Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bad Driving Habbits

• 02-05-2013 4:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2

Hi.
    This morning while driving on the M9 Motorway near Kilkenny I passed a lady driving while reading a Kindle. The Kindle was attached to the dash on the right hand side of the steering wheel. To confirm what I thought I saw I slowed down and let her pass me. I then passed her again and I was right, it was a Kindle, Turned on. i could see the white screen.
    This wasn't the first time I've seen the same lady happily driving along reading her Kindle.
    This morning I decided to find out is it legal.
    I phoned the Garda station and told them the story.
    I was told that the lady was NOT commiting an offence because the device wasn't being held in her hand.
    The guard didnt ask for the details of the car so I didnt offer it as it doesnt seem to be an offence to drive while reading a Kindle, once its not being held in hand.
    I said to the guard that I hope the lady doesnt cause an accident or have an accident.. The Guards Reply was... So Do I.
    I have to say I was surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Taxburden carrier

Maybe she was reading "Rules of the road" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

More or less the same story as with phone calls - there is some ejit making the laws, thinking that the most important thing to keep trained on the driving are your hands, rather than your brain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

she is as surely breaking the law as if she was reading a newspaper. It's called "dangerous driving"

The Gards should have asked for details and pursued it! In fact you should go back and insist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭BohsCeltic

I i seen a motorcyclist speeding down the M50 a while ago cutting in and out of the 4 lanes but he obviously didn't notice the garda car which he undertook and went after him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭seagull

I think it would be very easy to charge her with driving without due care and attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Before Kindles came out,I spotted a woman reading a novel while driving.These must be the best books in the world if they lead you to put both your own & other's lives in danger by reading them while driving a car.

Speaking of bad driving,I just saw the front page of the local paper and there was a nice big picture of 2 car loads of young lads on the N11 just north of Enniscorthy acting the maggot.One lad was hanging out of the back window of the car.Hope the Gardai take their licences away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

CCTV the entire motorway network with HD cams and bang out the fines, points and driving bans for moronic road behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

seagull wrote: »
    I think it would be very easy to charge her with driving without due care and attention.

Of course it would. The Garda is a halfwit if they thought this woman was not breaking any laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭swarlb

Does a kindle have a 'spellcheck' ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I read it as Hobbits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I read it as Hobbits

Apt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

So reading my Satnav in the car is dangerous now? I might as well take down me trousers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Ilik Urgee wrote: »
    So reading my Satnav in the car is dangerous now? I might as well take down me trousers.

Glancing at a Satnav and reading a novel are completely different.
    One is a driving aid and the other is a complete distraction from driving.

CianRyan wrote: »
    Glancing at a Satnav and reading a novel are completely different.
    One is a driving aid and the other is a complete distraction from driving.

Where do you draw a line though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭Capri86

You draw the line exactly where the above poster said. One is considered a driving aid, the other a distraction. It's pretty obvious which category a sat nav falls into against say, a magazine, novel, book or sending a text

Capri86 wrote: »
    You draw the line exactly where the above poster said. One is considered a driving aid, the other a distraction. It's pretty obvious which category a sat nav falls into against say, a magazine, novel, book or sending a text

And lets just say it was an Ipad?
    I don't disagree what she was doing is dangerous, it's just I know what'll happen if the bureaucrats get their jaws locked onto this agenda. That'll be the end of all hand-held devices, including sat-navs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭Capri86

And lets just say it was an Ipad?
    I don't disagree what she was doing is dangerous, it's just I know what'll happen if the bureaucrats get their jaws locked onto this agenda. That'll be the end of all hand-held devices, including sat-navs.

Was the ipad being used for an aid or a distraction. It would be easy enough to see the screen of an ipad to know what it is being used for. But I get what you mean here. It seems hard enough for police to catch mobile phone users as it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

Texting whilst driving is nearly worse than reading a kindle altho that is really bad its stupid fu*ks like her that should be banned from the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Chemical Burn

If you are using a satnav, they require you only to glance for a half second, sometimes gps will often give you audible instructions, which will even remove the requirement for looking at it. Whereas in order to read a few sentences at a time, you will have to take your eyes off the road for 5 seconds at a time, which is all is required for a fatal accident. Can no one grasp this?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 79 ✭✭mister bishi

Hi.
    This morning while driving on the M9 Motorway near Kilkenny I passed a lady driving while reading a Kindle. The Kindle was attached to the dash on the right hand side of the steering wheel. To confirm what I thought I saw I slowed down and let her pass me. I then passed her again and I was right, it was a Kindle, Turned on. i could see the white screen.
    This wasn't the first time I've seen the same lady happily driving along reading her Kindle.
    This morning I decided to find out is it legal.
    I phoned the Garda station and told them the story.
    I was told that the lady was NOT commiting an offence because the device wasn't being held in her hand.
    The guard didnt ask for the details of the car so I didnt offer it as it doesnt seem to be an offence to drive while reading a Kindle, once its not being held in hand.
    I said to the guard that I hope the lady doesnt cause an accident or have an accident.. The Guards Reply was... So Do I.
    I have to say I was surprised.
    dont be so nosey, you'd probly cause a crash yourself bein a nosey neighbor id say u sit at home with a pair of binoculars out the window??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

dont be so nosey, you'd probly cause a crash yourself bein a nosey neighbor id say u sit at home with a pair of binoculars out the window??

How long did it take you to come up with that comment? surely your trying to have a wind up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Zcott

Could she have been using the text to speech feature to have it read to her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Don't mean to be a smartarse but if the OP was giving the road their full attention instead of nosing and making odd lane adjustments in order to facilitate this maybe their own driving might improve ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 79 ✭✭mister bishi

Zcott wrote: »
    Could she have been using the text to speech feature to have it read to her?
    she was probably lovin listenin to stephen hawkings voice readin

"fifty shades of grey"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭sogood

Drawing a line would be a distraction also. Drawing anything would be! Except if you're drawing a trailer, that's ok!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 698 ✭✭✭belcampprisoner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Kindle has text to speech function and has this person ever heard of audio books??? an insult to half wits to call her one. The apathy of AGS can shocking at times.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG