Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Grey Crows killing new born lambs

• 22-04-2013 12:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭

:mad: there are a load of grey crows attacking lambs at the moment, they killed 4 yesterday alone and attacked a ewe that was weak (she lost and eye and died later on in the day)....is there anything we can do to get rid of them or even keep them away from the lambs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

solerina wrote: »
    :mad: there are a load of grey crows attacking lambs at the moment, they killed 4 yesterday alone and attacked a ewe that was weak (she lost and eye and died later on in the day)....is there anything we can do to get rid of them or even keep them away from the lambs.

We ended up bringing our ewes and lambs indoors until the lambs were a few days old and able to protect themselves. Lost 3 or 4 with grey crows this year too. Have used a lot of shotgun cartridges!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭solerina

Thanks Reilig
    Unfortunatley we havnt enough space to bring them indoors, about 20-25 lamb per day....would it be any use contacting the local gun club, are they allowed to shoot them ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

Where are you based Solerina?
    Get in contact with your local gun club or post a advert here in the shooting section "in the hunting part of it" there are prob guys on here close enough to you, or if not will have plenty of ideas on how to deal with the problem. Hopes this helps

loveta wrote: »
    Where are you based Solerina?
    Get in contact with your local gun club or post a advert here in the shooting section "in the hunting part of it" there are prob guys on here close enough to you, or if not will have plenty of ideas on how to deal with the problem. Hopes this helps

Thanks Loveta
    Im in tipperary, I didnt know there was a hunting sction, I will ask there too !!!
    Its hard enough this year with no grass without these damn crows killing the lambs too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

The easiest and most efficient way to catch and kill greycrows is to use a larsen mate to catch your call bird - if you want to be self sufficient, or cannot source call bird. Then use multi catch larsen traps to collect the others.

A dead lamb (with eyes) in a larsen mate will catch you your call bird. Google Image search "Larsen Mate". If ye are in any way handy they're very simple to make with 2x2 inch expanded metal, cable ties, and a bit of wood for the split perch. There are plenty of plans and photos online.

When you catch or get your call bird from someone then you should already have bought or made a "Larsen trap". Now, the best thing to do here is to ask someone you know can you put that trap on their land which should be a few miles away from you. Hold on now, because that's important.

This time of year greycrows are very territorial so they will not tolerate outsider greycrows in their territory. When you catch or get an outsider greycrow then put him into your Larsen trap on your farm. You should do this at night or at last light so as not to be seen by your resident crows.

My thinking is that commercial Larsen traps are too small for greycrows, as they're mostly made for magpies. So I tend to make my own. I would also be looking to use a Larsen with at least 4 catch compartments and preferably 6. As time moves on, greycrows tend to cop on to their buddies vanishing, so it's best to catch as many as possible, as quick as possible.

Trapping is the best way to solve your problem, traps work all day long, all week long. You're not dependent on anyone else to do the job for you.

Caring for the call bird is important. He should have shelter from rain, wind and (hah) sun. He should have fresh water and food available. A dead call bird isn't much use to you.

This will solve your problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

[SNIP]

Pleasde do not advocate illegal activities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

[SNIP]
    It is now totally illegal to use any poison/chemical such as Alpha against birds or anything else bar rodents(in secure bait boxes as per the regulations that come with licenced rodenticides) - such indiscriminate actions are a serious danger to pets, working dogs and protected wildlife. Not to mention the reputation of Irish farming and I find it frankly depressing that some people are still ignorant of the laws in this area or simply don't give a toss:mad: The OP has already got sound advice on legal and effective methods of crow control which doesn't involve coming to the unwanted attention of the NPWS,Gardai etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

As already noted above, the use of poisons (of any sort) against any bird or animal has been completely illegal since October 2010.
    Here's the Statutory Instrument concerned:
    S.I. No. 481/2010 — European Communities (Birds and Natural Habitats)(Restrictions on use of Poisoned Bait) Regulations 2010.

The sole exception to this is the use of rodenticides, and these must be used with great care so that they don't pose a threat to non-target species.

[MOD]

Let's have no more talk about poisons; they're illegal, and therefore against section 2 of the forum charter:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=73710827&postcount=3

[/MOD]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

Birdnuts wrote: »
    [SNIP]
    It is now totally illegal to use any poison/chemical such as Alpha against birds or anything else bar rodents(in secure bait boxes as per the regulations that come with licenced rodenticides) - such indiscriminate actions are a serious danger to pets, working dogs and protected wildlife. Not to mention the reputation of Irish farming and I find it frankly depressing that some people are still ignorant of the laws in this area or simply don't give a toss:mad: The OP has already got sound advice on legal and effective methods of crow control which doesn't involve coming to the unwanted attention of the NPWS,Gardai etc.

You're right, Birdnuts,
    I am ignorant, and simply don't give a toss.

You may have overlooked the part of my post where I mentioned that this was 15 or more years ago, and also my refrence to the danger to birds of prey, etc.

Thanks guys...I have had some offers from people to shoot them so hopefully we will be able to organise something. I knew poisons were illegal as I has already looked into using them and was immediately told that their use was banned. Hopefully no more lambs get killed today, was pretty grim looking at them !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

Good stuff solerina grey crows and mags i have total hate for them, conmaicne mara mentioned the larsen trap have heard good things about these esp as said if you can get a call bird from outside the area puts them bananas :0)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Yeah, they don't like the strange greycrow. That's also why I said to have a trap with many catch compartments (they can be extra cages, they don't need to be part of one solid trap). The crows don't be too long in copping on, but when they start going into the trap they're like lemmings at the start. The only time taken up is feeding, watering and dispatching which is easily done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭juniord

just wondering what do you all do with the carcasses when lambs die or get killed like this