Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Word of warning if you break down on the motorway

• 16-04-2013 3:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭jolou86

Hi I really feel I should post this. Now I'm not going to name names but if anyone wants any extra info feel free to PM. Last year my BF's car broke down on the motorway, it was stormy and we were panicking so we used the S.O.S phone to call for help, which was dumb because we could have called the insurance company but we just were all over the shop.
    So anyway, yer man came to tow the car and then proceeded to give it a pathetic once over and called over his helper when it was back at his yard to check it and they started saying the car was fit for scrap and beyond repair. We left to stay at a friend's and figure out what to do. The next day, yer man offered my BF €100 for the car and alarm bells rang. He said he would take €100 off the cost of the tow to 'take the car off his hands'! He knew neither of us was loaded because we had to scrimp to get the money to pay the toll. But the car was worth way more and we ended up finding a way to get it home, paid yer man the tow fee which I think ended up being €250 and he got his car fixed and it's been on the road since.
    Anyway,the other day I saw a car I liked on donedeal, called up and was shocked to realise it was him selling it-so it must have been someone's car he towed and convinced to leave with him. Needless to say I did not call him again.
    I just think it's important people know, and I'm sorry this is so long winded, but all I kept thinking was that if I was on my own and distressed and he started convincing me to leave the car, if I didn't know any better I might have thought he was doing me a favour.
    And I'd hate for that to happen to anyone else, that he could take advantage of the situation and screw people over. We were disgusted by his offer and got the car out of his yard ASAP. So anyway just a word of warning, avoid the SOS phones on the motorway if you can and beware those selling cars who rescue cars, it's all dodgy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Anyway,the other day I saw a car I liked on donedeal, called up and was shocked to realise it was him selling it-so it must have been someone's car he towed and convinced to leave with him. Needless to say I did not call him again.

How did you arrive at this conclusion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭jolou86

well, there were a hell of a lot of other abandoned cars at his yard, and we were not the first he tried it with so I suppose it's an assumption but I believe it's a fair one...It was a very dodgy experience, believe me it was shadier than I described there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭peteb2

It's not dumb to use the SOS phone because isn't there only provider that is allowed tow you off the M50?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

peteb2 wrote: »
    It's not dumb to use the SOS phone because isn't there only provider that is allowed tow you off the M50?!

It might not be the M50..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

This sounds like something out of a scary movie :eek: Wes Craven would love to make this into a film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Rasmus

I don't see the problem - he was just a bloke trying to get a cheap deal? All anyone has to do is say no if this happens to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 699 ✭✭✭mikehammer67

Rasmus wrote: »
    I don't see the problem - he was just a bloke trying to get a cheap deal? All anyone has to do is say no if this happens to them.

ya right

and he's got a better chance of getting a good deal when they can't drive off

ya right

and he's got a better chance of getting a good deal when they can't drive off

He didn't make the offer at the breakdown site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

250 would be outrageous for a tow fee, even in the middle of the night

I had my van towed from tallagh to enniskerry for 60 euro, ok it was working hours but still!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

I had my van towed from tallagh to enniskerry for 60 euro, ok it was working hours but still!!!

You got very good deal there.

2 years ago I payed 90 Euros to have my ex now Seicento towed from Dundrum to Tallaght.

Cable clutch snapped but didn't fancy driving on M50 in the first gear.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

Jarren wrote: »

2 years ago I payed 90 Euros to have my ex now Seicento towed from Dundrum to Tallaght.

Would have been a lot cheaper to drive the car yourself, OK, the clutch is broken, all that does is remove the power between the engine and the wheels while you change the ratio, and all modern gearboxes have synchromesh on all gears, so it's not hard to change gear without a working clutch, as long as it's done carefully.

To get moving, put it in first, then use the starter, it will start, unless you are in a bad place. To change gear, drop to neutral, lower the revs and feel it into gear, it will go, as long as you are careful, and the same is then true from 2-3, 3-4, and 4-5, Try it one day somewhere quiet and safe, it's a lot easier than you might think. OK, I would not be keen on trying to get up to Sally Gap with no clutch, but we're talking emergency recovery here, not off roading.

Changing down is the same, drop into neutral, and increase the revs accordingly, and then to stop, drop it into neutral, if you have to stop, though with some careful planning, it's surprising how often creeping slowly in first is enough.

The most important thing is a very light foot on the accelerator while making changes, so that there is not a sudden surge or snatch as the synchromesh allows the gear to engage.

There are a very limited number of vehicles where it is possible to do damage, but the vast majority will be driveable in this way. I had to get a Renault Scenic from Ashbourne to Baldoyle a while back with a broken pressure plate, so the same effect as a broken cable, and it took about 5 minutes longer than the journey would normally take, which was mainly due to taking my time going towards red lights, so that they had time to change again before I got there.

As for motorway breakdown charges, that's where either a good insurance policy or the AA/RAC are an essential service, what people forget is that to get to the broken down vehicle can sometimes mean a long detour due to the distance between junctions, I used to do breakdown recovery work in the UK a long time ago for the police, who controlled the system in the UK, and to get to some breakdowns meant a round trip of over 50 miles, which could take an hour, depending on traffic, and then recovering the vehicle and getting it off the motorway safely took a while, depending on the nature of the failure. €250 does seem excessive, but we don't know the full details of what was done, where it was, and the time of day.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Jarren wrote: »

This happened to me, you can drive without the clutch you know. Plus a Sei is light enough to roll foreward at lights for taking off in 1st gear.....

Cable was £15 and not too difficult to fit! :)

That was a good deal. Before we got a trailler we used to get our local recovery service to bring cars about for us (expensive affair) most he charged was €250 but these were for long runs. We once got him to drop a cat up to us for €30 quid. Admittadly quite short of a journey but still....

Speaking of recovery services, the chap I'm on about (yes, I know him well I guess....) often told us of people who never paid him for runs "Ah we'll get you again" sort of attitude. Absolute **** to do that to him. And the people who do this would have plenty to spend elsewhere! :rolleyes:

So I'm not surprised at the OP's story to be honest. Possibility he got shafted in the past and is trying to make money where he can. Not that I agree with it but I can see why such an offer was made

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭jolou86

I didn't know you could only use the SOS on the motorway. Robbery.
    And he towed it then when he had it suggested buying for 100. I see the side of the argument of he's only changing his arm to try get a car cheap but if you ask me it's taking advantage of vulnerable people. We were 2hours from home and in a fairly desperate situation and a friend had to drive bout an hour to get us so we could be close by to sort out the car the next day.all I'm saying is that we felt he was trying to take advantage of us in a crap situation and it was really shady, even the way he kept trying to convince the BF the car was worth nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I didn't know you could only use the SOS on the motorway. Robbery.
    And he towed it then when he had it suggested buying for 100. I see the side of the argument of he's only changing his arm to try get a car cheap but if you ask me it's taking advantage of vulnerable people. We were 2hours from home and in a fairly desperate situation and a friend had to drive bout an hour to get us so we could be close by to sort out the car the next day.all I'm saying is that we felt he was trying to take advantage of us in a crap situation and it was really shady, even the way he kept trying to convince the BF the car was worth nothing.
    Why would you expect a tow truck driver you've never met to have your best interests at heart? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

While it may not have been a delightful situation to be in, broken down on a wet night - the drama appears to have been fairly high from the get-go..

I fail to see what's so "dodgy" about it?

If the man wants to buy & sell cars that he recovers, that's his business, fail to see why its so dodgy..

I don't really see why you feel he was trying to screw your friend over, he made an offer for the car and it was rejected - "taking advantage" is too strong, he chanced his arm and was turned down - (rightly so tbh)

"avoid the SOS phones on the motorway if you can and beware those selling cars who rescue cars, it's all dodgy. "

To say that all SOS phones should be avoided is ridiculous, local providors are used in all instances - apart from the m50 which has a dedicated towing crew.

It's all dodgy ?

Cheers, I'll push my car home next time so. God forbid someone might try buy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Hi I really feel I should post this. Now I'm not going to name names but if anyone wants any extra info feel free to PM. Last year my BF's car broke down on the motorway, it was stormy and we were panicking so we used the S.O.S phone to call for help, which was dumb because we could have called the insurance company but we just were all over the shop.
    So anyway, yer man came to tow the car and then proceeded to give it a pathetic once over and called over his helper when it was back at his yard to check it and they started saying the car was fit for scrap and beyond repair. We left to stay at a friend's and figure out what to do. The next day, yer man offered my BF €100 for the car and alarm bells rang. He said he would take €100 off the cost of the tow to 'take the car off his hands'! He knew neither of us was loaded because we had to scrimp to get the money to pay the toll. But the car was worth way more and we ended up finding a way to get it home, paid yer man the tow fee which I think ended up being €250 and he got his car fixed and it's been on the road since.
    I just think it's important people know, and I'm sorry this is so long winded, but all I kept thinking was that if I was on my own and distressed and he started convincing me to leave the car, if I didn't know any better I might have thought he was doing me a favour.
    And I'd hate for that to happen to anyone else, that he could take advantage of the situation and screw people over. We were disgusted by his offer and got the car out of his yard ASAP. So anyway just a word of warning, avoid the SOS phones on the motorway if you can and beware those selling cars who rescue cars, it's all dodgy.

What make/model of car was it? And what was the issue with it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Claptrap.

He was basically trying to scam them given the context of the situation.

The posters here advocating Mr. Tow's behaviour are taking the piss right? Scamster of the highest order. There may or may not be anything illegal about it but it screams the actions of a morally bankrupt person. Not only do you get charged a hefty enough price for the tow, but then he tries to trick you out of your own car? Disgusting.

OP I'd phone the company maintaining the motorway you were driving on. Yes you might be better off using your time to build houses of cards on a cliff, but if this is going on it would do no harm to bring it to their attention.

anncoates wrote: »
    Claptrap.

He was basically trying to scam them given the context of the situation.

I understand it's a scam. However it is a matter of just knowing what do in a situation - in this example, if you can't dry stick it home, pay the tow charge and laugh at an offer to take the car 'off your hands'.

EDIT: the clutch snapped in another poster's story, not this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

stankratz wrote: »
    Not only do you get charged a hefty enough price for the tow, but then he tries to trick you out of your own car?

I don't see any tricks. He offered to buy a broken down car. I'm sure lots of the cars that break down on the motorway are basically scrap, and people running clunkers until they break might be happy to have this lad take them.

The only issue I see is with a €250 fee. OP doesn't sound too sure about that, though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

€250 would not outrageous at all, €60 would'nt pay for the diesel in my truck doing that recovery job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

I don't see any tricks. He offered to buy a broken down car. I'm sure lots of the cars that break down on the motorway are basically scrap, and people running clunkers until they break might be happy to have this lad take them.

The only issue I see is with a €250 fee. OP doesn't sound too sure about that, though.

He is basically trying to scam people who dont know better. Its disgusting, immoral behaviour. If the car was genuinely worth €100 I doubt he would have the slightest bit of interest in taking it off the hands of its owner.

djimi wrote: »
    He is basically trying to scam people who dont know better.

Can I have your car for €100?

Is it a scam for me to ask?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 699 ✭✭✭mikehammer67

maybe it's acceptable in the motor trade

says a lot if it is!

Its a scam to prey on someone who is in a vunerable position of standing beside their broken down car with someone who they perceive to be in the know telling them that their car is worthless and offering them next to nothing to take it off their hands. Okay the owner should know better, but isnt that the basis of every scam; preying on those who should know better but who dont?

They weren't standing beside their broken down car though, they were already home when the offer was made.

'We left to stay at a friend's and figure out what to do. The next day, yer man offered my BF €100 for the car and alarm bells rang. He said he would take €100 off the cost of the tow to 'take the car off his hands'!

They weren't standing beside their broken down car though, they were already home when the offer was made.

'We left to stay at a friend's and figure out what to do. The next day, yer man offered my BF €100 for the car and alarm bells rang. He said he would take €100 off the cost of the tow to 'take the car off his hands'!

Okay, same difference.

isnt that the basis of every scam; preying on those who should know better but who dont?

No, the basis of a scam is that something dishonest happens.

It would be a scam if the guy offered €100 to dispose of the car, took the €100 and dumped the car, still in your name, leaving you liable.

If he actually buys the car and takes it off your hands, whether he fixes it up and sells it or just scraps it, he has not done anything dishonest.

Okay, same difference.

It isn't though - because they are no longer in a vunerable position.

Anyway, no poster in the thread has advocated the tow-guy's business style, but there is a difference between an outright scam and what happened here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

OP,you could send an email to Sean O'Neill in the NRA and let him know what kind of chancers are on contract to them and the crazy prices they are charging.

soneill@nra.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

People are missing the point here.

If you break down on the motorway, you;re in a vulnerable position especially if you know fuck all about cars - shock horror. Ringing the SOS phone in this situation should not result in somebody trying to exploit you into selling your car for peanuts.

I assume the motorway assistance gig is contracted out to one or only a few contractors and if so, it's an subtle exploitation of the contractual situation.

It's like a paramedic trying to convince me my phone is a fake and offering to buy it when I'm in an ambulance. Of course, I know it's a crock of shit but it's still wrong and that person should not be allowed to work in a situation where they are dealing with stressed out/vulnerable people that require assistance.

I'm actually flabbergasted at his point that people are refusing to grasp this very simple distinction.

It's like a paramedic trying to convince me my phone is a fake and offering to buy it when I'm in an ambulance.

It's like a guy shooting me and then offering to buy back the bullet!

It would be a scam if the guy offered €100 to dispose of the car, took the €100 and dumped the car, still in your name, leaving you liable.

If he actually buys the car and takes it off your hands, whether he fixes it up and sells it or just scraps it, he has not done anything dishonest.
    It isn't though - because they are no longer in a vunerable position.

Anyway, no poster in the thread has advocated the tow-guy's business style, but there is a difference between an outright scam and what happened here.

Okay, perhaps scam is not the right word. But its a ridiculously immoral practice to prey on someone in a vunerable position. And I dont see what difference it makes whether the person is in the garage yard or the next day over the phone when the offer is made; they are still trying to take advantage of someone who might not know better. Its disgraceful behaviour.

If you break down on the motorway, you;re in a vulnerable position especially if you know fuck all about cars - shock horror. Ringing the SOS phone in this situation should not result in somebody trying to exploit you into selling your car for peanuts.

In all fairness, if someone is that vulnerable and knows **** all about cars, they really shouldn't be on a motorway in a car on its last legs. There seems to be a lot of drama here (not just yourself) about this 'scam'. Everyone is not actually out to get 'vulnerable' drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

If somebody offers you €100 for your car, don't accept it ....unless of course you're happy to accept €100 for your car.

There. Done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

i'd be looking for no less than 250 for the car in a situation like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

If this was the M50, isn't that contracted to the lads with a large depot in Kilmacanogue? Who also do alot of the work for AGS? If it is, not surprised. Absolute sham of a company with mostly arrogant staff. There's a reason they have so much money for top notch equipment, sign writing and lucrative contracts.

Exploiting is a bit much now, he made them an offer of 100 quid for it, they said no. He was a chancer at best.
    I assume the motorway assistance gig is contracted out to one or only a few contractors and if so, it's an subtle exploitation of the contractual situation.

Fairly sure its not, local operators are used as they can often provide their own storage/repairs etc close to the pickup point.
    It's like a paramedic trying to convince me my phone is a fake and offering to buy it when I'm in an ambulance. Of course, I know it's a crock of shit but it's still wrong and that person should not be allowed to work in a situation where they are dealing with stressed out/vulnerable people that require assistance.

Its absolutely not, the man drives a recovery truck, he's not a medical practitioner or a figure of authority of any sort. They are not trained in dealing with "stressed out/vulnerable" people. They pick up broken down cars.
    I'm actually flabbergasted at his point that people are refusing to grasp this very simple distinction.

As am I.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

If somebody offers you €100 for your car, don't accept it ....unless of course you're happy to accept €100 for your car.

There. Done.

If someone lies to you and tells you that your car is basically scrap, and is charging you 250 quid for moving your cube and then hey presto it's not scrap and he's selling it for a pile of cash that's more scam situation.
    Sure if it was scrap and he bought it as scrap and pulled it a part and made a profit that would be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

It's dishonest to work as a professional in a trade and try to convince someone that the item he wants off them is worth nothing and he's doing them a favour. He told them it was worth nothing, then said he'd give them €100 for it! That means it was worth €100 to him, which isn't nothing, so by definition he was dishonest! Unless he gave them the €100 anyway when they left, then he was a decent auld scout who really was trying to do them a favour.
    In all fairness, if someone is that vulnerable and knows **** all about cars, they really shouldn't be on a motorway in a car on its last legs. There seems to be a lot of drama here (not just yourself) about this 'scam'. Everyone is not actually out to get 'vulnerable' drivers.
    If someone knows f**k all about cars then chances are they don't know that their car is on its last legs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

This thread is sponsored by AA Ireland.

kiffer wrote: »
    If someone lies to you and tells you that your car is basically scrap, and is charging you 250 quid for moving your cube and then hey presto it's not scrap and he's selling it for a pile of cash that's more scam situation.
    Sure if it was scrap and he bought it as scrap and pulled it a part and made a profit that would be ok.

Sure we dont know the circumstances of the tow - how far to go, the time of day - also he stored it too?

€250 isn't extortionate when you think as in terms of ;diesel, storage fees, and the mans time.

Its not a scam, a scam is when someone is scammed, the man made a ludicrous offer for a car that was (rightly) rejected.

A lad offered me a grand for my current car the other day, I told him to f/o. simple. Not a scam.

It would be interesting if someone tried to set him up and see will he do the same again.Sell him the car for the €100 knowing that its worth a lot more and see will it end up on DoneDeal.:pac:

Sell him the car for the €100 knowing that its worth a lot more and see will it end up on DoneDeal.:pac:

Man in business to make money shocker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

The SOS phone is actually the best way of getting in contact with a recovery service. As you use a land line they know exactly where you are instead of some where between J1 and J 3

This is why we have break down insurance. I pay over €120 a year for breakdown cover. If I have one break down even once in the year I have made my money back.

I recommend you get it. Instead of bitching about it later.

Man in business to make money shocker!

His job is vehicle recovery.Not to randomly tell people that their cars are 'bangers' and offer to buy them for €100 when they are worth a lot more.

I wonder how many little old ladies were caught out by this man doing his 'business'.

His job is vehicle recovery.Not to randomly tell people that their cars are 'bangers' and offer to buy them for €100 when they are worth a lot more.

I wonder how many little old ladies were caught out by this man doing his 'business'.

None, I'd say. Old ladies usually have AA, breakdown cover and/or newer cars that they maintain regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭whowantstwoknow

Just for my future reference...

if broken down on the motorway and one has breakdown recovery on the insurance, do you have choice of who to ring? Must you use the SOS (and be charged)?

W.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Just for my future reference...

if broken down on the motorway and one has breakdown recovery on the insurance, do you have choice of who to ring? Must you use the SOS (and be charged)?

W.

Use the SOS and they should transfer you to your insurance company.