Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever been to a Musical?

• 06-05-2013 6:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Drakares

So the missus bought me tickets to see the Lion King musical there yesterday and it was absolutely astoundingly brilliant. First time ever going to one. Can't believe I haven't been to more!

They're expensive enough, though what's 50 quid in the pub instead?! So, do you folks ever attend musicals or Theatre? Seems like a great past time instead of the usuals!

PS: I'll just leave this here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Yes, I have.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

GAAAAAAAAAAAYYY.

Actually, yes, I saw a musical on Broadway, so fúck you!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

I have been to two.

I'l rip my own ballbag open before Id go to another one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭Amy33

Yes, I went to see Les Mis when I lived in London.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

I've been to a few. Gonna go see Wicked while it's here later this year, been wanting to see that for ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

went to Lion King

awesomes

went to an amnesty one before

bollox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Lion King and Dirty Dancing. Got tickets for Wicked in November too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 698 ✭✭✭belcampprisoner

have you ever been to a panto

oh no you havent

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Ex dragged me to see wicked in london a few years ago, wasn't as bad as I thought it would be, was still ****e though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

Took the missus to London for a weekend for her birthday years ago and went to see Chicago

To my eternal shame, I'll admit that I enjoyed it too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Jesus Christ superstar in the o2. Phantom in UCD.

I'd suggest people only judge musicals on high quality productions - too many people probably see a school musical or local production that may be very good, but will still turn them off musicals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Went to one, it was the most misérables night of my life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

Phantom of the Opera in London

Went to see "The Book of Mormon" a couple of weeks ago, when I was in London. Very funny, would suit a lot of those who normally don't like musicals. It's made by the two South Park creators, Matt Stone and Trey Parker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

Yes, took part the usual school musicals, cats, Oliver, West Side Story.

I'd never pay to go and see one, if that' what you mean.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Saw Anglo the Musical when it was on in the grand Canal Theatre, enjoyed it.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

Lion King on broadway, brilliant!

Spiderman on broadway, absolutely atrocious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Was going to say no and would rather some excruciatingly slow and painful death than go see one....then realised I've actually seen Avenue Q and it was quite good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,411 ✭✭✭✭woodchuck

Yes a few... Wicked, Lion King, Phantom, Chicago, Legally Blonde, Rent, Once, Joseph, Wizard of Oz, Avenue Q, HMS Pinafore, Pirate of Penzance, we will rock you... I have a problem :o

But like you said, when you think of the amount of money people spend on a night out at the pub I think it's much better value for money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

Drakares wrote: »
    So the missus bought me tickets to see the Lion King musical there yesterday and it was absolutely astoundingly brilliant. First time ever going to one. Can't believe I haven't been to more!
    Musicals are the greatest. My mother introduced me to them when I was young Nelson Eddy & co ... then the greats like West Side Story and 7 Brides, South Pacific, Oklahoma! ..Sweet Charity and then Chorus Line. Since then I find them some of the best entertainment invented by man ... no better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭leedslad

Saw Blood Brothers in Leeds a few years back, Yer wan from the Nolans was lead female in it, must say i enjoyed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I have been to two.

I'l rip my own ballbag open before Id go to another one.
    That will probably make the experience less pleasant.

I've never been to one, but I love the music from Jesus Christ Superstar and Les Mis, would like to see them live.

I haven't been to any theatre at all since seeing Hamlet with school. Really want to start going, but haven't gotten around to it yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

Yes, it's something I really enjoy them so I go as often as I can. They are expensive though. I saw Oliver at Christmas and I'm going to The Lion King, Cats and Hairspray over the next few months and Wicked next Christmas. Prospects have improved greatly since the Grand Canal theatre opened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

My mother guilt-tripped me into going to one with her in the 80's and I'd rather gnaw off my own foot then go to another one. Hated it so much that when my Mother in law insisted on a family outing to see Hairspray the musical in London 5 years ago for her 60th birthday, I took the opportunity to skip the musical, go window shopping and meet up with them for dinner. Never did like the woman :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

Ya I have. In new york

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Saw Avenue Q in New York a couple of years ago and it was excellent. Like the Muppets with swearing. However I'd rather poke my own eyes out than have to sit through any of the more regular type of musicals like Wicked, The Lion King, Les Mis, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Yes been to a few many years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Cats at the 02 ages ago. Painfully bad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

GAAAAAAAAAAAYYY.

Actually, yes, I saw a musical on Broadway, so fúck you!!

So if other people are "GAAAAAAAAAAAYYY" for going to a musical, what does that make you. :p

And who cares if its in Broadway, Dublin or Dun fúcking dalk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

Lapin wrote: »
    So if other people are "GAAAAAAAAAAAYYY" for going to a musical, what does that make you. :p

And who cares if its in Broadway, Dublin or Dun fúcking dalk?

Tiz a bit left hand drive though.
    Wouldn't interest me in the slightest..

Les Miserables, Starlight Express, Joseph and the Technicolour Dreamcoat, Wicked, Avenue Q, We Will Rock You, and probably more I can't remember.

So, yea.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Yeah,

Jeff Wayne's War of the Worlds.

Phantom of the Opera.

Wizard of Oz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Nope, hate them enough on tv so I can't imagine how I'd hold up in real life with no option of switching the channel!

Feel sorry for the straight lads getting dragged to them. I'll never have to worry about that! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Greenday's "American Idiot" was very good.

They sound pretty boring
    Prefer a nice opera :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Only one I've seen is The Lion King in The West End in London.
    AMAZING!!!! Loved it so much :)
    Don't know if I'd be bothered going to any other ones tbh, but I'd definitely go see The Lion King again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Pinklady11

Went to see Jeff Wayne's War of the Worlds a few years ago in the O2. I must say it was brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

Loads. Les Miserables, Wicked, Phantom of the Opera, Mary Poppins, Avenue Q, Jersey Boys, Kiss Me Kate, The Hired Man, Oliver, The Sound of Music, Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Calamity Jane, The Student Prince, Pirates of Penzance, Annie, The King and I, Jekyll and Hyde, Beauty and the Beast, Oklahoma, Fiddler on the Roof, Little Shop of Horrors, The Producers, My Fair Lady, Jesus Christ Superstar, Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat, Guys and Dolls, Honk, Hello Dolly... I could be leaving some out though!

Mostly amateur productions by musical societies around Ireland (I've been in some too myself) but saw a few on the West End and Broadway too. Thing is, I know how ridiculous musicals are, and I actually can totally understand why some people would hate them. But it's because of the ridiculousness of them and the escapism that I enjoy them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Yep been to a few now and loved them all

The phantom and rocky horror have probably been my favourite though

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

Saw Miss Saigon a good few years ago and I loved it. I'd like to go to see others but I do think they're a bit expensive for what you get. I'd rather go see a concert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Avenue Q, Spamalot and Altar Boyz. I like funny musicals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Dave! wrote: »
    That will probably make the experience less pleasant.

No dude!

I went to see Singing in the Rain..well I was dragged to it. It "starred" one of the Westlife lads sister.....no idea which. It sucked balls big time....big cheesy, hairy balls!

I also saw Mary Poppins on Broadway, that was ok though. Mary was hot! Id giver her a spoonfull of something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I saw Phantom of the Opera and Mary Poppins in the West End, on school trips. They were alright. Went on another school trip last year to see Blood Brothers. That was absolutely brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭Sin City

Its ok they are written with subliminal messages implanted within the songs for the women

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Saw Chess back in the day. Quite good but not really my thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭markc1184

Saturday Night Fever, Starlight Express, Miss Saigon, Mamma Mia, The Lion King, Joseph and The..... , Blood Brothers and I'm sure there's more I just can't think of at the minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Drakares

bluewolf wrote: »
    They sound pretty boring
    Prefer a nice opera :cool:

How can you prefer something from something else if you haven't tried it?

I'm sure someone who hasn't eaten proper steak prefers a chinese to a Chateaubriand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

quickbeam wrote: »
    Saw Miss Saigon a good few years ago and I loved it. I'd like to go to see others but I do think they're a bit expensive for what you get. I'd rather go see a concert.

Knew I'd forget some, saw that too. They can be expensive, the West End and Broadway ones can be crazy prices. If you can get to a quality show by a good musical society in Ireland though, they're great value for a night's entertainment, usually on average only about €18. An amateur musical by a society in Ireland costs tens of thousands or euro, and that's with none of the actors getting paid! They're a really expensive venture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

Not mad keen on musicals but saw The Lion King on Broadway. It is an amazing live show. It takes a great Disney movie and makes it into something truly special.

seen a few others but none of them come close to The Lion King.

I Keano was great craic!