Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waking up in the past

• 16-04-2013 10:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭

Not literally, but today I woke up and for about 2 hours was thinking I really should visit my grandad, as I hadn't seen him in ages. It's just that he's dead for about 8 years. I thought about it when I woke up before I got dressed, then as I was leaving I said to myself again in my head. I wouldn't have been groggy at this stage. It wasn't until later it clicked with me.
    Nothing like that has ever happened to me before.
    The only thing I'd had the night before were panadol. I'd no alcohol or illegal drugs taken.
    I find it really bizarre and can't understand it.
    Has anyone experienced this type of thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Tomorrow I'm going to wake up in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Not literally, but today I woke up and for about 2 hours was thinking I really should visit my grandad, as I hadn't seen him in ages. It's just that he's dead for about 8 years. I thought about it when I woke up before I got dressed, then as I was leaving I said to myself again in my head. I wouldn't have been groggy at this stage. It wasn't until later it clicked with me.
    The only thing I'd had the night before were panadol. I'd no alcohol or illegal drugs taken.

Go home Teddy, you're drunk!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 714 ✭✭✭PlainP

Sounds like Alzheimer's/demensia I'd go get it checked out....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Maybe I just experienced a glitch in the matrix :p
    Seriously though. What's going on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

I'm gonna wake up tomorrow with morning wood, beat that ye aul feckers

PlainP wrote: »

I'm 26, is that not something that only hits people a lot older!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Lol. .........

It's like last night was an exception Ted. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭kwiva-g

Not exactly, but at a family reunion once I asked out loud to everyone, "How's Mike these days?", when Mike was our granduncle who had been dead almost a year.

I had been away at the time, and to be perfectly honest, I totally forgot he was dead. Cringe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Yep I've experienced taking panadol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Mr Tibbs

I see dead people everywhere.

F*ck these art galleries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭homersimpson

TED - Im going mad :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

It could be previous use of alcohol/drugs, your brain cells are experience a slow, yet inevitable demise.

Don't worry, by the time you're thirty you'll have no awareness left. These glitches won't bother you then - nothing will bother you, Teddy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 714 ✭✭✭PlainP

Sh*t if that's the case I'd definitely be heading to the docs, any headaches, dizzyness. I heard there's slapcheek going around at the moment, it could be that......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

Maybe you are associating your grandad with an event or other occurrence that you might usually have spoken to him about when he was alive.

Has anything happened to you of late that you associate with your grandad?

*clicks pen*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭Catphish

I don't remember dreams generally, but I do miss all of my grand parents terribly. Teddy take yourself off to your grandads grave and spend some time there. Talk to him, it will help :)

Maybe you are associating your grandad with an event or other occurrence that you might usually have spoken to him about when he was alive.

*clicks pen*

I don't think so...?

*clicks pen*

He pulled headphones out of a girls ear before, maybe this incident reminded him of the need to speak louder to the elderly as if they had headphones in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Teddy, being serious here but that sounds like grief.Sometimes people do "forget" that a loved one is gone.
    Would you consider talking to someone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Chucken wrote: »
    Teddy, being serious here but that sounds like grief.Sometimes people do "forget" that a loved one is gone.
    Don't worry, the doctor is listening .......

*clicks pen*

Chucken wrote: »

Yea Teddy. Why not go visit your - eh, wait, no, not a good idea.:o

Dr. Dexter is in the house.

I just hoped you haven't killed anyone. Dr. Dexter has a strict set of rules which he must follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

I dont suppose you were recently on a tropical island living inside a hatch then decided to release a electromagnetic anomaly and inadvertently giving yourself time traveling mind powers.

lkionm wrote: »
    Dr. Dexter is in the house.

I just hoped you haven't killed anyone. Dr. Dexter has a strict set of rules which he must follow.

I do?:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

PlainP wrote: »

hey teddy, giz a lend of a few bob

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

You probably just weren't properly awake Ted. My dad died two years ago. Sometimes when I'm on the way to my folks house I find myself thinking I wonder how dad is today. Then the realisation hits me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I had a freaky dream last week. I work up thinking I was married with a kid. I'm single. But it was really disorientating for about 5 minutes.

A few years ago I had a similar experience. I was dreaming about my little brother and it was only a minute or two after waking I remembered I don't have a brother.

Dreams can be strange things.