Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Job Interview - Are Leggings okay?

• 29-04-2013 11:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

I have an interview tomorrow for a position in a nightclub, not sure doing what yet.

Its an informal affair, when called for the interview I was asked to "come in for a chat" rather than a scheduled interview.

I still want to look smart, though.

Would it be okay to wear a top not unlike this: http://www.awear.com/boutique-sale/jasmine-black-knitted-tunic-with-jewel-collar/invt/00081106black/?setlocn=eur&log=4

with some black leggings, either black or camel coloured blazer, nude pumps, nude tweed coat, and a nude patent bag?

I'm in my early 20's and a size 12 if that makes any difference. Too casual?
    I wore something similar to my last interview and got the job.

Thanks in advance!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

I think I'd go for tights for an interview

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Pippy1976

Oh my God, no, leggings are NOT ok for an interview! Do you want this job? Then wear tights with smart shoes / heels.

Crikey, where have our standards gone... IT'S A JOB INTERVIEW FOR CRYING OUT LOUD!!!! Keep in mind would the person going in after you could possibly be wearing - you want to knock them out of the water and regardless of what people say appearances speak volumes.

First impressions and all that. Just a point to note, leggings are barely ok to walk around your house in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

A friend of mine works for a recruitment agency, and a while ago I was asked to come in for "an informal chat" a week after an interview. He told me to wear a suit to everything they ask you to until you sign a contract. So I guess wear the female equivalent. You won't get loose any points with them for dressing too smart, too casual on the other hand...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭noddyone2

Leggings are TERRIBLE on anyone! Anytime! God above - the stuff people wear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

NO WAY. you wouldn't wear jeans to a job interview and leggings are even more casual again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Thanks for the replies, I wore tights and I got the job :)

I don't understand the extreme aversion to leggings, there's nothing wrong with them, I wear them all the time, even outside my house *shock horror*.

I can understand for a job interview, hence I asked were the too casual, but for day to day wear? Nothing wrong with them at all imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

I had a guy looking for a job in track suit bottoms runners and a tee-shirt look at mfunny when I told him to come back in a shirt a d tie
    Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Pippy1976 wrote: »
    Just a point to note, leggings are barely ok to walk around your house in.
    At night. When everybody else is out. And with the lights off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭noddyone2

WhiteRoses wrote: »

I don't understand the extreme aversion to leggings, there's nothing wrong with them, I wear them all the time, even outside my house *shock horror*.

I can understand for a job interview, hence I asked were the too casual, but for day to day wear? Nothing wrong with them at all imo.
    Glad you got the job.
    As for leggings - saw a woman in Glendalough last Sunday, see-through leggings, lacy panties, no skirt or tunic! Lovely (or not).

Leggings are best left in the '80's where they were terrible that time around too!

I just don't understand that people don't know we can see through them! Yes, we can see your knickers.. all the time... and it's not pleasant.. whether you're a size 10 or a size 20 but especially if you're a larger lady.

Not good. Ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,776 ✭✭✭✭fits

I actually think your outfit sounded fine for a job in a nightclub and don't understand the strong responses. The right leggings look great on the right person with a nice tunic

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

fits wrote: »
    I actually think your outfit sounded fine for a job in a nightclub and don't understand the strong responses. The right leggings look great on the right person with a nice tunic

You should always dress up formally for an interview no matter where it is for or what kind of interview it is. Dressing well gives a good impression of yourself.

You can't give that impression with leggings. At best its lazy dressing and you look like you're not bothered. At worst they are extremely unflattering (which they are on 90% of people) and that is the image of you left in the interviewers head.

The rule may be to not judge a book by its cover but remember that its the cover that you see firsr.

You should always dress up formally for an interview no matter where it is for or what kind of interview it is. Dressing well gives a good impression of yourself.

You can't give that impression with leggings. At best its lazy dressing and you look like you're not bothered. At worst they are extremely unflattering (which they are on 90% of people) and that is the image of you left in the interviewers head.

The rule may be to not judge a book by its cover but remember that its the cover that you see firsr.

and I disagree. I think outfit posted by op sounded quite smart.

To each their own I suppose. I certainly wouldn't hire someone who wore leggings to an interview though and clearly others here wouldn't either so I was advising anyone else I'd stick with being safe and not wearing them.

I was once refused a job in a shop because I wore trousers, a smart shirt and a cardigan to an interview. Was told my CV was perfect and I had enough experience but I just didn't reflect the young, hip and stylish image the shop wanted to convey.

I wore leggings to my last interview and got the job. At the same interview, the majority of girls wore jeans with nice tops and blazers. Boys wore chinos and shirts with converse. I remember seeing one guy wearing a suit and noting at our induction that he hadn't gotten the job.

Trousers and suits aren't age appropriate for me, and they're also not appropriate for the types of jobs I go for as a college student.

As for leggings, my rule of thumb is that the top half has to cover the bottom half at all times! For the most part I wear them with tunics and skater dresses. I agree that leggings as pants is a big no no :pac:

I was once refused a job in a shop because I wore trousers, a smart shirt and a cardigan to an interview. Was told my CV was perfect and I had enough experience but I just didn't reflect the young, hip and stylish image the shop wanted to convey.

I wore leggings to my last interview and got the job. At the same interview, the majority of girls wore jeans with nice tops and blazers. Boys wore chinos and shirts with converse. I remember seeing one guy wearing a suit and noting at our induction that he hadn't gotten the job.

Trousers and suits aren't age appropriate for me, and they're also not appropriate for the types of jobs I go for as a college student.

As for leggings, my rule of thumb is that the top half has to cover the bottom half at all times! For the most part I wear them with tunics and skater dresses. I agree that leggings as pants is a big no no :pac:

I never said that you had to wear trousers or a suit. I'm the same age as you and would have applied for many of the same type of jobs. I always wore a nice dress and blazer. You still need to dress smart though and I don't believe that leggings can be worn in a smart way.

I agree that leggings as pants is a big no no :pac:

Amen, sister!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

Whats wrong with leggings? Not as an interview outfit but generally?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Whats wrong with leggings? Not as an interview outfit but generally?

They don't suit most people who wear them. If you are wearing something long enough to wear it with tights then tights are way more flattering than leggings and if you wear them with something that is too short for tights then you shouldn't be wearing leggings either. They are handy for pregnant women though. But that is about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

OP, even if we assume you are female, leggings are only one step up from tracksuit. Not suitable unless applying for a very casual position.

meeeeh wrote: »
    They don't suit most people who wear them. If you are wearing something long enough to wear it with tights then tights are way more flattering than leggings and if you wear them with something that is too short for tights then you shouldn't be wearing leggings either. They are handy for pregnant women though. But that is about it.

lol. I like them, I wear them a lot. Both with things that are long enough for tights (I hate tights - urgh!) and with things too short for tights. I dont understand what is meant by
    if you wear them with something that is too short for tights then you shouldn't be wearing leggings either
    Why shouldnt you?

I wouldnt wear them to a job interview though, they are not formal enough.

They're simply not thick enough to be worn as an item of clothing. If I have to endure looking at another ladies thong / g-string / pants through a pair of leggings I'll go mad.

Honestly, even if you're stick thin they're awful. And if you wear them all the time without realising that they're very unflattering then you've come to the right place to learn that they are, as another person mentioned above, on a par with tracksuit bottoms or wearing PJ's as clothing.

Awful. If you have a pair - bin them. Now. Regardless of whether you like them, they're awful. Period.

lol. I like them, I wear them a lot. Both with things that are long enough for tights (I hate tights - urgh!) and with things too short for tights. I dont understand what is meant by
    Why shouldnt you?

I wouldnt wear them to a job interview though, they are not formal enough.

Leggings should be worn only with clothes that comfortably cover your bottom. Nobody wants to admire other people's knickers or cellulite.

My main problem is that there is large portion of women and more often girls who just can't dress themselves. The amount of girls who are not overly overweight but look fat just because they insist on wearing skinny jeans or leggings with flats is shocking. Neither leggings or skinnies are very forgiving item of clothing and one has to be very careful to make them work if you are above size 8.

They're simply not thick enough to be worn as an item of clothing. If I have to endure looking at another ladies thong / g-string / pants through a pair of leggings I'll go mad.

Honestly, even if you're stick thin they're awful. And if you wear them all the time without realising that they're very unflattering then you've come to the right place to learn that they are, as another person mentioned above, on a par with tracksuit bottoms or wearing PJ's as clothing.

Awful. If you have a pair - bin them. Now. Regardless of whether you like them, they're awful. Period.

Nonsense. Theyre totally grand. Nothing wrong with them at all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 755 ✭✭✭sea_monkey

Leggings are Gods gift to men.

(on the right bum that is)

My main problem is that there is large portion of women and more often girls who just can't dress themselves.

I realise Im in the Fashion and Appearance forum so what I am about to say is probably not representative of most people here but I really dont pay that much attention to what other people are wearing - and assume the same goes. Its just not that important to me. I was just curious as to why you thought there was something wrong with leggings.

Now I get it. I dont agree with you, but I get it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

ashion guru will you take us all under your wing so we can all dress appropriately to your likings?

Everyone in this thread. Seemingly born pre-perople's rights to wear clothing that accentuates certain features seems to assume the dernier of these leggings is like 1.

Its people like all you naysayers that are the sole reason we cant have nice things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

No, wear something smart like a trouser or skirt suit.

I realise Im in the Fashion and Appearance forum so what I am about to say is probably not representative of most people here but I really dont pay that much attention to what other people are wearing - and assume the same goes. Its just not that important to me. I was just curious as to why you thought there was something wrong with leggings.

Now I get it. I dont agree with you, but I get it.
    I admire the people who dress well and I notice the people who don't. We all notice how others dress, otherwise people wouldn't be asking what to wear to a job interview, wedding or where ever. If I'd say that polo necks don't suit women with larger bust nobody would be insulted. If something is fashionable or popular or comfortable it doesn't mean it suits everybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭ClubDead

Leggings belong in hell with Uggs, fringed (anything), velour tracksuits and many...many more fashion abominations.

Do women not realise that they are see-through and there underwear is visible. I once had the horror of walking behind a woman wearing black legging, thong and very visible panty liner. See link below for similar horror :(:eek::(

http://www.buzzfeed.com/amyodell/23-reasons-leggings-are-the-worst

^she was wearing a TUNIC over them!

What? Are you referring to to panty liner flasher that I saw (in that case no tunic). If you mean wearing a tunic over legging for an interview, well I dont think thats acceptable either.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 755 ✭✭✭sea_monkey

ClubDead wrote: »
    What? Are you referring to to panty liner flasher that I saw (in that case no tunic). If you mean wearing a tunic over legging for an interview, well I dont think thats acceptable either.

yeah but like, photo number 10.

sea_monkey wrote: »
    yeah but like, photo number 10.

Everyone has different tastes, I personally don't like them. I don't think they look good on a size 6 or 16. They aren't fashionable or flathering with or without a tunic. The OP asked if they where ok for a inteview and I don't believe they are acceptable.

Do women not realise that they are see-through and there underwear is visible.

Ive never seen a real person wearing a see through pair in fairness, but is that not just like some eejit wearing a pair of tights as trousers? Proper leggings are not see through, or at least, none Ive ever worn or seen!

I think that all this "oh they look awful on EVERYONE" hysteria is just silly. Sure, they wont look great on some people, but they will look fine on others.

I think leggings look grand - although I have never seen a see through pair!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 698 ✭✭✭belcampprisoner

no leggings and shave your legs

Ive never seen a real person wearing a see through pair in fairness, but is that not just like some eejit wearing a pair of tights as trousers? Proper leggings are not see through, or at least, none Ive ever worn or seen!

I think that all this "oh they look awful on EVERYONE" hysteria is just silly. Sure, they wont look great on some people, but they will look fine on others.

I think leggings look grand - although I have never seen a see through pair!

It's hard to find a pair of leggings thst AREN'T see through. Because of the way they're made they are never totally opaque. You might not be able to see that when you're wearing them but others can.

Also, I am yet to see someone actually looking good in leggings

It's hard to find a pair of leggings thst AREN'T see through. Because of the way they're made they are never totally opaque. You might not be able to see that when you're wearing them but others can.

Also, I am yet to see someone actually looking good in leggings

We must be talking about different things then because none I own are see through, they are quite heavy material - not like tights at all.

I do own a mirror and even better, a husband who checks out my butt, so I can assure you - Id know if they were.

But I mean, I see people wearing them every day, and I cant see through them!

Meh - what looks good to you is your opinion, what looks good to me is mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

As a 24 year old male I feel leggings have their place, on the right ass they can be amazing :) (once worn with correct g string etc, no one wants to see Brigit Jones knickers under them)
    I think the people who say they are terrible are the people who are too old/lacking in confidence/don't feel they have the right shape to wear them!
    I have always been somewhat bemused by women's fashions and there are many many things posted by the women of this forum that would detract from a woman's sexual attractiveness (from a males perspective) that are praised by other female members (from a males perspective) but leggings are not one of them :)

And I thought that puberty ends in teens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭lachin

What about jeggings? What are people's views?

I'm shocked that so many people think leggings are so hideous! Eek must rethink half my wardrobe... Always wear them with tunics and jumper dresses in winter.
    Although none are see through and always cover my rear end!!

lachin wrote: »
    What about jeggings? What are people's views?

I'm shocked that so many people think leggings are so hideous! Eek must rethink half my wardrobe... Always wear them with tunics and jumper dresses in winter.
    Although none are see through and always cover my rear end!!

Jeggings are leggings in disguise. :mad: Burn them...send them to hell! Just kidding :pac: to each their own, if we were all to walk around wearing the same clothes it would be a very boring world. I honestly just don’t think they are very flattering on anyone, tall/short/thin/fat. There are so many other options out there that would be much more flattering.

Leggings belong in hell with Uggs, fringed (anything), velour tracksuits and many...many more fashion abominations.

Do women not realise that they are see-through and there underwear is visible. I once had the horror of walking behind a woman wearing black legging, thong and very visible panty liner. See link below for similar horror :(:eek::(

http://www.buzzfeed.com/amyodell/23-reasons-leggings-are-the-worst

That link is stupid, if I looked I'm sure I could find a link about 23 reasons why trousers are the worst, or a different form of pants that are so "superior" to leggings.

If you buy cheap leggings, there's a risk they might go see through. Just don't buy cheap ones, and don't wear them as pants!

Leggings are a staple part of my wardrobe, I've never had a pair go see through and I've never spent more than €10 on a single pair :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭CaliforniaDream

That link is stupid, if I looked I'm sure I could find a link about 23 reasons why trousers are the worst, or a different form of pants that are so "superior" to leggings.

If you buy cheap leggings, there's a risk they might go see through. Just don't buy cheap ones, and don't wear them as pants!

Leggings are a staple part of my wardrobe, I've never had a pair go see through and I've never spent more than €10 on a single pair :confused:

Which one is it? :confused:

Nobody likes being told what they wear is awful so I get why there's a lot of people on the defensive.
    But leggings very rarely look good on anyone.

They are see-through whether you realise it or not. They might not be as transparent as tights but there's a lot on show when you wear leggings.

They're simply not designed to have good coverage.

And leggings should never be worn for an interview. It's insulting to the interviewer to be honest.

For the record I don't even own a pair.

Each to their own I guess. If I were interviewing someone for a job in a nightclub I would rather see them in outfit op (tunic, blazer, leggings) described than in cheap polyester interview clothes. I would also be more concerned that they looked clean, presentable and

Reliable rather than them fitting into any immovable notions of mine about what people should and shouldn't wear.

Its all about what's appropriate to a given situation.

Look, you asked if leggings where ok for an interview and then it descended into people’s opinion of leggings. I’m sorry if you or anyone else was offended, there are of course unflattering ways of wearing lots of clothes.

Unfortunately when you post on a public forum you are going to receive this sort of feedback. I’m sure there are things I wear that if I asked for an honest opinion of on here Id be told I look like a hideous hillbilly.....everyone is different, I like negative feedback, especially when it’s overwhelming. That way I can realise my mistakes and correct them.

Personally I don’t think leggings are trendy or ever look good. Either they are patterned and belong back in the 80s or plan, and whether you want to believe it or not do lose their coverage after several washing or when bending over.

Congratulations on getting your job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,871 ✭✭✭Karen23

All the negative comments about leggings have been because you can see your knickers/thong but the top the op posted would have covered her bum so you wouldn't have seen it. You'd only her legs which would have looked the same in tights but tights are considered acceptable ?

Karen23 wrote: »
    All the negative comments about leggings have been because you can see your knickers/thong but the top the op posted would have covered her bum so you wouldn't have seen it. You'd only her legs which would have looked the same in tights but tights are considered acceptable ?
    Thights go over your foot so they elongate legs with the right shoe. Leggings cut off legs. That can work for skinny tall people but not for anybody. Leggings are also a little bit thicker and less flattering. I think there are a lot worse wardrobe choices than leggings and tunic but so many people wear them in completely inappropriate ways that I'm just sick of looking at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,871 ✭✭✭Karen23

Thights go over your foot so they elongate legs with the right shoe. Leggings cut off legs. That can work for skinny tall people but not for anybody. Leggings are also a little bit thicker and less flattering. I think there are a lot worse wardrobe choices than leggings and tunic but so many people wear them in completely inappropriate ways that I'm just sick of looking at them.

So now the problem is you can see your feet ? First time that's been mentioned since the op.

I agree some people do wear them the wrong way. I have seen some shocking images of women wearing leggings, that I really could have done without seeing but I think they would have looked fine with the top the op posted because it was long enough but apparently not because you'd see her feet.