Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Forum members representing Ireland

• 02-05-2013 9:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,361 ✭✭✭

Two long-standing members of this forum (Wounded Knee and Enduro) will be part of a strong Irish team at the upcoming 24hour championships. Full credit to the both of them (and the other two lads), that is a very tough looking team, best of luck out there!
    The World & European 24H championships will take place in Steenbergen, Netherlands on May 11th/12th. Ireland will be represented by a strong team in the men’s category.

The team will comprise of:

John O’Regan
    Eoin Keith
    Eddie Gallen
    Dan Doherty

The team is very experienced and some of the members have been in very good form recently. Eoin Keith set an Irish record over 48 hours at the beginning of the year. Dan Doherty has had some very strong performances over 100K including finishing 8th in the recent European Championships. John O’Regan is the reigning 24H national champion and along with Eddie Gallen competed strongly in last year’s World 24H event. A strong team result is a possibility if all goes to plan.

(mods I reckon wearing the green makes this a main forum rather than an events post :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭Enduro

Thanks KG! Excitment is building nicely for me at the moment. We have a great support crew going along as well (including another forum member - Le Cheile). I'll blog up some pre-race thoughts soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭jeffontour

Be sure to have a support member dedicated to flag duty or Doherty will never shut up! :)

Best of luck, looking like a very strong team and great support crew in place. The ingredients are there for a smashing performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

I was just going to post something similar within the IMRA thread.
    Best of luck to all the lads and in particular Enduro.
    One of the most impressive things is his range, second again there last night in a 25 minute race and off this weekend representing ireland in a slightly longer event!!!

I've said it plenty of times but we are very lucky to have such a madman in our midst :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Rogue Runner

Peterx wrote: »
    I was just going to post something similar within the IMRA thread.
    Best of luck to all the lads and in particular Enduro.
    One of the most impressive things is his range, second again there last night in a 25 minute race and off this weekend representing ireland in a slightly longer event!!!

I've said it plenty of times but we are very lucky to have such a madman in our midst :)

Second that. Best of luck all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭hot to trot

Am so excited about this I can hardly wait. We have such a strong team and I hope to gawd that the video feed and results don't collapse like last time.

I know its important international stuff but does anyone know if it is possible to message the competitors during the event?:o

Met up with John O'Regan at lunchtime where he gave me my allocation of the New Balance Irish team gear. The 100km lads reckon it wasn't particularly robust, and I can see what they mean. It's very lightweight indeed, so us ultras are probably using the gear a bit beyond what it was intended for. So we have 2 sets each of shorts and singlets to make sure we get through the 24 hours (I'm a messy eater/drinker at feedstations in races, so I'll definitely be putting them to the test!). I like the new tracksuits... the top is mainly white with green flashes/details.

We're in good form and looking forward to the race.

Enduro wrote: »
    Met up with John O'Regan at lunchtime where he gave me my allocation of the New Balance Irish team gear.

How was the sizing for you? I realise by asking that I've assumed you rushed off to the jacks in work to try it on! :) The lads found the tracksuits a bit big I think. It does look great though.

And be careful what you eat in that white top, there were a lot of near misses with tomato sauces pre-parade!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Woundedknee.

Cheers KG and all. As mentioned, we have a very strong Team and a very experienced and competent support crew. All we're missing is an excuse and we're not looking for one!
    The support is always noted and appreciated.

John

I guess the lads must be on their way by now. Irish 24 hour record must be up for grabs methinks;)
    So exciting. I'm so proud of the lads with all the preparation they have put in to get to the start line fit and well and ready to represent us all. I hope they enjoy the best race of their lives.

Over in the athlete's accommodation in Holland right now. All nice and relaxed so far! I've blogged a few quick pre-race thoughts this evening here. Thanks for all the good wishes. As ever, they're always appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BobMac104

Read your 72 hour blog. incredible!!!!
    Best of luck in Holland. Amazing men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

http://t.co/4oNKrNaQAd updates there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Bit of an update here:
    . LAPS Distance time avg speed
    68th 166 Dan Doherty IRL MSR 25 57,853 05:16:04 10,983
    94th 165 Eoin Keith IRL M40 25 57,853 05:24:36 10,694
    121st 164 Eddie Gallen IRL M50 24 55,539 05:16:04 10,543
    139 163 John O`Regan IRL M40 24 55,539 05:21:33 10,364

1st 188 Toshiro Naraki JPN M35 30 69,424 05:21:37 12,952

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Seems Dan had to pull out with injury. Unlucky he's in top form at the moment.

came across a link earlier which allowed messages to be sent to runners but I cant find it now, after hours of looking . Anyone got it ?
    Disappointing for dan

Eoin and Eddie getting on well and John giving another rock steady performance as usual.

You could tweet a message tagged #wcultrarun

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Eoin Keith 53rd 155km
    Eddie Gallen 115th 143km
    John O Regan 177th 127km @15:23

46th Eoin KEITH 189KM
    100th EDDIE Gallen 175km
    167th JOHN O Regan 150km

It takes a lot of guts to keep going when things arent going as you would like. Full respect to John who doesnt seem to be having his usual tally . Fingers crossed he isnt carrying an injury .

This is such a tough event, these guys are so unbelievably strong to keep it going hour after hour, digging deeper than most people could or ever would. We are proud to have them represent us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Enduro has just passed Greek ultra running legend Kouros, now in 30th.

http://nl.mylaps.com/evenementen/uitslagen/2013/may/11/steenbergen/live/WK_TusTot.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Is he finished? Joint 23th and 4th M40 from what I can tell? His nemesis from Across the Years is in 10th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Is he finished? Joint 23th and 4th M40 from what I can tell? His nemesis from Across the Years is in 10th.

It says "Intermediate Overall Results", so I presume that's the results at the finish, but not officially confirmed yet.

Enduro is 23th male and 26th overall. Quite some performance in a World championship, congratulations!

Final tally for those who may not have seen results board. Not sure if distance for final lap is included.

Eoin Keith 234.66km 15th place in European Championship
    Eddie Gallen 212.14 59th
    John O Regan 162.39 132th
    Dan Doherty 78.68 189th

New world best in ladies Mami Kudo ( Japan) 252km
    Overall World Men Jon Olsen ( USA) 269.67

Getting round to catching up with everything now. Hope you all enjoyed watching that! It was definitely an interesting race. A 5 hour sprint finish for me this time :D. I'm in the process of writing a race report, so will post here when its done. Thanks again for all the support and good wishes.

Finally ... a teaser with more to come :D

http://eoinkeith.wordpress.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭Mothman

Finally ... a teaser with more to come :D

http://eoinkeith.wordpress.com/

24hr report at same link.
    great read as always:)

I'm traveling down the country today from Ashford Co. Wicklow and I informed my daughter that when we get to Mitchelstown, that'll be about the same distance that Enduro covered on foot in the 24 hrs. She's like :eek: that's a long way!

Was just going to post to say the race report is there. No rest... now the Wicklow Way report has to be done! 360km+ raced in 2 weeks, with more to come.

First we had Superman Batman and Spiderman and then came a new generation of super heroes with more superpowers with the Incredibles ..... and now we have ...ENDUROMAN !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Enduro wrote: »
    Was just going to post to say the race report is there. No rest... now the Wicklow Way report has to be done! 360km+ raced in 2 weeks, with more to come.

Love your reports - definately scope for pulling them together as stand-alone chapters and publishing them. Someone gave me Dean Karnazes book 'Run' for Christmas and it has this approach. Reckon you'd have loads of material ready made.

Incredible running. Looking forward to the next report.