Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ploughed...now what?

• 09-05-2013 4:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭

Ploughed a field couple days ago as had pigs on it last year and they made sh1te of it.is it best to rotovate now or powerharrowing or ?would it need rolling after b4 seeding wit grass?would like to get hay off it this year.am I bein a bit optimistic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭tommylimerick

just land level
    put in seed
    roll
    spray
    that's all I do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭geros29

just land level
    put in seed
    roll
    spray
    that's all I do

Ok.think I could get away with vicon spreader to do seed?did it years ago when I worked on golf course but can't remember the results!getting seeding rate was bitv a pain but think I got it eventually.would be able to get the rate from one of the lads there I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭tommylimerick

give it some 10.10.20 too I reckon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

I wouldn't near it with a rotavator, only paddle it into a mess this weather. A few light runs of a disk or power harrow and a run of the land leveller. Good to spread with the Vicon. I will have a look at our one, I think its set at 14 for grass seed. That's with a Dexta in high 2nd, and driving so that the space between runs is the same as the wheel width if the tractor.

Will have to leave it a spell now anyway.bucketing here since I ploughed it.would I be expecting too much to get hay off it dis year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

If you got a great spell of weather in end of August/early September you could. Leafy rye grass takes a fair bit of "killing" to get into hay.

If this rain dosen't stop you might not even get a run for sheep off it.............:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭jp6470

I always plough,powerharrow,and then break the seed in with wee light spider break..only once grass is nicely up,roll.

Rolling straight after sowing is bad job I think,tightens the ground and water lays.

land lever, hardly ever if have good powerharrow.
    disc,maybe my grandfather would off.no good imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

Put up hoarding or rows of sand bags to hold it in place for a while.

1chippy wrote: »
    Put up hoarding or rows of sand bags to hold it in place for a while.

Not sure if you takin the pis or not but tis a fairly level field but the way the rain is comin down ere you wouldn't know what could happen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

depends on the type and the depth. we use a spike rotovator set shallow, breaks up the ploughing and leaves a perfect seed bed. throw out the barly seed with the spinner (undersowing this year) then give a run of the a grass harrow to cover, spread the hayseed with the spinner and roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,387 ✭✭✭Sami23

Does any of ye ever roll after tilling and before sowing grass seed and roll again after ?
    I remember reading before that rolling before the seed goes in would give it a more firm bed ?

Sami23 wrote: »
    Does any of ye ever roll after tilling and before sowing grass seed and roll again after ?
    I remember reading before that rolling before the seed goes in would give it a more firm bed ?

Only new to this agriculture craic but did lot of grow in on golf course.we never rolled prior to seeding always as another poster suggested when grass emerged.always better job imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,387 ✭✭✭Sami23

geros29 wrote: »
    Only new to this agriculture craic but did lot of grow in on golf course.we never rolled prior to seeding always as another poster suggested when grass emerged.always better job imo

Myself, I always roll straight after the seed goes in to 'bed' it into the ground. If you don't roll it straight away surely it will take longer to attach itself to the soil ???????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Blue Holland

I think there would be a benefit in rolling after ploughing if it's dry enough, you don't want to be working deep for grass and rolling stops wheels burying into the ploughed ground and allow you to work shallow.

Myself, I always roll straight after the seed goes in to 'bed' it into the ground. If you don't roll it straight away surely it will take longer to attach itself to the soil ???????

Not sure about that tbh think if it gets a drop of rain it usually is sufficient.never had any trouble but think when its rolled in it can tend to cake at the surface and water only runs off or puddles.minimal soil contact is needed for grass seed.