If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

[CoD Ghosts] General News and Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

AGB_Ghost wrote: »
    PS4 players may find a few issues with FPS in the coming weeks.

http://gearnuke.com/call-duty-ghosts-ps4-reviews-point-technical-frame-rate-issues-game/

With the review embargo on the X1 version, it may not be limited to the PS4, the X1 footage today looked shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,384 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Xenji wrote: »
    With the review embargo on the X1 version, it may not be limited to the PS4, the X1 footage today looked shocking.

Yep, spent about five minutes looking at that thinking it was the 360 version.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,151 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Lowest reviewed COD game yet so it seems.

Also the PC version system requirements are complete bollox. There's already mods to allow the game to run under the '6GB' requirements, as the game only runs on 2GB RAM in first place! FOV mods out already as they stupidly locked it to 65.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Anyone get it at midnight launch last night? were many there for it or was it more low key than previous years? interesting to see how this will do sales wise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭ECO_Mental

I was at Xtravison in Douglas and there were two of us....

They were giving out free pizza so my self and the other lad and two pizzas each:D

yer man said that they had only about 7 pre-ordered

6.1kWp south facing, South of Cork City

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ferrigan101

krudler wrote: »
    Anyone get it at midnight launch last night? were many there for it or was it more low key than previous years? interesting to see how this will do sales wise

I sauntered down to my local Gamestop last night about half 11 and there were 10 folk in the queue in front of me. By midnight there were maybe another 10 behind me. I'm pretty sure I was the oldest person in the queue (discounting the parents there with the 12 year olds).

No craic whatsoever. Was back home and playing by quarter past midnight or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭CptMackey

Normally my friends list would be all playing the new cod. There is only one fella playing it. There are even 2 playing the first black ops.

It's unreal compared to other years. I have even switched to battlefield

Unreal lack of hype for it this year, hopefully this will finally be the straw that breaks the back and Activision realise their golden goose is no more.
    I was on the fence about it but skipping it now, can't be arsed and the more people who buy it just because it's COD just tells Activision they can shovel out the same old rubbish every year and people will lap it up.
    It sucks that as a gamer I actually want a title to do poorly, but it's the only way the developers will learn that continually churning out a product that gets worse every year isn't the way to keep your fanbase happy. The previous games are all flawed, all of them, but they were fun enough to keep you powering through for the good stuff, but this looks garbage and I can't justify to myself paying money to devote time to something I won't enjoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Unreal lack of hype for it this year, hopefully this will finally be the straw that breaks the back and Activision realise their golden goose is no more.
    I was on the fence about it but skipping it now, can't be arsed and the more people who buy it just because it's COD just tells Activision they can shovel out the same old rubbish every year and people will lap it up.
    It sucks that as a gamer I actually want a title to do poorly, but it's the only way the developers will learn that continually churning out a product that gets worse every year isn't the way to keep your fanbase happy. The previous games are all flawed, all of them, but they were fun enough to keep you powering through for the good stuff, but this looks garbage and I can't justify to myself paying money to devote time to something I won't enjoy.

I understand what you're saying but you haven't played it. To me it's like a film, I'll take others reviews onboard but ultimately I'm gonna watch it for myself and decide then, just like I'll do with this.

Maybe it is **** but I'd like to play it myself and decide for myself

Edit: 8 outta 10 on my friends list are playing it. The two who have played a few hours said they enjoyed it, it just takes some getting used to

I understand what you're saying but you haven't played it. To me it's like a film, I'll take others reviews onboard but ultimately I'm gonna watch it for myself and decide then, just like I'll do with this.

Maybe it is **** but I'd like to play it myself and decide for myself

Oh I agree, and I'm all for judging something on it's own merits for myself, but I just can't justify paying 50-60 quid again for something that even from watching gameplay vids is annoying me. It's like every time the series takes some sort of positive step forwards it takes three backwards. So fool me once Activision (well it's more like three times)..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,265 ✭✭✭MiCr0

...Sounds like someone is offering ;)

Install the new call of duty app and you can see doc has setup one already :-)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18 _YOLO_

CptMackey wrote: »
    Normally my friends list would be all playing the new cod. There is only one fella playing it. There are even 2 playing the first black ops.

It's unreal compared to other years. I have even switched to battlefield

The brand is dying because the lack of innovation. Simple as.

Titanfall will devour this without salt. The guys over at Respawn must not know whether to laugh or cry tonight. Laugh because the competition is beatable, cry for the fact that Activision have managed to make a mess of Respawns baby so much.

History has a habit of repeating itself. Activision destroyed every brand they managed to get hold of - Guitar Hero, Tony Hawk etc....

Here we are, on the cusp of a new generation and entering 2014, yet we're still subject to a 15 year old engine...

It's. just. not. good. enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Well not enjoying it much as of yet, not a fan of the loadout system. Doesn't suit my rushing play style either, bar crank mode which is ok-ish. Those dogs are bollox, they must have cross bred them with kevlar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

Is everybody who is moaning about this game on multiplayer not scoring as high as they used.

Pre-ordered from amazon only dispatched now, might get it for Monday. All franchises die because you can only alter so much, FIFA has been dead years but they make up spoof about improved shooting everybody buys the game again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭MarkY91

few more hours of playing and im starting to relise that its not going to last long. its a little boring at times.

ive put my PS4 copy up on adverts.ie and will keep my PS3 copy until the PS4 is out.

i guess its finally time for me to switch my main FPS :( ill get both killzone and BF4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭Bohrio

I have bought on release day every CoD game since MW. After BO2 big but not unexpected disappointment I decided not to buy Ghost on the release day and wait to see other peoples opinions. I was going to get it with my xbox one on the 22nd of this month.

so far I have heard that lag compensation is as bad if not worse than in BO2 (main reason why I couldnt play BO2) which was making me consider not buying it.. but now I just heard that there wont be SnD? wtf? seriously?

That's all I play... so no Ghost for me.. I just find it very hard to believe that someone decided to remove this game type... what were they thinking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

I don't think the game is near as bad as everyone seems to make out

The first hour was terrible for me but in time I got the feel for the guns and the maps and it's grand now. Played about 4 hours now and it gets better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭Ramza

Yeah seems fine for me, apart from bitta lag comp, maps are a nice change, takes a while to get used to but had some really good games earlier. I personally enjoy it but that's just me, perk system is brilliant.

Also, lol amplify

the killstreaks are horrible. there is **** all to choose from in the main killstreak list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

So how does it compare to ops2?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18 _YOLO_

Bohrio wrote: »

so far I have heard that lag compensation is as bad if not worse than in BO2 (main reason why I couldnt play BO2) which was making me consider not buying it.. but now I just heard that there wont be SnD? wtf? seriously?

Ground War, Demolition, Capture the Flag are all gone too.

Headshot wrote: »
    So how does it compare to ops2?

i loved black ops 2 so in my case, its a step down.

the franchise has been done to death. im a huge cod fan and even im bored of the whole game..

MarkY91 wrote: »
    few more hours of playing and im starting to relise that its not going to last long. its a little boring at times.

ive put my PS4 copy up on adverts.ie and will keep my PS3 copy until the PS4 is out.

i guess its finally time for me to switch my main FPS :( ill get both killzone and BF4

But look what's in store for you graphics wise

10497262856_aeb43d977c_o.gif

bf4gif.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

So is the campaign all that's new?

Might rent for a night or two and burn through that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Neon_Lights

My strategy for ghosts is to sweat it out in squads mode, unlock everything, then go melt everything in pubs.

Im getting used to it, dont know if im swung on it, b button scufs are a neccesity it seems, the lack of jump shotting ability is hard to get used to from black ops.

I wanna see what its like for compet first before i make a decision on it.

But look what's in store for you graphics wise

10497262856_aeb43d977c_o.gif

bf4gif.gif

i know the graphics are insane but ive played killzone 2 and battlefield 3 and i honestly did not like the gameplay :( PS4 release is when i give them a real proper chance though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Randall Floyd

Given what the maps are like i don't know how they are going to play this game competitively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Neon_Lights

Given what the maps are like i don't know how they are going to play this game competitively.

Touting DLCs for competitive, Octane search and rescue is a shoe in, i think that works from what ive played. It needs a hardpoint and a few smaller maps, and the promised "e-sports" lobby. Its definitely an S&D lovers game. Respawns seem to have been discriminated against. Dodgey spawns.

The overall gameplay could work, but doubt its going to have the initial bite black ops did.

My question is, if youre going to have maps that size, why not have ground war included, it is included on xbox one it seems.

Infinity ward have made a few big mistakes, calling clan wars "e-sports" eh yeah right??? Not a clue.

i joined a game that was half over..immediatly after i spawned a dog jumps at me and kills me. i literally didnt even get time to take a step :mad:

the dog in general is a pathetic killstreak. they make no noise at all so you have no idea hes about to pop round the corner and kill you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,384 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

MarkY91 wrote: »
    i know the graphics are insane but ive played killzone 2 and battlefield 3 and i honestly did not like the gameplay :( PS4 release is when i give them a real proper chance though

Killzone 3 was a major, major step-up. I think it's a contender for the best online console shooter.