Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Saturday Night Show - April 20th @ 9:55pm

• 19-04-2013 5:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭

Coming up on the show this week ..............

Aslan will be in with Don Mescall to perform and chat about their new charity single, 'Catch Your Fall' in aid of Pieta House. Unfortunately, Christy Dignam who is undergoing treatment for cancer won't be appearing on the show.

International singing phenomenon Il Divo will perform 'I Can't Help Falling In Love With You'.
    Brendan will be talking to them about their rise to fame and how it all started.

Doodle Kennelly will tell us about her extraordinary life and her strong relationship with her father, Irish poet Brendan Kennelly.

Social Entrepreneur Caroline Casey will be in to discuss how she kept her blindness a secret for years and what spurred her on to set up Kanchi, a not-for-profit disability organisation and Oliver Callan will be giving his unique take on some well known faces.

http://www.rte.ie/tv/saturdaynightshow/thisweek.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Get well soon Christy.
    Doodle Kennelly will tell us about her extraordinary life and her strong relationship with her father, Irish poet Brendan Kennelly.

I wonder if Doodle is her real name, or a nickname? It is most unusual.

Doodle Kennelly sounds like a makey uppy 'Irish' Pub name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

Sad for Christie that he can't make it

Doodle is very interesting to Listen to.
    She has had a fairly tempestuous life.
    So I am looking forward to the show :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Skid X wrote: »
    Doodle Kennelly sounds like a makey uppy 'Irish' Pub name.
    Very true, her name reminds me a bit of Durty Nelly's :D

Lisha wrote: »

Doodle is very interesting to Listen to.

She has had a fairly tempestuous life.
    She certainly has lead an eventful and sometimes very troubled life. Here she is with Pat on the LLS back in 2008.

Doodle experienced vicious bullying, manic depression, eating disorders, obsessive compulsive disorder and major cosmetic surgery. She told Pat Kenny how her father, the celebrated poet Brendan Kennelly saved her life.

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Very true, her name reminds me a bit of Durty Nelly's :D

Hi Brendan, we know you read this thread.

I dare you to say this to Ms.Kennelly tomorrow! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,296 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Sad that Christy won't be there...get well soon! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

Looks like a good line up, Christy - best wishes for a fast and complete return to health.

Oliver Callan is on this programme a bit too often.

I know he has to sell tickets, but how many times do we need to hear the same impressions over and over again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

I know he has to sell tickets, but how many times do we need to hear the same impressions over and over again.

Agree, and he isn't that funny,in my opinion. I don't know much about D.Kennelly apart from her father being quite well known. Best wishes to Christy Dignan, hope he makes a good recovery.

I agree with you Skid, I'm not a fan of his at all. To quote Mr. Anon - 'He is a great mimic but his material is very weak'.

However, I seem to remember Brendan saying last year or the year before that Oliver would be a regular guest (in the same way as Mario was a regular on the Vincent Browne Show until he jumped ship to RTE).

I agree with you Skid, I'm not a fan of his at all. To quote Mr. Anon - 'He is a great mimic but his material is very weak'.

However, I seem to remember Brendan saying last year or the year before that Oliver would be a regular guest (in the same way as Mario was a regular on the Vincent Browne Show until he jumped ship to RTE).

That's true, although I thought they gave that up last year. Maybe not.

The Anon chap hit the nail on the head, with some good topical jokes Oliver Callan would be much better.

I remember Dermot Morgan used to do a regular slot on Kenny Live back in the day. Even Dermot struggled to come up with decent material at times. For example, this routine is rather laboured. I don't want to criticise him too much, he was a brilliant comedian and writer. My point is that it is difficult to do the same impressions regularly and keep them fresh.

Oliver Callan will unmask to reveal his true identity...Biggins!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

To quote Mr. Anon - 'He is a great mimic but his material is very weak'.

I dont remember saying this .... (15,000 times) :o

I do love when Callan has a go at the RTE "stars" like Tubridy and Mooney though..

The following story was in the Indo two weeks ago :eek:
    Nob Nation' star Callan sues former manager over alleged beating at home

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/nob-nation-star-callan-sues-former-manager-over-alleged-beating-at-home-29179125.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

Oliver Callan will unmask to reveal his true identity...Biggins!

Not that woman in nice knickers? :o:o:o:o:o:o :P :D;)

On a side note, last week's guest Kevin McAleer will be on 'Miriam Meets' tomorrow morning on Radio 1 - may contain deadpan.

That is shocking - I'm surprised the story didn't get more publicity.

On a side note, last week's guest Kevin McAleer will be on 'Miriam Meets' tomorrow morning on Radio 1 - may contain deadpan.

Hopefully Miriam will just ask him about what he and his family would do of an evening, then sit back and let him go!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 425 ✭✭Dreamertime

I hope he has good support and friends around him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Good Evening All!....

Let's give it wellie tonight....

:):):)

Howdy all!

Don't know what's worse...Brendan's gags or his mediocre delivery of the gags!

Brendans jokes were not bad tonight.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Evening all

cofy wrote: »
    Brendans jokes were not bad tonight.:D

I won't tell a lie.......You're right!....:D:P

After that build-up, it was foolish of me to think One True Voice would walk out!

I never noticed the lads were standing like steps of stairs.......

Slow set alert.....

***I'll mind the handbags so***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

If & when l get married l want this to be my first dance! but the Kings version :P

I forgot all about this tonight

I'm sure the gags were as excellent as ever :p

I never noticed the lads were standing like steps of stairs.......

Slow set alert.....

***I'll mind the handbags so***

You read my mind.:D

Simon Cowell getting singers to perform nothing but cover versions? Shurely shome mishtake?

If & when l get married l want this to be my first dance! but the Kings version :P

Yep, can't beat the King.

Yer man on the extreme left looks like he's part of six degrees of Kevin Bacon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

'bite ye nigh ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Three Amigos are way better than these clowns!

Yer man on the extreme left looks like he's part of six degrees of Kevin Bacon.

Kevin Bacon, if he like dancing Footloose a bit too much..

I'm as lost as Brendan!....

Ya wah?

All of the Big couch getting used tonight, for a change.

Lol Skid, the last time was Crystal Meths..........:D

Three Amigos are way better than these clowns!
    Ah Pavarotti, Domingo and José Carreras were real opera singers, these lads are pleasant in an easy listening sort of way.

Lillies? Pah!

Get to Flanders Bar downstairs in Bruxelles for some metal!

One of those lads could do a Count Dracula stand in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Jaysus, this is a bit awkward isn't it?? Get them off ffs!!

Brendan has a man crush on the lad at the end :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Lillies? Pah!

Get to Flanders Bar downstairs in Bruxelles for some metal!
    sexyflanders.gif

Yer man's dark hair looks a bit strange. Could be spray-on.

Is that a wig?

His relations were Irish dissidents... Say that when you're on the BBC, see how that works out..

That was rather awkward, someone did die at Kilruddery House during their Concert.

Not really a laughing matter.

FFS RTE get brendan to do the LLS NOW!!!

They must have great dentists....

Big teeth going on big time.....

ps Yip Harry. The Grecian Ten Thousand is getting a lash I'd say!