Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You Know You're Irish When......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Sick of these nostalgia things buzz feed, journal, rot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,238 ✭✭✭Deank

You're embarrassed by your idiot country men / women, borders know no boundaries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Doodoo

efb wrote: »
    Sick of these nostalgia things buzz feed, journal, rot
    sorry i bothered!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

you know youre from dublin when these videos of culchie foibles masquerading as irishness make no sense to you

ireland: its not just boggers you know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,238 ✭✭✭Deank

Bambi wrote: »
    you know youre from dublin when these videos of culchie foibles masquerading as irishness make no sense to you

Just mostly ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

...you hear people complaining and begrudging non stop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Rastadoyle

ya talk about the famine....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Rastadoyle wrote: »
    ya talk about the famine....

Tut tut tut, too soon dude, too soon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

You understood it all, dont lie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

that video is the least funny thing republic of telly have ever done, and they've done some pretty unfunny ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Voltex

....you realise you country is sh ite at everything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Any key?

I wonder do other countries do these yokes, I have seen so many at this point....when I was travelling got sick of hearing other Irish people point out to non-Irish things about being Irish, got a bit cringy tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Any key? wrote: »
    I wonder do other countries do these yokes, I have seen so many at this point....when I was travelling got sick of hearing other Irish people point out to non-Irish things about being Irish, got a bit cringy tbh

The North/South divide in Britain is often referred to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭Kinder Bueno

SV wrote: »
    that video is the least funny thing republic of telly have ever done, and they've done some pretty unfunny ****
    No it's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

90% of that relates to Dublin stuff as well, ye're not a separate country you know, despite seemingly everyone from there thinking anywhere outside their area code is "the country".

yay for generalisations!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

I did laugh at the "Look at yer man with the scarf on... dick!" bit in fairness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    I did laugh at the "Look at yer man with the scarf on... dick!" bit in fairness

The best bit by far, pre judging strangers negatively is one of the worst village idiot traits of this nation, lost count of the amount of times I've been a knacker, quare, prick, etc, etc to some Joe Soap on a barstool or stood with his mate at a gig.

krudler wrote: »
    90% of that relates to Dublin stuff as well, ye're not a separate country you know, despite seemingly everyone from there thinking anywhere outside their area code is "the country".

yay for generalisations!

Sorry friendo, mammies waking you up for mass and asking what the priest said? Worrying about making the county team? Watching Glenroe? bouts of bogger jealousy?

That's not Dublin.

That's not even Ashbourne.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Sorry friendo, mammies waking you up for mass and asking what the priest said? Worrying about making the county team? Watching Glenroe? bouts of bogger jealousy?

That's not Dublin.

It is. Stop trying to hide your inner bogger. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

No it's not.

Convincing argument.
    Have you anything else that is less funny by them?

then again I stopped watching it when I found myself cringing at most of it.

cournioni wrote: »
    It is. Stop trying to hide your inner bogger. ;)

Pal, I spent summer holidays on a farm in Limerick. I have been amongst the spud gobblers and I was not like them.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Pal, I spent summer holidays on a farm in Limerick. I have been amongst the spud gobblers and I was not like them.
    Sure, keep trying to convince yourself that you're different. I actually find it quite amusing that you care so much about this. Just relax, loosen up and release your inner bogger. No one will judge you, unless they're like minded uptight Dubs afraid of losing face amongst their neighbours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I like to embrace my inner bogger and use words like 'gowl'. I also like to be real Dublin and say 'ah jaysis' and bleedin'.

Sure it depends how I feel on the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

That's a new one for me lol :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

You have a uncle John, aunt Mary or both. The weather is a constant topic of conversation.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 698 ✭✭✭belcampprisoner

if you cant laugh at yourself

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 713 ✭✭✭WayneMolloy

I hope you were quarantineed upon arriving back in the capital. We can never be too careful - you would never know what one could pick up in these places.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 713 ✭✭✭WayneMolloy

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    That's a new one for me lol :pac:

Sure us Dubs are just a pack of spoon burners!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

.....you can't rent an apartment in Perth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭tim3000

That's not Dublin.

I have lived in the country in some form or other all my life and not one of those things has happened to me at all even watching glenroe :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,383 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

You know you're Irish when .......

No matter how short a short cut you take there's always some cnut who knows a shorter way

And no matter how much of a bargain you got There's always some cnut who can get it cheaper :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Caribbean Cat

(Face like a cat licking nettles)...what tea do ye have here?is it Barry's?!no, I like Lyons...no honestly its grand its grand honestly! A full cup of stone cold tea left behind when the guests leave. They should have said!!!