Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Healy - Rae

• 26-04-2013 7:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭

25/04/2013 - 21:00:19
    Kerry TD Michael Healy-Rae says a debate is needed on whether people should be allowed to buy guns to protect themselves.

The Independent deputy for Kerry South himself owns a number of legally-held firearms.

While people can legally own a firearm for a number of uses, the protection of yourself or your home is not among them.

Deputy Healy-Rae told Radio Kerry that it's time a debate was started on whether a change is needed.

"That is a subject and an issue that… should be aired and discussed," he said.

"What we are relying on more and more is our community alerts.

"The guards can't be everywhere."

Saw this on Breaking news this morning.

Having this fella admitting publicly that he has firearms will set the shooting community back years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭Tommy87

Why would it set it back years?? Just asking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

rsole1 wrote: »
    Having this fella admitting publicly that he has firearms will set the shooting community back years.

No it won't. It is an issue that needs discussion. It is only very lately that the law was on the side of the scumbag breaking into your house. There wasn't much of a change made in the law but maybe it could be the start of something better.

I heard him on Pat Kenny this morning and he made a lot of sense, once you separated the political jibes from the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Hey folks,

Firearms for self defense is off topic here so closing this one down. I'm sure this will be picked up in politics or one could start a thread there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Speaking as a Kerryman myself, that fecking eejit is just trying to get airtime, and I don't think we should be giving it to him here. Take it to politics guys if you must, (even if its true home ought to be Humour)