Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hunger: Sean Kelly's Autobiography Out 31st May

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭bren_mc

furiousox wrote: »
    I didn't know anything about this, has he mentioned it on Eurosport?

no, not yet. he's playing the waiting game :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

furiousox wrote: »
    I didn't know anything about this, has he mentioned it on Eurosport?

Possibly but we didnt understand him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Laundry_Hamper

Oh man, that should make for a good read...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

bren_mc wrote: »
    no, not yet. he's playing the waiting game :)

...and making the calculation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭MichealD

Look forward to it. Any idea who ghosted it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Dura Ace

Lionel Birnie as far as I know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭MPFG

Oh...I am off to the shops now to put my order in .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭The Big Lebowsky

The legendary Sean Kelly was a man of few words during his racing career, he always let his legs do the talking. I look forward to reading his auto-biography, but I very much doubt Kelly will divulge much about the dark side of the pro peleton during the his tenure at the top of the sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭ibebanging

I wonder will be doing any signings when the book is launched.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

The cover photo on the book is fantastic - post Paris Roubaix I am guessing

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Pre ordered this a few months ago
    Looking forward to reading it
    Hope he offers some insight on the more murky goings on.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

I can't see Birnie not asking some hard questions of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

I can't see KElly spilling any information about the "real" goings-on in the peleton. He's too involved in cycling to burn his bridges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

I hear it reveals his recent fake moustache and glasses forays into A4 racing.

Feckin' cleaning up he is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Luis21

I imagine he will gloss over his positive drug tests and lifetime Olympic ban (cheers Pat McQuaid)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭2011abc

Clearly NOTHING is sacred round here !Its SEAN KELLY for flips sake man ,wash your mouth out with soap and water !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Luis21

2011abc wrote: »
    Clearly NOTHING is sacred round here !Its SEAN KELLY for flips sake man ,wash your mouth out with soap and water !

??? Was I telling lies ? Eh no. Are you that bloke from the Late Late Show who reckoned Roche was clean because "he is a great fella"

Sean Kelly bridge?

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0322/377906-dublin-bridge-name/

edit: oh. "Cllr Lacey...said the committee wanted to name it after someone who had been deceased for at least 20 years."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭mr lee

he's an ignorant man,i wouldn't give him a penny of my money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭bsb1971

Have this on pre order with Amazon for a few months now! Had the pleasure of meeting King Kelly in Tralee a few weeks back, he did a question and answer session with Micheal O'Muireartaigh (know i've misspelt it!). Got his biography with David Walsh and his Man for All Seasons book signed. Felt like a big kid meeting him. Have to say Kelly was good craic, great comment when was asked early in his Eurosport commentary career to act more excited.......his response - hard to after you've won the race 2 or 3 times!

mr lee wrote: »
    he's an ignorant man

Ignorant of what?

he's an ignorant man,i wouldn't give him a penny of my money

Ah now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Fender76

Kelly doesn't seem like a man of many words but he does come out with the odd gem.. like when, back in the early 80's, Linda leant against his precious Citroen and left a smudge on the bonnet.. Kelly went over and polished where she had been.. Apparently Linda isays 'Oh Sean, I don't know which comes first, me or the car..!' To which Kelly answers 'Wrong, the bike comes first...'... Legend...

ok,maybe ignorant wasnt the best way to put it so i'll put it another way,he was verbally abusive to me when i was doin my job,nobody else was,i wouldn't mind except i looked up to that cnut when i was a kid and he was a top pro(drug fuelled ),anyone that shouts abuse at someone else when they are just doing there job is a registered wanker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chartsengrafs

Well that's all the evidence I need.

Basster wrote: »
    Well that's all the evidence I need.

Too right bro'.

When I get home I'm going to smash my right hand TV speaker so I only ever get to hear David Harmon.

evidence for what?

Séan's "ignorance"

ok,maybe ignorant wasnt the best way to put it so i'll put it another way,he was verbally abusive to me when i was doin my job,nobody else was,i wouldn't mind except i looked up to that cnut when i was a kid and he was a top pro(drug fuelled ),anyone that shouts abuse at someone else when they are just doing there job is a registered wanker

Ah here. By those standards we're all registered. You can catch anyone in a bad mood. I don't know that a person could really generate the kind of good will that halo's Sean Kelly wherever he goes if he wasn't a decent guy.

maybe so fat bloke,could you like or respect someone that would treat you like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭2011abc

ok,maybe ignorant wasnt the best way to put it so i'll put it another way,he was verbally abusive to me when i was doin my job,

Youre not a traffic warden,speed cop etc are ya?Post was very vague -maybe best left so -but am certainly curious.

maybe so fat bloke,could you like or respect someone that would treat you like that

Short answer, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Fender76

Did he touch your bum on a podium..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

Were you one of his domestiques....?

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭dermur

Must have been a majorly difficult job...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Sammy7p

So has the book been released? Amazon is saying

Currently unavailable.
    We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭bren_mc

Sammy7p wrote: »
    So has the book been released? Amazon is saying

Currently unavailable.
    We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.

he mentioned on Eurosport a while back that he wasn't sure of the release date but that it would most likely be in July, to coincide with the tour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,039 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

bazermc wrote: »
    The cover photo on the book is fantastic - post Paris Roubaix I am guessing
    swan_kelly_3_zps90710c85.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Surinam

I'll never understand how Irish people so easily forgive cheaters/corrupt people. I wonder if he'll even mention the positive drug tests: as said above, he's still embedded in professional cycling so probably wouldn't want to ruffle any feathers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

swan_kelly_3_zps90710c85.jpg
    I doubt it's Paris-Roubaix, the background doesn't look very PR like, probably a montain stage from one of the grand tours, he did win the green jersey a few times on the TdF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,039 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

I doubt it's Paris-Roubaix, the background doesn't look very PR like, probably a montain stage from one of the grand tours, he did win the green jersey a few times on the TdF.
    I think bazermc may have been referring to the picture in the OP's link which features Kelly with a muddy face and I think was used as a publicity shot for the book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭RyanAndrew

June 17 | Hardback | ebook | 320 pages | £18.99
    Foreword by Bradley Wiggins, 2012 Tour de France winner
    Epilogue by Robert Millar, 1984 Tour king of the mountains
    Add to basket
    Free delivery to UK addresses. Please note, this book will be published around June 17.

http://pelotonpublishing.co.uk/sean-kelly-autobiography/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

Anyone reading it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭h2005

If it doesnt cover his cheating its not worth reading for me. If he`s going to gloss over that its hard for me to believe anything else hes got to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

My guess is that it's on his way to winning stage 12 at the 1982 Tour de France. He was riding for Sem-France Loire and that is a green version of their jersey. No real reason to think that it's stage 12 other than that's the mountain stage he won so it makes sense.

Skip to 34min to see the final few k of the stage.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vSz75KxE5nY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 pierredieterle

Sean Kelly fans, I invite you to visit the website about my uncle Jean de Gribaldy, with lots of rare Sean pics... :)

www.jeandegribaldy.com

jean%20de%20gribaldy%20sean%20kelly%20super%20prestige%20pernod.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭t'bear

happytramp wrote: »
    My guess is that it's on his way to winning stage 12 at the 1982 Tour de France. He was riding for Sem-France Loire and that is a green version of their jersey. No real reason to think that it's stage 12 other than that's the mountain stage he won so it makes sense.

Skip to 34min to see the final few k of the stage.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vSz75KxE5nY

The 'feet' and 'miles' are very off putting - what is 5246feet in meters? :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

Sean Kelly fans, I invite you to visit the website about my uncle Jean de Gribaldy, with lots of rare Sean pics... :)

www.jeandegribaldy.com

It's a great site alright. Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭theholyghost

What has become of this book? No reviews online or on Amazon, no sign of it in my local bookshop. Maybe Sean isn't free to push it until after the Tour.

Has anyone picked up a copy?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

What has become of this book? No reviews online or on Amazon, no sign of it in my local bookshop. Maybe Sean isn't free to push it until after the Tour.

Has anyone picked up a copy?

It's in the book shops and I'm half way through it.
    Well written and offering a lot of insights.