Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

renting silage ground

• 21-04-2013 6:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭

Hello all. Just wondering how many of ye rent meadow by the bale rather than price per acre. Am thinking of trying it this year.
    If the lad renting has good crop it is better for both parties.

If ye are doing it, how much per bale are ye paying.
    Could work out more economical than fertilizing the sh*te out of your land, taking good out of the ground and losing ground for 10 to 12 weeks for regrowth to come after

just to clarify i looking to rent meadow and some people round deal in price per bale so want to see what lads are paying.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I've never heard of ground being rented by the bale before. Heard of 70 acres going for 17k for two cuts, fertilise it yourself near Nenagh.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,835 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Strong poor grass'd give a high yeild of bales could be expensive bales for the renter, cutting young high quality stuff would be expensive for land owner.... Who calls the cut ... ?

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

It done up round here blue but numbers lads were telling me that do it does not stack up. Land fertilized lightly probably but 6.50 a bale was the price i was told. That would hardly cover the cost of the fertilizer on your own ground if ya took your own meadow. Suppose what i wondering is would that sound like the price people who deal that way are paying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

TUBBY wrote: »
    Hello all. Just wondering how many of ye rent meadow by the bale rather than price per acre. Am thinking of trying it this year.
    If the lad renting has good crop it is better for both parties.

If ye are doing it, how much per bale are ye paying.
    Could work out more economical than fertilizing the sh*te out of your land, taking good out of the ground and losing ground for 10 to 12 weeks for regrowth to come after.

I don't bother making silage but if a paddock gets too heavy I set it to a neighbour for about €8/bale and bale it himself

Markcheese wrote: »
    Strong poor grass'd give a high yeild of bales could be expensive bales for the renter, cutting young high quality stuff would be expensive for land owner.... Who calls the cut ... ?

It would normally be land that is lightly enough fertilized. Up to buyer to gauge if it is value i suppose. Low number of decent quality bales per acre is the normal scenario for buyer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

If you sell bay the bale it is in the renters interest to really reduce bale count. He can do this by making high DM silage (wilting well) and making sure his baling contractor has a good machine that will pack well and chop the bales.

I know one farmer that changed baling contractors last year hi bales/acre went from 18 to 12 I think. It saved him a fortune in plastic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

Why not just set it and not be trying to extract every last penny. Look for a price per acre, end of. Less of the cuteness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

rancher wrote: »
    I don't bother making silage but if a paddock gets too heavy I set it to a neighbour for about €8/bale and bale it himself
    Do you save hay or anything rancher ? What kind of fodder do you use for the sheep ?

moy83 wrote: »
    Do you save hay or anything rancher ? What kind of fodder do you use for the sheep ?

Have always used straw and meal, worked out well until this year....price of ration and length of the winter blew the economics of the system

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Have always used straw and meal, worked out well until this year....price of ration and length of the winter blew the economics of the system
    I think this winter is blowing everyones systems out of whack anyhow .
    Do you buy in the straw and meal or are you at arable as well as the sheep ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Is it barley straw you use and how much were you paying for it?
    I think a lot of straw will be bought this year, to cover plan B, when Plan A fails.

Why not just set it and not be trying to extract every last penny. Look for a price per acre, end of. Less of the cuteness.

Maybe if you read my post you would see that i am looking to take meadow not rent it out. Wanted to find out if people are paying per bale how much they are paying. That is the way some people work round here and i just trying to get information. Sorry if that somehow offends you. Thought this was a forum for getting information of others and sharing advice, not contrary answers to a question that you misread.

Your opening post does not state clearly if you are the landowner or the tenant. If one is that easily offended, then what hope have they :rolleyes:

Enjoy the sun

Sorry. Had bad morning and you might have got brunt of it.

As regards trying to be cute hoor, would not try and screw someone cause enough of that going on with fodder this winter.

pakalasa wrote: »
    Is it barley straw you use and how much were you paying for it?
    I think a lot of straw will be bought this year, to cover plan B, when Plan A fails.

€12 for 4 by 4 at harvest but when sheep had to go in six weeks early and I worked out that I needed more,I got it delivered for €22/bale in december, hope next year is better, one of my sheds holds 220 ewes and they used 100kg ration +1 bale straw every day between them for those six weeks mid pregnancy, That'll give you a rough idea of the cost

Sorry. Had bad morning and you might have got brunt of it.

As regards trying to be cute hoor, would not try and screw someone cause enough of that going on with fodder this winter.

Any man who would take advantage of a man when he is down is a prick.

Don't be worrying.