Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

one of the scariest jobs ever ...major vertigo

• 05-05-2013 5:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yCYZZPwJr_c

could u imagine coming to work every day doing this ?

how on earth would they construct a tower like this,, and these guys must b on a HUGE WAGE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭paulmclaughlin

Man up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Ugh, not this again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭Colash

Man up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 699 ✭✭✭mikehammer67

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭valerossi

I work rigs and wind farms at sea you just get conditioned to working at heights but i have seen people literally freeze with fear say 1 in every 20 green hands never make a second swing off shore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭HoggyRS

I'd just be too bate to work from all the climbing once i got up there...

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

How much is a jetpack and a parachute?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 835 ✭✭✭kingcobra

Colash wrote: »
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yCYZZPwJr_c

could u imagine coming to work every day doing this ?

how on earth would they construct a tower like this,, and these guys must b on a HUGE WAGE

The unfortunate thing is, the majority of people working on tall buildings get paid f*ck all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Steve O

Ugh, not this again

Why click the thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Steve O wrote: »
    Why click the thread?

I didn't know what it was until I clicked it.

D'uuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuh!

Also, CVPL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Chavways

kingcobra wrote: »
    The unfortunate thing is, the majority of people working on tall buildings get paid f*ck all.

In the west theirs grand money in it lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Wouldent be me, Me belly would get in the way .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 835 ✭✭✭kingcobra

valerossi wrote: »
    In the west theirs grand money in it lad.

Ok you're right there I suppose! But for those builders working on skyscrapers in Dubai and elsewhere in the East they're probably just barely scraping by. But sure a great adrenaline rush can be had from it all :D

well in Nigeria and the likes westerners get paid well but locals get screwed and i mean screwed if they get hurt theirs another one their waiting before the other lad gets cleaned up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

Sweaty hands even watching that. My god, brave folk who do that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

worked on the 68 story trump tower in toronto...scary stuff being over the side on a swing-stage on a windy day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,124 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Man up.

That's what they should have called the video

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

I'ld love to climb that tower!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭Duff

My feet feel funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

I get tired going up stairs, would never be able to climb that thing.

Also what's the point in wearing a hard hat? If they fall they'll need more than a hard hat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭JD DABA

"this is free climbing, meaning that no safety equipment is used".....

sorry, what ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Also what's the point in wearing a hard hat? If they fall they'll need more than a hard hat.

http://cdn.memegenerator.net/instances/400x/37557813.jpg :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Sky scraping by?

It really depends on your "fear of heights" factor. I'm not, as it happens. I like it up there and spend a good bit of time hanging off high things. Others freeze past 30 feet. Horses for courses and all that. After 25 feet, it's all irrelevant anyway, cos you're fecked if you fall wether from 30 feet or 300 feet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

I'd need about four extra dry nappies on the ascent so the poor guy climbing up behind me didn't get a constant stream of pee and poo raining down on him, I'm sure I'd be puking as well.

After getting to the top I'd probably just jump off to avoid any more vertigo.

The big twirly slide at Funderland gives me the shakes, my 3 year old says again again and I have to lie to her so I don't have to go down with her anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Pinewoo

Mines bigger..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Great lads for cleaning a chimney...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 698 ✭✭✭belcampprisoner

they are tied off they turn the power off as the waves will microwave you in 5 minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

My feet feel wierd and my hands are covered in sweat after watching that - cheers for that. Brave lunatics climbing up there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

at least they took precautions in OP video

but take a look at this.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

Id be more interested to see how the hell they managed to build that tower in the first place-would say its more risk welding stuff at that heights than climbing it.
    So wouldnt call it scariest as its fear of heights for some people, but who said once you above 30feet it doesn't really matter from what height you fall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

Yeah hats off, to the guys who actually build that stuff?

it really can be that windy up there :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 highvisjacket

yeah just watched it noway i could do that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,965 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

A hard hat is not wore just to protect the wearer if they fall, the main purpose is to protect the head from falling objects, hitting your head against thing, electric shocks..ect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Did they deliberately design the tower to get extra scary the further you climb?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

What happens if one of the climbers freezes?

I worked with a painter who worked off ladders for 30 years or more. Doing 3 and 4 story buildings no problem.

We were doing the gable end of a 2 story house one day, the wind caught the ladder and moved it slightly. Maybe 3 or 4 inches left, the guy literally froze and couldnt move. We had to ring he's brother to climb the ladder to guide him down.

Don't know what these guys would do in a situation like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Pinewoo

scamalert wrote: »
    Id be more interested to see how the hell they managed to build that tower in the first place-would say its more risk welding stuff at that heights than climbing it.

They build it on the ground and then put it up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Its not so bad, until he gets outside of the cage. I think I'd wet myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    My feet feel wierd and my hands are covered in sweat after watching that - cheers for that. Brave lunatics climbing up there

gave me a funny feeling in my willy...did the rest of you get that? well not the girls obviously.... i'm baad with heights

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

fryup wrote: »
    at least they took precautions in OP video

but take a look at this.........

the less safety devices you have the more careful you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

Not a chance. If it was down to me we'd be still using carrier pigeons if thats whats needed.

Check out 2:30 thought he was being chased by a stormtrooper :-P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

yeah its scary enough,but with my experience of heights once you do it couple times,the fear goes away,also since theres little to none security to hold you ,you become more focused on your movement.As for the guy below him,hes there more to help with the bag,since theres always possibility that bag could get stuck between them ladder due to movement and wind.