Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Mountains Way - anyone fancy running it this Saturday?

• 24-04-2013 10:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭

Anyone fancy running the Dublin Mountain Way this Saturday (April 27th) by any chance?

I'm thinking I might do a handy run along it at moderate pace, maybe jog the uphills, run the downhills, and towards the tougher sections walk if required.
    At the moment Saturday looks relatively decent with just a shower or two and any wind present being a Northerly cross-wind.

I could do this any time from an early to mid-morning start-time. The run would probably take approx 4.5 hours, so equivalent ability level to a 3.5 hour road marathon I guess?

The main issue would be logistics to return to our transport after we finish but we can sort that out later.

So, who's in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭statss

Would love to Belcarra, but not available this weekend. Was actually planning a mountain run like this (maybe not as long however) one of the days of the May Bank Holiday weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Would love to join you J but am trying to shift an ankle problem I picked up the week after Conn. would defiantly be up for it in a few weeks when I'm back running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

sideswipe wrote: »
    Would love to join you J but am trying to shift an ankle problem I picked up the week after Conn. would defiantly be up for it in a few weeks when I'm back running.
    +1. Would be up for it in a few weeks time, when I'm a little more recovered from recent exploits (and definitely in June/July if anyone fancies it). Ran the original route a couple of years back and it was fab run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Unfortunately I've three marathons in the following three weeks so no chance I can do it other than this weekend! I was thinking alright you might need a little more time off after London KC.

Ah well, all the more pints for me en route in Johnny Fox's!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

it's definitely my aim to run this sometime this year, but this weekend just doesn't suit (or the following two). I'll have to pick some weekend KC isn't doing it as I don't want to be left too far behind :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Should make this as a boards outing but not a race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 524 ✭✭✭b.harte

I'd be on for this only expectant wife has me within a 30 min radius, any time after June I'll do the spin up from Cork.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

With a picnic along the way :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

cake!

cake!

Only one slight problem, how will we transport this stuff it running. Could we not jsut stop somewhere and ring for pizza:D

Only one slight problem, how will we transport this stuff it running.
    What? Of course the staff will carry it. :confused:
    indeeds.jpg

In fairness, the faster runners can carry the food. I mean we have to slow them down some how.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 MacAttackJ

Did most of it this morning. Started at Firhouse, and went up through Masseys to join the DMW at Cruagh and on to Shankill.19 miles. Glorious morning for it. Stiff Westerly breeze was on my back the whole way. Felt like I was on an escalator going up Fairy Castle. Johnnie Foxes was closed (it was very early) but got a bottle of water at the petrol station in Kiltiernan. Wore road runners. Very dry underfoot, although it is supposed to rain later today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭jeawan

Have a good Run lads would love to come but not able to make it out Saturday .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

I'd be up for it later in the Summer also.
    I'm also planning a Bray to Wicklow along the coast, a few sections I haven't run that I need to figure out, reckon it's 18 - 20.

I went ahead and ran this solo on Sat morning.
    Getting lost in Kiltipper at the start of the run managed to add a couple of kms onto the total.
    More feedback can be got here.

savage, that's a very detailed description, fair play.

belcarra wrote: »
    Getting lost in Kiltipper at the start of the run managed to add a couple of kms onto the total.
    Enjoyed the report. I remember how tough those final climbs up the Scalp and Carrigologan were. I think everybody stops at that petrol station. The shop-assistants must be well used to bedraggled tired, bleeding, hungry runners looking for sugar!

so guys, is there a demand for a group run at some stage over the next while then yeah? shall we explore potential dates that suit everyone? How about Saturday morning May 25th as a starting attempt?

Enjoyed the report. I remember how tough those final climbs up the Scalp and Carrigologan were. I think everybody stops at that petrol station. The shop-assistants must be well used to bedraggled tired, bleeding, hungry runners looking for sugar!

of course going around Carrickgollogan is only showing off as its not part of the 'official' DMW :D

statss wrote: »
    so guys, is there a demand for a group run at some stage over the next while then yeah? shall we explore potential dates that suit everyone? How about Saturday morning May 25th as a starting attempt?
    Being selfish here, but Sundays suit me better - usually training the junior Crusaders of a Saturday morning - but if it's arranged for a Saturday I could probably cry off for one week

PaulieC wrote: »
    Being selfish here, but Sundays suit me better - usually training the junior Crusaders of a Saturday morning - but if it's arranged for a Saturday I could probably cry off for one week

Sunday's are fine with me.

Yep and now belcarra is going to be the guide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Killerz

Nice, really enjoyed that report. Never been running up around there....all the more keen on it now after reading that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭DogSlySmile

I'd be on for it but that date counts out anyone running the IMRA WW relay/solo, maye rearrange for the next weekend? (Which suits me better anyway :P)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

I'd be up for that count me in*

*weather permitting of course. I dont run in strong winds.......or strong winds + rain.........or strong winds + rain + freezing cold. Other than that Im good

25th May is bad for me have a Adventure race that day , Sunday would probably suit me better , i generally run in the hills 3 nights a week anyway if anyone in interested in joining .

tunguska wrote: »
    I'd be up for that count me in*

*weather permitting of course. I dont run in strong winds.......or strong winds + rain.........or strong winds + rain + freezing cold. Other than that Im good

You must not run much in Ireland then ;)

jeawan wrote: »
    25th May is bad for me have a Adventure race that day , Sunday would probably suit me better , i generally run in the hills 3 nights a week anyway if anyone in interested in joining .
    25th May is Wicklow Way Relay Day anyway. I'm guessing that lots of potential runners will be ruled out that day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I used to know that area fairly well but couldn't figure out where the short cut was from the start to get to the reservoir until I ran the Dublin Mountain Way race last year.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    I used to know that area fairly well but couldn't figure out where the short cut was from the start to get to the reservoir until I ran the Dublin Mountain Way race last year.

Just chatting to a work colleague who's from the area and she has confirmed it is the road for the nursing home. I had stopped at that point to have a good look for a waymarker but there was nothing to be seen so continued on down the road:(.

Yeah, straight through the nursing home and into the park. I was racking my brains when looking at a map of the course trying to figure out how you appeared just across from the entrance to the reservoir, had I been on my own I would have done what you did and went the long way around.

Just chatting to a work colleague who's from the area and she has confirmed it is the road for the nursing home. I had stopped at that point to have a good look for a waymarker but there was nothing to be seen so continued on down the road:(.
    Here's the route I took. I didn't get lost until I hit the resevoir. On the day, I had convinced myself that I needed to take the first bridge across the water and stood at the other end of the bridge humming and haw'ing for 5 minutes, before correctly retracing my steps.

What's the new section from Two-Rock to Johnny Foxes like? The old way was a very annoying boring long road section.

Here's the route I took. I didn't get lost until I hit the resevoir. On the day, I had convinced myself that I needed to take the first bridge across the water and stood at the other end of the bridge humming and haw'ing for 5 minutes, before correctly retracing my steps.

What's the new section from Two-Rock to Johnny Foxes like? The old way was a very annoying boring long road section.

First to note that the trail no longer goes up through St. Ann's graveyard, instead you have to continue all the way to the main road at Castlekelly and then double-back around along the roads to the top of St. Ann's. This section is along quite laneways but is a little boring all the same.

The Way now drops straight down to Three Rock from the Fairy Castle and then travels along the fire road in the opposite direction to the way you ran to Three Rock. We then drop in through the forest and emerge out beside a random house on the Ballyedmonduff Rd. From there it reverts to the boring road section through Glencullen and onto Kilternan. (What happened your route here. Did ya grab a lift off a low-hanging aircraft??)

Here's my route from Run the Line back in October
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/245393568

You can see where the routes vary from Two Rock. As Belcarra said you come out at some random house, at the time I wasn't sure if it was private as there's a gate or two around that area. When you get to the road you just go towards Glencullen from there.

belcarra, myself and Krustys routes are identical until Two Rock, which part do you mean around St. Anns graveyard, or are our routes the same as yours ?

First to note that the trail no longer goes up through St. Ann's graveyard, instead you have to continue all the way to the main road at Castlekelly and then double-back around along the roads to the top of St. Ann's. This section is along quite laneways but is a little boring all the same.
    Bit of a shame, but understandable, given the need to preserve the graveyard, which was already showing signs of wear and tear, despite the fact that the DMW had only opened up.
    The Way now drops straight down to Three Rock from the Fairy Castle and then travels along the fire road in the opposite direction to the way you ran to Three Rock. We then drop in through the forest and emerge out beside a random house on the Ballyedmonduff Rd. From there it reverts to the boring road section through Glencullen and onto Kilternan. (What happened your route here. Did ya grab a lift off a low-hanging aircraft??)
    I accidentally stopped my watch while taking off a layer of clothes. Always felt like I had to re-do the route after that. Hopefully will get a chance soon. It was nice and snowy in sections when I did it. Made for a great experience.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Here's my route from Run the Line back in October
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/245393568

You can see where the routes vary from Two Rock. As Belcarra said you come out at some random house, at the time I wasn't sure if it was private as there's a gate or two around that area. When you get to the road you just go towards Glencullen from there.

belcarra, myself and Krustys routes are identical until Two Rock, which part do you mean around St. Anns graveyard, or are our routes the same as yours ?

There is actually a slight deviation between your two routes around the Southern end of the reservoirs. Krusty's is about 1500m shorter as he went a more direct route (the old Way which has since been changed). Krusty took a left up the hill before the end of the reservoir but you went all the way to the main road like I did so you did the new way.

Ah, I see it now, missed that first time around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

Would really be interested in this, but not in the shape for it yet as Im not running beyond 14/15 miles at a time, so I will join in one later in the summer :)

[May 25th is also my stag weekend, so I dont think I can get a pass from the lads for a mountain run :D]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Letyourselfgo

Enjoyed that, thanks for sharing.

That was a great report, thanks.
    I remember seeing that route on the tracks and trails program, was that the one with Ken Doherty and yer wan from fair city? ;)
    Looked like a nice route (if it was indeed the same route).
    Anyway, I'd be on for that later in the year, new arrival is due end of may / start of June so any time after that is grand*

Haven't been in Johnie foxes in years, do they still do those nice big bowls of mussels?

*Subject to herself signing off on yet another permission slip*

Yep, that was the one

To give everyone a decent bit of notice, to avoid the IMRA races and the June Bank Holiday weekend, how about either Sat 8th or Sun 9th June ?

If we can agree on a date, I can start a thread in the 'events' forum (1st Annual Boards Dublin Mountains Way Traverse).

Belcarra, can you add a poll to the start of the thread to see what date suits the majority ?

Ha, ha, ha! I can in me b@llox!
    Nothing mean-spirited or anything but I just don't know how!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

Sounds great. I'll run the first 3kms and then turn back ;-) Really jealous!

Ha, ha, ha! I can in me b@llox!
    Nothing mean-spirited or anything but I just don't know how!

Lolz...either do I!! I thought it was because I didn't start the thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭sideswipe

To give everyone a decent bit of notice, to avoid the IMRA races and the June Bank Holiday weekend, how about either Sat 8th or Sun 9th June ?

If we can agree on a date, I can start a thread in the 'events' forum (1st Annual Boards Dublin Mountains Way Traverse).

I'd be on for either day. Don't know how to do a poll either.

Sat 8th means you can go to the pub afterwards....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Sat 8th means you can go to the pub afterwards....

Finishing in Shankhill, that's close to Kilboget track. You can go for a Beer Mile afterwards :pac:

I'm actually away that week myself :( being selfish any weekend from Sat June 22nd onwards would work for me but don't let that stop the run if the majority suits the earlier date.