Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Xperia Ray Update Help

• 01-05-2013 10:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭

OK guys, i bought a ray about 16months ago on gingerbread and it was fantastic, 2 updates later and the phone is crap. Ive been trying in vain for weeks now to update it to the latest version but I cant.
    When i use PC companion, it downloads everything fine but when it comes to the hold volume down and connect phone to pc part it wont recognise the phone.
    the green led comes on like its half doing what its supposed to be but nada.
    I read online and downloaded drivers but dont know how or where to install them as they as .dll files.
    I tried the other sony update software but it still wont recognise the phone when i try to update it.
    if i have the phone on as normal it will recognise it alright.
    Please help this phone has been destroyed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Please! I know this is a boring thread to reply to but all you dev heads must know what to do :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

http://androxyde.github.io/index.html?1367505375000

Grab flashtool and install that. It should install the fastboot drivers itself.

If that doesnt work, then post back and I'll find the lil installer package that I came across before.

thank you, just downloading flashtool now.

installed flashtool and tried to update again but its still saying the last usb device you entered malfunctioned because it wasnt recognised by windows.

What version of windows. You might need to install the android SDK.

windows 8. it was the same on windows 7 too though. it recognises the phone when i plug it in normally, just not when im doing the volume down button craic
    even if you could point me to a guide where i could install a stable custom rom it would do. I had a custom rom on my last phone the zte blade but was only able to do it because of literally a step by step guide online :o

There are two ways to flash it for the most part:
    SEUS or PC Companion
    Flashtool

Both need working fastboot mode.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2170114 Try following this.

Saw that guide last night and thought things would be heading that way alright. :(
    any idea why its not working? on both win 7 & 8? it worked fine before

Saw that guide last night and thought things would be heading that way alright. :(
    any idea why its not working? on both win 7 & 8? it worked fine before

TBH, I got everything set up on my old machine, win7 64, and since then always done all my flashing from it. Didnt have that much of a problem setting it up though, its been a while though as above.

if you were in cork id pay you to feckin do it on your laptop.

thanks fior your help ill soldier on

Follow this to manually install the dll files as your drivers. Except instead of display adapter, you should choose your phone from the list.

just did that and it says i already have the most up to date drivers on my phone

Also this

thanks a million lads, ive to go to work now but i will try these tonight and report back. much appreciated. the last update ruined the phone and the camera is absolutely terrible now