Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brand New John Deere

• 24-04-2013 1:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭

I am thinking about trading in my john deere 6320 premium for a brand new John Deere 6115m.My tractor is 2004 and it has around 16000 hours on it.How much is my own tractor worth and how much will i have to put with it to get the new one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

zetorman wrote: »
    I am thinking about trading in my john deere 6320 premium for a brand new John Deere 6115m.My tractor is 2004 and it has around 16000 hours on it.How much is my own tractor worth and how much will i have to put with it to get the new one?

not an awful lot with 16k hrs aboard. I would think it would better in keeping it than selling it for the money you will get. A new one will cost you arm and leg. Cant see myself ever again being able to afford a new tractor, but given the hrs I do the newish one wont last forever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

new 6115 would set you back about 58k+ vat . your own you prob get 10k. was over at our local deere dealer getting knives 4 d keenan feeder and enquired about a 6330....48k+vat me thinks my mf 398 will have to make do for another while:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭draiochtanois

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 rocky bilboa

new 6115 would set you back about 58k+ vat . your own you prob get 10k. was over at our local deere dealer getting knives 4 d keenan feeder and enquired about a 6330....48k+vat me thinks my mf 398 will have to make do for another while:D

I'd imagine you were quoted list prices there,you'd want a loader thrown in with the 6330 for that kind of money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

I'd imagine you were quoted list prices there,you'd want a loader thrown in with the 6330 for that kind of money!

more than likely your right rocky just got all excited with the big shiney green beasts and yer man prob threw the 1st figure at me that came into his head.....probably did'nt help that i told him i'd be looking to trade in me rough auld 398:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

got a brain wave last year to trade my 96 6300 jd against a new 6330 standard with a loader...till the garage told me that the new tractor and loader would cost €72k including vat before trade in was deducted!!!....needless to say im still ploding around on my old 6300!

also looked at a new mf 5455 with loader which was coming in at €55k including vat also before trade in was deducted....some diffrence!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

When I am buying a tractor or any new kit all I ask is how much per month I will have to pay in finance. The price quoted by a dealer has no relationship with thae actual selling price. I ignore the interst rate of leasing company and I compare them by how much they charge per thousand borrowed. You'll find this will give you a more realistic figure of what you can afford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

We buy all kit this way from a meal bin to milking parlour sheargrab etc. My policy is never use my own money for cap ex as it will destroy my cashflow, in fact if I can use somone else's money at any time I will!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭farmertipp

delaval wrote: »
    We buy all kit this way from a meal bin to milking parlour sheargrab etc. My policy is never use my own money for cap ex as it will destroy my cashflow, in fact if I can use somone else's money at any time I will!!

Accountant always reminds of that,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭F.D

Does anyone think new tractors are way over priced ?
    i know you have more technology etc but that is mass produced and just bought in from a supplier anyway
    I think there is better value buying ex hire tractors out of the uk, and just make sure you have a local mechanic that will look after it if required

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

delaval wrote: »
    The price quoted by a dealer has no relationship with thae actual selling price.

Esp. on a trade in. Value whatever you might be trading at zero and the only question then is how much do you want for that machine along with whatever I'm trading. You hear great pub talk about what John got for that john deere on the trade in but that's all it is pub talk.

F.D wrote: »
    i know you have more technology etc but that is mass produced and just bought in from a supplier anyway
    I think there is better value buying ex hire tractors out of the uk, and just make sure you have a local mechanic that will look after it if required

I bought new jd 6430 in 07..new version has gone up by at least 10 grand list since, cars have gone down or remained static..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

F.D wrote: »

not just new ones. 2nd hand a crazy prices. have been lookign at changing the 2wd 7610 for a 4wd. was quoted 14k+vat for a 91 reg 7610, asked about my yoke said he'd give 2.5k. very little value out there for mid sized 4wd tractors. was asking a dealer about it and he was saying that back in the 90's they used to bring in 2nd tractors from england. many of the big famrs and council would buy new and hold for about 2 /3 years. Now there are holding them for 5-10 years so the volume of tractors has gone down. Also every one wants a 100hp 4wd tractor with a loader

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 hould on hey

The 398 is still worth a pretty penny even if she is rough And ready €11k And upwards as for The 7610 its worth 3 times more than The trade in offered, going back To The jd man that opened The thread I know of a 6400 with 19700 hours owned by The same contractor from new in 1997 And it is still going strong driving a 575 baler every Summer And a 1300 abbey tanker at slurry ,its clean enough not rough only ever needed brakes And a power quad And The man in question has No intention of letting her Go, he was quoted €12500 on a tradein against a 6115 jd but won't trade so I'm sure Your tractor is wrth closer To 20 than 10

yellow50HX wrote: »
    not just new ones. 2nd hand a crazy prices. have been lookign at changing the 2wd 7610 for a 4wd. was quoted 14k+vat for a 91 reg 7610, asked about my yoke said he'd give 2.5k. very little value out there for mid sized 4wd tractors. was asking a dealer about it and he was saying that back in the 90's they used to bring in 2nd tractors from england. many of the big famrs and council would buy new and hold for about 2 /3 years. Now there are holding them for 5-10 years so the volume of tractors has gone down. Also every one wants a 100hp 4wd tractor with a loader

7610 for the export no matter how rough is would at least 4k

farmertipp wrote: »
    7610 for the export no matter how rough is would at least 4k

My dad bought it 15 years ago and its been a great servant. its worth a lot more to me then 4k. only reason i want to swap it is to get a 4wd. have really noticed draw backs with 2wd over the last few years. its fine around the yard and on dry ground, but once it get wet its a pain. if i could afford to i'd keep and get a 4wd anyway, but i'd then have 3 tractors and a digger in the yard and other than some light loader work and acting as a back up i wouldn have work for it. we have a small tractor already for cleaning out the yard as the loader on the 7610 is awqward in the sheds.

like i said if i could get a good trade in for it i'd sadly say good bye to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭oldsmokey

Don't mind the trade-in!!! Sell the thing privately...you'll get an idea of value from donedeal, advertise there and Toplink on the Journal...don't go selling to some tool from Izbekistan who'll Western Union you the money..cash only..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭F.D

back to the whole john deere thing
    isn't there problems with the 30 series with engines and brakes and owners of deeres actually doubting if they are as good as the old models that they used to own, wonder if these have been addressed in the new models ? you might be sorry to trade in the old reliable !!

20 series And early 30 series gave a lot of trouble with injectors auto quad And brakes
    I don't know anything about these new r series
    Best deere was 2850 2650 6400 6410 6200 6110 6610 6900 6910 7810 7700
    After that I lost The loyalty

oldsmokey wrote: »
    Don't mind the trade-in!!! Sell the thing privately...you'll get an idea of value from donedeal, advertise there and Toplink on the Journal...don't go selling to some tool from Izbekistan who'll Western Union you the money..cash only..

wont be selling anything until i have a replacement. uncle made a deal with a local "reptubale garage" on a straight deal a few years back. so while he was waiting for it to be fixed up and serviced he sold his own privatly, (i was raging with him as i would have bought his off him). anway he went back to pick up his new tractor and it had been sold the day before. Sales man gave him some bluff about ther being a mix up betwen the guys in the office. Our small tractor was on his place for about 3 months while he was looking around for another. lucky enough it was during the summer and all he needed it for was for topping and spreading feltilzer.

My dad bought it 15 years ago and its been a great servant. its worth a lot more to me then 4k. only reason i want to swap it is to get a 4wd. have really noticed draw backs with 2wd over the last few years. its fine around the yard and on dry ground, but once it get wet its a pain. if i could afford to i'd keep and get a 4wd anyway, but i'd then have 3 tractors and a digger in the yard and other than some light loader work and acting as a back up i wouldn have work for it. we have a small tractor already for cleaning out the yard as the loader on the 7610 is awqward in the sheds.

like i said if i could get a good trade in for it i'd sadly say good bye to it.

Well my 4k was only a minimum guide..it would b worth that as a non runner, anything in reasonable condition would b worth a lot more..you should inquire off those in the know r check prices on donedesl as said above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭shanemc123

Anyone know where i cud get a good 3040/3050 2wd for sale.just need it as a second tractor.are they a reliable tractor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭rs8

16000 hours is a fair amout of work!! if I was you id let the new john deeres get settled in for a year and the niggley problems sorted out before buying! id like the look of the new ones am I the only one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭kfk

20 series And early 30 series gave a lot of trouble with injectors auto quad And brakes
    I don't know anything about these new r series
    Best deere was 2850 2650 6400 6410 6200 6110 6610 6900 6910 7810 7700
    After that I lost The loyalty

Are the 6810 and 6910 reliable tractors. They seem to be going for reasonable money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

kfk wrote: »
    Are the 6810 and 6910 reliable tractors. They seem to be going for reasonable money.

You'll do well to get a decent one with low hours cheap. Better value to be had out there I'd say. Seem to be great tractors though.

All 6000 series john deeres Are Good apart from The 65 And The 20 or 30 series, The 10 series 6810 6910 Are probably one of The Best tractors built To date. Also The fiat 110/90 is a terrific tractor And The 10 series fords Were Good apart from not being able To start in cold weather ,mf390 is a great tractor but way To deer.
    A Good 6810 is worth about 17k And a Good 6910 is probably worth about 19k

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

kfk wrote: »

I know a contractor with a '99 6810 with around 14k hours. they got it new, it doesnt do a lot of work now though, mainly wrapping and pulling a rake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

You would not go far wrong with a 6800 or a 6900.

Or if you really have the "Green disease" this is the thing for you!

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/tractors/4681214

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

You would not go far wrong with a 6800 or a 6900.

Or if you really have the "Green disease" this is the thing for you!

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/tractors/4681214

spent a few months driving a 4450, it was one of the most comfortable machines I ever drove! Very high price for a 20 year old machine with those hours!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭pms7

Got 6k for '86 6610 2wd lst year from guy exporting.
    AP cab was not in good nick!