hide behind their culture. it's about them showing to everyone through the use of youtube that they can and will do it and who's going to stop them !

These travellers are a disgrace to their own culture, travellers were tinkers, quiet respectable people, who called from house to house fixing pots and pans making things and selling them, a lot of travellers today just run riot and hide behind their culture and use it as a tool to cause trouble.

It isn't just the travelling community either, it's a problem of society in general, people doing what they want because they can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

Anybody notice how difficult it is for the horse's a*se to see around the horse's a*se ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Ara sham, Nothin better than an early Saturday morn feeding and watering the gee gees at 6 am for a wee trot, Boss..:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

It's a problem of individuals doing what they want not because of their race, but because they can and for no other reason.

It's not about the race it's about doing what they want because they can, and they hide behind their culture. it's about them showing to everyone through the use of youtube that they can and will do it and who's going to stop them !

These travellers are a disgrace to their own culture, travellers were tinkers, quiet respectable people, who called from house to house fixing pots and pans making things and selling them, a lot of travellers today just run riot and hide behind their culture and use it as a tool to cause trouble.

It isn't just the travelling community either, it's a problem of society in general, people doing what they want because they can.

That's so true..I dread to think the day they get Minority status, It will open the floodgates to all sort of claims.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Systemic Risk

Oh i agree with you, i was merely countering derry's assertion that they were doing little wrong and that it was society's fault for not providing facilities for their sport. If these people, who you rightly say hide behind their culture, want to carry out their cultural activities then there are perfectly legal means to organise it. This is nothing but a bunch of people illegally doing what they want when they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

charlemont wrote: »
    Ara sham, Nothin better than an early Saturday morn feeding and watering the gee gees at 6 am for a wee trot, Boss..:P
    charlemont wrote: »
    That's so true..I dread to think the day they get Minority status, It will open the floodgates to all sort of claims.

And with that, we're done here.