Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saturday 27th April $$$$

• 26-04-2013 7:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭

Fancy Saint Are in the Bet365 Gold Cup at 25/1 each way with the first five being paid. His beating of Battle Group off levels this time last year reads really well and is just a pound above that. Loves good ground

Also think Mister Green is an absolute lump job in the 3.15 at Sandown. It will be a sad sad day in my life if he's beaten. The kids will have to be put up for adoption.

A special well done to Richie Lawlor too, who's dad owned the winner of the first at Punchestown today. I'd say he's on the beer celebrating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

LEICESTER 4:30 TENHOO / TAWSEEF

MARKET RASEN 2:30 KIJIVU / MA TOOLAN

RIPON 2:20 TWO FOR TWO / DESERT CREEK

SANDOWN 2:05 VENDOR / TOPOLSKI

I will decide which I will pick for the accums tomorrow, the left overs I will punt EW small stakes, I will be busted or heading to Dubai for a wee treat.

So what are the tough races to pick a winner from tomorrow @ Punchestown, I do think there will be a few big price winners, (just finding them).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

LEICESTER 4:30 TENHOO / TAWSEEF

MARKET RASEN 2:30 KIJIVU / MA TOOLAN

RIPON 2:20 TWO FOR TWO / DESERT CREEK

SANDOWN 2:05 VENDOR / TOPOLSKI

I will decide which I will pick for the accums tomorrow, the left overs I will punt EW small stakes, I will be busted or heading to Dubai for a wee treat.

So what are the tough races to pick a winner from tomorrow @ Punchestown, I do think there will be a few big price winners, (just finding them).
    The 2 1/2 mile handicap hurdle looks the one that could throw up one

UrbanSea wrote: »
    The 2 1/2 mile handicap hurdle looks the one that could throw up one

UN BEAU MATIN / GOLANBROOK, distance ground and such like, will get my few dollars, (the dollar is stronger than the Euro, always bet with strong currency):confused: looks for a horse called currency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

Off to Punchestown myself and looks a rotten card but I do quite like Vics Canvas 15/2 in the big handicap hurdle. Vics Canvas has been very progressive since returning from a long spell on the sidelines and has some really strong form to his name. Comfortably beat Rogue Angel by 20L who was runner up in a handicap hurdle during the week and stepped up on the performance again when running extremely well behind the very progressive Dressedtothenines (rated 130 that day) who beat Zaidpour in a Grade 2 subsequently. The 3rd Rye Martini franked the form very strongly when winning a Hurdle race against much higher rated opponents yesterday and Vics Canvas is only 4lb higher than that run. Favourite The Paparazzi Kid was well behind that day and is only 2lb better off so I don't see the form being reversed. He unseated LTO at the 6th when still going well and if continuing progression I think he'll take an awful lot of beating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Tara / Diakali double 7/3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭MoscowFlyer

Thomas Chippendale is my big hope for tomorrow.

Feel good about that one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Brian2850

Galaxy Rock in 15.50 Sandown tomorrow. PP paying 5 places. 14/1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Fancy Saint Are in the Bet365 Gold Cup at 25/1 each way with the first five being paid. His beating of Battle Group off levels this time last year reads really well and is just a pound above that. Loves good ground

Also think Mister Green is an absolute lump job in the 3.15 at Sandown. It will be a sad sad day in my life if he's beaten. The kids will have to be put up for adoption.

A special well done to Richie Lawlor too, who's dad owned the winner of the first at Punchestown today. I'd say he's on the beer celebrating

Your hardly serious about Mister Green are you? but if you are he is 999/1 on betfair!

kryogen wrote: »
    Your hardly serious about Mister Green are you? but if you are he is 999/1 on betfair!

The odds upside down, nothing would even consider trying to beat it.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Cheers Urban managed to get a loan for Mister Green. Fingers crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

4 wins from 58 starts, should be odds on really.

I've gone in balls deep on Mister Green. The distance he'll put between himself and the rest of the field after a couple of furlongs will be frightening.

I feel like I am in the twilight zone, please tell me I am, tiss not often we get such a void in a race with no superstars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Punchestown

3.10 Aupcharlie @ 2/1: While Mikael D'Haguenet has a very good record at the track, just can't be having him for obvious reasons - as likely to make a bad mistake as he is to win cosily. The fact that he ran well in Powers Gold Cup to finish a good 3rd ahead of this weeks Gr1 winner Mount Benbulben doesn't convince me that he'll put it all together tomorrow either. Meade's Dylan Ross is an out-an-out bridle horse - he'd want to be waited with until a yard before the line to win a race of this quality. While Aupcharlie, himself, was accused of lacking fight at the finish by some after his 2 runs pre-Cheltenham, those races were over a 3m trip which he doesn't fully get - he was just out-stayed by better/more natural stayers in Back in Focus and Tofino Bay who've since gone on to frank that form. He travels through his races well bar Cheltenham when he never went an inch. Don't know what the excuse was for that run (maybe he needs proper soft or heavy) but I don't think 2m2 on heavy will inconvenience him at all tomorrow and @ 2/1 I'd rather back his jumping to hold up over the favs.

3.45 Wyck Hill @ 9/2: Obviously On His Own will be hard to beat but Wyck Hill looked very good when beating Katenko at Ascot on heavy in December. Katenko went on to frank the form well in his next couple of runs before Wyck Hill flopped in The Racing Post Chase LTO. The ground that day was good, good to soft in places and may have been a bit on the quick side for Wyck Hill's liking. Back on heavy ground tomorrow, he could bounce back to form.

Sandown

2.40 Sanctuaire @ 3/1: Won this race last year and seems to enjoy the Sandown fences. All four of his chase wins have come right handed and his record at Sandown is two wins and a 3rd in the Tingle Creek. Has won every chase race he's ran in that didn't contain Sprinter Scare. Finian's Rainbow is probably the best horse in the race but although running better at Aintree he still faded badly. Wishfull Thinking will run his race but Sanctuaire's Sandown form swings it for me. Small saver on Finian's as he has the right conditions for a return to form.

3.15 Thomas Chippendale@ 7/2 : Really like this horse so hoping he has trained on from last season. Won the King Edward VII Stakes at Royal Ascot but found the Leger trip too far. This is a trappy race with a couple of unexposed types in the field but Cecil's horses seem fairly forward and hopefully Thomas Chippendale's extra experience will tell. Small bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭unitedrover

rossom wrote: »
    I've gone in balls deep on Mister Green. The distance he'll put between himself and the rest of the field after a couple of furlongs will be frightening.

The new Frankel?

If there was a Frankel/Sprinter Sacre hybrid it would be Mister Green.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭ItAintMeBabe

If there was a Frankel/Sprinter Sacre hybrid it would be Mister Green.

I know you're being sarcastic..but I still feel like I have to back him now, just incase!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

Yes, by that you mean he will open up an unbeatable lead. /s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Sandown 2:40

It’s not really my style to go for horses at the lower end of the market, but I’ve had a good luck at this race and I can’t see anything other than Sanctuaire and Finians Rainbow winning this race. They have far better form that anything else in this competitive race, and although neither have been world beaters this season, they both have significant advantage’s going here. Finians Has had a light season and looked to be getting back to near his best at Aintree, he looks huge value. Sanctuaire has been poor enough trying to take on Sprinter Sacre on a few occasions on heavy ground and this race will be far more suitable for last year’s winner. I think the odds of either winning this is odds on and the current best price of 4/1 and 5/1 represent huge value.

3 Points win 4/1 Sanctuaire Ladbrokes

3 Points win 5/1 Finians Rainbow William Hill

1:30 Sandown

McVicar looks the best treated of those who took part in the Ascot Race a couple of weeks ago. He finished that race really well having been left far too much to do, and has a nice turnaround in the weights with those ahead of him who are lower in price here like Calculated Risk. He has a decent bit of experience and looks to be on a decent mark with the stable in form. 10/1 looks a few points too big.

1 Point win 10/1 Ladbrokes Betfair Boyles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭carmanard

Gone for Mr Watson in the 2.05 & The Rainbow Hunter in the 3.50 at Sandown, both need to be forgiven disappointing efforts LTO but at the prices I'm willing to take a shot that they can make the frame... Vics Canvas in the 5.35 & Rock The World in the 6.10 at Punchestown will definitely be carrying my cash too. Hoping it'll be lobster stuffed with tacos for the dinner again tonight!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,882 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

Outlaw Pete (again) 7-2 and Swordfish 13-2 at Punchestown.

Away we go 13-2 at Sandown.

Just checked my tracker horses for today and I have 2 going

Forgotten Hero - 4.55 Sandown

Goldstorm - 7.15 Doncaster

Sandown 3:50

This race has me totally perplexed, as I just can’t make a case for much of the field being any value for a number of reasons. I’ve settled on Duke Of Lucca looking the best value, as he has run well in similar big handicaps this season but has dropped 4lbs in the progress. I think he is value here because he wasn’t great last time at Aintree but that race was probably a bit pacy for him and this will be more in his line. Hi 3rd in the Racing Post Chase of this mark and his 2nd behind Roberto Goldback at the beginning of the season with 4lbs more look excellent as I’m not sure this race is a strong as those. He’s only had 4 races this season which should give him an advantage over much of the field and the 20/1 with bet365 for 5 places stands out considerably.

1 Point ew 20/1 5 Places Bet365

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

jimjamcos wrote: »
    Punchestown

3.10 Aupcharlie @ 2/1:

3.45 Wyck Hill @ 9/2:

Sandown

2.40 Sanctuaire @ 3/1:

3.15 Thomas Chippendale@ 7/2.

they all look good to me
    had a big bet on wyck hill when he flopped but looked really
    progressive before that

quite happy to take on mikael at the short odds with charlie also

Punchestown 3:50

Cross Appeal ran well in the Irish National for a lot of the race, andthis race should be far more suitable. He is still 5lbs higher than his big win last year in the paddy power but he did run a good race in the galway plate last year after pulling up in the national. It’s entirely possible that he will be aimed at the plate again but he looks great value at 33/1 here. He has plenty of good form on soft ground.

1 Point EW 33/1 Ladbrokes and others

Punchestown 5:35

Princeton Plains has been running well in better handicaps that this one a few times this year and last. He is on a mark he can work of and has proven form on soft ground. I’m surprised he available at the price he is at as he has been backed with confidence a few times this season. The 5places and 18/1 available with bet365 stands out as decent value as he is a fairly consistent horse and very likely to place here.

1 Point EW 18/1 5 Place Bet365

Went through the card in the 2.05 at Sandown and the one I have came up with is Barbatos @ 12/1. Hopefully will bounce back today after his last outing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭superfurry1

Mercers Court in the bumper today on breeding looks very interesting love court cave horses :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

Accumulator of the day

Tarla
    Diakali
    Sanctuaire/Finians Rainbow
    Golden Hoof (1st in Market Rasen)

10 pays over 400

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭liamoreilly

Also think Mister Green is an absolute lump job in the 3.15 at Sandown.

...Now imagine the reaction if this turns out to be the biggest plot job in recent history...

Kind of fancy Shadow Eile to turn over Tarla in the mares' race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Got word for Lady Kashaan in the 2.55 at Ripon, owner has put 500 on it to win.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

...Now imagine the reaction if this turns out to be the biggest plot job in recent history...

It wouldnt win if they let if off now :D it'll be on crime line last seen going to the start :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭Cart

Gringo180 wrote: »

Hi all love to read what all ye lunatics have to say on here,gives me an right good laugh. Anyway met mate of mine just a few minutes ago and he got a call from England to back manyriverstocross in above race,graham lee riding expected to win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭carmanard

Ah FFS, just as Mr Watson starts to move forward he gets brought to a complete halt by a faller, thus giving McLernon the excuse he needed to ensure a drop in the handicap for him rather than blatantly not try & risk the stewards wrath. As if one of Jonjos needs an excuse to not try...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,962 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

Gringo180 wrote: »

Balls I thought it was gonna get up in the last 100 yards :mad:

Feck it anyway's, corn beef sambo's for dinner it is :o

Really nice performance by Al Kazeem

Very impressive, he travelled like a class horse. He is one to watch out for, for the likes of The Coronation Cup & King George.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

What happened to Mister Green? My first horse bet in months wasted on him no wonder i gave them up :mad:

Lads is anyone watching Racing Uk?? That presenter is a pain in the hole. Delighted for him, before Flaming Gorge hacked up at Market Rasen

''This horse can not win. He's terribly handicapped will not win''.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

Mullins haters in absolute seeth mode at this stage,the man is an absolute genius long live king willy

a 1,2,3,4 in a grade one today,a mares grade one and a big win out of the papparazi kid followers in absolute clover :cool::pac:

You'd have to be an idiot to back him blindly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭sonnky

Millerina in the next is out of Solerina! What great mare she was hopefully this filly will be half as good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭hawkeyethenoo

SRFC wrote: »
    Mullins haters in absolute seeth mode at this stage,the man is an absolute genius long live king willy

a 1,2,3,4 in a grade one today,a mares grade one and a big win out of the papparazi kid followers in absolute clover :cool::pac:

would you ever shut the **** up seriously. who has ever said they hate mullins. and i thought you werent backing? :rolleyes: but the days he cleans up you magically appear. :rolleyes: do everyone a favour and **** off back into the hole you came out of you annoying tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

I'd wager that there is not one person on here who doesn't back Mullins horses. There is a major difference between that and backing every single one of his however. It's a well-known fact that if you backed Mullins odds-on horses to a euro stake over the last 2 years you'd be down a significant sum. This notion that punters can/should just back all Willies horses blindly just because he's cleaning up is the height of stupidity. He had the first 4 you mention today because he had 4/6 of the field. It's extremely doubtful he'd of had the winner had Our Conor held his ground.

You like to make out that Mullins has all these "haters" but you're the only person who mentions it. I'm sure any horse racing fan would appreciate the genius of the man and the operation he has in place.

What you seem to fail to take into account is that the quality Willie is working with is on a different planet to every other trainer in Ireland. His owners, his buyers and the number of his quality horses is on a different level to anyone else. Of course he is going to dominate as success breeds success just like Alex Ferguson and Manchester United in football but does that mean that everyone should blindly follow them or him off a cliff at prohibitive odds?

Willie had a big treble yesterday that only paid 7/2 - a sign of his utter dominance. Regardless of what you say, Mullins followers for every Papparazi Kid winner will have backed a Ballycasey or Tarla loser. Logical punters will try distinguish the Mullins horses who represent true value from the ones who are priced on his reputation and apparent "word from the yard". Somehow I doubt you'll every separate yourself from the Willie fandom and hype his great status brings.

By the way...who was the "machine" he had running this week that had "passed the post"?

Oh and I do love how you spell "Willy".. :P

long live king willy

gay-seal-gif.gif

The jockey won that there! Great ride.