Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Silage made 15 years ago ok to feed

• 22-04-2013 6:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭

I have been offered silage which was made circa 15 years ago. It was single chop and it looks ok, would it be ok to feed to cattle

I should also point out that the silage was never used as the land was rented after the silage was made and so there was no need for the silage. The guy in question is a family friend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Tomjim wrote: »
    I have been offered silage which was made circa 15 years ago. It was single chop and it looks ok, would it be ok to feed to cattle

I should also point out that the silage was never used as the land was rented after the silage was made and so there was no need for the silage. The guy in question is a family friend

I think you should put it in a museum , it must be a world record holder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

I would say it could be used. The oldest I ever had was 5 year old, and it was fine. Smelled like tobacco, and blackish, but they went mad for it. Once there is a seal of , probably compost by now, and no air get in, should be stable. Let us know how it go's!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 478 ✭✭Stella Virgo

would not recommend it,its full of bugs, insects,bacteria etc........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Diesel Dick

if it looks ok then itl be fine, were feeding 16 year old silage from the back of the pit here now, theres a few inches of waste on top but below that its perfect, alot better than anything made this year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

the older the fiddle the sweeter the tune, if preserved correctly it will be grand, if it didnt preserve right it would be rotten by now. to be sure you could get analysis from the horsey crowd in Kildare

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

would not recommend it,its full of bugs, insects,bacteria etc........

What bugs, insects, and bacteria species would you expect to find in silage?

I'd be thinking if correctly preserved, it would be perfect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

15 years. That would be 1997. That was a great year. Clare beat Tipp twice that year.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭maxxuumman

Bizzum wrote: »
    What bugs, insects, and bacteria species would you expect to find in silage?

I'd be thinking if correctly preserved, it would be perfect.

There is 11 yr old silage being fed next door. As said smells like tobacco and cows are mad for it. If there was a problem with the silage by now it would be rotten. Drive on

pakalasa wrote: »
    15 years. That would be 1997. That was a great year. Clare beat Tipp twice that year.:D

We weren't too bad ourselves around that time. Holding our own in a golden age of hurling, and won the Leinster in football!

Bizzum wrote: »
    We weren't too bad ourselves around that time. Holding our own in a golden age of hurling, and won the Leinster in football!
    Hard to believe that back in '98, Kilkenny were the 3rd team in Leinster, after Offaly and Wexford.

I know never is a long time, but I can't see that ever happening again.
    It was a great era. Pity Limerick and Waterford didn't take the final step!

Maybe when Cody retires.:D

I think Cody is another cog in a well oiled machine. KK totally monopolized Leinster hurling at minor level in the 90's, winning it every year, and winning it 8 times in the 00's. That's a fair supply of Raw materials!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭PatQfarmer

Remember it well, ye feckers:D
    This years silage will be another decade and a half old at least before ye do that again...I hope:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

PatQfarmer wrote: »
    Remember it well, ye feckers:D
    This years silage will be another decade and a half old at least before ye do that again...I hope:rolleyes:

Would the lads at the back stop talking and concentrate on the subject please !,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

dharn wrote: »
    Would the lads at the back stop talking and concentrate on the subject please !,

Tis all about Silage and Concentrates these days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 hould on hey

A bit of mollasses on it And twill be grand , if any of The cattle start talking back To you about heating phone boxes you'll know its time To foot The turf