Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's your favourite sleeper?

• 23-04-2013 7:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭

Had a conversation in work about sleepers.. Those that look so ordinary but go like Usain Bolt with his socks on fire. Always been a fan, two of my favourites:

200mph Landcruiser 80 series owned by a mad millionaire rally driver in Dubai..

67f860ffbd015a307d35429993b7c02c_zps1451683b.jpg

http://www.autospeed.com/cms/article.html?&A=109621

The infamous 170mph Lotus Carlton... Changed the UK traffic Police forever..

23ede84cf8f1297511a2bd4f6d28ddad_zps6d49d25b.jpg

What's your ultimate sleeper?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Glanza.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

They like 4.8 Patrols in Saudi Arabia, look stock but go like a hoor!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Volvo 850r :cool: (and v70r)

850_R.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭thecomedian

Volvo S60R would be mine, followed by an S4 advant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭tw0nk

Great idea for thread OP, one of my favourite sleepers is the 535d, no obvious bodywork like the M5 but that engine pulls like a performance car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Alpina B7 or mercedes G55 amg (obviously the brakes and exhaust are a giveaway but no vents like the M5)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

cimg5645vo8_zps408b08cf.jpg
    A members former car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭wersal gummage

Vw golf 115bhp red di

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

TDI Noice

I think a VAG TDI is referred to as a snorer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭thats not gone well

R36 Passat Estate, V50 T5

blend into TDI wasteland, till the lights go green :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

Always liked the Saab 95 aero, 250bhp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Lexus GS450h

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

W8 Passat B5.5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

303h0s4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Volvo 850r :cool: (and v70r)

850_R.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,883 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Mazda6 MPS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

The 154bhp Beetle

Maybe this is going off topic a bit (so mods can feel free to act as they wish), but I'm sure I'm not the only person who is probably sitting at their PC wondering this...

What's the point in these cars? Or not even necessarily these cars, but 'fast' cars in general? I have an old 1.4 Focus. It's my first car, and when I had a thread on here asking about my first car, a few people commented (on different makes of cars) about how 'fast' they were and such.

If the highest speed limit is 120 (as far as I know, anyway) what's the point in getting anything that can hit 200? When will you ever need it? I mean don't get me wrong, if you're into the whole rally/racing thing then that's grand, but for an everyday runaround car, when will you be exceeding 120? (I'm aware that if you're on the motorway a lot, then you'd likely be breaking that limit a fair bit, but surely not to the extent of anything beyond 150 or such?).

And I'd imagine, at that, the motorway isn't visited all that frequently by most people? My 1.4 Focus hits 120 on a motorway easily enough. It can even exceed that, yet it is a 'slow' car?

Genuinely not trying to be smart-arsey or anything here, but really curious to know why this is such a selling point to people? (maybe I should've made a new thread? :o )

(By the way, I'm not specifically asking from a motoring enthusiast point of view. Obviously if you're big into cars in general then you'd like something that goes faster than most just for the sake of it. I mean more from an every-day person point of view).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,237 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

Had a fiesta turbo a few years back. Car was previously stolen and they stripped body kit from it and the owners insurance replaced the panels with standard fiesta non turbo parts. I got it for a song but it was my ultimate sleeper and frightened some tasty machinery.

Maybe this is going off topic a bit (so mods can feel free to act as they wish), but I'm sure I'm not the only person who is probably sitting at their PC wondering this...

What's the point in these cars? Or not even necessarily these cars, but 'fast' cars in general? I have an old 1.4 Focus. It's my first car, and when I had a thread on here asking about my first car, a few people commented (on different makes of cars) about how 'fast' they were and such.

If the highest speed limit is 120 (as far as I know, anyway) what's the point in getting anything that can hit 200? When will you ever need it? I mean don't get me wrong, if you're into the whole rally/racing thing then that's grand, but for an everyday runaround car, when will you be exceeding 120? (I'm aware that if you're on the motorway a lot, then you'd likely be breaking that limit a fair bit, but surely not to the extent of anything beyond 150 or such?).

And I'd imagine, at that, the motorway isn't visited all that frequently by most people? My 1.4 Focus hits 120 on a motorway easily enough. It can even exceed that, yet it is a 'slow' car?

Genuinely not trying to be smart-arsey or anything here, but really curious to know why this is such a selling point to people? (maybe I should've made a new thread? :o )

(By the way, I'm not specifically asking from a motoring enthusiast point of view. Obviously if you're big into cars in general then you'd like something that goes faster than most just for the sake of it. I mean more from an every-day person point of view).

well first of all the 0-60 time (and a wide power band) helps a lot , especially maneuvering out of accidents potentially and for efficient overtaking , with a car designed for higher speeds usually comes better handling, better brakes, better safety systems etc.. With more power you can get your car up steep hills fully loaded without having the foot to the floor and still losing speed.

that and larger engines (particularly V6 / V8 / V10 / V12's ) make a much nicer sound.

its not about having a car that can do 200mph , its about all the benefits that come with it inside the speed limit.

that and ye know track days , or autobahns, your car isnt limited to irelands public roads..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Whats the point of not wearing a sack for clothing or smoking fine cigars or drinking alcohol. Everyone has something they do for pure enjoyment, we just happen to like cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,883 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

that and larger engines (particularly V6 / V8 / V10 / V12's ) make a much nicer sound. .

...I6 *cough*

That and the fact that it's always lovely to know that you CAN destroy a lot of cars. That in itself is worth the €€€ depreciation :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭johnnydeep

I had a mondeo tdci at 140 on the motorway not to many passed me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

i can overtake much more safely in any particular instance than you can
    same goes for joining a motorway or any road from a sliplane .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Can a diesel be classed as a sleeper? They're not exactly inconspicuous or indeed elegant in their somewhat restricted acceleration.

If they are then a Fabia vRs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭chris20

Subaru legacy gtb 2004+
    Love the estate cars,no one ever suspects the estate cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭rocky

It's how fast you get to the speed limit that matters ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

Cossie cop cars always looked similar to standard sapphires, now they could really move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

The rover 75 v8. Looks like your grandads 2l diesel, but has a 4.6l petrol in it.
    Edit: not my favourite sleeper, just a sleeper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

What's the point in these cars? Or not even necessarily these cars, but 'fast' cars in general? I have an old 1.4 Focus. It's my first car
    While you have posted this in the motoring forum, to really get an answer you should go to the Boards Dyno day on Saturday. At the very least you can take some photos (noting your sig) and get slightly deafened!
    If the highest speed limit is 120 (as far as I know, anyway) what's the point in getting anything that can hit 200?
    While neither here nor there, 200kph is 130mph and really not considered much of an upper limit. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

VW Phaeton W12 - 444bhp and looks just like a large Passat until you step on the loud pedal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

E60 BMW 545i.

Looks like any old 520i but debadge it and it's a true V8 sleeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

...I6 *cough*

That and the fact that it's always lovely to know that you CAN destroy a lot of cars. That in itself is worth the €€€ depreciation :D
    In all fairness its easy to destroy about 75% of the cars on irish roads, in a high end diesel and im not talking about a 535d either!
    MugMugs wrote: »
    Can a diesel be classed as a sleeper? They're not exactly inconspicuous or indeed elegant in their somewhat restricted acceleration.

If they are then a Fabia vRs
    I have scared a fair few people with the vrs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭wotswattage

1994 Audi RS2. Looks like something you'd see at a dog show carpark. Porsche were brought in and fiddled with them before Audi had their own 'S' cars (note the Porsche mirrors, wheels + brakes).

647253-5705313.jpg

Whats the point of not wearing a sack for clothing or smoking fine cigars or drinking alcohol. Everyone has something they do for pure enjoyment, we just happen to like cars.

Well I thought I was being polite in asking and wording my post. Fair play for returning the sentiment. rolleyes.png

Matt Simis wrote: »
    While you have posted this in the motoring forum, to really get an answer you should go to the Boards Dyno day on Saturday. At the very least you can take some photos (noting your sig) and get slightly deafened!

While neither here nor there, 200kph is 130mph and really not considered much of an upper limit. :p

I'm not really sure what that is (got a link to thread/event?). I'm not really overly interested in cars in general to be honest.

I've taken a small interest since getting on the road myself, but only really for more casual information (like my most current thread asking about safety accessories worth investing in) rather than as an enthusiast (like most on this forum would seem to be).

I just found it strange that when I was searching Boards for 'first car' posts/threads, 'fast car' was mentioned quite a lot, as if it was an important aspect of everyday driving.

I can (somewhat) understand someone buying a 'fast car' in the form of a Porsche or Ferrari or something that stands out or such for whatever reason they may feel the need to, but when I seen the thread for souped up cars that look like everyday Joe Soap cars, I figured it'd be an appropriate place to ask my question. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭thecomedian

Souped up cars??
    These are stock from the factory. Some people don't like the standout cars.
    There's also the surprise element of it to.
    Also, not everyone does the speed limit as you know.
    Can be funny if a boy racer pulls up beside a Volvo and the Volvo leaves him for dead.

Very hard to understand something when you have no interest in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭JP 1800

Take one e36 M3 coupe or four door, take off the M3 badge and stick on a 316i or 320i badge in its place et voila a nice reverse psychology sleeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

What makes you think that an every-day person (as opposed to a motoring enthusiast) would want a car such as this? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭tc20

homer90 wrote: »

^ this. Doesn't look anything too far removed from a standard W124, old school sleeper. The model in the pic above is a bit more showy than other plainer E500s i might add. Todays 'smoking' versions of mainstream models tend to stand out too much, and as such essentially rule themselves out of the sleeper game. Granted you can debadge your RS, AMG or M car, buit the bodykit, extra exhausts etc give the game away. (and thats before we get into the Tdi RS4 buffoonery)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

sean1141 wrote: »
    cimg5645vo8_zps408b08cf.jpg
    A members former car!

And sadly missed.It was a proper sleeper in the true sense of the word i.e A fast Bora,some motorist just weren't ready for that.

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

Anything touring / avant has to be the ultimate sleeper.

C6 RS6 580HP
    audi-rs6-avant-08.jpg

E61 M5 500HP
    04_bmw_m5_touring.jpg

I believe there is an F11 M5 on the way too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

The BMW above is no sleeper!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 kickslate

Honda CRX

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

Anan1 wrote: »
    The BMW above is no sleeper!

I agree,gone is the day when RS and M cars can be true sleepers.Even the most non clued in of motorist would imagine one of them to be "fhest"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

vbpgimage.php?do=full&p=4395&d=1294548356

The VR4 Galant, looks like a normal Galant but has a 280 hp Twin turbo engine and AWD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Popoutman

Mercedes W116 450 SEL 6.9.
    Looks like any other classic Merc of the age, until that wonderful 6.9l V8 opens up, and the ~300bhp gets rocking. Pretty much a bulletproof engine with dry sump, and forged internals. Hydropneumatic suspension done by the Germans instead of the French, so it handles very well. There were a number of reasons why it was favoured as the road car for many F1 drivers at the time.

I'm trying to find the youtube video of one on Brazil pulling away from a tollgate to >150mph. It wasn't bad for a thirty year old car at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭Pique

1994 Audi RS2. Looks like something you'd see at a dog show carpark. Porsche were brought in and fiddled with them before Audi had their own 'S' cars (note the Porsche mirrors, wheels + brakes).

647253-5705313.jpg

Ahh the RS2. Legendary machine.
    Yours for only £16000 (+VRT)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Saab 900 T16

305340.jpg