Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I got fine - alright, friend got court summon - what to do? + *** cop, anything to do

• 05-05-2013 1:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭

Short Version
    1) Me driving, friend following in other car.
    2) Friend: no L plates up, no accompanied driver.
    3) At yield sign, I drive off, friend thinks it's empty road.
    4) Officer nearly crashes into friends car.
    5) Officer orders friend to stay where he is, goes after me.
    6) I get fined for failing to yield.
    7) Friend gets summoned to court for " dangerous driving"
    8) End of story.

Conditions:
    1) Officer was speeding himself, alone in car (no partner).
    2) At yield sign I saw about 200 metres safe before that car coming from right.
    3) Officer in anger, chasing 3 cars on 1 road pretty much)

Questions:
    1) What's friends best option? lawyer or what?
    2) Can passengers who witnessed disgraceful attitude of officer write some kind of report or something for him?
    3) Why are garda allowed to break law by driving on red and speeding?
    (Please don't give me your typical crap excuse: "They are having bad time already, don't blame them", its' a ****e excuse)

Long Version

Hey, okay this will have some things said about a garda officer, but come on, you can't be locking every thread just because it says personal opinion about 1 guy, otherwise it's really some kind of dictator ship ruled boards (no offense to anybody).. anyway I am sure many of you will love hearing this and be glad this happened so:

First of all to say, I am not taking sides really, it was kind of fault of both: my friend for not yielding or stopping and cop (saying cop, because I wouldn't call such *** an officer or police man, sounds too soft, no offense to any garda members out there).
    Anyway:
    We were celebrating friends birthday at the park just near ratoath/blanch, can't remember name of place. So we were driving back at 7 PM, and there is a closed/blind junction joining main road, so my friend who is Learner, had no L plates up. Was behind me driving, I peeked out, saw a car about 200 metres ago, so thought it was enough for me to pass, so I went off and got through no problem, then another moment I notice is this car beeping full and I see it's a unmarked garda officer (at that time I considered him an officer)...apparently I am just sure he was flying over the speed limit, just sure about it, I am sure he wasn't going 80 km/h, anyway, I drove off and saw they stopped, so I pulled over on hard shoulder as I knew this is coming now, and pretty much as to say: surrendered, hazards on, engine off, license in hands, windows down...
    Then I see this officer flying behind me (literally), he barely stops just behind me and goes all mad without even seeing me as he steps out of car he starts shouting: "How much do I have to tell you all young lads to watch road on bank holiday weekend", so I gave him license, he was shouting and talking in angry manner (wish I was recording it, I would definitely submit that to station or whatever, his tone and his manner of talking was just completely out of place), so he started reading me lectures, it was an older guy, not one of the young garda officers. So he made me go through tester which was obviously a pass as I don't drink drive ever, and I asked am I getting fine? he said yeah for failing to yield traffic...what? he was miles away and speeding.. Anyway I kind of agree it's my fault for driving out and giving this *** a reason to **** to me.

Anyway, he gave back my license, and spinned off a U turn and went back to my friend, I followed him to find out, turns out my friend accepted me as the way is clear and didnt' stop at all, which caused nearly a collision between this speeding *** and my friend, he told my friend to wait there and he went after me back then, so he gave my friend summons to court with reason: "Dangerous driving".
    After all lectures given, this cop drove off again and after 3 minutes while we stood talked we see same cop following new car with flashing lights, then we understood this cop has some serious ****ing anger issues,

So my friend had:
    *No L-Plates (1 was up, 1 wasn't)
    *No accompanied driver
    *And he didn't yield and nearly caused crash.

What's his best option?

Also will my and his fines state the name of the *** who wrote us tickets? He surely seemed like a complete asshole talking in such anger and such manner grouping everybody into "young idiots" category.
    I really love how it's taken in this country, cops are allowed to break law, go on red lights, speed and they are considered "the protectors", yet when they nearly cause crash themselves because of speeding (Traveling at speed at which they cannot stop safely or something like that) they snap and go mad fining everybody around... Really makes me want to set up a video register and just be same asshole as "those" cops who break lights and speed limits. If before I thought that in my country police is bad (Ukraine) and here police is good and is to help, now I think pretty much same, same everywhere.

Anyway main question is: what's the best option for my friend? should he get some kind of lawyer or what?

Also is there any way to report a cop without any actual evidence other than passengers? (by the way, this cop was talking in angry manner to all my passengers as well, shouting and swearing).

Okay to say honestly I had 1 passenger too much on the back seat, so he made them step out and walk 15 minutes along this road with speeding cars and no pedestrian walk, just hard shoulder, he then shouted at us saying: If you can't all fit in one car, bring more cars!
    Then I snapped and started talking back after being fined anyway and said:
    "Yeah but we didn't see any bus stops here, do you see any? I don't, if you can show me some then do!"
    he said:
    "Well I don't care! they can walk, it's just 25 minutes walk" - that being said, he means it's alright to walk on a road with speeding cars and hard shoulder, but okay guess it's acceptable now.

So two of my friends stepped out, and cop said:
    "I said only one has to walk, not two"
    they said:
    "That's none of your business how many of us walk"
    and he left then.

So pretty much about 8 passengers (from both cars) witnessed this prick attitude, I know my attitude wasn't better, but well after I got fined and being talked to like that, may as well piss him off as much as I can.
    Also for some reason that prick cop called ambulance, though ambulance ended up coming then just leaving on spot without any passengers even stepping out for inspection, all fine.

To be honest, from seeing attitude of this garda member, my only goal for future is: record every talk with garda when stopped (as they do in my country, usually works out pretty well, good officers stay, pricks are thrown out), piss them off with talk back, and now I actually truly see why people always have this bad attitude towards police in Ireland.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 698 ✭✭✭belcampprisoner

how do you know your friend did not yield you were gone and probably speeding,if the garda was on the main road you had to yield until he passed,,it takes about 163 feet to stop,so non of the drivers in the learners car had a licence,what were you fined for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭arleitiss

how do you know your friend did not yield you were gone and probably speeding,if the garda was on the main road you had to yield until he passed,,it takes about 163 feet to stop,so non of the drivers in the learners car had a licence,what were you fined for
    Because I went after cop after he fined me, and stopped behind him, stepped out came up to him and just listened what he was saying, then my friend told me: "I assumed the way is clear as you went, so I went too".
    Cop hit brakes hard, and none of the people had license in other car (friends car) besides driver himself who was provisional.

I personally got fined for not waiting for him to pass even though he was far away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

sounds like the gard was doing his job to me

corktina wrote: »
    sounds like the gard was doing his job to me

Job of what? being a prick? how come other 15 garda officers I've seen before and been stopped before were nice and polite?

The first time I was fined by garda which was on my provisional, he was alright and talked nice and in peacful manner. This one is just a complete prick, is that their job really? if so then I agree with you, he did it brilliant.

Seriously though, talking to passengers like that is same as just talkining in anger to any other pedestrian on street, they are not related to this, so what the hell?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭Atlantis50

Get over it and move on OP.

Atlantis50 wrote: »

I am getting over it and moving on, I just asked 3 questions which I am still seeking answer for. Beside those questons I just made personal opinion of police in Ireland and how to act with them , that's it I completely agree I deserve those points and fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭SniperSight

arleitiss wrote: »
    Job of what? being a prick? how come other 15 garda officers I've seen before and been stopped before were nice and polite?

The first time I was fined by garda which was on my provisional, he was alright and talked nice and in peacful manner. This one is just a complete prick, is that their job really? if so then I agree with you, he did it brilliant.

Seriously though, talking to passengers like that is same as just talkining in anger to any other pedestrian on street, they are not related to this, so what the hell?

Maybe he was angry....you know, cause your friend nearly killed him?? It would certainly 'irk' me.
    You said the car was overloaded, then he was right to give the passengers a dressing down for putting thrmselves in such a dangerous position.

And how has he got anger issues because you saw him chasing another car with flashing lights on? Sounds completely ordinary, I see it all the time where I work....Ambulances and Fire trucks too, all driving by with their lights flashing, I wouldn't assume they've "anger issues" at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Also sounds like you got off lightly, you should have got a summons for driving without due care and attention for having overloaded the vehicle.

And I don't blame him for being angry. I'd be angry too if someone nearly caused me to crash into them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

I am getting over it and moving on, I just asked 3 questions which I am still seeking answer for. Beside those questons I just made personal opinion of police in Ireland and how to act with them , that's it I completely agree I deserve those points and fine.

So how to act with them, exactly?
    So you do accept fine for not yielding, another car joins the road without even thinking and will be done for dangerous driving and driving unaccompanied. Seems fair to me.As for the attitude - it doesn't matter really.

wonski wrote: »
    So how to act with them, exactly?
    So you do accept fine for not yielding, another car joins the road without even thinking and will be done for dangerous driving and driving unaccompanied. Seems fair to me.As for the attitude - it doesn't matter really.

"it doesn't matter really." <- because it's a Garda and obviously the Correct vision on boards is : "Who doesn't talk against Garda is right, who talks out something their way is an ass" is that why it doesn't matter?

Just tell me then one thing:
    If it doesn't matter how garda officer acts towards you, why can you get arrested for the way you talk to them? not quite equal rights there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭chasm

Why was he a prick? You or your friend could have injured or killed him due to your failure to yield, i'm not surprised he was angry, he might be a cop but he is still human! He should have fined the extra passenger in your car while he was at it, i take it as you were carrying one person too many in your car that they had no seatbelt on?

Arguing and being smart with the guard when he made one passenger leave your car because it was over full isn't how i would advise any one to act tbh.

Also sounds like you got off lightly, you should have got a summons for driving without due care and attention for having overloaded the vehicle.

And I don't blame him for being angry. I'd be angry too if someone nearly caused me to crash into them.

Really makes me wanna go and wait on that road for some pedestrian to be walking along hard shoulder and something by accident happens when speeding car comes there (of course I don't want this to happen literally), then I would put that cop there and say: " Soo... where the stop is? how many minutes away? " Then I would love to see what he says.
    Ofcourse it's not a motorway, but still.

chasm wrote: »
    Why was he a prick? You or your friend could have injured or killed him due to your failure to yield, i'm not surprised he was angry, he might be a cop but he is still human! He should have fined the extra passenger in your car while he was at it, i take it as you were carrying one person too many in your car that they had no seatbelt on?

Arguing and being smart with the guard when he made one passenger leave your car because it was over full isn't how i would advise any one to act tbh.

Yes he's still a human, so you are saying: he uses his (not sure the word for it) power to express his anger?

Pretty much same as saying:
    I work in ambulance, I get call to come to his house and save his life, I come up and leave and say: "I am human, I don't like him, I don't care, I am still human and I have my personal rights out of my job".

I mean no matter what, doubt it's acceptable to express your anger in such manner especially when you are official worker (like garda/ambulance/fire man.. etc..)

Maybe he was angry....you know, cause your friend nearly killed him?? It would certainly 'irk' me.
    You said the car was overloaded, then he was right to give the passengers a dressing down for putting thrmselves in such a dangerous position.

And how has he got anger issues because you saw him chasing another car with flashing lights on? Sounds completely ordinary, I see it all the time where I work....Ambulances and Fire trucks too, all driving by with their lights flashing, I wouldn't assume they've "anger issues" at all.

I will rephrase of him expressing his anger:
    "He's just a picky and really loves when people hate him, so he tries to fine everyone on his way"

"it doesn't matter really." <- because it's a Garda and obviously the Correct vision on boards is : "Who doesn't talk against Garda is right, who talks out something their way is an ass" is that why it doesn't matter?

Just tell me then one thing:
    If it doesn't matter how garda officer acts towards you, why can you get arrested for the way you talk to them? not quite equal rights there.

It doesn't matter because your attitude is, let me quote you **********
    You used more stars in your original post that i can see on the sky tonight, so it seems equal to me. What did you expect - lollipop and word of wisdom, bar of chocolate?
    You can thank your friend for escalating this. Don't blame someone else.
    My attitude towards another driver who pulls out in front of me is exactly the same - lot of **** and horn. Then i let it go, and move on. You should do the same.

Yes he's still a human, so you are saying: he uses his (not sure the word for it) power to express his anger?

I work in ambulance, I get call to come to his house and save his life, I come up and leave and say: "I am human, I don't like him, I don't care, I am still human and I have my personal rights out of my job".

I mean no matter what, doubt it's acceptable to express your anger in such manner especially when you are official worker (like garda/ambulance/fire man.. etc..)

In the now famous words.....
    Ah here....leave it out!!!

It doesn't matter because your attitude is, let me quote you **********
    You used more stars in your original post that i can see on the sky tonight, so it seems equal to me. What did you expect - lollipop and word of wisdom, bar of chocolate?
    You can thank your friend for escalating this. Don't blame someone else.
    My attitude towards another driver who pulls out in front of me is exactly the same - lot of **** and horn. Then i let it go, and move on. You should do the same.

Yeah you see... I am still kind of looking for original answers instead of trying to go into this long discussion.
    The point that I want to find out what I can do about it just means I am not like take whatever comes at me, if something can be done - why not do it? :)

In the now famous words.....
    Ah here....leave it out!!!

I'll be sure to step out of car next time and say that to them, might work out well, if they can **** up to you for every single small thing, why not make their day harder and piss them off then? (I know it sounds like an egoism, but I really understand now why most people hate police)

if they can **** up to you for every single small thing

Ye almost ****ing killed the guy!!!
    Whats your idea of a big thing!!

"Jeez officer, I know I robbed the bank and shot at you, and wounded a colleague.....but do you have to be so rough with the cuffs!?"

Ye almost ****ing killed the guy!!!
    Whats your idea of a big thing!!

"Jeez officer, I know I robbed the bank and shot at you, and wounded a colleague.....but do you have to be so rough with the cuffs!?"

Well... pretty much, it's his job anyway, if he can't handle his anger why shouldn't he be let go?
    I mean okay, let's say if this was USA (just as an example where police has guns)...
    Exactly same scenario happens, the cop snaps and just out of random in head decides to open fire....
    What then? just because he's a cop you are gonna say: "well... he's a human, you can understand him." really? Nice one.

Well... pretty much, it's his job anyway, if he can't handle his anger why shouldn't he be let go?
    I mean okay, let's say if this was USA (just as an example where police has guns)...
    Exactly same scenario happens, the cop snaps and just out of random in head decides to open fire....
    What then? just because he's a cop you are gonna say: "well... he's a human, you can understand him." really? Nice one.

WOW.....just......wow.

Yeah you see... I am still kind of looking for original answers instead of trying to go into this long discussion.

If you didn't want to start long discussion, why didn't you leave out some of the details. Long reading tbh

I am not like take whatever comes at me, if something can be done - why not do it?smile.png
    Are you looking for compensation or what???

If you didn't want to start long discussion, why didn't you leave out some of the details. Long reading tbh

Are you looking for compensation or what???

No, I don't need money, just want it to be fair or bit of justice. Surely even if 10 people write some kind of report against him ,I am sure somewhere someone will tell him: "There were few reports against you, we got rid of them" (I mean that's how police in Ireland works too, doesn't it? :) )
    that would make him at least a tiny bit less picky, ah damn even if he hears about that that will be a result :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭chasm

No i am not saying that at all, and no that is nothing like that scenario.
    The point that I want to find out what I can do about it just means I am not like take whatever comes at me, if something can be done - why not do it? :)

As others have said take your fine and move on.

Oh dear god :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭ger664

OP. When dealing with the the boys in blue you have to show them respect even when you are in the right. Its yes Garda, No Garda, Three Bags Full Garda. It may suck but thats life so suck it up.

WOW.....just......wow.

Wow indeed, I am amazed how many people are just so going with the police, ready to take everything literally from them and not saying anything. In real life I am just sure you all are either officers or love chatting to garda members freely. That's not the point anyway. I am not continuing any discussion anymore, I just want answers that's it, obviously older generation and young generation don't share the same views on police in country.

ger664 wrote: »
    OP. When dealing with the the boys in blue you have to show them respect even when you are in the right. Its yes Garda, No Garda, Three Bags Full Garda. It may suck but thats life so suck it up.

Why would I take **** attitude from someone who is kind of supposed to be neutral and just do their job and give ticket rather than snap and go off? No way, one thing I learned from all this is: always record all talks with police. Just in case, I am sure todays recording would be nice to have.

No, I don't need money, just want it to be fair or bit of justice. Surely even if 10 people write some kind of report against him ,I am sure somewhere someone will tell him: "There were few reports against you, we got rid of them" (I mean that's how police in Ireland works too, doesn't it? :) )
    that would make him at least a tiny bit less picky, ah damn even if he hears about that that will be a result :rolleyes:

Few reports from one incident, one of the drivers with no driving license, and all of them friends? Don't think it is going to work, but you can try.
    Honestly - move on, now if he used his baton or whatever to teach you i would support you. But you all know you were in the wrong.

Few reports from one incident, one of the drivers with no driving license, and all of them friends? Don't think it is going to work, but you can try.
    Honestly - move on, now if he used his baton or whatever to teach you i would support you. But you all know you were in the wrong.

No offense to anyone here, but I am sure even if garda would use baton, everybody would be on their side, apparently that's how it seems to be anyway.

Wow indeed, I am amazed how many people are just so going with the police, ready to take everything literally from them and not saying anything. In real life I am just sure you all are either officers or love chatting to garda members freely. That's not the point anyway. I am not continuing any discussion anymore, I just want answers that's it, obviously older generation and young generation don't share the same views on police in country.

Is this the conversation you wanted from the GUARD....

"Hello lads, how are ye doing?
    Look, I'm terribly sorry to be holding ye up like that pesky yield sign, but your friend there almost cost me my life.
    Ah, I know sure, aren't those rules of the road terriblt inconvenient, but sure not a bother on ye, there only rules. We'll let it go.

Oh, I see you don't have enough seats in your car for all your passengers. Not to worry, hop into the passenger seat of my car and I'll follow ye to where ye're going.....not at'all, tis no bother. Those criminals and dangerous drivers will all catch themselves.

So, ye good to go lads, anything else I can do for you lovely, responsible people?????????

Is this the conversation you wanted from the GUARD....

"Hello lads, how are ye doing?
    Look, I'm terribly sorry to be holding ye up like that pesky yield sign, but your friend there almost cost me my life.
    Ah, I know sure, aren't those rules of the road terriblt inconvenient, but sure not a bother on ye, there only rules. We'll let it go.

Oh, I see you don't have enough seats in your car for all your passengers. Not to worry, hop into the passenger seat of my car and I'll follow ye to where ye're going.....not at'all, tis no bother. Those criminals and dangerous drivers will all catch themselves.

So, ye good to go lads, anything else I can do for you lovely, responsible people?????????

No, but just do his ****ing job:
    Come up, tell whats wrong in normal manner, write out ticket, get ****ing lost, that's it. Nothing else required.

No, but just do his ****ing job:
    Come up, tell whats wrong in normal manner, write out ticket, get ****ing lost, that's it. Nothing else required.

I'm sure he would say the same about people like you driving. Ie. Just drive in the normal manner.

Really amazing to see so many people knowing so much about garda's duties and job, yet nobody knowing any of the answers for main thread questions? Anyone? As I already said, it's obviously that older people and younger people don't share the same views about the police so there is no point arguing really I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Really amazing to see so many people knowing so much about garda's duties and job, yet nobody knowing any of the answers for main thread questions? Anyone? As I already said, it's obviously that older people and younger people don't share the same views about the police so there is no point arguing really I think.
    They might, they might not. I bet they'd agree that you and your friend both deserved to be treated the way you were, though.

And gardaí (and all emergency services) are exempt from obeying the road traffic act in the course of their duties. That means they're allowed to speed while on-duty.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/2004/en/act/pub/0044/sec0027.html

Take the fine + points, or appeal and risk doubling your winnings.
    More importantly, learn from it. Seems ye were caught dead to rights, nothing you can do. Furthermore, it also seems like ye could have been done worse than what you've reported, so take that into account when badmouthing the "**** cop".
    Don't bother writing a report....not because it'll 'disappear' in dubious circumstances, but because you have no cause to.

What are these obvious differences between old and young views to which you refer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Anyone else bother to look at other threads the op has created?

He seems to like to get into a bit of trouble on the road. . .as does his friend . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭audidiesel

this is pretty much the first thread ive come across on boards that isn't blindly garda bashing. makes a very welcome change.

OP I suppose you could make an ombudsman complaint if you felt strongly enough about it. they are an independent body. but I don't really think you have any kind of case. personally, I think you may have gotten off lightly. your friend nearly caused a collision that would have certainly caused injuries, added to the fact that you had an overloaded car so at least one passenger was without a seatbelt.

From your posts, you don't seem to have grasped the potential seriousness of your and in particular your friends actions. I think you deserve the fine and should try and learn from the experience. there's no way im going to give you advice as to how to get out of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

I'm amazed at your attitude OP. You drove through a junction. Fair enough you got through without harm but 200 metres wasn't enough clear distance - especially not if you observed that the Garda was travelling at speed. Then your friend just blindly followed you. Your friend who is on a provisional license, didn't have his L plates corrrectly displayed and didn't have a fully licensed driver in the car with him. He blindly drove through a junction, causing the Garda to brake heavily, I can only assume.

And you're surprised that he was angry with the two of you? For him to then observe that you had an extra passenger in the back of your car could only drive a reasonable person into a rage. That means your passengers couldn't possibly have been properly secured. 6 people in one car. If your car was in an accident, it'd be this Garda or one of his colleagues who would have to attend that scene. I'm disappointed that he didn't charge you with something on the back of this fact as I don't want to share the road with anyone who thinks it's ok to drive around with unsecured passengers.

Both you and your friend broke the law and your friend, in particular, caused the Garda to take action so as to avoid an accident. If I was in his position, you can be damn sure I'd be angry too.

Take your medicine, don't pursue any action against the Garda and learn some valuable lessons. If you don't, I hope you get caught for doing something else stupid so I don't end up coming against you on the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Between you and your friend I can see, failing to yield, overladen car (no seatbelt for one of the passengers), no L Plates, no accompanied driver and dangerous driving.

However, the core of your posts is the attitude of the Garda. With the litany of offences outlined above, you and your friend obviously have a disgraceful attitude to other motorists and pedestrians who have to share the road with you. I also doubt it is the one and only time that you have done these things. You keep mentioning that younger people have a different attitude to older people towards the Gardai, perhaps it is time to grow up and accept your responsibilities when using the public roadway

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

2nd motoring offence OP?

You'd be well advised to learn to obey the rules, rather than give out about the attitude of a cop you annoyed.

You may get a nasty shock when these offences are considered when your insurance comes up for renewal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

This isn't the first time the OP's found themselves in a spot of bother. I've seen his previous threads...

From memory, he hasn't long passed his test. He's young, and has attitude. Not a good combination. That makes him an idiot. If you ask me OP, I think the best thing is to take your medicine, pay the fine and leave it at that. You got off lightly. YOU were wrong. You misjudged the speed the Gard was going at, and pulled out in front of him. I don't blame the Gard TBH. I too would be raging! I would also be looking at the amount of people you had in the car. If the car's overloaded, then it makes it that much harder to control. THAT is dangerous, not to mention foolhardy.

By all means make a complaint to the Ombudsman, but I have a feeling it won't get you very far. It also makes you a target. Not smart.

As for your idiot friend. No L plates, learner permit only, driving unaccompanied. One of my pet hates. Your friend can count himself lucky the Gard didn't lift the car which is what he's perfectly entitled to do. Clearly, he isn't ready to drive is he pulls out behind you because you did. That shows he too is a poor judge of speed and cannot make his own decisions in order to drive safely. That is why he should have a suitable driver with him.

In the case of your friend, I'd do nothing. Sit tight and wait for the summons. If it's a court matter, then by all means, he should get a brief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

youv've been stopped 16 times? I've been driving 40 years and have been stopped about 4 times in total, and in only one of those did I get a deserved ticket for speeding.

doesn't that give you a bit of a clue as to why the guy stopped you and maybe why he gets a bit pissed off at nearly being involved in accidents with boy racer types, entering the road carelessly without looking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

As a matter of interest: If a new driver has more than six points, in the first two years since passing the test can they be ordered to re-take their test? I don't know the law here, but certainly in the UK that can happen. Magistrates can also order that an extended re-test be taken.

Just wondered as the OP is a new driver. I wonder if he realises that points will affect his insurance. Not to mention re-taking his test if that's the law here.

Atlantis50 wrote: »

1 You pulled out onto a road when the way was NOT clear. 200 yards is not enough. If you were a more experienced driver, you would have known that.

2 Your friend was driving without
    * Full Driving Licence
    * Not displaying L Plates
    * Unaccompanied by an experienced driver
    * Uninsured, due to above 3 points
    He also failed to yield and almost caused a serious crash, due to careless driving.

In order to secure the safety of all other road users, you need to calm down and learn to drive safely. Go back over the Rules of the Road and take things easy. Too many people, young people in particular are being killed on our roads by inexperienced, careless driving.
    Learn from this experience and try to be considerate of other road users. Safe driving.

Something CAN be done. You need to take a long hard look at yourself and your driving. You pulled out in front of another vehicle, in a vehicle that was overcrowded. Learn the lesson and move on.
    Your friends criminal behaviour is none of your concern.
    Or, you could make an official complaint, take the Garda to court and get yourself fined or even jailed for wasting Garda time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Answers to your questions:

1. Accept the charges, learn from your mistakes and move on. You are free to appeal but nothing you have described sounds remotely like it's worth the effort as you would almost certainly lose your appeal and end up with double punishment.

2. Report away, but it'll be your word against the Gardas, and given the list of offenses the Garda will show i doubt you'll get very far.

3. Gardai are not allowed to break the law unless they have good reason to. Has it occurred to you that perhaps he had a reason to be speeding?

You're going to have to just take this as a learning lesson and move on. Your anger is all aimed at the Garda; try stop and take a look at yourself for a moment. You pulled out dangerously at a junction; you judged the distance but didn't take speed into account (how fast the Garda is going is irrelevant; even if they were going twice the speed limit it's up to you to judge this and yield accordingly). You also had a passenger too many in the car; be thankful you didn't get a fine/points for this also. Your friend has even less call to complain; if the Garda was 200 meters away from you i shudder to think how close your friend came to ploughing into him. A learner with a car full of unlicensed passengers pulling out illegally and almost causing an accident; they should consider themselves lucky that they still have a car to drive home in.

Look up your insurance policy also; I'd be amazed if having an extra passenger in the car wouldn't cause you problems there. God forbid have an accident where your passengers have to claim on your policy for injuries and you will be in a spot of bother when the insurance find out that the car was overloaded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,089 ✭✭✭keelanj69

So you meet 15 guards that were fine to get on with and 1 who was rightfully annoyed due to reasons mentioned above and now you're going to make every other guards job harder? (you're doing that already with your actions). Yeah, you won't be on the road long. Either you'll be banned or a statistic on a tv advert next year.

Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

Questions:
    1) What's friends best option? lawyer or what?
    2) Can passengers who witnessed disgraceful attitude of officer write some kind of report or something for him?
    3) Why are garda allowed to break law by driving on red and speeding?
    (Please don't give me your typical crap excuse: "They are having bad time already, don't blame them", its' a ****e excuse)

1. No idea, wait and see what the charges are
    2. http://www.rte.ie/radio1/liveline/
    3. You have no proof that the Garda broke the law, not that it is relevant anyway because they are permitted to break the speed limit in the course of their duties.

Also, Gardai are capable of reading forums and the whinging that goes on in them:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Jesus OP, I can't get over which aspect of this thread is more bewildering in its stupidity...the actions, or your sense of self-righteous indignation!

There's nothing that hasn't been said really. Overladen car, poor judgement, a friend who clearly shouldnt be driving. I've been a gob****e in the past on the roads, and still get stopped relatively regularly (nature of the car I drive), and have never found the guards anything but reasonable. Your actions entitled the guard to be just a tiny bit narky with you IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

Meh, too long to read.

FWIW the cops are always right. Get over it and move on.