Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread III

• 19-04-2013 9:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

as the other thread is quiet we might as well swap over to the new thread now. Continued from here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

In before the lock....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

molloyjh wrote:
    The best and only reason to be watching the Late Late. I actually couldn't tell you the last time I saw it. Even with Joe on I'd still be nervous about that encounter....

First time I watched it since the toy show was last week because Conor McGregor was on it. Now two weeks in a row?! I am getting old :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

I remember the first time we did this the old Munster thread raced into an early lead of posters. Now they're not even close. Are their more leinster fans posting, or has our roller coaster of a season just lead to more posting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

errlloyd wrote: »
    I remember the first time we did this the old Munster thread raced into an early lead of posters. Now they're not even close. Are their more leinster fans posting, or has our roller coaster of a season just lead to more posting.

Now I've heard ALL the Leinster V Munster debates!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

I think this season's leinstergedon has seen a hugh spike in posts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Grimebox wrote: »

I don't know if you ever noticed the great tag war from the old threads.

I'm not sure how many times SOMEONE tagged the Munster thread with turnips only to have a mod remove it.

Bit of both, I'd say. As 'poor' of a season we've had, we're still in the race for play offs in three competitions and and have had some really big swings in terms of media attention (Sexton leaving, Fitzy almost leaving, Conway leaving etc., etc.)

Add to that the Didier transfer rumour and that makes 10k posts go about quite easily.... (BTW that deal is still on afaik)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

I think this season's leinstergedon has seen a hugh spike in posts

Yeah thats what I thought too

I don't know if you ever noticed the great tag war from the old threads.

I'm not sure how many times SOMEONE tagged the Munster thread with turnips only to have a mod remove it.

There were a lot worse ones, on both sides actually! I laugh at them now, but obviously people could take offence...

Grimebox wrote: »

You'd be surprised. If the Munster thread had around 8,000ish posts instead of 6,300 I would of probably closed it as well and started afresh with it, just to stop any potential crap starting.

Well, it's obvious that Leinster fans are just All Talk....

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Well what do you reckon the potential is for a banana skin on Sunday?

awec wrote: »

I'll let you know after the team is announced.

awec wrote: »

We'll know by 12 o clock... if it's pretty much an academy squad they're sending over then I'd be worried about complacency. If it's a good mix of youth and experience we should be okay. We also have to bear in mind that we've got a B&I cup semi final next week against Munster, so we can't wreck the entire academy corps but at the same time they'll need some game fitness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Principal Skinner

.ak wrote: »
    We'll know by 12 o clock... if it's pretty much an academy squad they're sending over then I'd be worried about complacency. If it's a good mix of youth and experience we should be okay. We also have to bear in mind that we've got a B&I cup semi final next week against Munster, so we can't wreck the entire academy corps but at the same time they'll need some game fitness.

Wouldn't be worried about complacency fol an academy side they'd be we'll up for it to prove their worth. Wouldn't be worried about skill level either. The only thing would be experience but joe normally negates it by throwing in a few experience heads.

Not saying we will win but an academy side with 1 or 2 experienced players could win

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭jamiedav2011

http://www.herald.ie/sport/rugby/vote-for-the-herald-leinster-rugby-try-of-the-season-29203371.html

Try of the season voting open now.

WE HAVE GOT TO GET ROSSY THE PRIZE!!

Wouldn't be worried about complacency fol an academy side they'd be we'll up for it to prove their worth. Wouldn't be worried about skill level either. The only thing would be experience but joe normally negates it by throwing in a few experience heads.

Not saying we will win but an academy side with 1 or 2 experienced players could win

Sorry, I didn't mean that the academy guys wouldn't be up for it, but rather it shows the management are clearly not rating Zebre and thus complacency could be an issue within the squad as a whole.

http://www.herald.ie/sport/rugby/vote-for-the-herald-leinster-rugby-try-of-the-season-29203371.html

Haha, that'd be gas...

Also, my personal favourite try this season is Coughlan's, against Leeds in the B&I pool cup. I know the analysis guys have footage of it, wish they'd upload it. Absolute piece of brilliance from Hudson to chip and collect and then to setup Coughlan who showed great skill to catch the ball one handed in the lashings of rain whilst fending the defender inside him with the other hand.

I'll let you know after the team is announced.

At a guess I'd expect something like

McGrath Cronin Hagan Toner Marshall Ruddock Ryan SOB Cooney Sexton Conway Goodman McFadden Carr Nacewa

DKearney

seriously? I'd say Dave may have the weekend off

Nah, he'll be grand.... Nothing like an aul boot to the head to get you back in form.

yeah he will, season off probably.

McGrath Cronin Hagan Toner Marshall Ruddock Ryan SOB Cooney Sexton Conway Goodman McFadden Carr Nacewa

I'd be hoping for either darce or bod to help that midfield click a bit more. Ryan is still injured isn't he? Roux could do with more game time also.

• DKearns won't be around for 2/3 weeks minimum.

Concussion guidelines need to be respected

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

I'd be very nervous of that team going to Zebre, I have to say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Be amazed if that happens. What if Ulster lose tonight (which they could well do against a fired up Connacht) and then we go and lose on Sunday? Be a disaster. I expect to see more or less a full team with all the big guns starting. Its the business end of the season-no room for resting players!

Quint2010 wrote: »
    Be amazed if that happens. What if Ulster lose tonight (which they could well do against a fired up Connacht) and then we go and lose on Sunday? Be a disaster. I expect to see more or less a full team with all the big guns starting. Its the business end of the season-no room for resting players!

I'd say there'll be a few due a rest. Probably see something like

RK
    ISA
    BOD
    AG
    McF
    JS
    JC
    RR (not my fav at 8, but JH is probably due a rest)
    DR/SOB
    SOB/BM
    QR
    DT
    JH
    RS
    JM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Principal Skinner

Quint2010 wrote: »

Doesn't really matter what ulster do any more. 1st or 2nd to us will be no different well be in the RDS for final if we make it either way. The worry is Glasgow overtaking us

I'd be very nervous of that team going to Zebre, I have to say

so would I to be honest but I can see Joe sending just enough to Zebre and resting a lot of players and then playing the full team pretty much five weeks in a row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Bit of both, I'd say. As 'poor' of a season we've had, we're still in the race for play offs in three competitions and and have had some really big swings in terms of media attention (Sexton leaving, Fitzy almost leaving, Conway leaving etc., etc.)

Add to that the Didier transfer rumour and that makes 10k posts go about quite easily.... (BTW that deal is still on afaik)

Jaysus from what I hear about yer man Didier....

Yeah I think the injury crisis plus all the transfers (particularly the Sexton one with all the back and forth of "he is", "ah no it's contract stuff", "oh hang on is he?", "sweet mother of god he is") and now the Schmidt move have all meant there's been huge interest and discussion around Leinster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

I'd be hoping for either darce or bod to help that midfield click a bit more. Ryan is still injured isn't he? Roux could do with more game time also.

Marshall definitely deserves his chance. Roux is a good player and clearly has potential but he has looked very sloppy in his games this season. I think it's a case of "ooh shiny foreigner", Marshall is the same age and has looked far more convincing in his appearances so far

Tox56 wrote: »
    Marshall definitely deserves his chance. Roux is a good player and clearly has potential but he has looked very sloppy in his games this season I think it's a case of "ooh shiny foreigner", Marshall is the same age and has looked far more convincing in his appearances so far

Yeah, but one thing we're missing in the SR is bulk. It's probably the ONLY reason Roux was given another contract during his injury. I have no doubt Marshall is one for the future, but equally I think Roux needs to be afforded some game time. Marshall is lucky in the fact he's a 5.5 so he'll get plenty of time even if McCarthy and Roux take up the tighthead spot for the next year.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Have to say, Goodman's was the standout try from the 3 of those for me.

That's completely irrelevant. ;)

Yeah, but one thing we're missing in the SR is bulk. It's probably the ONLY reason Roux was given another contract during his injury. I have no doubt Marshall is one for the future, but equally I think Roux needs to be afforded some game time. Marshall is lucky in the fact he's a 5.5 so he'll get plenty of time even if McCarthy and Roux take up the tighthead spot for the next year.

Roux doesn't use his bulk at all well though. He looks far more dynamic than any other second row we have, and probably is when carrying, but I've been hugely impressed with Marshall any time I've seen him, and he looks a better lineout operator than Roux too.

I suppose Roux is in the European squad which gives him an extra reason to play more, but this type of game would be perfect for Marshall I think.

Our second row looks quite ok for next year, Leo certainly has another year, if not two in him by the looks of his recent performances. Himself and McCarthy could be the niggly fcukers we need at SR.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,650 ✭✭✭ssaye

Was thinking about the top14 a while ago

So a few people on LF started to look at the french league and potential signings and MALZIEU has popped up as his contract is due to run out.

Prominently a left wing but can play in several positions.

Could get a solid 3 years out of him potentially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,077 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

ssaye wrote: »

So a few people on LF started to look at the french league and potential signings and MALZIEU has popped up as his contract is due to run out.

He would be a fabulous signing....though would probably be missing for the six nations.

ssaye wrote: »

Yeah, he'd be an absolutely perfect signing. Much better than ZK anyhow.

vienne86 wrote: »
    He would be a fabulous signing....though would probably be missing for the six nations.

I dunno, at 30 he probably won't make too many more 6n...

Roux doesn't use his bulk at all well though. He looks far more dynamic than any other second row we have, and probably is when carrying, but I've been hugely impressed with Marshall any time I've seen him, and he looks a better lineout operator than Roux too.

I suppose Roux is in the European squad which gives him an extra reason to play more, but this type of game would be perfect for Marshall I think.

Our second row looks quite ok for next year, Leo certainly has another year, if not two in him by the looks of his recent performances. Himself and McCarthy could be the niggly fcukers we need at SR.

I think Roux's sloppiness is purely down to the fact he hasn't been with Leinster a wet week in terms of game time. Let Jono do a job on him and he can fix his technique.

vienne86 wrote: »

Don't think so? When was the last time he played for France?

Last year, but got injured IIRC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Hype710

Well, at least we know BOD is playing.

LEINSTER:
    15; Isa Nacewa
    14: Fergus McFadden
    13: Brian O'Driscoll CAPTAIN
    12: Andrew Goodman
    11: Fionn Carr
    10: Jonathan Sexton
    9: John Cooney
    1: Jack McGrath
    2: Richardt Strauss
    3: Michael Bent
    4: Tom Denton
    5: Devin Toner
    6: Kevin McLaughlin
    7: Dominic Ryan
    8: Rhys Ruddock
    REPLACEMENTS:
    16: Aaron Dundon
    17: Jack O'Connell
    18: Jamie Hagan
    19: Quinn Roux
    20: Leo Auva'a
    21: Isaac Boss
    22: Cathal Marsh
    23: Andrew Conway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

Tom Denton... ugh

• Marsh gets a run out!

Tox56 wrote: »
    Tom Denton... ugh

+1000...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭opinionatedfan

Marsh on the bench? interesting.

pretty okay with that team apart from Tom Denton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Doesn't really matter what ulster do any more. 1st or 2nd to us will be no different well be in the RDS for final if we make it either way. The worry is Glasgow overtaking us

Rather play the 4th placed team than Glasgow in the semi's tho!