Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

rats and fox questions

• 08-05-2013 8:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭

Hi all I just wanted to ask ye what do ye do with rats and foxes after ye shoot them do ye throw them into hedges or if ye take them away what would ye do with them then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Casserole mate
    Bit a fox an rat with few 'datoes and carrots
    Nothing nicer :)

If I got rats I'd bring them home Nd feed it to the hawk or ferrets
    A fox I'd discard into ditch/ gorse but never leave it out in the open
    Some farmers will ask a lad to leave the fox on a fence or in his yard so he knows the foxes are being shot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭vapour_trail

I usually bury the rats, not a big job only takes a few seconds. I leave the foxes well out of site of anyone. Usually in very heavy cover (briars etc) where there is no chance of the carcass coming into contact with streams or flooding ditches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭valerossi

Skin the fox makes a grand gun rug ironic if noting else ha na i just drag him up on the hedge unless im coming back later to shot mags and crows feeding off him. Can't say i actively shoot rats but when i do i kick what's left into the hedge and as stated never discard in streams or water ways and try take anything dead out of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭1shot16

On discarding dead animal can you bury or discard birds like crows ect into hedges?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭vapour_trail

1shot16 wrote: »
    On discarding dead animal can you bury or discard birds like crows ect into hedges?

Bring a bit of bailing twine and hang them up by the legs to keep other crows away. Check with the farmer first though as not all lads like you doing that ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭1shot16

Bring a bit of bailing twine and hang them up by the legs to keep other crows away. Check with the farmer first though as not all lads like you doing that ;)

Now that i think about it i remember my mother hanging them up at the veg patch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

1shot16 wrote: »

small carcasses like birds etc. are quickly dealt with by natures scavangers, so I wouldn't worry about it too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

Casserole mate
    Bit a fox an rat with few 'datoes and carrots
    Nothing nicer :)

If I got rats I'd bring them home Nd feed it to the hawk or ferrets
    A fox I'd discard into ditch/ gorse but never leave it out in the open
    Some farmers will ask a lad to leave the fox on a fence or in his yard so he knows the foxes are being shot

surely you don't feed rats to your hawk and ferrets?
    i would think better of my ferrets than to feed them rats. . .:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

dicky82 wrote: »
    surely you don't feed rats to your hawk and ferrets?
    i would think better of my ferrets than to feed them rats. . .:rolleyes:

Skin them ( if you've stomach for it) and feed them to the ferrets
    They are full of protein and great for a moulting hawk or a ferret that losing weight
    Take off the head and tail skin them and gut them and cut up if you wish just like skinning a rabbit
    But there is a bit of a smell off them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭valerossi

A lads cleaning rats really that's where the line is surely, its just not right like ITS JUST NOT RIGHT. If i was a mod id shut this down (cass step in here please):-), anymore of that and im gona hand over the rifle and shotguns and join green peace and anti hunting organisations:-):-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Chesapeake

hang them by the neck in the ditch where mullahed